Engineering Simple Guide to Engineering, Read here first before posting new topic

bandit94822
post Jun 30 2013, 02:56 PM

342 posts

Hi, I am new to this thread...

Currently taking Mechanical Engineering Degree in UTAR

Okay I am still thinking weather should i change to other field since its not too late (Now i oni on my Year 1 Semester 1)

I like machines...i enjoy taking toys (some not broken) apart but fail to put them back most of them time. My secondary school maths is still ok....but not on Additional maths ....

I took foundation in UTAR and i barely survive the maths there though i kinda enjoy physic....

hmm.gif hmm.gif HOWEVER
when i enter degree...life start to get hard....those physic related subjects are quite hard not to mention the maths there....i panic everytime i see a question that i dunno how to solve....

HELP!!! icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

i am thinking...IF should i take computer science instead sweat.gif i m exposed to programming while i was studying foundation...its fun and involve more practicals instead of theories icon_rolleyes.gif

ADVISE PLEASE.... graduates from computer science ???
bandit94822
post Aug 13 2013, 12:09 AM

342 posts

I will try to stick to engineering at UTAR though. I currently doin option 2... hope it works.

Since u are working, do u use all those complicated equations and formula at ur job? rclxub.gif
What does an engineer basicly do? i am still not clear.... doh.gif sorry for the low iq questions sad.gif

bandit94822
post Aug 14 2013, 02:35 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 13 2013, 04:20 PM)
For me, i do not use the equations directly in my work.
But those equations are not just alien language. They actually tell you how things work.

Take bernoulli's equation for example.
Its may look like alot of symbols and most of the time mean nothing to students,
but there are alot of in-real life applications that you will come across, that the equation can explain.
For example, you know that Fan that has no blade?, just a circle and wind coming out, It uses the venturi affect to accelerate air. It would look like witchcraft to those who have no idea.

In your job, you might come across plenty of situations which can be explained by fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, statics, dynamics, mech&Material science, etc etc.
Yes, education helps you understand the basic concepts behind it.
UTAR also pushes you to learn to study on your own. which is a vital skill that all graduates should have.

Anyways, goodluck.
Engineering is a wide profession. a wide range of job scopes, so do some more research on your future paths you can take.

Cheers
hmm.gif hmm.gif those basic Bernoulli principle knowledge edi enough wad.. why equations? I know how the fan works from knowledge from my SPM.... only degree put numbers in the knowledge doh.gif
bandit94822
post Sep 4 2013, 07:41 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 14 2013, 02:35 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif those basic Bernoulli principle knowledge edi enough wad.. why equations? I know how the fan works from knowledge from my SPM.... only degree put numbers in the knowledge  doh.gif
ya... those number are the stuff that made ppl HEADACHE cry.gif cry.gif
bandit94822
post Sep 23 2013, 06:01 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(cnvery @ Sep 21 2013, 02:37 AM)
U can ask them directly.

But I dont think can opt in engineering field without physic. Since physic is a must in engineering.
physic are 100% a must in engineering.... it is an engineering core subject. Even if they accept u without physic basic knowledge.... i think u have to spend more (ALOT) time on understanding the basic before goin to the hard ones.

WHy not try BSc of chem? that one dun need physic
bandit94822
post Sep 27 2013, 04:37 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Sep 24 2013, 03:10 AM)
hi everyone...currently doing my diploma in EE course..

love engineering but hate calculus so yeah..

im kinda doom right now
i feel you bro brows.gif
bandit94822
post Mar 27 2014, 09:02 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(CallMeBin @ Mar 25 2014, 01:26 PM)
Is it true that engineering requires STRONG mathematical skills ?
let see.... SPM maths u can do by understanding it... but engineering maths its kinda like history only this time with numbers and symbols.

Since most of the lecturer will only giv u the theory without letting u know what it is used for. Unless u are lucky and got the good ones....

0.0412sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:57 AM