DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V3], powered by Intel C2D, Core i5 n Core i7

Pennywise
post May 20 2010, 12:05 AM

5,796 posts

Some question on the XPS 16. I noticed on Dell website, it says "NEW! Now featuring Intel® CoreTM i5 processors up to optional Intel® CoreTM i7 Quad-Core processors."

However, when I customize my purchase, I do not see any option which allows me to add the new i5 / i7 Quad-Core processors.

I have only see Intel Core 2 Duo P8700, T9550 and T9800 in the selection, where can I find the Quad Core processors?

While we are on this topic, can someone point out the difference between a Core 2 Duo, and a i-Series processor?
Pennywise
post May 20 2010, 12:46 AM

5,796 posts

Thanks for the pointers. I noticed that if I go with the i-series of processors, I lose my 2MP webcam?

I have a Asus EEEPC Netbook but the powers of a netbook does not meet my requirement these days, it's more for travelling use due to its small size.

I am looking for a laptop to do:
1. Surf net
2. Play games (especially the upcoming Starcraft II, even if it's in low graphic resolution)
3. Store photos taken from DSLR
4. VB scripting
5. Running Virtual PC

Would a i5 or a i7 be better for me or it doesnt matter?
Pennywise
post Jun 10 2010, 11:44 PM

5,796 posts

1. Why Dell only provide Win7 64bit but not 32bit?
2. The new GPU with i5-520 should be able to support Starcraft II?
3. The display connectivity let us hook it up to LCD. However, is it possible to hook up to 2 LCD? Wonder if such converter / splitter exist, to let us view 3 screens.
Pennywise
post Jun 11 2010, 05:15 PM

5,796 posts

i5-540M + 4GB 1333Mhz RAM + 500GB 7200 RPM + 1GB HD5730. I think this spec is quite good below RM5k. I am planning to get this some time soon. My configuration above only sum up to RM4681 with a 9-cell battery.

Guys - what do you think about the 9-cell battery?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 11 2010, 05:17 PM
Pennywise
post Jun 11 2010, 06:19 PM

5,796 posts

What do you think about the 9-cell battery? Necessary?
Pennywise
post Jun 11 2010, 09:01 PM

5,796 posts

Victorioz,

Dont have to worry bout parts. Only difference is CPU.
Pennywise
post Jun 13 2010, 11:10 AM

5,796 posts

Sorry, havent been reading the thread - what does XPS16 need more thermal paste? Got heating problem with the CPU?
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 05:13 PM

5,796 posts

All,

Some questions:
1. I noticed the XPS16 has 4 options but only the first one running on P8700 series processor has 15.6" screen with 2MP webcam, others from the i5 and i7 series dont have 2MP webcam stated in the website.

2. I planning to get a unit around next month or the following for:
- watch movie
- listen to music
- virtual PC
- surf the net
- play some RTS games (I dont play FPS, headache!!)
- check stock market
- run my online store
- etc.

i5 or i7? Will it come with webcam?

Added on June 14, 2010, 5:13 pm3. Btw, how does this work?
http://www.dellcoupon.com.my/

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 14 2010, 05:13 PM
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 05:45 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(maolnorlexu @ Jun 14 2010, 05:16 PM)

Mine is i7 spec, and its got webcam  brows.gif
Dont pull me leg leh... this 2MP webcam is standard throughout all XPS16 is it? I had the Studio 15 which later, I gave to my sister. It had 2MP webcam, which I think is convenient. XPS should have this, else... rugi teruk!!

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 14 2010, 05:18 PM)
depends on how many virtual machines u want to run...

if it's juz 1 or 2 small ones, even C2D can handle it well...
I think about 3 - 4, just to test out some stuff like Linuxes and maybe a server-client environment, mainly for testing purposes.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 14 2010, 05:23 PM)
On the customization, stated 2MP webcam..
The coupon, you use it when you add it to cart, there's a place to input the coupon...
The thing is... how to get those coupons?? I'm interested... but dunno how to get.
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 09:00 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(maolnorlexu @ Jun 14 2010, 05:16 PM)

Mine is i7 spec, and its got webcam  brows.gif
This 2MP webcam is standard throughout all XPS16 is it? I had the Studio 15 which later, I gave to my sister. It had 2MP webcam, which I think is convenient. XPS should have this, else... rugi teruk!!

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 14 2010, 05:18 PM)
depends on how many virtual machines u want to run...

if it's juz 1 or 2 small ones, even C2D can handle it well...
I think about 3 - 4, just to test out some stuff like Linuxes and maybe a server-client environment, mainly for testing purposes.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 14 2010, 05:23 PM)
On the customization, stated 2MP webcam..
The coupon, you use it when you add it to cart, there's a place to input the coupon...
The thing is... how to get those coupons?? I'm interested... but dunno how to get.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 14 2010, 09:00 PM
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 09:09 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:01 PM)
look at his siggy.. stated there.

insert this code

89K49RQP35L03T

after finish config the specs and accessories..
Errr... insert code? Once I insert his code liao, then he no need to use anymore? How? Unfair for him, isnt it?
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 09:28 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:15 PM)
Its reusable, so no fear nod.gif
When is the expiry date? Dell has promotion till 24th June 2010. Will this coupon code promotion stack on top of the current promotion?
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 09:30 PM

5,796 posts

i5 or i7 for the below:

- watch movie
- listen to music
- virtual PC - 3 - 4 at once, simulate Wintel client-server environment for testing and Linux distros
- surf the net
- play some RTS games (I dont play FPS, headache!!)
- check stock market
- run my online store
- etc.

Added on June 14, 2010, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:29 PM)
Everything is on my siggy sweat.gif
Valid 'til 29 July 2010 and it is stackable...
Sorry sir, didnt read carefully as font too small and tired already.
Thank you very much for sharing the coupon code and highlighting the expiry date.
Greatly appreciate, lee! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 14 2010, 09:31 PM
Pennywise
post Jun 14 2010, 09:36 PM

5,796 posts

Sad part is i7 seem to have lauya GPU at the moment. I am thinking if I should wait..
Pennywise
post Jun 16 2010, 11:02 PM

5,796 posts

I am so tempted to get a XPS16 with the RM100 instant cash redemption, expiring June 24 and lee's Dell coupon of RM150 expiring July 29.

Yet, I am wondering if a newer GPU will be out to replace the 5730. Should I get it now or 2 months later? Worth the wait? Worry 2 months past, no update. Hence, buy and a new GPU update is released. Pengsan.
Pennywise
post Jun 19 2010, 11:35 PM

5,796 posts

Why are there so many talks on coolers, thermal paste, etc? Stock XPS16 got serious heating problem? CPU or GPU?
Pennywise
post Jun 20 2010, 09:40 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 20 2010, 02:12 AM)
not cpu and gpu but the ventilation itself.
If the ventilation itself is hot, how does it affect the performance? Will the machine slow down to a melt down or something? I'm kinda worried.
Additionally, does this happen to both i5 and i7?
Pennywise
post Jun 23 2010, 01:28 PM

5,796 posts

Guys,

Your 3 years warranty is which one?

1. 3-Year Dell Care Premium [add RM 845.00 or RM 70/month-1]

2. 3-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover [add RM 601.00 or RM 50/month-1]

3. 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover [add RM 668.00 or RM 56/month-1]
Dell Recommended

Added on June 23, 2010, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Jun 23 2010, 12:14 PM)
guys..it seems like the coupon for sxps 16 is no longer valid..

i thought that it will valid until 29th of july?
Same thing happened to me... Damn!

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 23 2010, 01:28 PM
Pennywise
post Jun 23 2010, 03:41 PM

5,796 posts

Ok, I've never bought my Dell from the website, usually get off Lowyat retailers.

Two questions:

1. How do I get in touch with the Sales Agent to talk about my purchase (specifications and discount, etc)?
2. Is it really necessary for us to get 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover [add RM 668.00 or RM 56/month-1]?

I am typing this from a 1 year old Dell Studio 15 and it still works fine. I bought this unit off Lowyat retailers. I am wondering if I should commit a 668 for warranty. What is your advise, all sifu?
Pennywise
post Jun 24 2010, 12:23 AM

5,796 posts

XPS 16 (i5 series) promotion extended to 1st July 2010!

Get RM100 Instant Cash Redemption - Expires:Thursday, 01 July 2010
FREE Upgrade to 500GB 7200RPM Hard Drive - Expires:Thursday, 01 July 2010

0.0564sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:37 PM