125 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Stock Market V49, MARKET REBORN LIKE A TIGER ROAR !!!

cherroy
post Feb 12 2010, 03:23 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 12 2010, 03:14 PM)
smile.gif Something like that.........I mean Genting's price is undervalue at this moment if base of his anak price.
Yes, I am not disagree this if look from this perspective.

But as I said before, share market primary concern is about company earning ability, asset is secondary. Asset only become primary when those asset is going to be liquidated and distributed to the shareholders.

You buy a company share and become a shareholder, the primary objective is the company can earn profit which you can have a share of it.

Added on February 12, 2010, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 12 2010, 03:16 PM)
tongue.gif I not too understand......
Let say for eg. Genting EPS is 50 cents.

Out of 50 cents,
20 cents is actually contributed by GenM,
10 cents from GenP
5 cents from GenS

Genting alone 15 cents.

So Genting financial book will report as 50 cents EPS.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 12 2010, 03:25 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Feb 12 2010, 03:28 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 12 2010, 03:16 PM)
Yup your analysis make sense  nod.gif . Good analysis ya brother  notworthy.gif

But everything has its pros and cons....

Genting is like a big elephant with gaming, plantation, power generation business.. So in actual fact the loss making in one sector will drag down the overall group earnings. BEWARE OF THIS.

Thats y i don really like to pick up stock like genting, sime darby, YTL CORP etc which are some sort like the mother company as it is harder for you to do analysis.
hmm.gif yup, I think about this issue before whether Genting has his own debt or others business drop it down.......

But currently the palm oil's price is going up by this year, while the crude oil price will maintain at USD70-80 according to US. It should benefit the power generation business..........anyway according to previous quarter report, plantation and power generation are making profit

Added on February 12, 2010, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 12 2010, 03:23 PM)
Yes, I am not disagree this if look from this perspective.

But as I said before, share market primary concern is about company earning ability, asset is secondary. Asset only become primary when those asset is going to be liquidated and distributed to the shareholders.

You buy a company share and become a shareholder, the primary objective is the company can earn profit which you can have a share of it.

Added on February 12, 2010, 3:25 pm

Let say for eg. Genting EPS is 50 cents.

Out of 50 cents,
20 cents is actually contributed by GenM,
10 cents from GenP
5 cents from GenS

Genting alone 15 cents.

So Genting financial book will report as 50 cents EPS.
tongue.gif Actually I dont understand what is "Book"
Eventually Genting EPS is 50cents right?
those 35cents contribute by GENM/S/P still consider as profit, so we can buy these company with cheaper price right?
or genting's price should adjust back to RM7.14 above? blush.gif

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Feb 12 2010, 03:32 PM
darkknight81
post Feb 12 2010, 03:32 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 12 2010, 04:28 PM)
hmm.gif yup, I think about this issue before whether Genting has his own debt or others business drop it down.......

But currently the palm oil's price is going up by this year, while the crude oil price will maintain at USD70-80 according to US. It should benefit the power generation business..........anyway according to previous quarter report, plantation and power generation are making profit
Power generation is always generating profit just that growth is limited sorry for repeating the same thing blush.gif

Of course their balance sheet do matter on their valuation so actually this type of comparison can give you some rough idea but cannot follow 100%.

However, as i said i prefer to invest in a company which does not involved into too many sectors as it may become non profitable in the end.

myfriend2009
post Feb 12 2010, 03:34 PM

78 posts

I was just wondering, mother shares ususally drop when the rights begin trading. But will the mother share keep dropping on the second day of the trading too? Because I wanted to buy FRONTKN, the price now is 0.145, very cheap. Just wondering whether it will drop futher
AdamG1981
post Feb 12 2010, 03:38 PM

4,030 posts

My next purchase: Scomi
the snowball
post Feb 12 2010, 03:39 PM

241 posts

I think Cherroy reason on earnings ability of the company is valid. The company earnings ability is more important than its underlying assets. In addition, the computation done is through the use of Market Value and the bulk of the value come from Genting Singapore. This is computation is base on the underlying assumption that the market have price Genting subsidiaries and associates correctly, which is not always the case. Genting Singapore market cap is bigger than Genting group itself. For a company that do not earn much yet, it is a very high valuation. If Resort World@Sentosa did not turn out as good as expected i.e. loss-making business, it can just drop to closer to its net asset value which is about $0.27. That will wipe off all the Genting value if you compute it base on market value.

Market value is appropriate only when the company is price correctly by the market. The current valuation of Genting Singapore assume the Sentosa resort will be a huge success.

Another thing about using underlying asset to compute is that if the management did not unlock the value of its asset, it is useless to the shareholders as it is not put into good use. There are companies that have huge asset value, stocks like Keck Seng, if the company revalue all their properties and land, can be as high as RM10-RM15 depending on your valuation. But yet, the company is trading at Rm3.89. This is because the company is not unlocking its asset value.

Disclosure: I own Genting and I do hope that the valuation of GENS is correct smile.gif
cherroy
post Feb 12 2010, 03:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 12 2010, 03:28 PM)

Added on February 12, 2010, 3:32 pm

tongue.gif Actually I dont understand what is "Book"
Eventually Genting EPS is 50cents right?
those 35cents contribute by GENM/S/P still consider as profit, so we can buy these company with cheaper price right?
or genting's price should adjust back to RM7.14 above? blush.gif
Palm oil business is more like as same as last year with a little bit increment.

Actually, as minoirty shareholders, we can or should only look solely on profit made which as shareholder can get piece of it, while Genting own how much GenM and how much GenM is, minority shareholder cannot do anything about it.

Just ask a question, do you as Genting shareholder gain any money, or enable Genting pay special dividen if GenM share price shoot to RM10?
The answer is no, although Genting valuation based on GenM also goes up, until you unlock or liquidating it, there is no actual profit or money being made.

Technically, yes, you can buy Genting indirectly own GenM at cheaper price, but in real term market only concern about how much Genting's profit is, as Genting is not going to liquidate GenM anytime soon, while Genting as a group still have other commitment and debt to be servicing as well.

So that's why it is not recommend to buy Genting if you wish to own GenM. Although technically, yes, buy 10 shares equally own 5 share of GentingM, but this is all on paper term only. In real sense, not so easy or directly.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 12 2010, 03:51 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Feb 12 2010, 03:56 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 12 2010, 03:46 PM)
Just ask a question, do you as Genting shareholder gain any money, or enable Genting pay special dividen if GenM share price shoot to RM10?
The answer is no, although Genting valuation based on GenM also goes up, until you unlock or liquidating it, there is no actual profit or money being made.
rclxms.gif I more understand by this explanation, you mean the GENM price up or down dont effect the Genting's profit.

but can it be effect the Genting's share price while GENM(RM10) is his anak?
David_Brent
post Feb 12 2010, 03:57 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Feb 12 2010, 03:38 PM)
My next purchase: Scomi
Will it be this year??
AdamG1981
post Feb 12 2010, 04:04 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 12 2010, 12:57 AM)
Will it be this year??
I bought it as observed in the chart, so its purely TA.
htt
post Feb 12 2010, 04:05 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 12 2010, 03:57 PM)
Will it be this year??
After he says scomi, order for buy jump 5000 lots within minutes... tongue.gif
mopster
post Feb 12 2010, 04:08 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 12 2010, 04:05 PM)
After he says scomi, order for buy jump 5000 lots within minutes... tongue.gif
lol big sharks lurking in LYN tongue.gif brows.gif
Mikiyo
post Feb 12 2010, 04:09 PM

1,385 posts

hi guys! before i leave for airport, i just wanna thank you all for all the advice and teachings throughout my time in LYN! THank you a lot peoples! and may this year be a good year for everybody! Happy chinese new year! smile.gif ill keep in touch when i am in australia! take care everybody! =) and my last buy before i leave, YTLPOWER at 2.14 smile.gif take care!
VyvernS
post Feb 12 2010, 04:10 PM

~Keep Your Eyes on the Monitor~
1,954 posts

QUOTE(Mikiyo @ Feb 12 2010, 04:09 PM)
hi guys! before i leave for airport, i just wanna thank you all for all the advice and teachings throughout my time in LYN! THank you a lot peoples! and may this year be a good year for everybody! Happy chinese new year! smile.gif ill keep in touch when i am in australia! take care everybody! =) and my last buy before i leave, YTLPOWER at 2.14 smile.gif take care!
Good Luck and all the best to you! Enjoy studying in Australia. Happy CNY! biggrin.gif Take care!
mopster
post Feb 12 2010, 04:11 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

bon voyage Miki.... Happy CNY too...
haha welcome to YTLP tongue.gif
darkknight81
post Feb 12 2010, 04:11 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(Mikiyo @ Feb 12 2010, 05:09 PM)
lol what makes you choose ytlpower? take care.

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Feb 12 2010, 04:12 PM
David_Brent
post Feb 12 2010, 04:12 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

Bye Mate! Have a bonzer time down under!
htt
post Feb 12 2010, 04:17 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Feb 12 2010, 04:08 PM)
lol big sharks lurking in LYN tongue.gif brows.gif
Wipe off by another 7000+ sell order... from OSK brows.gif
Joking only...

This post has been edited by htt: Feb 12 2010, 04:17 PM
AdamG1981
post Feb 12 2010, 04:19 PM

4,030 posts

OSK 1.24 HUAT HUAT HUAT!
protonw
post Feb 12 2010, 04:24 PM

5,191 posts

Happy journey! thumbup.gif

Still must buy before leaving... laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:28 AM