Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V6

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 1 2010, 08:38 PM

24,193 posts

Hi hi to all fellow lowyat forumers ^______^

First, please excuse my noobishness regarding GPU stuffs (I am from Science XD)
Recently I went to a shop right in front of lowyat plaza (beside Secret Recipe), its a large shop (4got the name liao) selling all brands of laptops.
I saw new generations of Sony Vaio laptops (CW series perhaps) with new i core processors. There's one with an i5 processor and a NVIDIA GeForce GT330M 512MB graphic card priced at RM3,999 (displayed via the computer screen). I've seen the same NVIDIA GeForce GT330M graphic card in the Qosmio F60 which is 1GB one. There are also Sony Vaio CW laptops in that shop with GeForce G310M with 256MB and 512MB configurations (as shown in the display screen). I've always thought the GT330M is 1GB while the G310M is 512MB one. So I tried asking the shop fella over there, he said that there are different types of GT330M and G310M (and even went to the extent to show me through Windows- I noob so I also dunno what he is talking about hahaha), which made me more confused and hence I ended up here ^____^

So, i guess my question is how many types of GT330M, G310M etc. GPUs are there? O______O

Your replies are much appreciated ^^ cheers!
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 1 2010, 09:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 1 2010, 08:42 PM)
Well, you don't really need to see how much MB it has, as long it has 512MB or more should be decent for nowadays, its not like it would make any major difference in term of performance.... especially if its not a high-end card...
What you would need to see what type of the memory it using and running at what clocks.

As for variation, can check here, should give the rough idea...
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22437.0.html
Thanks for replying me so quickly~~ Please forgive me, but I don't really understand. How to see what type of memory it is using and running at what clocks? O___O I tried comparing GT330M and G310M at notebookcheck and I have no idea how to compare them both at all hahaha XD XD

So GT330M do have 512MB and 1024MB variants? I thought they shown the wrong specs for their laptops O___O
Hope you could enlighten me. Again, sorry for being so noob haha T_____T
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2010, 01:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Bel0V3 @ Mar 17 2010, 12:34 PM)
ermmm looking for netbook or close to netbook with as light as possible, monitor around < 12"... for heavy gaming purposes ..

budget is unlimited.. wanna bring around ..hehehe..
please recommend..

oh yeah .. prefer to have keyboard light so can play in the dark..hehehe.. scare wife sees
You are asking as if you already know the answer to your question already haha XD
Alienware M11x ba, there doesn't seem to be other rivals for this niche ^_____^
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2010, 01:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Bel0V3 @ Mar 17 2010, 01:30 PM)
oooo really kah... i was looking over that one too..

but wanna confirm... but i check that it is not slim ler..
Well, for a laptop which promises such performance... you can't really expect it to be slim and light (for the time being ^^)
Weighing at approximately 2kg, it is more heavy than most 12.1 and 13.3' laptops hehe~ Well, the beautiful lights sure must take up some weight 1 rite? keke!

If you are not in a hurry, there are rumors (or facts) about some powerful Acer products coming out soon too.... But those have a larger screen and I doubt they are as unique and fancy as Alienware's M11x even though they seriously outperform the M11x~

The M11x would definitely fit your requirements (no other options hahaha XD), and with your unlimited budget, you could just go to DELL's website and customize an M11x which fits you best ^^

Best of luck o, U should know that many people out there (like me) would die for an Alienware ^______________^ cheers~
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2010, 02:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cruzzer @ Mar 17 2010, 01:46 PM)
hello everybody.. need ur help here.

1.brand : dell inpirion 13, compaq or toshiba L510 or any the best
2.budget : 1500 to 1800 only
3.use : for working
4. size : 13- 14

with one u suggest..
i admire with toshiba but got no experience wit this brand.. help please..
O____O I think the cheapest L510 model is priced at RM1,899 (T4500 - 2.3ghz 1MB L2 cache, 1GB DDR2 RAM, No OS, Intel GMA 4500, 320 GB), perhaps the price dropped already ^^. The L510 would exceed your budget if you intend to extend warranty (RM 439 = local warranty up to 3 years). Toshiba may be better in terms of reliability (they don't spoil easily) and It should be sufficient for regular work purposes... but no OS can cause some headaches 1 ^____^

I don't really like Compaqs, I prefer Pavillions instead... (biased statement XD XD)

The inspiron 13 would be a great choice, you will still have some money to upgrade/ extend warranty (depending on which model you chose) ^^ DELL provides the best services among all, so should any problems arise, there's no need to worry (if got warranty la) hehe~

DELL/Toshiba~ Best of luck, hope you get what you want ^^
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2010, 02:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cruzzer @ Mar 17 2010, 02:12 PM)
thanx bro for ur help..
i think maybe take dell inpirion 13 lorh..
but toshiba L510 T450 only RM1799 and L510 T440 stil got stock at RM 1699..
Actually I think there's a need to inform you regarding the Toshiba Satellite L510. There are actually 2 different models. I think the ones you are referring to are the older ones (white interior). I was referring to the newer ones (black interior). Frankly, the newer versions are much nicer, the specs better too ^^
But I had recommended friends regardless of the old (almost 1 year ago) or new versions of the L510, no problems encountered so far ^^

This is a picture of the OLD L510 model:
http://www.laptopspec.net/2009/08/toshiba-...14-inch-laptop/

Whereas this is the NEW L510 model:
http://web.toshiba-asia.com/product/brochu...ite_L510%20.pdf

There seems to be not much data, and a lot of confusion among this 2 models haha ^^ Some of the info on the internet are incorrect (perhaps their from different counties O_____O)
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2010, 04:31 PM

24,193 posts

Hi everyone ^____^

My sis will be needing a laptop real soon.

Size: 14, or less
Weight: as light as possible
Budget: 3-3.5k
GC: GMA4500, but preferable if have something abit better.... preferably dedicated GC
Usage: web surfing, simple usage, need simple GC (just in case she wants to play games) ^^
Brands: Anything ^^

Can you guys please let me know the available options for these kind of requirements?
I'm aware of ASUS UL series which more or less fits the requirements (except for budget I think), any other laptops like that around?
Recommendations are deeply appreciated ^______^

arigato laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2010, 05:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 26 2010, 05:27 PM)
Asus A42Jr, i3 350M + ATi HD5470@RM2599
Lenovo G460, i3 350M + Nvidia 310M@RM2349...
Ul30Vt, why not fit the budget? Its RM2899...
Oh, thanks lee bro notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Eh, I thought it was Rm3999 haha~
Then how about the price for UL80? O___O
Are there any other options for these kind of specs? ASUS is a very good choice already, but still surveying keke! thanks!
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2010, 05:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 26 2010, 05:42 PM)
UL80Vt is RM2999
So far only UL series and M11X that comes with Overclocked CPU and switchable GPU...
Eh? Acer don't have ar?
Well, anyway, thank you very much!
ASUS that is rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 30 2010, 07:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yang00 @ Mar 30 2010, 07:07 PM)
SU proc better or Atom proc better ?
SU is way better ^^
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 2 2010, 10:46 PM)
Would like to ask, Netbooks, if i on for downloading overnight will it overheat? *With cooling fan under it
It depends on the ventilation of the system...
But netbooks tend to get real hot after prolong usage though (at least for ASUS ee pc).... 24/7 downloading is not very advisable though icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 12:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 3 2010, 12:28 AM)
What about over night downloading?
Should be okay as long as not continuously, remember to let it rest in the morning haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 02:09 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Apr 3 2010, 01:23 AM)
How much will Asus A42Jr with i5 + 4GB gonna cost?
Approximately 3k? O___O
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 03:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Pikachu @ Apr 3 2010, 02:47 AM)
Hi guys, quite unfamiliar with the difference between processors for the Dell  XPS 16.

http://www1.ap.dell.com/my/en/home/noteboo...cs=mydhs1&s=dhs

What's the difference between the "Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P8700 (2.53GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)" and "Intel® Core™ i5-430M Processor(2.26Ghz, 4Threads, turbo boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)"? Is the i5 that much better?
Yup, I would say it is much better icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 01:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 3 2010, 12:24 PM)
LOL.. its hard to find the good laptop that weight not more than 2kg..
well Asus A42Jr is good but its weight 2.21kg
Acer 4820TG is good.. but its weight 2.2kg
BenQ S42 is good.. but its weight is 2.1kg
maybe only Asus Ul80Vt that good lappy that meet your criteria..

the other that meet your criteria[weight] is no good..
- Dell Inspiron 14z , Dell Inspiron 13z
Ya, for that kind of weight, only the UL80Vt and UL30Vt will more or less fit your requirements and bill too laugh.gif
But you can't expect much from the processor and the GC since the laptop is built with battery life in mind icon_rolleyes.gif

ASUS A42Jr is good ^^
Toshiba also provides warranty extension~
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2010, 11:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Apr 3 2010, 05:26 PM)
15.6" laptop, budget ~RM3000. Vostro 3500 seems like a pretty good deal, any other recommendation?
ASUS A52Jr? Around RM2800 I think..
You can check out Acer's 5740G too, RM3k~
Too bad the DELL Studio 15 is a bit out of your budget, I kind of like them~ Sturdy built, nice design laugh.gif

Added on April 4, 2010, 12:01 am
QUOTE(beebee @ Apr 3 2010, 05:57 PM)
anyone can help me? sad.gif
I think its perfectly normal icon_rolleyes.gif
Good things are worth waiting for, I've waited 2 weeks for my Qosmio that time~
Be patient, it will come..... eventually laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 4 2010, 12:23 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2010, 02:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kavin969 @ Apr 4 2010, 02:00 PM)
Asus A42JR i5 520M@RM2999. Is tis available>??? i would like to get tis..!
Currently this is one of the hottest laptop I think hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
Not much available stock though, many plan to go find during PC Fair, if you are interested you can do so too, but I would say its best to be patient~ Its not like ASUS's going to stop the production of the A42 and A52 any time soon hehe laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2010, 12:34 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Apr 6 2010, 11:36 PM)
Hey, been thinking about my requirements for a while, decided following would be what I needed

- dual-core low TDP proc, but 1080p playable
- 11.6'' or 13'' would be the optimal size
- no gaming
- really, really light

budget would be about 2.5k, but strong emphasis on portability. What would be the best netbook/notebook for this? Thanks.
I'm sure there are better options out there, but you could also take a look at Toshiba Protege T110 @ RM2,200. Should be able to cater to your requirements laugh.gif
Intel Pentium Processor SU2700 1.3Ghz Cache 2MB
3GB DDR3 RAM
11.6'
Intel GMA 4500
320GB

You can read the review here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Toshib...ok.25917.0.html
Its an impressive little laptop, tried one myself hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

There's a good one from Acer too if I recalled correctly, Acer T1410 (1810T), specs are as follows:
Intel Core 2 Solo Processor SU3500 1.4Ghz Cache 3MB
4GB DDR2 RAM
11.6'
Intel GMA 4500
320GB
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2010, 11:46 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Apr 7 2010, 11:36 AM)
Okay, checked both out, really nice laptops, but do they have a sort of "glossy" finish? Because I've used a couple of glossies before, looks really nice, but fingerprint magnets. Are they any laptops in this category without a glossy finish/LCD? Sorry to be a bother.
Well, unfortunately, the Toshiba Protege T110 is highly glossy haha laugh.gif
The Acer 1810T should be okay~

You can also take a look at HP Pavillion Dm1-1018TU
Intel Pentium Processor SU4100 1.3Ghz 2MB Cache
2GB DDR3 RAM
Intel GMA 4500
11.6'
250GB
This laptop is made with a different finish as the surface material (aluminium I think), it depends on taste, some ppl like it, some ppl don't icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(Heihachi777 @ Apr 7 2010, 05:19 AM)
hi all , is SU 4100 + X4500MHD strong enuf for 1080P MKV (~15GB) playback , I am eyeing on dell 11z with this spec.  THX
The Acer 1810T is quite capable for 1080p (according to reviews) with its Core 2 Solo Processor SU3500. The SU4100 should be able to cope laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 7 2010, 12:00 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2010, 12:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Apr 7 2010, 12:14 PM)
Currently having a budget of RM2.5k to RM3k for a laptop.
Main concern is the battery life as lappies priced arnd this price are already decent in specs.

1. Brand : Dell
2. Budget : RM2.5k ~ RM3k
3. Specs : Decently spec'ed with dual core and GFX being able to support at least 720p videos.
4. Size : Doesn't really matter

As said, i'm sticking with dell as i'm too lazy to research one by one about other brands  tongue.gif
Currently having the V13, Studio 15 and Vostro 1320.
Initially looked at the Studio 15 and Vostro 1320. Studio 15 for its price to performance ratio and 9-cell battery and the Vostro 1320 as it's quite decent. But then the V13's design is just too attractive.

Was just wondering whether the V13 can support 720p videos and is there any option to upgrade the battery to 9cell?
thanks  smile.gif
Well, the Vostro V13 can be quite good if mobility and battery life is your 1st priority laugh.gif The one with the SU7300 (RM2619) shouldn't have any problems playing 720p videos, but do note that the V13 does not come with an optical drive.... It seems the battery is not customizable too (according to DELL website that is) cry.gif
Review of the Vostro V13 here: http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/17/dell-vostro-v13-review/
Personally, I would go for the i5 variants of Studio 14/15 for better performance icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, sorry about this, but perhaps you can take a look at ASUS UL30Vt and UL80Vt laptops. They seem to suit your requirements (except for brand hehe) and budget (its around RM2.5k-3k) laugh.gif
General specs are as follows:
UL30Vt (13.3')
SU7300 (1.3Ghz)
NVIDIA GeForce G210M/GMA4500 (switchable depending on usage)
2GB DDR3 RAM
500GB
No optical drive

UL80Vt (14')
SU7300 (1.3Ghz)
NVIDIA GeForce G210M/GMA4500 (switchable depending on usage)
2GB DDR3 RAM
320GB
8x Super multi- dual DVD- ROM

I would say that these 2 laptops are currently the best if you want mobility and battery life without sacrificing too much performance icon_rolleyes.gif
Oh ya, they are light, approximately 1.8kg only rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 7 2010, 12:56 PM

0.0461sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:47 AM