Investment is it a good time to buy now?, is it a good time to buy now?

TSvdfoo
post Feb 2 2010, 09:39 AM, updated 16y ago

314 posts

some people claimed that the price of property is reaching it's peak. there are numerous of projects has been launched in the past few months, and few more projects are coming up. so by 2012/2013, there would be a lot of new property. do u foresee the the supply out number demand? even if it doesnt, hmm...i guess it would be a tough war for flippers? and for people who want rental income, tenants would have a wider choice to choose from compare to "usual time". would it be a little bit more difficult to rent out a property comparing to the "usual time"?

well, i'm wondering is it a good time to buy now?
blasto
post Feb 2 2010, 12:29 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(vdfoo @ Feb 2 2010, 09:39 AM)
some people claimed that the price of property is reaching it's peak. there are numerous of projects has been launched in the past few months, and few more projects are coming up. so by 2012/2013, there would be a lot of new property. do u foresee the the supply out number demand? even if it doesnt, hmm...i guess it would be a tough war for flippers? and for people who want rental income, tenants would have a wider choice to choose from compare to "usual time". would it be a little bit more difficult to rent out a property comparing to the "usual time"?

imho... property buyer are not from Malaysia alone, due to their high exchange rate & our culture, food & tropical season. They like it here. rclxms.gif

supply will not outnumber demand, they are many locals that are still renting & new developments are getting more expensive. last time fresh grads needs a car only, now getting a property after grad is a must. remember last time, SG's 4c, 5c stuff... whistling.gif
now its our ture to experience it.

always make the right choice for own stay or investment, but don't wait too long.
time is money now. icon_rolleyes.gif

Pai
post Feb 2 2010, 12:53 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(vdfoo @ Feb 2 2010, 09:39 AM)

In general, my thoughts :

1. Price is getting more expensive, but still has some legs for further appreciation.

2. 2012/2013 will be a challenging year for property market, while there might be a price dip, but I feel prices will not be lower than today's price levels, and dont think price will drop below dev's price.

3. Demand > supply is a possibility but its a highly generic assumption. Stick to the fundamentals, then you'll be fine.

4. Not gonna be diff to rent out a prop as long as owners r being realistic..........think the main issue here is whether one can rent it out at a profit?

Make your own conclusion and act accordingly? wink.gif
kochin
post Feb 2 2010, 01:54 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Feb 2 2010, 12:53 PM)
In general, my thoughts :

1. Price is getting more expensive, but still has some legs for further appreciation.

2. 2012/2013 will be a challenging year for property market, while there might be a price dip,  but I feel prices will not be lower than today's price levels, and dont think price will drop below dev's price. 

3. Demand > supply is a possibility but its a highly generic assumption. Stick to the fundamentals, then you'll be fine. 

4. Not gonna be diff to rent out a prop as long as owners r being realistic..........think the main issue here is whether one can rent it out at a profit?

Make your own conclusion and act accordingly? wink.gif
sharing same view with pai. almost 90% of the time current price will not be lower than developer price. when that happens, usually something drastic must have taken place.
i practice a very stressfree method for my property investment. assuming my rental is on the low side. so much so that it turns into -ve cashflow for a property of mine. it doesn't matter as fundamentally, every ringgit gain from rental, is actually helping/financing me with the mortgage to the bank. in simple words, no matter what, i still gain from tenant's rental to cover part of my monthly fees to the bank. ultimately, the property will belong to me. question is, how much would i be paying for it at the end of the road? thumbup.gif
true enuff that i might not make much money out of it, but at least i like to view it as a force saving. beats insurance plans anytime! wub.gif

b00n
post Feb 2 2010, 02:25 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

This question on is this a good time to buy or not doesn't depend on the market price. It depends on your ability to own that property.

Think about it.

Anyway, there's already a suitable pinned topic for you to post in: Is property going to drop?

0.0164sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:31 AM