5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V3], powered by Intel C2D, Core i5 n Core i7

astria
post Jun 16 2010, 12:05 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(outlife11 @ Jun 16 2010, 11:58 AM)
GPU temp nearly 100c !
folding... tongue.gif
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 02:37 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:12 PM)
I don't understand why and what is this FOLDING...
All i know is protein simulation...
How does it work actually?? You guys volunteer or izit becuz of association / group / school project??
The data will be send to somewhere??
it's a volunteer grid-computing project initiated by Stanford University... basically it simulates how protein behaves to provide the raw data that is going to help researchers on human diseases...

they do publish their work in medical paper from time to time, u can take a look at the older work in the website as well...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:20 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 16 2010, 05:18 PM)
guy, it's been so long i stuck with vista. i feel like changing it to 7 but i dont dare to move the 1st step because this is the only computer i have, if something happen i really dont know how to call for help. so now i decided to learn how to do partition 1st. when i look at the default partition that dell did for me, i couldnt find any driver there. any1 can guide me??
drivers??? go search urself... laugh.gif

jkjk... drivers are pretty easy to find nowadays... to be safe u can go to Dell's support site and grab them... else u can hunt for them 1 by 1 from the hardware makers' website...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:34 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 16 2010, 05:30 PM)
i mean i dont find any driver in my partition. izzit i'm looking the wrong way??
why would u want to use that anyway??? they are most probably oudated...

i would suggest that u hunt for the necessary drivers before u format... get the wifi adapter or lan driver at the very least...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:42 PM

22,158 posts

delete or not it's up to u...

for me i deleted the recovery partition the very first day i got the laptop liao... laugh.gif
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:48 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 16 2010, 05:47 PM)
10GB for my partition enough??
Just Windows?
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:49 PM

22,158 posts

wait, how u plan to partition the whole HDD?

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 16 2010, 05:50 PM
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 05:53 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 16 2010, 05:52 PM)
i thought windows can install from dvd or thumb drive?? so my partition only contain drivers. is that correct?? sry, i super noob  cry.gif
juz put the drivers in another thumbdrive will do... dun need to create 1 partition juz for the drivers...

if u dun ve so many, then juz get the network adapter's driver and put into the same thumbdrive as the one u install Windows with... after Windows install finish first thing install the driver, then download all the others from internet

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 16 2010, 05:54 PM
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 06:36 PM

22,158 posts

it's up to u to partition...

my 320GB HDD is cut to 200GB for C: and 100GB for D:... C: contains Windows, games, essential programs, etc... D: is mp3, school work...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 08:44 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(xwsmx @ Jun 16 2010, 08:41 PM)
can this laptop support games, such as CoD 4, CoD:MW2, FIFA 10?
definitely... even if u re on the clearance spec...

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 16 2010, 08:44 PM
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 09:05 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(xwsmx @ Jun 16 2010, 09:01 PM)
but, some games cannot be play on 64bit, is that true?
not for me...

have been using Vista x64 and now Win7 x64...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:05 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 16 2010, 11:02 PM)
I am so tempted to get a XPS16 with the RM100 instant cash redemption, expiring June 24 and lee's Dell coupon of RM150 expiring July 29.

Yet, I am wondering if a newer GPU will be out to replace the 5730. Should I get it now or 2 months later? Worth the wait? Worry 2 months past, no update. Hence, buy and a new GPU update is released.  Pengsan.
can tell u there's no new tech coming up in the next 3-4mths at least...

Added on June 16, 2010, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(daisuke @ Jun 16 2010, 09:15 PM)
y i open the gpu tool so laggy 1?normal?
erm... no???

mine pops out right after the UAC...

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 16 2010, 11:06 PM
astria
post Jun 17 2010, 12:21 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(victorioz @ Jun 17 2010, 12:18 AM)
Hi Astria,

I'm placing my order tmr. Anyway, why did u delete the recovery partition? bloatware? or r u saying u reformatted?

Think I'll be getting this lappie in 2-3 weeks time so I wanna know wat should I do with it 1st @@"
reason 1 - Asus laptops at that time still come with Windows recovery DVD (it came with Vista Home Premium x86), so no pt keeping the recovery partition
reason 2 - prefer to have the whole HDD available to use...
reason 3 - i ve my own copy of Windows Vista Ultimate x64 which i can make use of

but hey, i did not delete the recovery partition in my netbook... tongue.gif
astria
post Jun 17 2010, 09:47 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Jun 17 2010, 07:08 AM)
Some come with DVD while some don't...but looking at evo list of spec previous, should have a Win7 HP x64 installation DVD, already mentioned in the list...

Added on June 17, 2010, 7:35 amGuys, Catalyst 10.6

----> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1460136
now that's fast of AMD... they usually update only at the end of the mth...

the release notes is still 10.5... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 17 2010, 09:49 AM
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 09:30 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Salamurhaaja @ Jun 18 2010, 10:02 PM)
Actually is there any specific problems which caused the laptop freeze... Anyone also experienced this before...
got on my old laptop last time... bad sectors in HDD... no problem after running check disk...
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 09:37 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jun 19 2010, 09:32 AM)
there is also upgrade option to 5730 in i5 variant.. if you want..

upgrade about RM 103
or call them/chat with them for i7 quad + HD5730...
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 01:31 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 19 2010, 01:20 PM)
thats alot.. 0.0
but he taking 720QM + HD5730 wor...
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 05:00 PM

22,158 posts

i7 quad by default cannot...

need to speak with SA then can...
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 05:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 19 2010, 05:05 PM)
The i7 quad version now default with HD5730...
really... hmm.gif

wat's Dell trying to do sia... sweat.gif
astria
post Jun 19 2010, 05:09 PM

22,158 posts

well, u can try, though i really doubt so...

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0199sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:31 AM