77 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Engineering Simple Guide to Engineering, Read here first before posting new topic

EricYong!
post Mar 4 2014, 02:42 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:17 PM)
Engineering course must need 4 years, requirement stated by BEM.
So, UNMC's bachelor 3 years is not accredited by BEM which is a kind of syok sendiri cert.
But as long as the engineering is 4 years then BEM may be approve the course. Like MEng of UNMC.
UNMC is like a shortcut course only. sweat.gif

If your course don't have accreditation from BEM, in the future you can't apply for professional engineer.
You cert is same like those non-engineering general cert only if no accreditation.

For master in engineering like those USM, there are 2 approach to get it, via research or study.
Yup, USM have 2 different certs for MEng and BEng.
Edit: For degree which is not recognised (e.g. 3 years programme) need to be top up with a master degree by instruction from accredited university.
So, is a BEng (4 years) from USM/UTP or MEng (4 years) from UNMC better based on employment after graduate?
quovadis123
post Mar 4 2014, 02:49 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(EricYong! @ Mar 4 2014, 02:42 PM)
So, is a BEng (4 years) from USM/UTP or MEng (4 years) from UNMC better based on employment after graduate?
I stay as neutral on this subjective question.
It's merely based on the quality of students on future employment matters.
"Trash university can produce world class students, world class university can produce trash students."

Silenced
post Mar 10 2014, 06:37 PM

439 posts

Hi guys, i am currently in dilemma of choosing which uni in UK to pursue MEng in mechanical engineering.So far I have received conditional offer from uni of Sheffield,Loughborough and Surrey.

Anyone have any opinion of universities listed above? Any input would be appreciated.Thanks!

This post has been edited by Silenced: Mar 10 2014, 06:41 PM
cnvery
post Mar 10 2014, 11:55 PM

1,831 posts

QUOTE(Silenced @ Mar 10 2014, 06:37 PM)
Hi guys, i am currently in dilemma of choosing which uni in UK to pursue MEng in mechanical engineering.So far I have received conditional offer from uni of Sheffield,Loughborough and Surrey.

Anyone have any opinion of universities listed above? Any input would be appreciated.Thanks!
Surrey 4th
Sheffield 5th
Loughborough 6th

However, Sheffield is leading another two past years

http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.u...cal+Engineering
apit.malay
post Mar 12 2014, 12:41 AM

22 posts

Hello...

I am will graduate from bachelor in chemical engineering this year..and i would like to pursue my study abroad in same course taking master...however, what concern is i was miss the MARA offering for scholar..is there are others that i can fill the form to get scholar.. My CGPA below 3.5 but above 3...hope u guys can help me

mama1baba
post Mar 12 2014, 01:16 AM

63 posts

Hey everyone. Im a STPM graduate who is still waiting for my result to be released which is on 19th of March.

I am planning to study abroad too, mostly in Singapore if i got the offer letter from them. My Sem 1 cgpa is 3.67, sem 2= 3.75 while sem 3 is 4.0. Here are my questions:

1) Do i have a great chance to enter Singapore Uni? Either NTU or NUS?
2) I am planning to take on Petroluem Engineering. Does anyone of u knows which school provides the best syallabus or ranks above all universities in MY or SG in this field of stdy??
rps5771
post Mar 15 2014, 09:25 PM

28 posts

I'm interested in Math and Physics since I was in primary school. I have a hobby of studying the principles/concepts (ignoring the math etc) of advanced physics (relativity, quantum mechanics and I also read a bit of Feynmann Lecture) from which I can say, I'm quite into it and not just temporary interest/passion. I also learned a bit of sofware skills such as HTML and a bit of Phython. Two of my older brother already went that path.

My question is, how to become a Theoretical Physicist? I know it is weird to ask in an engineering thread but I don't think there is a specific "physicist path". The only path that I can think of is through engineering( like Electric Engineering or Chemical Engineering maybe?) and then possibly toward Particle or Theoretical Physics. But then I asked my teacher is there any job in Theoretical Physicist and he said, no. Is it true? Because I find it plausible, I don't think Malaysia as a 2nd world country would invest in such career.

Secondly, as I mentioned before I am thoroughly interested in computer generally, which path should I take? There are things like
• Diploma in Information Technology
• BSc (Hons) Information Systems
• BSc (Hons) Information Technology
• Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

AND it changes from one university to other university that tends to confuse me, care to roughly explain what it is generally?

Also, as far as I know MARA scholarship system is completely random, I just go to the interview etc and the will offer me certain courses that is applicable to me. How does this work?

I'm sorry for any mistakes and thank you in advance!

This post has been edited by rps5771: Mar 15 2014, 09:25 PM
HyHY1437
post Mar 16 2014, 07:05 PM

18 posts

I'm interested in almost all the subjects, its the feeling where you wanna learn everything, but I'm sticking to engineering and yes I have read the first page but still couldn't decide on which course I have the most interest in. My education agent told me that I will find out my interest during my Foundation in Engineering course at UNMC, I wanted to ask if there's anyway to find out more about the engineering? Please advise, Thanks.

Rapidknight
post Mar 16 2014, 07:13 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(HyHY1437 @ Mar 16 2014, 07:05 PM)
I'm interested in almost all the subjects, its the feeling where you wanna learn everything, but I'm sticking to engineering and yes I have read the first page but still couldn't decide on which course I have the most interest in. My education agent told me that I will find out my interest during my Foundation in Engineering course at UNMC, I wanted to ask if there's anyway to find out more about the engineering? Please advise, Thanks.
You can look through the subjects you have to take in different engineering courses.
TSGeminist
post Mar 18 2014, 07:53 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(rps5771 @ Mar 15 2014, 01:25 PM)
I'm interested in Math and Physics since I was in primary school. I have a hobby of studying the principles/concepts (ignoring the math etc) of advanced physics (relativity, quantum mechanics and I also read a bit of Feynmann Lecture) from which I can say, I'm quite into it and not just temporary interest/passion. I also learned a bit of sofware skills such as HTML and a bit of Phython. Two of my older brother already went that path.

My question is, how to become a Theoretical Physicist? I know it is weird to ask in an engineering thread but I don't think there is a specific "physicist path". The only path that I can think of is through engineering( like Electric Engineering or Chemical Engineering maybe?) and then possibly toward Particle or Theoretical Physics. But then I asked my teacher is there any job in Theoretical Physicist and he said, no. Is it true? Because I find it plausible, I don't think Malaysia as a 2nd world country would invest in such career.

Secondly, as I mentioned before I am thoroughly interested in computer generally, which path should I take? There are things like
• Diploma in Information Technology
• BSc (Hons) Information Systems
• BSc (Hons) Information Technology
• Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

AND it changes from one university to other university that tends to confuse me, care to roughly explain what it is generally?

Also, as far as I know MARA scholarship system is completely random, I just go to the interview etc and the will offer me certain courses that is applicable to me. How does this work?

I'm sorry for any mistakes and thank you in advance!
To become a theoretical physicist, your math needs to be very strong. You can't separate serious physics from maths. In Malaysia, there really isn't much choice for someone with a physics degree to do physics. If you're serious about becoming a theoretical physicist, you will have to look abroad, and to do something serious, you'll need a PhD. Even with a Masters you're unlikely going to end up near anything too exciting.

Which part of computer are you interested in? The hardware? The software? You can't tell just by looking at the title, you'll need to consider the subjects offered as well. When in doubt, speak to the university.

TSGeminist
post Mar 18 2014, 07:55 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(HyHY1437 @ Mar 16 2014, 11:05 AM)
In general (I don't know about UNMC specifically), the first year of any engineering degree is rather similar, as you'll be taught the various foundation subjects like advanced mathematics etc, so you still have a good chance to switch to another engineering course then.

Check out the various courses at MIT:

http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/
rps5771
post Mar 18 2014, 06:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 18 2014, 07:53 AM)
Which part of computer are you interested in?  The hardware?  The software?  You can't tell just by looking at the title, you'll need to consider the subjects offered as well.  When in doubt, speak to the university.
I thought that Computer Science covers all of it? Although I'm well interested in software development but I thought you need to also understand how the hardware works, such that the program can utilize it?

This post has been edited by rps5771: Mar 18 2014, 06:42 PM
TSGeminist
post Mar 19 2014, 06:06 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(rps5771 @ Mar 18 2014, 10:39 AM)
I thought that Computer Science covers all of it? Although I'm well interested in software development but I thought you need to also understand how the hardware works, such that the program can utilize it?
Having an appreciation doesn't necessarily equate to being able to do work in the area. I believe computer science at undergraduate level is fairly broad brush, and you can move into a more specialised area at post-graduate level.

In any case, I suggest you speak to the university or someone who majors in computer science as my understanding in this area is pretty general smile.gif

rps5771
post Mar 19 2014, 09:22 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 19 2014, 06:06 AM)
Having an appreciation doesn't necessarily equate to being able to do work in the area.  I believe computer science at undergraduate level is fairly broad brush, and you can move into a more specialised area at post-graduate level.

In any case, I suggest you speak to the university or someone who majors in computer science as my understanding in this area is pretty general smile.gif
Pardon me, but by software engineering I meant programming (software engineering is quite broad). Do you know any particular scholarship that is interested in this kind of course?
Michelle Tay
post Mar 20 2014, 04:22 PM

67 posts

Hi Sky.Live. Most engineers I encountered are doing what they studied. What I can recall, to go for Masters, your Mechanical Engineering results must be of min CGPA 2.5 or third class honours or equivalent. Have you got any recommendation where to or which college university? Can go for government grant - MYBrain15
rps5771
post Mar 21 2014, 04:41 PM

28 posts

What do you guys know of Canada Pre-University(CPU programme)..
It is quite short (1 year preparatory at Taylor's University).

Is it too hard? I got 4A+ 2A 3A- sad.gif
CallMeBin
post Mar 25 2014, 01:26 PM

1,222 posts

Is it true that engineering requires STRONG mathematical skills ?
quovadis123
post Mar 25 2014, 03:05 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(CallMeBin @ Mar 25 2014, 01:26 PM)
Is it true that engineering requires STRONG mathematical skills ?
How you define strong?
Just required decent math and decent physics IMO.
CallMeBin
post Mar 25 2014, 03:13 PM

1,222 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 25 2014, 03:05 PM)
How you define strong?
Just required decent math and decent physics IMO.
If define by results, should at least get a B+ ? No idea actually

If that's the case, rclxm9.gif . Nothing to be worried

quovadis123
post Mar 25 2014, 03:20 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(CallMeBin @ Mar 25 2014, 03:13 PM)
If define by results, should at least get a B+ ? No idea actually

If that's the case,  rclxm9.gif . Nothing to be worried
I think should at least 'B+' in STPM math or 'A+' in add math in SPM so, we call it decent.
You still can continue with less decent result, since everyone can improve their math or etc during engineering time, if they willing to improve.

77 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:04 AM