126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V3], powered by Intel C2D, Core i5 n Core i7

TSoutlife11
post Feb 10 2010, 08:29 PM

349 posts

yup.... current BIOS that throttle up to the maximum power of the charger used so for a 90 watts charger the system throttles at 90 watts
Eugene91
post Feb 10 2010, 08:59 PM

6,109 posts

I wonder why dell gave it 90W adapter.. even my noob system gets 90W.. why cant they give 130W adapter right away? lol.. Dell Dell...
TSoutlife11
post Feb 10 2010, 09:21 PM

349 posts

some 1 told me Dell now can request/replace 130W adapter

higher voltage higher risk ma...

Added on February 10, 2010, 9:26 pmhttp://en.community.dell.com/forums/p/19306277/19652867.aspx

where the hell the a07 BIOS ?

This post has been edited by outlife11: Feb 10 2010, 09:26 PM
defectivelasagna
post Feb 11 2010, 01:09 AM

304 posts

hmm i think im gonna upgrade my sxps16 warranty to 3 years and complete cover, good idea?

im wondering if 2 years down the line and the sxps got updated and what not then suddenly my sxps rosak and they have to replace it, will they give the latest model? heheheh
xKAIZERUx
post Feb 11 2010, 09:34 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

i have the same idea as you defectivelasagna, guys know what we have to pay to extend the warranty? dont have much money at that time to extent to full 3 years warranty.
defectivelasagna
post Feb 11 2010, 09:41 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Feb 11 2010, 09:34 AM)
i have the same idea as you defectivelasagna, guys know what we have to pay to extend the warranty? dont have much money at that time to extent to full 3 years warranty.
for sxps the 3 year extension is RM577, though there's the DellCarePlus which i think includes 2 years CC is about RM289.

unless you're talking about after sales extension, the SA told me that it would cost about RM500+ a year.

This post has been edited by defectivelasagna: Feb 11 2010, 09:41 AM
kinseong
post Feb 11 2010, 12:44 PM

373 posts

DELL will refresh GPU in March, not sure about the exact date, GPU will be better compare to the current ATI 4670, according to my SA. I already cancelled my order since there is delay on my customized system - RGBLED screen part shortage. Other who is not rushing to get a new laptop, can hold your order till March. smile.gif

The power adapter issue, my SA said that there is no 130W adapter available in Malaysia, if browse to DELL US, there is no option to order 130W adapter either. She also said there will be Bios update to solve the issue. Not sure how true is that. hmm.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Feb 11 2010, 01:31 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

guys, now try and see, the xps 16 page just left the C2D version, and the i5 and i7 version have been removed. for how long have this been?
EvilDevil118
post Feb 11 2010, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(kinseong @ Feb 11 2010, 12:44 PM)
DELL will refresh GPU in March, not sure about the exact date, GPU will be better compare to the current ATI 4670, according to my SA. I already cancelled my order since there is delay on my customized system - RGBLED screen part shortage. Other who is not rushing to get a new laptop, can hold your order till March.  smile.gif

The power adapter issue, my SA said that there is no 130W adapter available in Malaysia, if browse to DELL US, there is no option to order 130W adapter either. She also said there will be Bios update to solve the issue. Not sure how true is that.  hmm.gif
I found Dell 130W and 150W adapter, both super big size, price RM 220-250. Used item i guess, from XPS 1730M and M2120 or sumthing. Tot of gettin for my XPS 16 but dell can't deliver my order b4 Feb so I have to wait. Getting a bigger Wattage adapter won't hurt ur lappie, it's the same as getting a higher wattage PSU for ur PC, if the need to draw more current, the adapter will supply, better than having a lower wattage adapter and can't sustain the draw hence end up in smoke.

The reason dell didn't include a higher wattage could be due to cost, or the size of those adapters, it's damn big, almost like a brick. shocking.gif. Another possible reason could be their tech ppl dun wanna admit their mistake for assuming a 90w adapter is more than enough for their XPS 16 systems. doh.gif
Eugene91
post Feb 11 2010, 02:38 PM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 11 2010, 01:09 AM)
hmm i think im gonna upgrade my sxps16 warranty to 3 years and complete cover, good idea?

im wondering if 2 years down the line and the sxps got updated and what not then suddenly my sxps rosak and they have to replace it, will they give the latest model? heheheh
Yes they will do that.. Over at NBR here are some examples:

XPS 1530 to Studio XPS 16
XPS 1330 to Studio XPS 1340
XPS 17XX to Alienware M17x

Hehe thats why 3 years Complete Cover is really worth it tongue.gif
EvilDevil118
post Feb 11 2010, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 11 2010, 02:38 PM)

Do note that that's if u make loads of noise, writing loads of letters, e-mails, calling up their complaints dept. to get such offers. XPS 1730M to Alienware M17X is very very very good offer. Not everyone manage to get those "upgrade" there's alot more have issues still pending and can't get their "upgrade" due to certain policies such as location, diff SA, diff customer relation officer.

cool2.gif Afterall it's Malaysia, we can't expect same "upgrade" given to everyone.
defectivelasagna
post Feb 11 2010, 06:11 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 11 2010, 02:38 PM)

haha i already called the SA and confirmed the order d. cant wait!
-kytz-
post Feb 11 2010, 07:07 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 11 2010, 06:11 PM)
haha i already called the SA and confirmed the order d. cant wait!
Great!What's your specs?Price? tongue.gif

With 3 years warranty? hmm.gif
defectivelasagna
post Feb 11 2010, 07:18 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 11 2010, 07:07 PM)
Great!What's your specs?Price? tongue.gif

With 3 years warranty? hmm.gif
Core i5 520M 2.4GHz, ATI HD4670,320GB 7200 RPM,4GB DDR3 RAM,9 cell primary battery.

Merlot Red biggrin.gif

RM 4699.
Jeffrey1987
post Feb 11 2010, 07:44 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 11 2010, 07:18 PM)
Core i5 520M 2.4GHz, ATI HD4670,320GB 7200 RPM,4GB DDR3 RAM,9 cell primary battery.

Merlot Red  biggrin.gif 

RM 4699.
hmm.gif So, did you customize to 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover?
defectivelasagna
post Feb 11 2010, 08:07 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Feb 11 2010, 07:44 PM)
hmm.gif So, did you customize to 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover?
yep.
TSoutlife11
post Feb 11 2010, 09:24 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 11 2010, 07:18 PM)

Merlot Red  biggrin.gif 

RM 4699.
take Core™ i5-540M Processor ma, rm173 if installment less than rm15 per month
Jeffrey1987
post Feb 11 2010, 11:06 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 11 2010, 08:07 PM)
yep.
rclxms.gif Good for you ... so you got yourself around 5% off from original price ... any freebies? Oh yea, you bought it via SA right?

Added on February 11, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(outlife11 @ Feb 11 2010, 09:24 PM)
take  Core™ i5-540M Processor ma, rm173 if installment less than rm15 per month
hmm.gif Actually how the installment works? Any interests charged besides of the original price?

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Feb 12 2010, 03:30 AM
defectivelasagna
post Feb 12 2010, 12:59 AM

304 posts

yeah i got a free targus backpack lol. pretty much that's it.

also, the installment plans have 0% interest so you can choose either 6 months installment or 12 months installment at no extra charge than the price quoted, unless you live in east malaysia or something.

This post has been edited by defectivelasagna: Feb 12 2010, 01:39 AM
Jeffrey1987
post Feb 12 2010, 03:38 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Feb 12 2010, 12:59 AM)
yeah i got a free targus backpack lol. pretty much that's it.

also, the installment plans have 0% interest so you can choose either 6 months installment or 12 months installment at no extra charge than the price quoted, unless you live in east malaysia or something.
drool.gif Wow ... that was a good deal for you ... Yo are so good at bargaining! I think in overall you got yourself RM 370 deduction from original price ... right? biggrin.gif Anyway, enjoy yourself with the new laptop ... icon_rolleyes.gif

126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:38 AM