Different btw Panasonic Plasma 42" S10K n G10K, any other better 42" tv less then RM5000

TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 01:02 PM, updated 16y ago

120 posts

hi all,

i had check n compared many times about these 2 plasma tv.

Panasonic VIERA TH-P42G10K - RM6k+ / 600hz / 6,144 ESG / 40K native contrast
Panasonic VIERA TH-P42S10K - RM4k+ / 550hz / 5,120 ESG / 30k native contrast

i'd jz c these different. isit these little different cost up to RM2k???
or its really a big different?

beside this TH-P42S10K, any other better tv arond RM4k-RM5k

thanks for the suggestion.

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 01:07 PM
azbro
post Feb 3 2010, 01:04 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 01:02 PM)
hi all,

Panasonic VIERA TH-P42S10K - RM6k+ / 600hz / 6,144 ESG / 40K native contrast
Panasonic VIERA TH-P42G10K - RM4k+ / 550hz / 5,120 ESG / 30k native contrast

I think you got it the other way round...G10 is more expensive than S10
ar188
post Feb 3 2010, 01:05 PM

9,206 posts

hi all,

Panasonic VIERA TH-P42S10K - RM6k+ / 600hz / 6,144 ESG / 40K native contrast
Panasonic VIERA TH-P42G10K - RM4k+ / 550hz / 5,120 ESG / 30k native contrast

S10K so expensive? I tot only 3k or if lucky below 2.9k (now no more stock)
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 01:07 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
S10K no stock? so the only way is to get G10K? or others?

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 01:11 PM
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 01:11 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 3 2010, 01:04 PM)
I think you got it the other way round...G10 is more expensive than S10
QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
opps, i make a mistake. G10K is expensive 1. edited post. sorry.
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 01:25 PM

3,858 posts

hi all,

Panasonic VIERA TH-P42G10K - RM6k+ / 600hz / 6,144 ESG / 40K native contrast
Panasonic VIERA TH-P42S10K - RM4k+ / 550hz / 5,120 ESG / 30k native contrast

G10 has a different AR coating. G10 uses a neo PDP module. These are the reasons why the price is different.
ar188
post Feb 3 2010, 01:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 3 2010, 01:25 PM)
G10 has a different AR coating. G10 uses a neo PDP module. These are the reasons why the price is different.
any 2X advantage to justify nearly 2x the price for S10?

I wonder what is the cheapest price got G10 now..
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 02:28 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:31 PM)

2X price justification is important to people who actually see the difference.

NeoPDPs can actually do brighter whites. And with the AR deeper blacks. On actual content better contrast ratio. Is this important to the OP? Or does it justify the 2X price? I cannot say, it depends on individual.

Same question I had to answer myself when I bought a 8G Kuro when compared to a 11G Panasonic before. Is it worth 2X the price? It depends on the individual.

Also one key note is gradiations of white/colour...6144 vs 5120. This reduces chances of posterization/banding. Does it matter to the OP? Not sure...

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Feb 3 2010, 02:30 PM
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 03:32 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 3 2010, 02:28 PM)
2X price justification is important to people who actually see the difference.

NeoPDPs can actually do brighter whites. And with the AR deeper blacks. On actual content better contrast ratio. Is this important to the OP? Or does it justify the 2X price? I cannot say, it depends on individual.

Same question I had to answer myself when I bought a 8G Kuro when compared to a 11G Panasonic before. Is it worth 2X the price? It depends on the individual.

Also one key note is gradiations of white/colour...6144 vs 5120. This reduces chances of posterization/banding. Does it matter to the OP? Not sure...
wow, how expert u r.
so wat i understand is G10K can produce more white n more black then S10K.
RM6k, but i think G10K is the best performance compare to other 42" product around RM6K right?
same as RM4k, S10K is the best???

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 03:43 PM
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 03:38 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 03:32 PM)
wow, how expert u r.
RM6k, but i think G10K is the best performance compare to other 42" product around RM6K right?
Neo-PDPs can theoretically do brighter window-ed whites before the APL kicks in. However, I have never calibrated a G10 so I cannot comment accurately.

Best is difficult to ascertain. If u like it, go for it. Compare it with others in the price range and view actual contents of what u will view at home. See which one u like best.

welwitchia
post Feb 3 2010, 03:42 PM

1,219 posts

You might also wanna know that there's a G20 on the horizon. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 03:32 PM)
wow, how expert u r.
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 03:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 3 2010, 03:38 PM)
Neo-PDPs can theoretically do brighter window-ed whites before the APL kicks in. However, I have never calibrated a G10 so I cannot comment accurately.

Best is difficult to ascertain. If u like it, go for it. Compare it with others in the price range and view actual contents of what u will view at home. See which one u like best.
it seems important to me.
coz i ever watch bluray on Panasonic Plasma 42X10K, even on Sharp LED 40" 700M. when the scene gone dark, it appear many small dot. whole scr look blur, i don like that.
will G10K can do that?

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 03:49 PM
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 03:49 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 03:44 PM)
it seems important to me.
coz i ever watch bluray on Panasonic Plasma 42X10K, even on Sharp LED 40" 700M. when the scene gone dark, it appear many small dot. whole scr look blur, i don like that.
will G10K can do that?
Are u talking about noise in the dark areas? Panasonic plasmas screens will have that look in the dark areas. G10 will also have that. In that aspect I believe Sammy plasmas and LCDs are better. LED backlit LCDs shd be better in showing that, however, maybe there is a light glow. Also what is ur viewing distance?
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 03:54 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 3 2010, 03:42 PM)
You might also wanna know that there's a G20 on the horizon.  biggrin.gif
G20, i donno. when releasse? website no show.

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 04:04 PM
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 04:06 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 3 2010, 03:49 PM)
Are u talking about noise in the dark areas? Panasonic plasmas screens will have that look in the dark areas. G10 will also have that. In that aspect I believe Sammy plasmas and LCDs are better. LED backlit LCDs shd be better in showing that, however, maybe there is a light glow.  Also what is ur viewing distance?
Viewing distance? do u means how far i c from the tv? its near, 3-4m like tat.
if i c near, more clear. most tv like tat?

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 3 2010, 04:07 PM
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 04:34 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 04:06 PM)
Viewing distance? do u means how far i c from the tv? its near, 3-4m like tat.
if i c near, more clear. most tv like tat?
Not most, its just that the Panasonic's implementation is such. Other displays do it better and do some other parameter worse.
welwitchia
post Feb 3 2010, 04:44 PM

1,219 posts

G20 Series

The VIERA G20 series includes the TC-P54G20, a 54-inch class HDTV (54” measured diagonally) and the TC-P50G20, a 50-inch class HDTV (49.9” measured diagonally). Like the G25, the G20 series features improved VIERA CAST functionality, video call capability2, THX certification and THX Movie Mode, and VIERA Image Viewer for playing back digital still JPEG images and AVCHD videos recorded on an SD Memory Card and VIERA Link for improved networking. In addition to allowing the user to utilize all VIERA Link capable components with a single remote, the G20 HDTVs feature a PC input and two USB ports, allowing for Wireless LAN Adaptor connectivity and the addition of a keyboard. The NeoPDP design of the G20 series provides 1080p resolution, Infinite Black display with 5,000,000:1 native contrast, full-time 1080 TV lines of moving picture resolution, 600Hz Sub-field Drive and like all Panasonic 2010 VIERA HDTVs, contains no lead or mercury and has a long panel life – up to 100,000 hours before achieving half brightness.

Source : http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs/store...062010102307903

I'm hoping the 54" to have a decent price (<RM 8K) when it gets released in Malaysia. Time to upgrade my 42" Panny PY800.

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 03:54 PM)
G20, i donno. when releasse? website no show.
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 04:59 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 3 2010, 04:44 PM)
Source : http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs/store...062010102307903

I'm hoping the 54" to have a decent price (<RM 8K) when it gets released in Malaysia. Time to upgrade my 42" Panny PY800.
U never know...Anything is possible...I doubt it but anything is possible.

I believe the G and V series are the upper end models. The V will be definately a premium, lets see how the G is priced.

I would expect prices to start in the same region as where they started last year maybe 10% lower. Then it will drop.
welwitchia
post Feb 3 2010, 05:00 PM

1,219 posts

The V or even the Z is beyond my reach.
Lone*Wolf
post Feb 3 2010, 07:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:31 PM)

this is so last year ... tongue.gif

anyway, to me, price diff not justifiable.

TS - mebbe u wait for the annoucement of the 2010 line-up?
KAWAII GIFT
post Feb 3 2010, 09:17 PM

208 posts

hi all sifu i cant get any p42x10k in the market now,should i go for c10k or go for samsung brand pls advise coz i need it by this week hope somebody can help
lightastral
post Feb 3 2010, 11:34 PM

220 posts

g10k at 4.5k last week at harvey norman clearance sale. tried to bargain to 4k but the salesman wont budge..baha. btw its the price on the first day (friday), prolly on sunday it can be bought at a much lower price...i saw theres about 7-10 boxes...

anyway come march/april...g series prolly between 6-7k..electronics always true to their designated price range....

ive already settled with something else so no more tv hunting..glad its over...baha.

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(KAWAII GIFT @ Feb 3 2010, 09:17 PM)
hi all sifu i cant get any p42x10k in the market now,should i go for c10k or go for samsung brand pls advise coz i need it by this week hope somebody can help
you can try megawatt at sg buloh. same block with cimb. last i asked their price is 2.4k inclusive of delivery.

This post has been edited by lightastral: Feb 3 2010, 11:40 PM
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 3 2010, 11:46 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 3 2010, 04:34 PM)
Not most, its just that the Panasonic's implementation is such. Other displays do it better and do some other parameter worse.
if G10K also like tat, then maybe i jz take back S10K coz its cheap much.
jz would like to know, wat other brand tat wont having noise when displaying dark n black?
i think high contrast will have this noise, lower contrast will be fine, isnit?

This post has been edited by vinorgouki: Feb 4 2010, 01:07 AM
anfieldude
post Feb 4 2010, 08:05 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 3 2010, 11:46 PM)
if G10K also like tat, then maybe i jz take back S10K coz its cheap much.
jz would like to know, wat other brand tat wont having noise when displaying dark n black?
i think high contrast will have this noise, lower contrast will be fine, isnit?
Nothing to do with contrast, its their implementation of the technology. Pioneer is another one that has not noise in dark areas.
TSvinorgouki
post Feb 5 2010, 11:09 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 4 2010, 08:05 AM)
Nothing to do with contrast, its their implementation of the technology. Pioneer is another one that has not noise in dark areas.
wohoo... pioneer. i think it has no cheap model. its out of budget for me. tongue.gif

0.2873sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:06 PM