Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> JAYA 33 MOBILE AND ELECTRONIC FAIR CON CASE, I am just helping my friend out.

cheewooi
post Feb 2 2010, 03:51 PM, updated 16y ago

Old Bird
540 posts

Forumer you are complaining against: Non applicable - JAYA 33 MOBILE AND ELECTRONIC FAIR

Item being sold/bought: Iphone 3GS

Original thread link: NA

Date of transaction: DURING JAYA 33 MOBILE AND ELECTRONIC FAIR

Details of the complaint :

I AM HELPING OUT MY FRIEND ON THIS MATTER.

Here's the story like:
Kena Conned Into Buying iPhone 3GS
Jaya 33 was having a handphone and electrical items warehouse sales at its lower concourse area last week. As there were many stalls in display, just went around surveying for iPhone 3GS but many stalls told me that they have iPhone 3GS look alike but the OS inside is not original so cannot use AppStore and iTunes. Even firmware need to be constantly updated at the seller’s shop located in KL.

One stall with a girl called Angel (long blonde hair) tried to sell me an iPhone 3GS. She had a demo set in her hand and allowed me to play with the demo set. Tried it out and the icons are legit, even the songs inside the phone are classy US English albums. Ask her how much and she said selling for RM1800 and after discount 20% is RM1440. I was really skeptical as a jailbreaked iPhone is going in the market for about RM2500 or so. So I asked her why the phone is going for so cheap at RM1800 and she told me because the phone is a few months old already and this stock they managed to get some demo sets from at&t  in US and because of this they need to clear the stock fast. Still not convinced, I ask her if this iPhone has any limitations as I definitely need to use AppStore and iTunes (I’m already an existing iPod user). She told me everything confirm can use one and show me the demo set she had in her hand. I stood there for nearly ½ hour asking her if really confirm it is a legit iPhone. And she is willing to let me trade in my old phone for a far much higher value than market value. I only have to pay the difference.

So I decided to buy the phone. It even came with an original looking box with manuals and label of at&t and all the accessories in the box.  Normal for a new phone, it was low on battery and need to charge first before able to use the wifi n all. Took it home and realized I had been conned:
- The iPhone 3GS icons are similar, no weird looking icons. They even have Safari and iPod icon.
- Tried using my iPod cable connector on the iPhone 3Gs but my iPod connector is bigger and cannot go in. I believe the cable connector should be similar.
- The App Store and iTunes icon is not there.
- The phone is not attached to a 3G network. Tried to manually change the network setting but only have GSM mode.
- The iPod library is loaded with Chinese songs instead of those classy US songs.
- ITunes does not detect when I connect the iPhone 3GS.

The next day decided to drop by Jaya 33 again to return fake iPhone 3GS. Managed to find Angel and wanted a refund for my fake iPhone and my old phone back. Now, she tells me that the iPhone OS inside is different and they can upgrade firmware for me but every time need to go back to their shop to do. Angel didn’t want to talk to me n sent his boss Marcus to talk to me instead. Marcus says that their company THL MOBILE has a distribution shop at level 1 Berjaya Times Square (address printed on fake iPhone local warranty card), one more distribution shop in Low Yatt Plaza and a kiosk at KotaRaya. After all the hoo hah of being conned, they returned back my old phone took back their fake iPhone but told me that they cannot return the top up $$ that I have paid. So to offset that, I will need to choose another phone n top up. So I left with that place with them holding my $$. After that Marcus asked another or his guy called Anson to deal with me as he need to leave for somewhere. That night itself I called Anson to ask for original e71 Zitron set price and will top up for it. He told me he busy with the fair and will get back to me later, same thing the next day. Now fair over, and keep on calling Anson he didn’t want to pick up his phone. I left nearly 20 missed calls on his phone.

I called Berjaya Times Square concierge to enquire about this shop and the lady told me they have no such shop there. Apparently, I am not the only person that has asked about this shop THL MOBILE and this is a Conn job.

So anyone in LYN know of this THL MOBILE so called located at Berjaya Times Square, Low Yatt Plaza and KotaRaya, please be careful. Even for AP Set phones, this THL Mobile giving local warranty is not legit. I lost the contact number of the boss Marcus because I changed phone.
Thinking of making a police report. Should I?

THL MOBILE
LOT 1-3A, FIRST FLOOR,
BERJAYA TIMES SQUARE
50000 KUALA LUMPUR

ANGEL 019-6440664
ANSON 013-2274218
MARCUS

Anyone bumped in this problem before? Any suggestion pertaining this matter?

cutejams2004
post Feb 2 2010, 10:50 PM

~Not Who U Think I Am~
941 posts

lot 1-3a as in 3rd floor? Hmm i doubt there's any mobile shops in the third floor in times square. I go there like everyday, so i'm pretty sure there isnt one
abubin
post Feb 3 2010, 11:54 AM

10,429 posts

you could lodge a police report and also report to jaya33 management. Jaya33 management obviously did not do their work properly and allowed just anybody to participate in their fair without proper credentials.

This is clearly a con case.

This post has been edited by abubin: Feb 3 2010, 11:55 AM
sonic_cd
post Feb 3 2010, 12:30 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:50 PM)
lot 1-3a as in 3rd floor? Hmm  i doubt there's any mobile shops in the third floor in times square. I go there like everyday, so i'm pretty sure there isnt one
its either in the digital something in times square, or one of the small booths outside ....
eggyolk
post Feb 3 2010, 03:58 PM

87 posts

Wow, I was kind of sad when I was not able to went to that fair. Looks like it didnt turn up that bad.
Feel sad for you TS! May you be able to get back your money!
Choongster
post Feb 3 2010, 05:01 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:50 PM)
lot 1-3a as in 3rd floor? Hmm  i doubt there's any mobile shops in the third floor in times square. I go there like everyday, so i'm pretty sure there isnt one
LOT 1-3a =

LEVEl 1 , shop Number 3A ... not sure if it exist or not , but that's how u read the lot number
Apis_LuaLua
post Feb 4 2010, 05:09 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

Sorry if i mistaken.. but from what i understand, they took the your top up money and give ur phone back.. but how on earth you still insist to deal with him by asking top up for e71? u willing to pay more for them?
cheewooi
post Feb 4 2010, 07:09 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Feb 4 2010, 05:09 AM)
Sorry if i mistaken.. but from what i understand, they took the your top up money and give ur phone back.. but how on earth you still insist to deal with him by asking top up for e71? u willing to pay more for them?
According to my friend, she returned the fake iphone 3GS and manage to get her traded phone back, but the shop can't refund the RM600 she topped up on top of her traded phone. She either need to choose another phone and top up again to the value of the phone. In short, you either choose another phone or lost your RM600.
AngelLingLing
post Feb 4 2010, 10:06 AM

31 posts

I think dont buy phone from fair!! Even they are cheaper, My friend last time she bought some nokia(if not mistaken) hp from amcorp mall's HP fair also, after she went back to klang(she is from klang), she notice something wrong with the phone then went to nokia dealer, then she told her it is a fake phone, so she went back to amcorp mall with her bf to scold the seller, then seller keep say maybe i get u a wrong phone, keep persuading her to change another phone, lucky in the end she didnt want and they managed to get the money back.

So i think it is better for us not to buy hp from fair...
nonameNo
post Feb 4 2010, 05:13 PM

~nameLess~
569 posts

agreed. dont purchase any hp at HP Fair. you will never know the seller is a genuine or fake one.

they can say is genuine and encourage you to buy it... saying all nice word and etc. once you go back, whole behaviour change. i encounter these few times already. so i will never go back again.
locomotion
post Feb 4 2010, 07:55 PM

510 posts

my fren also near to bought an "iphone 3gs" from handphone fair @ banting last month.. luckily i was there and saying thats was a fake iphone.. he nearly give the money to seller.. i drag him out from the booths and the seller was *&%^%#$%#% at us!! wahahaha.. lucky day for him!! can u imagine iphone 3gs for rm900!!! they also selling fake blackberry curve 8320!!! beware of of fake iphone and blackberry @ handphone fair! i know one of the seller.. he used to work at one of the phone booth at lowyat plaza!!

**item look very similar with a genuine one!! but when you hold it u can feel the difference!! their target buyer is orang orang kampung yang tak tahu pasal phone...**

This post has been edited by locomotion: Feb 4 2010, 07:59 PM
Terence573
post Feb 4 2010, 09:50 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

huhu they were all china made phones... ...copy nearly 100%.

1 friend of mine got a n96 which looks 100% like the original.He wanted to sell it for RM1k ( yeah nowadays this candy bar didnt worth tat much)
the only difference was the OS...which interface moves sluggish and not as smooth as symbian OS.(I'm using n82,n96 os should be same with mine)
Other than that.....all the functions there.I nearly believe it was "the" n96.

I explained to him its a fake one but he didnt believe me..haizz.. sweat.gif

Better survey around thoroughly b4 buying a phone...many fakes!

K.I.T.T
post Feb 5 2010, 02:24 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Feb 4 2010, 09:50 PM)
huhu they were all china made phones... ...copy nearly 100%.

1 friend of mine got a n96 which looks 100% like the original.He wanted to sell it for RM1k ( yeah nowadays this candy bar didnt worth tat much)
the only difference was the OS...which interface moves sluggish and not as smooth as symbian OS.(I'm using n82,n96 os should be same with mine)
Other than that.....all the functions there.I nearly believe it was "the" n96.

I explained to him its a fake one but he didnt believe me..haizz.. sweat.gif

Better survey around thoroughly b4 buying a phone...many fakes!
also i know the phone dont have sirim stiker cant be buy and sell.
pirateguy
post Feb 6 2010, 10:13 AM

1,409 posts

I never heard of this "HP fair" but is it an event like "PC fair" ?
ken_jr
post Feb 6 2010, 11:29 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Feb 6 2010, 10:13 AM)
I never heard of this "HP fair" but is it an event like "PC fair" ?
definitely not. PC fair is organised by the 'big boys' like Dell , HP ... Everything legit & original. You can know by the amount of $$ they put into the promotions & advertising.

HP fair - shopping mall just wanna earn extra rental. rent out kiosk spaces to small traders who probably have a lot of recond or imitation sets in their inventory. why the 'big boys' like Nokia, Sony Ericsson do not come here is that they do not need to. so you will only find small traders selling their stuff. & mostly will be recond, imitation, china lookalike sets..

so, KEEP AWAY FROM HP FAIRS!!!
cheewooi
post Feb 7 2010, 10:03 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Feb 6 2010, 11:29 AM)
definitely not. PC fair is organised by the 'big boys' like Dell , HP ... Everything legit & original. You can know by the amount of $$ they put into the promotions & advertising.

HP fair - shopping mall just wanna earn extra rental. rent out kiosk spaces to small traders who probably have a lot of recond or imitation sets in their inventory. why the 'big boys' like Nokia, Sony Ericsson do not come here is that they do not need to. so you will only find small traders selling their stuff. & mostly will be recond, imitation, china lookalike sets..

so, KEEP AWAY FROM HP FAIRS!!!
Hi I do agree, HP fair are not like those PC Fair supported by PIKOMS, those HP and electronic fair are just organized by those shop or warehouse just wanna earn some income. NEVER buy at any HP fair, deals looks good but quality and originality is out of question..

kcmy
post Feb 7 2010, 11:40 PM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

ken_jr comments are spot on,dont be dupe into buying china imitationas phone,be smart...

there are many HP Fair nowadays,mostly they were held at Giant Supermarkets,dunno how many ppl were conned of their hard-earned money. Pity them...

JoLee
post Feb 10 2010, 10:31 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Feb 7 2010, 11:40 PM)
ken_jr comments are spot on,dont be dupe into buying china imitationas phone,be smart...

there are many HP Fair nowadays,mostly they were held at Giant Supermarkets,dunno how many ppl were conned of their hard-earned money. Pity them...
I think that is why they keep changing venues. I wouldn't buy from them as I visited their HP fair and was very dissappointed with them. It was a waste of my time. Follow up with Jaya 33 as I am sure they would have details of the organisers.

SUSsonark
post Feb 10 2010, 11:49 PM

43 posts

This post has been edited by sonark: Jun 25 2011, 06:08 AM
isotonicdrink
post Feb 20 2010, 09:33 PM

i got con too, paid rm 1250, bought from the same girl Angel. I even went to berjaya times square but the shop doesnt exist. They didn't answer my phone call too. Is there anything we can do about it?

0.0215sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:17 PM