My's Gallery of my unusual pets, Newbie venturing into macro photography

TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 4 2010, 12:12 PM, updated 13y ago

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Greeting to all photographers sifu around, im a newbie who just got my D3000 last month
I have a bunch of exotic pets consisting of Scorpions, Tarantulas and Centipedes and love to take picture of them but i don't have a macro lens yet so all of the shot was taken using kit lens
Comment and critics are most appreciated smile.gif

Below is a old photo of my 1st scorpion with her babies taken using a compact camera

These are a few of my shot on the 1st day i got my D3000, also the 1st time using manual mode lolz...

Continue later...

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Apr 29 2011, 06:11 PM
St.Paul
post Feb 4 2010, 12:18 PM

162 posts

Nice and crisp. But i felt abit darker. what u think> ?
TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 4 2010, 12:30 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Yeah, my 1st shot, i feel it's kinda under exposed too
Anw, here's some more recent shot

Tell me what do u think biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Feb 5 2010, 11:28 AM
dvlzplayground
post Feb 4 2010, 11:43 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

how come the scorpion in #5 so fat?? tongue.gif
TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 5 2010, 12:00 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Haha, that is a very gravid scorp tats why so fat tongue.gif
Its a local species commonly found under tree bark btw
dvlzplayground
post Feb 5 2010, 12:07 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

it's local? damnnnn haha
goldfries
post Feb 5 2010, 04:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

good attempts, I suggest you put them on a background that makes them distinct.

it's fine since you're doing it to look NATURAL but being creatures of the world, their color is naturally blended to camouflage to their habitat.

so to make them striking, you might want to consider some change.

number your photos to make it easier to refer. smile.gif

among your photos, i like this one............

TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 5 2010, 11:32 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

I get what u mean, goldfries, something like these?
Glyph
post Feb 7 2010, 08:44 AM

370 posts

i like the composition with natural habitat but the picture is abit dark, maybe you want consider to increase the exposure

the pictures with white background seem to be blurry and the shadow is distracting
FESEM
post Feb 7 2010, 01:19 PM

156 posts

wah, nice le, seldom see these stuff....

just curious, wat these insects eat ar?

goldfries
post Feb 7 2010, 11:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

RyoKenzaki some what, but your white BG seems overblown la.

in fact not necessarily to go white. just something that shows some contrast against the subject would do. meaning like say match black vs light brown, or match brown vs black or lighter brown.

think rocks and dead leaves - you know scorpion habitats. you can find rocks with less messy colors (eg grey mix to match black, brown scorpions), wood (eg driftwood, dark brown to match lighter brown scorpions) and dried leaves (lighter brown, to match black scorpions).
TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 9 2010, 09:06 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Glyph @ Feb 7 2010, 08:44 AM)
i like the composition with natural habitat but the picture is abit dark, maybe you want consider to increase the exposure

the pictures with white background seem to be blurry and the shadow is distracting
Hmm, is there a way to take pic with no shadow?
Can playing around with lighting setup eliminate shadow?
Maybe i ll try to setup a good lighting setup and try again when i know how to do it hmm
Thanks anw biggrin.gif

QUOTE(FESEM @ Feb 7 2010, 01:19 PM)
wah, nice le, seldom see these stuff....

just curious, wat these insects eat ar?
They are arachnid not insect
Anw they eat basically anything they can overpower, but i used to feed them cricket and mealworm smile.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 7 2010, 11:41 PM)
RyoKenzaki some what, but your white BG seems overblown la.

in fact not necessarily to go white. just something that shows some contrast against the subject would do. meaning like say match black vs light brown, or match brown vs black or lighter brown.

think rocks and dead leaves - you know scorpion habitats. you can find rocks with less messy colors (eg grey mix to match black, brown scorpions), wood (eg driftwood, dark brown to match lighter brown scorpions) and dried leaves (lighter brown, to match black scorpions).
Actually those pic was taken sometimes ago before i saw ur reply here, just thought of posting this but i do get what u mean actually haha
Just wan to see some comment on it since its the first time i try white background picture
I just got my +10 macro filter, will post more pic real soon laugh.gif
goldfries
post Feb 9 2010, 05:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

good. smile.gif btw arachnids ah, what you should try is go to the front and snap their head. awesomeness if you can macro!

not necessarily need full body shot. you can just shoot the scorpion's stinger if you like.

as to snap without shadow, how la? the fella so close to the ground. what you can do is diffuse the light.
Johan-N
post Feb 9 2010, 05:21 PM

Life is Half Spent Before One knows what life is~
1,186 posts

I hate Scorpions...u have increased my fear of them by taking such "Clear" shots of them mega_shok.gif

btw why dont u try taking a shot of the scorpions mouth when it is eating something hmm.gif
goldfries
post Feb 9 2010, 05:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i don't think he can get a good shot of that without any MACRO related add-on.
aros
post Feb 9 2010, 07:24 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 9 2010, 05:14 PM)
good. smile.gif btw arachnids ah, what you should try is go to the front and snap their head. awesomeness if you can macro!

not necessarily need full body shot. you can just shoot the scorpion's stinger if you like.

as to snap without shadow, how la? the fella so close to the ground. what you can do is diffuse the light.
Macro flash brows.gif
TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 10 2010, 12:43 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 9 2010, 05:14 PM)

Good idea... Since i got my DSLR i never try shot like that, must have been forgotten bout it doh.gif

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 9 2010, 05:21 PM)
I hate Scorpions...u have increased my fear of them by taking such "Clear" shots of them mega_shok.gif
btw why dont u try taking a shot of the scorpions mouth when it is eating something hmm.gif
Interesting idea, woll try hmm.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 9 2010, 05:42 PM)
i don't think he can get a good shot of that without any MACRO related add-on.
Not as good as those who have macro lens but definitely will try my best smile.gif

Will start posting pictures on Friday wink.gif
dvlzplayground
post Feb 10 2010, 01:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

wow got 10+ filter already? looking forward for scarier shots!
yltanisaac
post Feb 10 2010, 02:15 PM

94 posts

good shots ryo.. sad.gif I have no camera
TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 14 2010, 02:53 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Close up picture of their mouth sure ain't easy
I tried a lot of times but still cant get a good result but nonetheless here's some new pictures to share

Lets start with some creepy centipede
#24 Munching a cricket

#25 It's legs, everyone's worst nightmare

#26 The last pair of legs aka the terminal legs

#27 Overall picture

Here's some close up pic
#28 In this pic u can see a tiny mites on the right hand side of it's head laugh.gif

#29 Detail of the cricket

#30 A ''not so nice'' shot

#31 Another....

#32 See the two bulky thing at the front? They are the chelicarae (Pincher like mouth part) of the scorp

TSRyoKenzaki
post Feb 14 2010, 02:54 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Some random macro shot
#33 One of my scorp babies enjoying cricket drumstick

#34 It's really small...

#35 Our own local beauty, Liocheles Australasiae, they can give birth without the present of male through parthenogenic

#36 This is a spermatophore aka the sperm of a scorpion

#37 A close-up shot of one of my Tarantula's head

#38 These hairs here are known as urticating hairs, they ll kick it off the air and can cause itchiness when contacted with our skin

#39 One of my scorpion molting

#40 Finish molting

Critics and comment pls smile.gif

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Feb 14 2010, 02:56 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post Jan 29 2013, 04:18 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Long time didn't update, old pic thou