LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXIV, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

liquiddog
post Feb 11 2010, 04:08 AM

129 posts

Wah guys, i just read through the fuel consumption comparison topic.

I realised my wira thirst for fuel excessively.

I'm driving a 1997 1.5gli wira(a), no idea what engine isit. lol. What i have every full tank is approx Rm65(ron95), and Rm 75(ron97).

Mileage for each full tank is only 300-320km. That's like Rm0.20/km. Whereas I see other wiras only use like Rm0.12~0.14?

Guys I need help here already lol.

*Btw, I never modded any part of my engine yet. Doing regular maintenance every 4,000km.
liquiddog
post Feb 11 2010, 05:17 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Feb 11 2010, 04:39 AM)
Thrist for fuel or not mostly depend on road conditions and also ur right foot.

Ur 1997 wira is most probably a carbie, doing regular maintenance is very good d ...
what u can do is, use a good aftermarket air filter ... change ur fuel filter if u havent changed b4 ... be sure that ur carbie is tuned precisely ...

thats all i know ... u can wait for other sifuz to help u out ...
lol sorry mine's a carburetor, just GL. my mistake.

However, I'm actually using double fuel filter, diy'ed myself, thought it could like double filter it or something? laugh.gif

How often should the fuel filter be changed?

Mostly, PJ area, but time to time i will travel to cheras(highway).

Recently I bought the Prestone complete fuel system cleaner. Hope it works.. wink.gif

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

liquiddog
post Feb 14 2010, 12:34 PM

129 posts

Happy Tiger Year!
liquiddog
post Feb 23 2010, 01:16 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(Jarod @ Feb 19 2010, 11:28 AM)
anybody spray paint wira sedan before? can share how much for whole car?
Jarod,

I've done spray paint last few months. It was a thorough paint job, RM2,200.

Besides I changed the front bonnet due to rust as well as the roof. which all added up to 2.7~2.8k.
liquiddog
post Mar 5 2010, 09:02 PM

129 posts

Guys recently my car '97 carbie 1.5 has very bad cold starts. It jerks like hell, as if its out of breath wanting more by inhaling in harder. But when it fails to do so, it dies. What went wrong? Initially the Idle rpm was 800 and D mode was 500 or less. I would suggest that due to low rpm, it dies when i push it to D nor N during cold start.

So i went to the mechanic and got it tuned, now Idles at 1k~1.1k and D at 700~800. It was good when the engine is warm. Once again the same thing happened during cold starts but not as bad as before, i gotta step abit of accelerator for half a min till it stables.

Sifus need help here! please!
liquiddog
post Mar 5 2010, 09:50 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Mar 5 2010, 09:12 PM)
maybe ur choke problem?
Sorry choke? Enlighten me please notworthy.gif
liquiddog
post Mar 6 2010, 02:52 AM

129 posts

How to get to cheann ? haha
liquiddog
post Mar 6 2010, 03:33 AM

129 posts

Thanks bro wink.gif

So technically you guys know what i was trying to say right?

*btw do we get post count here?
liquiddog
post Mar 6 2010, 03:47 AM

129 posts

Oh haha got it wink.gif cheeann right? i'll contact him bro. thanks alot!
liquiddog
post Mar 6 2010, 11:51 AM

129 posts

so you gonna go there soon? you know exactly where isit?
liquiddog
post Mar 10 2010, 10:11 PM

129 posts

Does it mean the chamber will actually be pretty compressed and hence pushing it towards to outlet?
liquiddog
post Mar 13 2010, 08:41 PM

129 posts

How do we determine the miss-fire problem?

Such as jerking of the engine during cold starts?
liquiddog
post Mar 13 2010, 11:14 PM

129 posts

The engine like cannot breathe. lack of breath kinda thing.

Then can see the battery sign on the meter from time to time when the car loses its 'breath'. Like wanna die off. Thats what im experiencing for cold starts.
liquiddog
post Mar 14 2010, 02:41 AM

129 posts

I see i see, i guess will get my spark plugs and tuning checked. Spark plugs wet will affect ignition coil?

and does L.Crank Pulley affect much for a AT wira? or exhaust system is more worth in investing?
liquiddog
post Mar 14 2010, 03:02 PM

129 posts

Problem occur to the drive shaft is due to quick corner turnings or U-turns right?

Also when you park the car, the steering is not back in order. That will give problem to the drive shaft right?
liquiddog
post Mar 17 2010, 09:01 PM

129 posts

Guys how much will it cost to change auto to manual transmission?

Damn sien my auto is 3 speed nia. so lame.
liquiddog
post Mar 17 2010, 10:29 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Mar 17 2010, 09:03 PM)
Change to 4g91 with the 4 speed slush box la.
QUOTE(alvinz @ Mar 17 2010, 09:11 PM)
i don think its ur engine ... it going up hill and feel no power, it might be ur gearbox not ur engine ...
minimum would be 1.5k ... see how much u get the gearbox ... if wan back auto, i think 4g92 and 4g91 got 4 gear auto ...
How much would 4g91/92 cost?

QUOTE(jay @ Mar 17 2010, 10:21 PM)
treat it like tiptronic  brows.gif
go in corner slow down then chg to L (1st gear) then then tarik till 3k rpm then 2nd gear 3k rpm again then go to 3rd gear by shifting back to D~  icon_rolleyes.gif
wonder when my gearbox will dies out  cry.gif
Lol that can be done, but my concern is top speed, engine damn noisy. its like pulling through 3rd gear is a burden.

0.0457sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:56 PM