Headphones [REVIEW] Sherwood SE-777

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Jan 31 2010, 07:19 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

ah.. new stuff in the similar price range summore...
sq 4/5? sounds interesting (pun intended)
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Jan 31 2010, 10:31 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jan 31 2010, 07:57 PM)
$79 eh~ RE0 seems better whistling.gif

but accessories wise I love the hard case on SE-777
can u get em re0 for me? hmm.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Feb 1 2010, 12:13 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:06 AM)
just order from head-direct lah....

btw... still if i bought this and dont like the sound siggy... i still would fall in love with the hard casing.... look so solid...
dont know how to work wif paypal.. blush.gif would be needing some help for that..
speaking of casing.. apart from purchasing iem with good case.. is there anywhere we can get those kind of hard case.. ?
gila cun this one, though i'd probably prefer some padding inside it.. if goncang2 rattling tak sronok.
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 12 2010, 01:36 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

got this few days back with the w1..
still trying out.. what i can say is..
vocals r very natural sounding n forward.. and music presentation feels very spacious. would consider this a mid/vocal oriented iem.
comparing to eterna n re0.. eterna is bass oriented, re0 is treble oriented.

for now, if i want a relaxing sound, i'd use this.
still prefer my eterna for the sweet sounding highs n bass tho.. will probably do a comparison later.. still burnin this one.
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 13 2010, 02:35 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 13 2010, 12:59 AM)
How was the highs and bass when compared to eterna and re0?
put it this way..
bass = eterna
vocal/mid = se777
high = re0

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 13 2010, 03:55 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 13 2010, 02:49 AM)
ya but how was the bass and highs on se777? especially with and without using the W1.
k i did compare them directly.. but on my listening volume.. which is very low to realize the potential of the se777, and probably the re0 as well...

re0 wins the highs.. more refined and clearer compared to both the se777 and eterna.
without amping, for high frequency,i would say i prefer eterna's high, but eterna's sound is actually a bit off.. se777 sounded more natural and correct, but not as refined as eterna. re0 is a bit too bright for my ears, i got tired after a bit (not painful, tired).. so.. i cant quite say.. just talking from memory when i did a direct comparison.. but it's definite the better ones..

i have the se777 with me.. so.. i can tell more on that.
what i can say is,
i find the highs are not quite refined without amping.
the w1 actually tones down and controls the bass (bass loses some juicyness here, but have same quality, i.e more controlled), thus widening the soundstage, and improves the 3D of the highs of se777, making it feels very spacious.

vocals, se777 wins. eterna is again slightly off here. in fact it sounded a bit muffled compared to se777. re0 is less forward in vocals compared to se777. not sure if amping affects the mids of the se777, but i dont really think so.

bass, eterna wins in juicyness, quality and quantity. with proper isolation, i find se777 gives quite good bass tho, but not as much as eterna. eterna's bass is more enjoyable. re0 has no bass to my ears.. again, possibly bcoz im listening to very low volume. (i usually use +1 volume before muting on my clip+, +3 outdoor, and barely goes above 40%), and the environment is not familiar (not my home.. tongue.gif)

im still burning the se777.. so.. no final say yet..
but overall.. my preference would still be eterna(unamped) as of now, though i did tune the eq a bit recently to get more accurate lows and highs. but i cant seem to fix the mids.. if se777 have a bit more quantity of the bass.. i think i'll prefer the se777 over eterna because of it's vocals and soundstage. the se777 however is very relaxing to listen to anyway..

re0.. i dont like.. too much highs. but i may have different opinion if i test it at home.

so.. quoting above again..
eterna wins in bass,
se777 wins in vocals,
re0 wins in high freq.

adding one more thing.. since i tried it as well, ortofon eq7, has the juicyness of the bass, the sweet vocal, and the clarity of the highs.. without either one outperforming the other.. i'd really like to have them if their price are on a sane level... drool.gif

I may update again later if i found any changes in SQ after long hr of burnin..
again.. please include all the standard disclaimer over here.. this is simply my opinion. biggrin.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 13 2010, 11:16 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Mar 13 2010, 12:50 PM)
Ha, you have been quite busy lately biggrin.gif
been very naughty lately.. hehe.. i just had to try it out myself laugh.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 14 2010, 10:13 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Mar 14 2010, 02:36 AM)
DaEMoNteNTAcLe, well done review, as poisonous as ClieOS smile.gif

How is this compare to PL50 (budget balanced armature)?
thx for the compliment.
unfortunately i do not have, nor have ever listened to the pl50, so i cant give opinion on that.
if u want to try out the sherwood, u can drop by my place or anywhere arnd bangi.. i'll be free until this wednesday.. after that no more cuti2 panjang. sweat.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 14 2010, 11:42 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Mar 14 2010, 08:03 PM)
when comparison done, it was concluded with something less here and there.
however, when the unit compared with 85% of other products, or something that higher than this range. the RE0 still considered the legend biggrin.gif
i find that it's very hard to find iem, or earphone with good sounding highs anyways.. most of them r harsh.. so i cant really use them coz it hurts my ears..
but re0 doesnt, even though it's very bright and has well played highs.. so, it still deserve a good credit.

anyways.. seems like i really need m04r basss... coz i tried the atrio m8 (thx chingwooi for bringing it) and it sounded nice..
update: changed to sony hybrid tips... and.. seems like i got m04r bass.. drool.gif
will test out a few..
yep.. possibly lack of burnin (just started tryin again after another 10hr burnin today, total about 30hr..) and also isolation issue.. found with proper isolation.. i got more juice from the music. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by DaEMoNteNTAcLe: Mar 15 2010, 12:18 AM
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 15 2010, 11:51 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 15 2010, 03:04 AM)
I like recessed mids though because i think it should sound like that since our ears are most sensitive on mids.
i used to think that..
until i heard balance..
then.. i heard kayu...
and then all is lost cry.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 16 2010, 11:52 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

update:
gave this thing about 2-3hr pink noise with eq 20-700hz bumped a bit at my mid listening volume..
and after that i got ample amount of bass.. bass wasnt really there in the first place...

and continued burnin for about 20hr.. and now it doesnt sound harsh anymore.. this thing requires quite sometime to settle down..
otherwise clarity is very good. i'd use this to listen to orchestra and guitars.

now back to using the bi-flanges, i like the materials of the tips.. it's kinda between plastic and rubber, and doesnt seem to get oily. other stock flanges are too short for my use that the body touches my ears..

Added on March 18, 2010, 2:18 pmupdate again:
my ph0ne broke..
so got a replacement.. k850..
then suddenly i found the output is quite strong..
so used my w1 to dampen the output.. with the se777..
damn i got hifi.. (to my ears at least.. laugh.gif)

and also noticed that fitting is actually kinda big issue with the se777.. when i manage to get proper fit.. i find the overall signature to be quite to my liking.. instead of just having nice vocals.. but i cant be holding this to my ears all the time.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by DaEMoNteNTAcLe: Mar 18 2010, 02:18 PM
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 18 2010, 08:07 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(carmatic @ Mar 18 2010, 06:42 PM)
using comply foams, better isolation, more comfy , somehow i can insert them deeper without feeling anything... and it makes it sound less harsh treble as well
try give it some time.. i found the harshness gone after about 80hr burnin..

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 19 2010, 01:16 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(carmatic @ Mar 19 2010, 12:22 AM)
the harshness its not my problem... its the fit of the casing in my ear, very uncomfortable
if longer tips are used, the treble will be reduced even further... but it is the only way to avoid injury to my ear

actually i like the way it sounds now, nice and crisp... i hope it doesnt get duller over time
these IEM's remind me when i was using open-type dynamic full size headphones, when i didnt have to worry about noise isolation... ever since i bought closed headphones, and my last IEM's, i have to get used to the sound like scratching paper like that... but now these IEM's sound much better
i get ur point, tho my main concern here is just sq..
fit is more of a personal problems.. tho i have changed to comply tips (t400 can fit.. a bit hard to install tho)..
and no worries.. sq just gets more refined after burnin.. signature doesnt change..

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 19 2010, 03:09 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Mar 19 2010, 01:58 PM)
Does BA driver improve after burn-in? smile.gif
i think i read summwhere ba drivers need more time to burn in..
plus also needs higher volume to appreciate the sound..
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Apr 8 2010, 06:29 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

something to read for sherwood users..
modding ftw~ rclxm9.gif

http://www.touchmyapps.com/2010/04/08/sher...hone-in-review/

to bro PcWork... ini maw cuba? xD

This post has been edited by DaEMoNteNTAcLe: Apr 8 2010, 06:32 PM
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Apr 9 2010, 01:47 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

dunno.. havent pried open mine.. dah bukak baru tau...
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post May 3 2010, 09:46 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ May 3 2010, 08:58 PM)
Why u want to open it cool.gif
er... woods? wub.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post May 4 2010, 09:53 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ May 4 2010, 12:31 AM)
unless u can find a CNC to machine high percision wood casing for that.
else where u going to obtain the wood casing of that?

more over the driver is glued to front part of the casing. so the aluminium casing at front for sure can't be replaced.
so ucan only mod the rear black plastic.
dont have access to CNC..
i do have dremel tho..
gonna be hard to do precision work, but.. it should still be possible.. high quality furniture are purely hand crafted anyways.. (not that i have that skills)...
but i think gonna try,
and im just thinking of modding the rear black plastic.. so gonna have wooden sound reflector(box?) instead..
who knows it just might combine the benefits of alu (high sparkle) and woods (bass reverb/rumble)...

now the problem is finding woods.. and time to work.. + precision measurement and cutting(which i sux)...
i dont even have a work table laugh.gif
maybe next year then.. whistling.gif

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post May 4 2010, 11:18 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 4 2010, 10:08 AM)
Em if I'm not mistaken, IEM with BA drivers doesn't benefit much from burning in. Only dynamic driver IEM needs burnt-in to shine~
debate is there for a long ti3m alrdy..
my experience tells me otherwise.
anyways, as long as there is moving parts.. i think burnin will effect.
a more valid theory would be the cables, or crossover, or transducer, needs to burn.

apart from that..
other stuff that i burn in...

PC
- processor, ram..

Car
- engine (new only), tyres (a good tips, would be to run a new wheel at 60-100km/h for about 15-30mins, and then leave it to cool down for a few hours.. to settle the rubber compound, u'll get slightly better wheel life.)

dunno what else to i burned.. er.. food? laugh.gif
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Jul 23 2010, 06:02 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

wow.. this is kinda old, anyways.. im not sure where other than ebay.
other than the hybrid, u can try a normal bi-flange that jaben sells, or comply tips.
i found the bi-flange to fit better than the stock bi-flange, the stock one is very hard. the bi-flange wont affect the sound.. maybe very little if it does.
comply tips would give slightly more body on the low freq, and also smoothen the treble a bit.
u can also try a normal single flange silicon tips, but problem with it is that the opening is larger than the stock tips, u'll end up with vocals that is slightly more forward, and slightly lesser bass.
anyways nice iem u got there.. there's not much other that can beat the mids and vocals of the se777, plus the good depth in soundstage.

0.0209sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:16 AM