25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

WaterCooling the corsair Obsidian 800d, Update 17 Mar > MOCK UP ON THE MOBO BLOC

TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 12:53 PM, updated 16y ago

378 posts

New project...the Obsidian..
The theme i was going for was of the overrated black and red, given the fact that the case is black and hoping to get the ROG mobo soon, so until then, will have to settle with the current component from my old rig.
Basically, just gutting out my ol'rig and transfering the guts here...easy cheezy..(what my kid would say...)
difference is, the old rig (cm atcs) has its 360 out the back, this time around i'm puting all 7 x 120 in the case (1 x 360 n 1x 480)

the obsidian has a ready 360 mount, but what the fun in that !, gonna slot in the 480 up there with an additional fan slot to be hack in, and the 360 down at the bottom next to the psu...an impossible feat..heck i not sure how i'm gonna do this, but since i already own both might as well use it rite...

wont be able to update this frequently with work and everything...but will do the best i can lar..

and another thing, with the moq and everthing, i'm knee deep in fittings, so for this project, i'm planning to use as much fitting possible and less tubing..anxious to see how dat gonna look..if its ugly..than i'm gonna have lots of 2nd hand fitting to sell hahaha

heres the BOM (Bill of Material) fer yer'al;

Canvas - Obsidian 800D
Mobo - Asus p6t7
cpu - 920 D0
block - EK supreme HF
Vga - 2 x 5970
Block - EK plexi Nickle
rad 1 - Feser's 360
rad 2 - feser's 480
pump(s) - 2 x laings 3.25 with EK's top
res - tba
fitting - tba
tube - tba
fan - tba

here the update so far...(pictures from camera phone lar..forgot to charge my digicam...heheh)

the before pict...nice case huh ?
took out the top cage...
...and its all gutted out...the case gots lots of freaking rivets...gonna have to do someting bout dat..
..alas the frame..hehe
..now checking the possibilities for the 360...
..hehhe my daughter puzzled with all daddy's hacking and slashing...
soo far soo good...but a freaking tight fit !!! scratch my psu and rad a bit..have to do something bout that ...
..problem 1..the fan cant be slot in..so need to make another incision here ...
cramming some more...Attached Image
the psu have to make way for the gigantum rad..leaving a ugly gap at the back....need to do someting bout dat later ...cosmetic later larr...
and now...the fit test with the fan and rad and closing the side panel....
not so snug fit...have to jammed it a bit...hahah next..hacking the side panel and meshin it for air intake...

Update 3 Feb 2010 > Cramm'in the 120s for the 360s

Didnt have much time to do anything last nite, ...took my 4 yro to his tuition class..anyway..small update here.,<sorry..camera phone again.>..
..did the 1st big laser cut (heheh..i iwsh) incision on the bottom panel in order to insert the fans for the 360..cut it out..but not so smooth like bro buck's and bro reiben's..so how do they do it..????? rclxub.gif Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
and from the front everything seems peachy.. smile.gif
next ...need another incision here on the mobo tray...will do it today i think...

Update 4 Feb 2010 > Santa came Late laaa...

wahhh guess what i got in the mail today !!!!!! heres a hint..

...here it is folks....she a beaut aint she....yeah EK. notworthy.gif ...always a fanboy hahahha rclxms.gif

.....try in on my current rig..and it look SEWEEEAT!!!

Update 6 Feb > Second Items Came !!!!

Sorry for slow updates ...cant do much...still waiting for more casing and WC parts to come in...without em..cant do much of it...
anyways, got some fitting update here..

i luv bitspower, wub.gif yeah i'm a fanboy...lookit all 'em cools stuff they churning out from that factory of theirs !!!stuff i just got today !!!
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

and when combine...they look really freaking sick (in a good way heheh)!!!! i'm not kidding ...just look !!! aint them a beaut !!!!
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

like was mentioned before....i'm going for the overkill ...less tube more fittings ...so with everyhing in, i'm gonna calls this one... "THE PANZER" [COLOR=green][FONT=Impact]...thank you to bro lichyetan for givin me the name.... rclxms.gif

Update 9 Feb > Radgrill Came !!!!
got these babies from Koolance...guessing, since its"thepanzer" project, least the case cud look bulky an crude like the real thing..and NO, theres no way in hell i'm going to paint it in GREEN CAMO...ehhehe..
the thickness on these things are 30mm, so with the fan space i'd allocated in the case of 25mm, with these, i have 55mm fan spacing..which means i cud either use a fan + shroud + rad combo or use triebwerk "the fat chick" medium fan...ahh decision decision decision...heres a few pictures of'em together with a mock on them triebwerks...

Attached Image Attached Image [attachmentid=1442177]Attached Image

now the cutting and hacking can continue..

Update 11 Feb > checkout my blow holes!!!

cut the frame abit to allow the trieb to mount..

So time to cut cut ...placement of the 360 shrod...

hit a freaking snag !!! i cut the side panel, these latched will be history..and screwin the shroud to the side panel with no kind of locking mechanism to the case's frame will give the case a new ability to flap its panel hehehe...

so nono on mounting the shroud to side panel...but found an ingenious solution !!!screw the shroud to the fan an leave around 1 mm gap between the case's frame and the shroud so that the side panel cud be slide in between providing an alterative locking mechanism..

wow...i think it looks nice...but not as nice as i thought it would be...maybe after the new paint job..i'll look better..finger crossing...
next the 480 mounting...
the cut not as good as ol'timer here..but its a personal improvement for me heheh....

so did all this last nite..hope didt wake the neighbours hehehe...i did woke up my poor kids ...sorry guys...daddy is a little modding crazy huh...

Update 13 Feb > Minor work on the fan covers!!!
Couldnt stay away from it laa..heheh..after this will start the holoday...
got my fan cover today, well actually is for the rad..but i think it'll make a good fan cover...Attached Image
problem is it doesnt look good if put on top of the shroud...thought it'll be much nicer if the cover is as level as the shorud.. so did some grinding on'em...this how it'll look...Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Update 3 Mar > Some Items Arrive !!

Ok Pictures Update....Currently my case is still at the shop,...cant decide what graphic to add....
so basically now is the waitng game for parts and idea for the graphics...
i like some of y'all ideas and comments, so graphic wise, i'm thinking something in the line of PANZER + HOTROD + 18Sx...kinda like a nude chick ridding a tank with flame coming out her a**...heheheh or something within the line...
anyway, got some stuff here to share, first off, the {UN} Design Bracket...the stuff i'd brought in are from their latest series "INFINITE" .. if not mistaken, even sidewinder doesnt have'em yet...yeah...Malaysia Boleh !!
so some picts
this is the Infinite Horizontal
and this is the Infinite Vertical
the rad bracket for mounting on the drvie bay
and the fan mounting X2
so i'm thinking of mounting the X2 + the Infinite together, this way i dont need to drill additional hole the case wall...

And now onto the fans...the stock arrive..
NB or NoiseBlocker have alot of model, but i'm just bringing only the best 3 ...the PK3:140 fans , M12P:120 PWM fans , XLP:120 PWM Fans..the dB on these babies are impressive !! here more picts;
the PK3s : for the project case fans
the M12Ps : for the SR1 240 rads

the XLPs : for the project case fans as well...

[attachmentid=1462764Attached Image

ok thats all for this update...hoping to get the rest of the stuff within the week, so whats next ??...
More WC componets needed, the block for the mobo and the cpu, and also special fitting from bits...

Update 4 Mar > Some Items Arrive !!

Realize this project has been Snail-crawling.. but just cant help it, waiting game suck big time !! the stuff coming in one by one, arrghhhh tak boleh tahan woorr...
anyway, my MIPS just came, but heck the quality suck balls!! for the price i'm paying really freaking dissapointed with'em, any one of y'al thinking of getting mips, just be mindful arr...here some snaps...

Update 17 Mar > MOCK UP ON THE MOBO BLOCKs!!

right now still waiting for the CPU block and the casing...all the fittings needed are here, plus the mips block, might as well do a mock and see this idea of barbless and compressionless setup could work...here are sum pictures..might do a leak test just on the mobo block to see whether this'll work....here goes bros...

these are just mock setup only, might change the arrangement on final....smile.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

..rite thats all for today folk biggrin.gif ...tq for reading, ya'all comments and advice are very much appreciated.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif :

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Mar 17 2010, 02:30 PM

reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 01:25 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

2x 5970 ._. and its waterblock drool.gif
1x Feser 480 drool.gif
1x Feser 360 drool.gif

i wish i was ur daughter cry.gif

This post has been edited by reiben05: Feb 2 2010, 01:25 PM
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 02:48 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Feb 2 2010, 01:25 PM)
2x 5970 ._. and its waterblock  drool.gif
1x Feser 480  drool.gif
1x Feser 360  drool.gif

i wish i was ur daughter cry.gif
hmmmm...so does this mean i cud move into yer humangously new house..? cant accept anything less my son.. brows.gif brows.gif
planning to install a 120 too, once the darn ROG mobo and its block come out...when is it out anyway...? heard from themvp sometime mid year...
reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 03:05 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Feb 2 2010, 02:48 PM)
hmmmm...so does this mean i cud move into yer humangously new house..? cant accept anything less my son.. brows.gif  brows.gif
planning to install a 120 too, once the darn ROG mobo and its block come out...when is it out anyway...? heard from themvp sometime mid year...
house dari luar jer nampak gergasi xD.. my room pack and bersepah haha

yeah.. i heard its somewhere around mid year too.. Rampage III Extreme drool.gif

TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 03:14 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:05 PM)
house dari luar jer nampak gergasi xD.. my room pack and bersepah haha

yeah.. i heard its somewhere around mid year too.. Rampage III Extreme drool.gif
ahhh shucks..
kevink82
post Feb 2 2010, 03:19 PM

1,134 posts

i though the mips block for this mobo is already out.

http://www.mips-computer.de/

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...&highlight=p6t7

more pics if u need a closer look tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kevink82: Feb 2 2010, 03:25 PM
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 03:28 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:19 PM)
i though the mips block for this mobo is already out.

http://www.mips-computer.de/

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...&highlight=p6t7

more pics if u need a closer look tongue.gif
got to edit the last post(i went to the eng version, thanks for the link bro....)..u are rite la ma man !!!! .its a cool day in hell indeed .... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Feb 2 2010, 03:38 PM
kInOzAwA
post Feb 2 2010, 03:35 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

wait until the EVGA new classified is coming then later bro...
anyway you got a lot of high end stuff drool.gif i wish i had a money like yours...
hahahhahahahhaha....

wish u luck with a new mod.. ppl are coming doing worklog over and over.. it's a good things to see.. hope i also can do that if i change the case later... icon_idea.gif
kevink82
post Feb 2 2010, 03:40 PM

1,134 posts

btw vlad on ur sales thread how much is the blood uv red feser tubes? pm me plz.
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 03:43 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Feb 2 2010, 03:35 PM)
wait until the EVGA new classified is coming then later bro...
anyway you got a lot of high end stuff  drool.gif i wish i had a money like yours...
hahahhahahahhaha....

wish u luck with a new mod.. ppl are coming doing worklog over and over.. it's a good things to see.. hope i also can do that if i change the case later...  icon_idea.gif
thanks a bunch bro...ada rizq sket bro blush.gif ...waited all these years to go into high end stuff, after 2 kids and 2 wifes...ehhh silap..only one wife.( brows.gif brows.gif .hehehe) took'me awhile...
..so u wanna change case....which one r u eyeing bro...?

Added on February 2, 2010, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(kevink82 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:40 PM)
btw vlad on ur sales thread how much is the blood uv red feser tubes? pm me plz.
aledi pm u bro..

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Feb 2 2010, 05:36 PM
reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 04:37 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Feb 2 2010, 03:43 PM)
2 wifes...
lol.. 2 wifes and affording 2x 5970.. bro u should post ur worklog at xtremesystem and overclock.net tongue.gif..
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 04:40 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:37 PM)
lol.. 2 wifes and affording 2x 5970.. bro u should post ur worklog at xtremesystem and overclock.net tongue.gif..
worklog on the missus(s) or the system..hahahahahhahah rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
..but to noob to go global lar... blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Feb 2 2010, 04:41 PM
reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 05:46 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Feb 2 2010, 04:40 PM)
worklog on the missus(s) or the system..hahahahahhahah rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
..but to noob to go global lar... blush.gif  blush.gif
not many can afford 2x 5970 with its own EK waterblock drool.gif..

and a feser 480..

even worldwide shocking.gif

what fans u using on the rads bro tongue.gif?? xnak wb chipset and mosfet skali ker hehehehe brows.gif

480 can dissipate a lot of heat tongue.gif
Susaiput
post Feb 2 2010, 06:48 PM

595 posts

woahhhhhhhhhhhh...nice list of hardware...
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 07:05 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Feb 2 2010, 05:46 PM)

and a feser 480..

what fans u using on the rads bro tongue.gif??  xnak wb chipset and mosfet skali ker hehehehe brows.gif

480 can dissipate a lot of heat tongue.gif
the vga got it cheap lar...the block i'm selling, might as well get 2 for myself...ehehheh
fans...was thinking of noiseblocker for the 360(low noise but low cfm too sad.gif ) and maybe scythe for the 480 from bro claw...
for the mobo...block??...hell yea...was thinking another 240 rad for'em, thats if still got space arr...but i think still can cramp in there...

razorboy
post Feb 2 2010, 07:07 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

ts is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
TSvladtheimpaler
post Feb 2 2010, 07:09 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Susaiput @ Feb 2 2010, 06:48 PM)
woahhhhhhhhhhhh...nice list of hardware...
thanks bro...hope this whole shindang turn out good, else it'll be a waste of $$$$$
reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 08:33 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Feb 2 2010, 07:09 PM)
thanks bro...hope this whole shindang turn out good, else it'll be a waste of $$$$$
how long did it took u bro.. to gather all of this??

estimate 20K.. sampai tak tongue.gif?
kInOzAwA
post Feb 2 2010, 08:40 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

[quote=vladtheimpaler,Feb 2 2010, 03:43 PM]
thanks a bunch bro...ada rizq sket bro blush.gif ...waited all these years to go into high end stuff, after 2 kids and 2 wifes...ehhh silap..only one wife.( brows.gif brows.gif .hehehe) took'me awhile...
..so u wanna change case....which one r u eyeing bro...?[/quote]

actually i'm still eying the best case for WC, but i think TJ07 is good at this job.. maybe will grab the TJ07 next time.. but no so fast as i think my current case still good to go... wink.gif

[quote=reiben05,Feb 2 2010, 05:46 PM]

and a feser 480..

what fans u using on the rads bro ?? xnak wb chipset and mosfet skali ker hehehehe brows.gif

480 can dissipate a lot of heat P

i think those overseas fellas can buy since their money is higher than us.. only they are too choosy to pick the item.

[quote=vladtheimpaler,Feb 2 2010, 07:05 PM]
the vga got it cheap lar...the block i'm selling, might as well get 2 for myself...ehehheh
fans...was thinking of noiseblocker for the 360(low noise but low cfm too sad.gif ) and maybe scythe for the 480 from bro claw...
for the mobo...block??...hell yea...was thinking another 240 rad for'em, thats if still got space arr...but i think still can cramp in there...

[/quote]

wowww so many plan to put the radiator overthere. So, means you're doing a triple loops right? what pump are you using for triple setup? drool.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kInOzAwA: Feb 2 2010, 08:42 PM
reiben05
post Feb 2 2010, 08:42 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Feb 2 2010, 08:40 PM)
i think those overseas fellas can buy since their money is higher than us.. only they are too choosy to pick the item.
wowww so many plan to put the radiator overthere. So, means you're doing a triple loops right? what pump are you using for triple setup?  drool.gif  thumbup.gif
hmm i think the 480 can handle an i7 + its chipsets and mosfets..

the 360 separate for the GFX biggrin.gif

25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0384sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:00 AM