Whats the easiest way to root the HTC Hero?

TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 02:53 PM, updated 16y ago

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Whats the easiest way to root the Hero? ie: One click, it auto roots. Any software like blackrain for the hero? cry.gif

So complicated to root based on the instructions and scared to do it! sweat.gif
musz78
post Jan 31 2010, 03:11 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Jan 31 2010, 02:53 PM)
Whats the easiest way to root the Hero? ie: One click, it auto roots. Any software like blackrain for the hero? cry.gif

So complicated to root based on the instructions and scared to do it! sweat.gif
Hi bro,

Try shahz methods, u will find that is the easier way to root ur hero..
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 31 2010, 06:47 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Checkout my rooting guide at http://is.gd/74xtT.

And please do not discuss pirating stuff openly. You have the juices to buy those expensive things, but still wanted to pirate those relatively cheap apps.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Jan 31 2010, 06:48 PM
SUSLYW
post Jan 31 2010, 06:59 PM

197 posts

isnt that what we all do? buy 50 inch led tv and sony blu ray player, but when watch movie all buy from pasar malam and dled movies?
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 07:14 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

What guide? It links me to the HTC Hero page/
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 31 2010, 07:30 PM

2,281 posts

Indeed. The guide is there bro. Look carefully.
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 08:03 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Ohh it's the MCR thing. I dont understand a word of it though. Help?
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 31 2010, 08:14 PM

2,281 posts

Maybe you should do some readings to catch the basic. I won't go any easier than that.
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 08:24 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

First, i install the patched recovery image, then download the custom rom and copy it to your SD card
- Enter the recovery image (if you're not in it already) by powering on while pressing 'home'
- Select 'nandroid backup' from the menu to do a backup
- If you copied the custom rom as update.zip, select 'apply sdcard:update.zip', else select the option below.
- all done

am I missing anything?

Can i do the recovery image thing and still be able to use my hero like usual?
shahz
post Jan 31 2010, 08:49 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

I dont know how simpler can rooting be already..You saw the tute that I posted? It is long but its not impossible. I've made as noobish as possible already. You just need something done without any efforts and that's impossible. I have hundreds of users who used my guide already and so far it has been a zero fail thingy.

Even leviathan's method is already provided to you. If you really don't bother to even try it, I would say just use the stock ROM instead of rooting it. We provide free stuff for you already, all you ever needed was just download, read, and use it. How easier could it be?

I'm really sorry if my comment is harsh, but I don't think these guys should even bother to help you if this is the what you request help. All of these were in your place before and they have done rooting all by themselves. Some had went through tough times too, but nevertheless they had put their efforts and took the initiative to at least understand why are they rooting.
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 09:00 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-hero...on-your-device/ In this link, how do I open a command prompt to the directory containing the extracted files

Added on January 31, 2010, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(shahz @ Jan 31 2010, 08:49 PM)
I dont know how simpler can rooting be already..You saw the tute that I posted? It is long but its not impossible. I've made as noobish as possible already. You just need something done without any efforts and that's impossible. I have hundreds of users who used my guide already and so far it has been a zero fail thingy.

Even leviathan's method is already provided to you. If you really don't bother to even try it, I would say just use the stock ROM instead of rooting it. We provide free stuff for you already, all you ever needed was just download, read, and use it. How easier could it be?

I'm really sorry if my comment is harsh, but I don't think these guys should even bother to help you if this is the what you request help. All of these were in your place before and they have done rooting all by themselves. Some had went through tough times too, but nevertheless they had put their efforts and took the initiative to at least understand why are they rooting.
Leviathan's method looks good, im following it. Sorry if I offended you before, Im just scared of the consequences

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Jan 31 2010, 09:08 PM
musz78
post Jan 31 2010, 10:45 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Jan 31 2010, 09:00 PM)
http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-hero...on-your-device/ In this link, how do I open a command prompt to the directory containing the extracted files

Added on January 31, 2010, 9:08 pm

Leviathan's method looks good, im following it. Sorry if I offended you before, Im just scared of the consequences
Bro,
I'm also same as u b4, but 1st thing u must know why u wanna root ur phone, simple tutotial which u hv to read, I'm not teach anyone as I'm also new in this android, thanks to shahz that provide us with full tutorial n software, now just from us how to learn it, cheerss bro... n 1 thing there's no such thing that related with papago nav with root phone, all u need just buy the papago software n register it,
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 11:04 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

I keep trying http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-hero...on-your-device/ . Keep getting device not found. Any fix?

Added on January 31, 2010, 11:14 pmForget that, Shahz , can I follow step 1 of your guide then jump to this? http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-hero...m-for-gsm-hero/

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Jan 31 2010, 11:14 PM
musz78
post Jan 31 2010, 11:16 PM

182 posts

bro,
have u u install sdk to ur pc, if not, gave ur little time to read shahz thread, can..
TSkhaiandrew
post Jan 31 2010, 11:22 PM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Okay, thanks. If it goes as planned , should be done anytime now! biggrin.gif
musz78
post Jan 31 2010, 11:27 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Jan 31 2010, 11:22 PM)
Okay, thanks. If it goes as planned , should be done anytime now! biggrin.gif
Glad to hear that bro cool2.gif
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 01:07 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

F:\Users\Andrew>adb shell boot reloader
'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

F:\Users\Andrew>

I keep getting that! Whats the prob here?
shahz
post Feb 1 2010, 03:15 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Because you didn't follow the tutorial properly..Look at the folder that you are at..Try going to the tools folder as I specified..Read it slowly and steadily, try to understand how things are arranged and used..
cleave
post Feb 1 2010, 03:53 AM

Custom Title goes here...
673 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Feb 1 2010, 01:07 AM)
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

I keep getting that! Whats the prob here?
That means the 'adb' is not in your PATH variable. If you look at shahz's guide there's a section there describing how to add the Tools directory to your environment path. wink.gif

(A more extreme measure is to copy everything under the Tools directory to your c:\Windows. But dont do that, it's a bad advice. I'm merely hinting on how the PATH variable operates. Again, dont copy nothing to your c:\Windows. I think I'll shut up now before I give more destructive ideas.)
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 1 2010, 07:23 AM

2,281 posts

:-)

If I'm not mistaken, my guide don't use adb.

Edit: Anyhow, this is how I add the sdk to PATH. Good luck :-)

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Feb 1 2010, 08:49 AM
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 08:53 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Must I restart my com after doing that?

%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;F:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;F:\androidsdk\tools\

That is mine now. Is it correct?

Added on February 1, 2010, 8:55 amWhat archives do i install for androidSDK?

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Feb 1 2010, 08:55 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 1 2010, 09:06 AM

2,281 posts

Only one way to know.

Restart cmd and run adb remount from it.
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 09:11 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Okay, now i get this Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]

F:\Users\Andrew>adb shell reboot bootloader
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
error: device not found

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:12 amMy phone is plugged in but not mounted.

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:13 amMounted it, got same errors

* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Feb 1 2010, 09:13 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 1 2010, 09:38 AM

2,281 posts

Download and install this: http://is.gd/7rIsC

Edit: Any reason why you want to reboot bootloader? I personally never have to use that.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Feb 1 2010, 09:40 AM
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 09:40 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

OH, you must have sync installed!

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:49 amMy build number is 2.73.728.5, do I have to downgrade it?

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:50 amSaw ur latest post, im following Shah's guide

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Feb 1 2010, 09:50 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 1 2010, 09:53 AM

2,281 posts

Based on http://is.gd/74xtT, downgrade is not required :-) In fact adb is not required too.
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 10:08 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Screw all those. I managed to do it using this method! http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...393&postcount=1 So easy and simple!

Added on February 1, 2010, 10:10 amI replaced the CM image with 1.5.2 image

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Feb 1 2010, 10:10 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 1 2010, 10:16 AM

2,281 posts

It's the same thing la bro. Using Flashrec and replace the stock recovery image with RA 1.5.2. My guide and his guide are identical. Meh.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Feb 1 2010, 10:18 AM
TSkhaiandrew
post Feb 1 2010, 10:27 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Thanks to everyone! Im done! but market dosent allow me to use a keyboard to create a new account..

Added on February 1, 2010, 11:05 amkeyboard dosent work at ALL! help?

Added on February 1, 2010, 12:20 pmIt WORKS! A wipe seems to have solved everything! Maybe I should compile all I did and use it to make a guide! yawn.gif

This post has been edited by khaiandrew: Feb 1 2010, 12:20 PM
apika
post Feb 1 2010, 12:23 PM

203 posts

3 cheers for you. the key is not to panic, just be calm and do a lot of research. congrats!
bonanno
post Feb 1 2010, 12:37 PM

466 posts

no pain no gain....congrats !

0.0217sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:22 AM