Engineering Simple Guide to Engineering, Read here first before posting new topic

qwertyuioped
post Feb 13 2012, 01:48 AM

942 posts

hi guys, i just finished my spm and now still waiting for my result..and i was thinking to take diploma in mechanical enginneering. but im not sure i can cope with it. im the type of guy who always get 30~40+ marks in add math test during my school years. Do you guys think i capable of taking this course? I have no other interest other than this and finance. but my parent said finance got no future and hard to find job.so this is the only thing i have in mind..pls advise,thx.

This post has been edited by qwertyuioped: Feb 13 2012, 01:49 AM
qwertyuioped
post Feb 13 2012, 08:53 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(Draig @ Feb 13 2012, 07:48 PM)
Well, it depends on the university's criteria that your applying to. Unfortunately, I reckon that Physics and Maths are almost compulsory for any engineering field. Chemistry may not be a necessary requirement for chemical engineering instead.

Added on February 13, 2012, 6:59 pm

Diploma in Mechanical Engineering is approximately 1 step more difficult than SPM, which means the maths, physics etc you'll learn will only be slightly different from SPM (what i heard). If you are certain to take up mech eng., it shouldnt be much problem coping with it.

Add maths, did you not understand the topics? Or you couldnt figure things out quick enough during exam period? Anyhow, there is a lot of engineering students who did not do well enough in their add math, yet taking up eng. If you enjoy maths, enjoy physics, (regardless of how bad you do in SPM), you should welcome yourself to take Eng.

I would somewhat disagree with what your parents commented. In my oppinion, i think financing field would assure you a job in future, but in order to excel in finance field, thats difficult, as there are too many finance grad. Every business operating company deals with money, they do need finance people anyway. However, for engineering, it is difficult to find a job that is specifically titled Mechanical Engineer and good pay enough, at Malaysia. that doesnt mean, its not good. Eng people can divert their occupation to many others such as IT.
I think both. I Dont really understand the differentiation and integration chapter..integration is still ok. differentiation i dont understand at all. And I dislike the way of these chapter are taught by my teacher(or maybe all teacher). They just give question and sample answer without telling what differentiaton is about. so i abit blur what it is and what is it used for. trigonometry summore...lose track already...other chapter okla....but mistakes drag down my marks alot.....

for physics, i really like the concept like hydraulic,buoyancy,pressure and all that stuff....usually my physic marks fluctuates between A- to B- like that. And i also like to see how machines works..i think that is why im thinking to go for diploma in mech eng. In fact, now im working at a speaker manufacturing factory as an operator while waiting for my result and i work with few machines, learned abit on how to troubleshoot problematic machines like stamping machines and all that and I find it to be quite fun. not sure wether those stuff is what mech eng is about or not.

with f*-up foundation in add math,im still in doubt wether im suitable for this course or not.
qwertyuioped
post Feb 22 2012, 09:29 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 22 2012, 03:04 PM)
It also depends on how the lecturer deliver. I did very poorly in hydraulics & geotech during my diploma. During degree, the lecturer who taught these 2 subject came from the industry..the way they deliver is totally different thus students understand more about the subject, what was once difficult became interesting. In the end,  i pass with flying colors..

What im trying to say is..the tutor/ lecturer plays an important role to ignite the students interest. Nvm if ur weak in math..if u have the will to improve urself...anything is achieveable...
i think i can improve my math. i just need some motivation and a good tutor. i played too much during my spm year cry.gif . I will revise back my add math from now on... BTW, if im taking diploma in mech eng. is it easy to get job? coz i see in many job ads E&E is more wanted than mech graduate...can anyone enlighten me about this? thx.
qwertyuioped
post Apr 2 2012, 08:05 PM

942 posts

anyone can give a light about diploma in technology(mech@ manufacturing eng.) at TARC? is it good?
qwertyuioped
post Jun 4 2012, 10:49 AM

942 posts

guys im now pursuing mechanical engineer(diploma sem 1) at tarc . but somehow i feel like the subejcts are just too hard for me especially physics and maths. other subject(like comp studies,programming, etc) is easy. but i think i just cant cope with the math and physics. so now im wondering if im better of studying finance or just stick with engineering? im interested in both but i just sucks in add math stuff. sad.gif
qwertyuioped
post Jun 7 2012, 10:17 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 7 2012, 11:15 PM)
Hi to fellow Tarcian there
PM me your name to see do i know you or not laugh.gif
Yes,Maths and Science is  sweat.gif
i know you know me la brian. im ur classmate lah! T_T
qwertyuioped
post Aug 21 2013, 09:38 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(ai hime @ Aug 19 2013, 08:03 AM)
hey guys~ Im gonna be taking chemical engineering in local uni this sept.. however most ppl around me like family & friends said it will be hard to get jobs after graduating because im a female.. is this true? hope anyone can give me some insights  smile.gif
women with engineering degree mostly ended up being a lecturer. lol. maybe thats why.
qwertyuioped
post Feb 5 2014, 11:36 AM

942 posts

Is it just me or mechanical eng jobs is becoming less these days? Kinda worried for my future now. All i can see is e&e jobs.
qwertyuioped
post Feb 5 2014, 12:33 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 5 2014, 12:38 PM)
You only need one job. Why you need to worry?
I mean theres alot of mech graduates and the jobs are so little, wouldnt it be a problem later? Im about to finish my mech eng diploma now and now im in dilemma wether to continue to degree or change to different field like accounting. I already 'no heart' studying engineering course because the math is just too much for me, so im wondering should i endure another 3 years of engineering or not. Now that i see mech eng jobs is lesser i started worry alot. Advice needed

0.0381sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:03 AM