EPF money is now my Funeral Plan Investment, Prepare nice trip to Heaven.
TShackwire
Feb 2 2010, 12:03 PM, updated 16y ago
Where will you park your money if you have RM 50K. FD interest is too low and been wondering if i should invest in Public Mutual Trust Fund and let it grow as a retirement plan since EPF fund will not be enough in the future. RM 100K in 20 years time probably worth half of the value right now.
This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 3 2010, 10:29 AM
isma45
Feb 2 2010, 12:12 PM
park it in AS1M la..hee
amd9999
Feb 2 2010, 12:13 PM

ASB should be fine..
leongal
Feb 2 2010, 12:19 PM
it is all about risk and reward; generally, my savings that are in EPF will remain there, while my side savings will be placed other areas like unit trust and shares, making a more balance retirement portfolio
isma45
Feb 2 2010, 12:37 PM
if those epf money being use in buying house then it will definitely affecting ur retirement plan la...
dvinez
Feb 2 2010, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(leongal @ Feb 2 2010, 12:19 PM) it is all about risk and reward; generally, my savings that are in EPF will remain there, while my side savings will be placed other areas like unit trust and shares, making a more balance retirement portfolio i second that
vdfoo
Feb 2 2010, 03:17 PM
i think everyone also face this problem, when u dont have money, u ask question like where to earn more money, etc
when u have extra money, u ask questions like what to do with the money
the bottom line is, have also fan, dun have also fan
but of course, i prefer the second fan
dvinez
Feb 2 2010, 03:17 PM
fan ?
kanethesun
Feb 2 2010, 03:40 PM
I think he mean being vex/ feeling annoyance?  50k is a big ammount, either unit trust, stock market, property is another good way isnt it? This post has been edited by kanethesun: Feb 2 2010, 03:43 PM
dvinez
Feb 2 2010, 04:00 PM
i assume unit trust is easiest, not ?
sulifeisgreat
Feb 2 2010, 04:54 PM
means TS not done enough research on the risk & reward & the timeline of ur own funds allocation & its usage suggest put in fixed deposit - ultra safe
TShackwire
Feb 2 2010, 06:21 PM
yes i have not done a very deep research yet as this is the start by asking such question in lowyat as many have prefered due to the varieties of people in different profession. so in order to do research , i have to find out the materials not from the bank, the brokers, the part time housewife etc.
I believe there is something out there in the ocean that is suitable for my boat. too small boat also i will sink. So my boat must be directed to the right place without dangering my crew.
But my boat maintenance and crew salary relies alot of my decision if not they will not work for me and i can't maintain my fishery business. I just let you all know the size of my boat RM 50K and i need to find the right place. Where will that be ?
I cannot put in FD because my boat will sink if i can't sustain it for 3 years. I have to put at some investment that has middle risk to high risk i guess.
What will that be if im looking at higher interest rate than FD or EPF? Looking at long term plan from 10 to 20 years plan . thanks
Added on February 2, 2010, 6:33 pmMy views on Property and ASB investment. You could share yours also. Property i feel is not good at this moment even though the interest rate like BLR loan is attractive but not guaranteed. The interest to pay out a 300K property can be as high as RM 50K above depending on the loan tenure. And for 300K property ,the size and location is not that good. Thus, the investment also may not be as good when comes to 20 -30 years time when property became run down and also the leasehold issue.
ASB is meant for bumis right? How about chinese?
This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 2 2010, 06:33 PM
gark
Feb 2 2010, 09:43 PM
Hackwire, For me, I am leaving all my money in EPF, as i view it as my low risk portion of my investment and I will not touch it. The rest of my spare cash i am investing in properties, stocks and unit trust in which i am investing for my retirement and children's education. The EPF money I will utilize as emergency cash (for medical or other reasons) once I am retired  . Basically I have a rule of thumb, if interest is below 5%, borrow. If any investment is yielding less than 5%, avoid. So don't just think that any interest is bad, it is only bad if your investment is yielding less than your interest rate. By asking you to borrow, I do not mean you can go all out, make sure you can comfortably service your loan even if your investment turns sour. At any time, i have cash to fully service all my loans if need be, I am only borrowing to make money off someone else money This post has been edited by gark: Feb 2 2010, 09:44 PM
TShackwire
Feb 3 2010, 10:32 AM
Thanks gark, its an insight abit into your plan. So i should just let my epf be my medical expenses for the future and also probably my investment of my coffin ..no joke. EPF is now the investment for my funeral services .Perhaps just cremate it and threw into the mediteranean sea with my epf money for sending it out to the sea with a nice yacht .
The extra money im still looking for either into business or mutual fund . i guess the long term plan is the EPF plan. the short and medium now for my retirement plan and financial freedom.
gark
Feb 3 2010, 11:45 AM
Hackwire, I think your EPF money might be too much for your funeral expenses  . Just view your EPF as a strategic cash reserve after you have retire, that way you can enjoy your retirement without worrying about money and maybe spend it to enjoy the last years of your life. Maybe you want to buy a house for your children or perhaps go far an Alaska cruise  , or money for your heart surgery  . You should target to have passive income from your other investments and properties to cover your day to day expenses, so you can do with whatever you like with your EPF, oh and remember to save some for funeral expenses as well. This post has been edited by gark: Feb 3 2010, 11:50 AM
TShackwire
Feb 3 2010, 06:25 PM
thanks, i will probably ask Cameron if i can invest my money in his movie for the coming 10 years.... better dividend some more....