<-<- Sugar Gliders V15 ->->, - Glider Slaves -

glidermama
post Feb 16 2010, 07:51 PM

thumbup.gif rclxms.gif happy chinese new year!!!

so long i havent checked in sooo busy...so much sudah miss...

anyway to those who know RJ, he is now officially living with his gf Furla..i got her in dec but never put together until february...give her time to grow...so that RJ tak bully her and they got along fine within 10 minutes!! i have been switching their pouches and cages regularly after deworming etc..so technically they have been smelling and seeing each other for 2 months before living together...like tunang zaman dulu dulu pulak!!

it was so cute when they were finally intro-ed...furla crabbed at RJ for jumping on her so greedily.. brows.gif he terus ran out and only came sniffing back slowly after she calmed down..after that first 2 minutes they were inseparable...constantly licking and grooming each other...RJ would go down and bring up furla's fruit to her in the tent...he steps aside when she comes down for her hpw...so gentleman... wub.gif

so glad i could share this info with my SG lovers...thanks so much for your guidance and expertise...
glidermama
post Mar 1 2010, 10:07 PM

mesti laa... ingat top model orang aje ke nak kena get ready for their close up?...sayang takde gambor before and after brows.gif

i nak tanya si RJ sejak dah dapat gf ni he rubbed his chest and head to the point of severe baldness..skin isnt broken or red yet but i'm worried it might get to that point if he continues being sooo "enthusiastic"

he has attempted to mount her several times...should i let them be or discourage him considering she's barely 5 months old?

glidermama
post Mar 12 2010, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 11 2010, 11:44 AM)
no. unless the male is neutered of course.

else, wait for the female to be around 5-6 months old.
that's what i thought too..but even after waiting and tho furla is around 5 months (she was three months in mid dec 09) she looks small compared to RJ and i dont want him raping her shakehead.gif ...but when i separate them both will call to each other and snuggle and cuddle... doh.gif dat's why i confused and asked eric..he said shouldnt..nanti underaged pregnancy plak rclxub.gif

initially when i got furla i wanted to neuter RJ..tried twice dr jenny said not advisable because of his weight and appetite issues (mega super picky) i had them separated (in different houses: RJ was with me and furla was at my dad's alternatively since i thought that was one way to 'introduce' them to each other with me as the common bond/tree/food supplier)) dr jenny said it's ok to put them next to each other since it was driving them nuts to smell each other on me every day and even same house different cages had RJ going berserk trying to get to her almost hurting himself trying to get out of his cage.

i have done my research and the information is quite conflicting,some say it ok to let nature take its course as long as the gap isnt too extreme and gliders female are known to be able to 'hold off' getting pregnant or giving birth (a little like what dr J and emino is saying) others say what eric is saying which is even tho sexual maturity is projected around 9-12 months it is possible for the female to get pregnant earlier and it isnt advisable blink.gif

right now? i leave RJ at home and take furla with me. dah balik let them play with each other until i go to bed around 12ish and them put them in separate cages ( punya la bising with the barking and hissing and yipping) and the next day bawak RJ plak...my hubby calls me the pegawai pencegah maksiat doh.gif whistling.gif

Added on March 12, 2010, 9:21 amoops lupa RJ is around 8 months old

This post has been edited by glidermama: Mar 12 2010, 09:21 AM
glidermama
post Mar 12 2010, 12:04 PM

wub.gif notworthy.gif thanks eric...that's what i thought too except that furla seems equally happy to snuggle cuddle and groom RJ blush.gif ...which why i let them play together but try my best to separate them when he tries to mount her..she doesnt seem to mind much tho doh.gif whistling.gif ...i mean when he does that..i just worry shocking.gif
glidermama
post Mar 19 2010, 12:24 PM

taking RJ and Furla for check up kat Dr jenny's today..wish me luck hope everything is ok...i'm still hoping he'll get snipped...even though the family thinks he deserves to keep his right to procreation..my only concern is what Dr jenny says coz so far she also dont want to snip him until he gets chubbier AND HE ISNT GETTING CHUBBIER!! i dont know what to do i even bought the pregnant and lactating HPW hoping it'll give him extra nutrtion to overcome his malas makan syndrome... vmad.gif wish me luck!! sweat.gif

Added on March 19, 2010, 12:27 pmhome's harmony memang fleece cantik and so far i bought 2 dua kena sapu by my girls..kesian RJ and Furla..

eric mmg sifu...fleece is the weave technique/result, polyester is the material used to make the fleece...kalu yang mahal they'll use wool...but yang tu jangan mimpi la you can get blanket sized for belas RM jer..macam t-shirt la..ada yang 100% cotton...tu biasa mahal skit ada yang polyester jeer..tu 3:RM10 pun dapat....paling best to me still t-shirt pagoda esp buat pakai tido time panas like now..

This post has been edited by glidermama: Mar 19 2010, 12:27 PM
glidermama
post Mar 19 2010, 01:47 PM

woohoo..wont b long before we get exotic colors here available too la nampak nyeer..takde gambor ke?
glidermama
post Mar 19 2010, 09:27 PM

hey echah wonder if we bumped into kat dr Jenny's clinic...i was there too..RJ is 90gm and furla is 70 woohooo....so happy...still she wont snip him but she said furla is definitelt ok to lepas with RJ now.. wub.gif
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 11:19 AM

jolene i saw your card on the counter...i was the one dressed in black...but i only saw peeps with a gorgeous husky and another with a german shepherd and a young girl with a blue sugies pouch nak tegur i was afraid wrong person..

Added on March 20, 2010, 11:21 amfarid87...am no expert...zakat for animals from which you get income...as in cows goats and if you breed your gliders for money then yes...technically it aint you paying zakat for them it's the income derived from them that you are sharing with the poor/unfortunate..dont even have to go pay at counter zakat if you know someone who is truly poor or orphanages you donate there ca also...

This post has been edited by glidermama: Mar 20 2010, 11:21 AM
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 11:26 AM

jitshiong..over grooming?furla had the same problem not very swollen laaa..just a lil bit stimulated and visible...dr jenny said it's possible RJ's been grooming her there...aiiiyah...so enthusiastic one this guy!! anyway...i had to keep em apart for a few days until the pouch goes back to normal and then ok...

maybe criscille is doing the same thing?altho not for the same reason i'm sure.. hahahahah
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 03:17 PM

jolene, it is possible dr Jenny also asked me that..sometimes if they get dusty, the pouch membrane may get irritated...when she checked furla she said the pouch dont look irritated just over stimulated..no sign of pregnancy or joey..so the guess is to take care of it and keep them separated but like yours furla pun will lick like crazy her pouch to get rid of the ubat...it got even worse until i started using the cotton bud to stroke her belly like glider massage until she tido...then use the other end dipped in the ubat to rub the pouch...use 2 fingers to hold her pouch apart and 1 finger to tickle her continuously...mula mula she suspicious also but during the afternoon she pening pening she'll sleep jer... brows.gif
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 04:39 PM

rclxms.gif jolene so clever...that's what i tried the first time...but i used my finger dipped in honey...she so busy licking the honey off my index finger i could use my thumb and middle finger to spread her pouch to apply the medicine with my right hand..cume when she smell the meds she abandoned the honey to clean the meds by licking...so glad yours didnt.. thumbup.gif

eric i like the way you think!! wink.gif
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 06:56 PM

rehohk, i'm a noob too but having had all kinds of pets since i was young, i know now that any animal that bonds so closely and absolutely like sugies shouldnt be treated with physical harshness ESPECIALLY if they havent learned to trust you above and beyond..(i dunno,you could say push his head but in actual fact did it very gently...sounds only rough but not really) but i know RJ and FUrla reacts in fear even when i scold my children for being to rough and noisy AROUND them, belum kena ramas lagi! and still they immediately retreat when i raise my voice...they'll run to me if they are afraid but i cant imagine if i were to push their head..jenuh merajuk i'm sure...

not to say cannot play roughhouse style with them i know RJ and furla loves it when i tease them like kittens... dont worry laa you pujuk pujuk them i'm sure they'll trust soon...like RJ and Furla yesterday at Dr jenny's so busy trying to hide inside my sleeves dont want to let Dr J poke them

Added on March 20, 2010, 6:58 pmhahaaha..eric..that wont work with RJ super picky boy..only eat persimmon berries cherries and half boiled eggs..with honey...BRAT!!

This post has been edited by glidermama: Mar 20 2010, 06:58 PM
glidermama
post Mar 20 2010, 09:57 PM

my suggestion only...dont start teaching them to eat in the pouch...nanti lagi lazy dont want to come out...what i used to do earlier was lipat the pouch kasi pendek (not much room to disappear) put the food near the pouch opening so that they can stick their head out to eat it without their body actually leaving the pouch...

when i leave for work for the first 3-4 days my baju that i wore the night before i cover the cage ( brows.gif the smell still fresh muahahahahah) and then at night when i come back i would talk to them while putting the food in cleaning the cage and while i do my marking at home the cage is covered with my workclothes pulak but the part facing me i leave open.. after a few days i took them to work every day but i tak kacau them just offer food if thye want but they have to eat from my hand...warning this may backfire. until now my cheeky monkeys prefer to be handfed than to come down themselves unless very very hungry...and then can merajuk with me for a while if i dont feed them.. doh.gif

if they bite you some suggest blowing in their face but i let them and stick them immediately in my pocket..with my hand still around them until they relax...i also like to stroke them while they are in the pouch...soon when they start associating you with pleasure ie food and glider massages they wont mind having your hand come in...RJ has the habit of hanging on to my finger and jerking it if i stop tickling him macam big bolster he make my finger.before he got furla RJ loves to hang out in my pocket even squeezing himself into my jeans rather than his pouch..now got GF i tak berapa laku dah... cry.gif

the faster they learn that you wont hurt them and only give them good stuff the sooner they will be happy to see you hear you even smell you...

like the sifus have said sabar when they do trust you and treat like their safety net it'll be worth every sacrifice you have made... there was one time RJ was on the couch and my youngest daughter elsa was being naughty and she was trying to grab something from my hand and hitting me because she couldnt...RH actually jumped onto her face and made a sound that was part crab part hiss he almost bit her lucky i was fast enought to take him off her face the scratches were red tho..gliders may be small but they got big hearts like the bravest dogs...
glidermama
post Mar 29 2010, 02:54 PM

jitshiong your boys are sooo good looking...habis laa their daddy got competition now!!
glidermama
post Apr 1 2010, 04:37 PM

eric, i want to get the wheel but everytime i try intro-ing to RJ he wont even get near it or into it. doh.gif ..last time i put him(actually i kinda gently paksa him to masuk jugak inside there when he didnt want coz after 2 days still takut soo tak macho!!) in there he pooped mushy and watery and hopped out asap. sweat.gif ..i noticed that when he is scared he'll pooop like that instead of the normal toothpaste type...after that i no more try and just lepas him to play with me at home and play tug of war and hide and seek etc with him..

i 'm hoping now that he's bigger he'd be less afraid of something not stable (even when i lepas him outside if the branch is not stable he'll immediately jump back to me or bark for me to get him whistling.gif haihs..

but i suppose he's just weird like that..he doesnt like mealies or anything alive not even dubias..only fruits..and eggs...nope not even chiken..i think he's vegetarian or part buddhist...at least, the part about not harming any living thing icon_rolleyes.gif

how ya? i want him to exercise more so that he'll eat more and be more muscular, hence the wheel, but i dont want to spend 100 and just be a display either!

he is very active and does cartwheels and climbs everywhere and seems to prefer going somewhere instead staying in the same place...my fault i guess teaching him to be so outdoorsy..he runs freely in the room in my office when i'm there (i used to bring him in everyday last year) so how ya? what's anyone's experience with a wheel timid sg? go for it or not?
hmm.gif icon_question.gif

ps: i tried the whole immediately after they wake up take them to the sink and let them go potty, it does work in a sense becoz it's a habit for them when i first take them out they'll do their business first over my hand with me lifting their tail tongue.gif ..and if i forget, they'll pose somewhere on me and they'll lift their tail , the minute i see that i faster go find place for them to poop even if it's a tissue paper. biggrin.gif like teaching my children laaa..
glidermama
post Apr 1 2010, 06:21 PM

ok dokie..if he still dont want this confirm my RJ glider species mutant no more natural instinct..what more to expect from sg produced by glider mills,right? their parents dont have time to teach them proper glider behaviour..most likely parents also dont know
glidermama
post Apr 2 2010, 01:06 PM

i havent tried other diets so i wont pass judgment but i find HPW very good for my gliders and even when i feed them soft food their stool arent watery at all just a little more soggy/softer toothpaste whereas if the fruits are harder less water then the stool is drier and more pelleted (ada ka my daughter said they look like baby tictacs??!! ewwwww)

HPW is a strictly controlled at every step so i am less worried about variations in quality or accidents happening to different batches (not accusing anyone but shit does happen even to big companies like Kordel's remember?) so the risk is always there but i would think that freeze dried and vacuum packed items would be safer and better for travelling distribution compared freshly made stuff that is subject to fluctuations during transit...kang sangkut in a jam for two hours on a 3 hour journey, how? that's just my concern

and just because someone is a vet doesnt mean he's infallible (remeber the SG vet on NASGA?) turns he's employed by PPP)

Added on April 2, 2010, 1:07 pmangelbratz...dont you know? it's all a conspiracy.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by glidermama: Apr 2 2010, 01:07 PM
glidermama
post May 18 2010, 02:28 PM

what a gorgeous chubby princess...i'm soooo jealous!! how come belle is yellow too? i thought only the males are yellow?

Added on May 18, 2010, 2:36 pmRJ and Furla is in their new home oredi but that fella is still seriously marking his territory verybad stink!! anythg i can do to calm him down so he doesnt feel so threatened that he has to pee everywhere the minute we wash his cage?and he even pees in the wodent wheel and makes furla sleep there!! she wants to go somewhere else and he grabs her and climbs onto her.her fur isnt nice and fluffy anymore it's matted and stinky...yeeerrgh..

This post has been edited by glidermama: May 18 2010, 02:36 PM
glidermama
post May 18 2010, 02:55 PM

i've tried to neuter him several times but because he is such a picky eater dr jenny wont do it because she worries he'll be even skinnier during the healing process...i guess now that he is older that shouldnt be a problem anymore....i just have to find dr J new office kat kota damansara...does anyone know where that is?

Added on May 18, 2010, 2:58 pmBTW eric...they look pretty healthy chubby fluffy to me...

Added on May 18, 2010, 3:00 pmmy RJ face like your belle bulat and short snout...furla has a longer thinner snout...to me she looks closer to the wild glider face and RJ has the tamer face

This post has been edited by glidermama: May 18 2010, 03:00 PM
glidermama
post May 21 2010, 03:37 PM

soooo comel...why is it gliders are like children? bila kecik comel...bila dah besar start nak samseng?RJ bit me!mesti dengar i kata nak neuter him...heheheheheh

Added on May 21, 2010, 3:39 pmkesian nya kat gliders tu...they look starved...why bela kalau dont treat nicely? the owners need to get smack up their heads!

This post has been edited by glidermama: May 21 2010, 03:39 PM

0.0463sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:09 PM