Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V6

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2010, 09:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Apr 7 2010, 06:04 PM)
Emergency here, lost my laptop and have to find an immediate replacement, not too high spec, but cheap.

1. Brand: any brand especially those that have extended warranty

2. Budget: around Rm1k-2k

3. Specs: All moderate , not too cheapo graphic card.

4. Size: 13"-14" screen, weight not more than 2kg
*Is Ultra Low Processor a good choice?
You can have a look over here for 14 inchers: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1363185
Credits to Mr. Miahahaha, Mr. lee what and Mr. astria XD

CULVs are good only if you place battery life and mobility as your main priority ^^

Added on April 7, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 7 2010, 04:17 PM)
I'm having big dilemma between toshiba T110 RM2199 and the HP DV2-1203 RM2399

Both also comes with external dvd drive.
And does AMD really overheat if i leave it overnight for downloading?

Other than these 2 models, any other 11 inch notebooks around this price range except acer?
HP DV2 was the winner for the CES 2009, just like the Alienware M11x being the winner for CES 2010
Well, the keyword is "was", its kind of an old model with little refurbishments done and I wonder why because I kind of like it too The GC and processor are old, but yet quite decent. The AMD Athlon Neo X2 is actually a little bit better than the SU2700 However, take note that the RAM for the DV2 is 2GB DDR2 whereas its 3GB DDR3 for T110, this may actually bring about some significant differences in terms of performance.

Also, the small size 11.6' size actually means that heat dissipation may be a big problem; since the DV2 has an AMD processor and also a GC (and its very thin compared to the M11x), heat may be substantial

Check out Hp Pavillion dm1-1018Tu
Intel Pentium SU4100 (1.3Ghz, 2MB L2)
11.6'
Intel GMA 4500
2GB DDR3
250GB
~RM2,499
I think this 1 is more or less a replacement for the DV2

Added on April 7, 2010, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Apr 7 2010, 07:39 PM)
i've been wondering.
whats the diff between the UL80VT and the UL50VT?
aside from screen size and keyboard layout, the others is pretty much the same, right?
Yup~
Mind sharing the specs of the UL50Vt? laugh.gif
The 15.6' variant weights approximately 2.0kg and will also be more battery thirsty compared to its 13' and 14' brothers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 7 2010, 09:51 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 8 2010, 01:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 8 2010, 12:20 AM)
Hi guys, looking for a laptop for my girlfriend..
Brand : Any Brand that is reliable...

Budget : 2k-2.5k max

Specs : unsure, use for surfing, movies, music & playing the SIM sweat.gif

Size : 14" ? moderate not too heavy for lady to carry
Any suggestion towards the requirement with conjuction with any promo??? pls advise thanks sifu  rclxms.gif
Perhaps you can take a look at ASUS A42Jr, DELL Inspiron 14 or Lenovo G460.
These 14' laptops should be approximately 2.2- 2.4kg.
Refer to the model specs and price here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1363185
Again, credits to Mr. miahahaha, Mr. Lee what and Mr. astria icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 04:17 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Dulan89 @ Apr 9 2010, 01:04 PM)
Hi I'm now in the stage of can't decide which of these laptop model i will going for. Between Tohsiba L510-B402 or Lenovo G460. As long as they manage to play game such as MW2, battlefield and l4d2 it is ok for me~ Or if u guys have any other recommendation? My budget is RM2.2k max~ Thanks for your help.
If performance is your top priority then Toshiba is not really suitable laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 04:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(neuroneuster @ Apr 9 2010, 01:06 PM)
I see...
I am thinking of buying TOSHIBA or DELL.

Let me know, should I buy the small size of laptop? Or the bigger one the better?

Between TOSHIBA and DELL... ( i cant remember which model I am interested with )

1. wHICH has longer battery life?

2. Which wont OVERHEAT? i cant stand hotness.

3. Which is RELIABLE?

4. Works well for internet connectivity.

5. BEAUTIFUL?

may someone help?
When it comes to size, weight , battery life and performance, it depends on what you require most and what you use your laptop for. If you travel a lot or you are a college/ Uni student, sometimes it is best to buy smaller laptops as big ones can be very heavy to carry around. Additionally, smaller laptops tend to have longer battery life which can be rather useful if you often patronize cafes providing WiFi services icon_rolleyes.gif

1. Battery life: It depends on which model are you referring to. Toshiba T110, T130; DELL 13z etc. are laptops with long battery life but comparatively poorer performance

2. Laptops nowadays are less prone to overheating on normal usage. All laptops can become very hot when gaming or carrying out strenuous tasks.

3. Attached Image
If you hate waiting for repairs, get DELL icon_rolleyes.gif
Reliability can also be affected by the way you use/ take care of your lappy.

4. All laptops shouldn't have this problem hehe

5. It depends on taste. Toshiba has some good- looking laptops, so do DELL laugh.gif

You need to state your budget, usage and preferable size nod.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(keepme88 @ Apr 9 2010, 12:40 AM)
hi..i plan to buy a macbook white..is it worth for me(i mean the spec)? should i wait for new spec? do you know when apple cme out with new spec? thanks..
Apple will most probably take their sweet time producing a state-of-the-art laptop nod.gif
If you are not rushing, then perhaps it is best to wait? Its been quite some time since Macbooks were refurbished cry.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 9 2010, 04:28 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 08:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Dulan89 @ Apr 9 2010, 07:17 PM)
Means that lenovo is more suitable in my case? Or can i consider also Compaq presario CQ42 189tx for performance?
Yup nod.gif
I'm not particularly fond of HP Compaqs because they seem to have a lot more problems than normal rclxub.gif
Try looking for ASUS and Acer. They provide good price:performance ratio icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 10:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(neuroneuster @ Apr 9 2010, 09:14 PM)
Thanks Kelv and T.J

I just bought this one.

DELL INSPIRON 14...er don remember.
Processor Intel i5, Windows 7.
rm2599.
Blue color.

i heard bigger laptop has better processor. and it's faster than the smaller one. Is it true?
Any dedicated Graphic Card for the Inspiron 14? O____O
Inspirons have improved a lot compared to the older Inspiron models, wise choice nod.gif DELL services will serve you well icon_rolleyes.gif

Yup, generally bigger laptops have better processors. Not applicable to all models though icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Apr 9 2010, 09:57 PM)
Hey, looking for a laptop to get since I'd be going overseas for my studies. Will be studying a course in Computer Science so I'd like to know the perfect laptop for the course as I believe it will involve some programming work.

1. Brand.
Not much preference in brand.

2. Budget.
Possibly less than 4k? (:

3. Specs.
at least 2.2GHz processor speed (core duo and above)
at least 2GB RAM
at least 500GB space (or maybe lesser, i compromise)
must have webcam
good graphics
widescreen
etc etc

4. Size.
not too bulky, but i don't mind. I can carry my own weight pretty well.

P/S: is it recommended to buy during PC fair? do i get fair discounts or it'd be the same as buying at Lowyat or Digital mall?
A budget of 4k can get you way better specs than your requirements nod.gif
Personally I would recommend the ASUSN82Jv, a 14.1' monster with i5 and GT335~ You get the best from both worlds, both mobility and power hehe laugh.gif
Still, have a look here for more choices (and the inevitable headaches XD): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1363185
Credits to Mr. Miahahaha, Mr. Astria and Mr. Lee what for that thread icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 9 2010, 10:56 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 10 2010, 01:14 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(TealTurino @ Apr 9 2010, 11:03 PM)
Hello,

My budget is RM 3-3.5K. I prefer a minimum of core 15-520, ATI Radeon Mobility 5650 and 4GB of DDR3 ram. Don't care for any brand as long as the laptop is reliable and the warranty is good. Screen size also don't matter as long as it's not below 14". Please recommend some laptops for me that fulfills all those criteria.

I'll be using the laptop to play games such as The Sims 3, Starcraft 2, Civ 5 and Simcity 5 if it ever comes out. I want to play those games at full setting, so please advice me if the specs are up to task.

I thought of getting a desktop but I'll be traveling a lot and thus requires a laptop as my main computer.
Your specific requirements suggests that you have already made some selections of laptops? Mind sharing?
Perhaps newer models of Acer can fulfill your spec requirements. Not sure whether they fit your budget though. rclxub.gif

Added on April 10, 2010, 1:23 am
QUOTE(StarCandy @ Apr 10 2010, 12:44 AM)
Hi...

I'm thinking or buying a laptop since I will further my studies but I'm really clueless about these laptop specification thing and now getting headache in choosing a good laptop...
I hope some people can recommend some good laptop with some description  that is suitable for a student....

Thank in advance....  biggrin.gif

Budget : Not more than RM 3500

Brand 
Anything as long it is good

Spec :
Multi-tasking 
Gaming 
For watch movie and listen to music
Have fast processor

Usage: 
light-gaming(dota/maplesea)
Surf the net
good after sales service
students need
hopefully long battery life
good mobility
Store movie and music

Size :
Any and good built quality.
Lightweight and slim will be advantageous.
The ASUS UL80Vt (14.1') and UL30Vt (13.3') fits all your requirement except for the "Fast Processor" part.... But how fast is your fast? hehe laugh.gif These are very good laptops, especially for students who are not too into games XD
Nevertheless, you can always take a look at DELL Studio 14/15, Toshiba M500, Toshiba Protege M900, Lenovo Y460, Acer 4820TG (not sure, seems like got new Acer models coming out soon) etc. icon_rolleyes.gif
Its best you take a look at each lappy 1st and find out which 1 U have the "bond" with, only then you choose rclxms.gif
By the way, you going to study overseas? That may affect the laptops you buy too hehe~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 10 2010, 01:23 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 10 2010, 02:09 PM

24,193 posts

[quote=TealTurino,Apr 10 2010, 06:31 AM]
[quote=PF T.J.,Apr 10 2010, 01:14 AM]
Your specific requirements suggests that you have already made some selections of laptops? Mind sharing?
Perhaps newer models of Acer can fulfill your spec requirements. Not sure whether they fit your budget though. rclxub.gif

Added on April 10, 2010, 1:23 am

Well, I really fancy Asus N61JQ-A1 which costs about US 1.1K and roughly converts into RM 3.5K. However it's not available in Malaysia and I would like to find other laptops with similar specs that are available here. I don't need the Intel Core i7-720 and willing to trade down to core i5-520 if it means lower cost. I heard with games, gpu is more important than cpu. I don't want to go any lower than ATI 5650 and if preferable go up to ATI 5850 if my budget allows. Keep in mind that I'll be using the laptop for MS Office, surfing, doing spreadsheets and quite frequently to play strategy games like the upcoming Starcraft 2 and Civ 5. I won't be doing much video rendering or photoshop, so the i7 maybe an overkill for me.

[/quote]

Ya, you are right, I couldn't find the N61JQ is ASUS website rclxub.gif Heard of the N61Ja though
A quick ask from Mr. Google and also referring to the ASUS brochure shows that, well the graphic card is ATI 5730, slightly better than ATI 5650. Yup, heard from lowyat forum experts too, you don't really need an i7 if gaming is your priority. i5 should suffice nod.gif
So, go take a look at the N61Ja, not sure whether they will be selling during PC Fair though. Specs are as follows:

However, it won't be within the range of Rm3.5K I would say, unfortunately, perhaps around 5K or more. Need to confirm this nod.gif

P/S: Damn it is a nice looking laptop, good taste bro!

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 11 2010, 06:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(affan83 @ Apr 11 2010, 12:27 AM)
to all sifu..need advice here..it safe buy laptop from PC Fair?..hope can share any good / bad experience..thanks... wink.gif
Should be safe as long as you know what you are doing nod.gif
Make sure the store is a renowned 1, and ask all the pertinent questions, especially regarding warranty and services laugh.gif

Added on April 11, 2010, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(mustang90 @ Apr 11 2010, 12:38 AM)
hi all....

need a recommendation buying new laptop/netbook:

1. Brand-the best one for heavy user
2. Budget-not more than rm1.6k
3. Specs-excellent for wifi
4. Size-11-14"

thanx~
Perhaps you can take a look at DELL Inspirons 11, 11z 13, 13z, 14 icon_rolleyes.gif
Heavy user on what? Gaming? Surfing? Different usage may influence the laptop you need icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 11, 2010, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(cain @ Apr 11 2010, 11:27 AM)
My aunt is thinking of getting a laptop (her 1st!). Nothing heavy, just web-browsing and watching tv shows.

Budget > as cheap as possible (below 2k if possible)
Screen > Preferably large cuz you know old people lah, they have problems with reading small fonts (I told her i could reduce the screen res for her, which would make everything look bigger but she said then there would be less space for her to work with *sigh* have to give and take mah~) I'm thinking the standard 15" should be sufficient.

Since she won't be lugging it around often, i don't think weight is an issue here. Requirements are pretty low so i'm sure we can get something good enough for her below 2k.

Please advise smile.gif
The DELL Inspiron 15 seemed ok, but still its priced at RM2,199. Not much info on other 15 inch laptops though.. Perhaps can look into older versions of Acer.

Added on April 11, 2010, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(akasa20 @ Apr 11 2010, 06:00 PM)
toshiba portege M900 in pc fair for RM3199... worth it??
The price for that Portege M900 is normal price. Should be cheaper during PC Fair.
This 13.3' inch laptop is different from others 13 inches in a sense that it has a DVD drive and also it is more solid and is built of materials with a very unique (weird) texture laugh.gif Because of that, it weights almost 1.8kg laugh.gif
The specs should be as follows:
i3-330M
2GB DDR3 SDRAM
Geforce G310M
320GB

The GC is not bad for a 13 inch laptop ^^ So if you don't really like an external DVD-ROM and don't really mind the extra weight for a 13 inch (most importantly, if you like the looks), then you can consider this laptop nod.gif Should be able to ask for cheaper price XD

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 11 2010, 06:45 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 11 2010, 06:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Apr 11 2010, 12:02 PM)
This is a topic for EVERYBODY out there that needs special recommendation on buying a new laptop...

To request recommendation, what u need to post:

1. Brand. : NO Preference
2. Budget. : less than 2k
3. Specs : i need a netbook..
4. Size. : anything not to small.. 10in above

Great battery life. needs to hav bluetooth. webcam is a bonus. card reader. something that doesnt look or feel flimsy/cheapo !!
You can probably take a look at 11.6' netbooks with CULV Processors nod.gif DELL Inspiron 13 (RM1,499 for PC Fair) would be good also depends on how great is your "great" in battery life hehe~
Acer 1810TZ ~RM1849
Intel Pentium Processor SU4100 (1.3Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz)
2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
11.6'
Intel GMA4500

DELL Inspiron 11z (~RM1,899)
Intel Pentium Processor Su4100 (1.3Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz)
2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
11.6'
Intel GMA4500

Toshiba T110 is RM2,199 which is slightly out of your budget. If possible, try using the remaining budget to get warranty icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 11 2010, 07:06 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 11 2010, 07:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 11 2010, 06:56 PM)
Hi all, need recommendation for cheap netbook/notebook models:

1. Brand - Any
2. Budget - >RM1.5k
3. Specs - with build in WWAN
4. Size - 11" or smaller
5. Usage - for net surfing / instant messaging

Thanks in advance.
These are some of the 11.6' laptops out there:
Acer 1810TZ ~RM1849
2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
Intel GMA4500

2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
Intel GMA4500

Toshiba Portege T110 (~RM2,199)
Intel Pentium Processor SU2700 (1.3Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz)
W7 Home Premium
3GB DDR3 SDRAM
320GB
Intel GMA4500

HP Pavilion dm1-1918TU (~RM2,499)
W7 Home Basic
2GB DDR3
250GB
Intel GMA4500

I apologize if I missed out some other models hehe laugh.gif Try to have a look at each model and see which 1 you like most. Specs are more or less the same except for the Toshiba and HP which uses DDR3 RAM

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 11 2010, 07:21 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 11 2010, 07:16 PM)
Thanks bro for quick feedback notworthy.gif
Just glanced thru their spec, I believe these models do not have built in WWAN? Not sure if they able to support add in of WWAN card. Gonna do some checking first. smile.gif
Haha, sorry, the spec part wasn't there when I replied I think... Or perhaps I missed it rclxub.gif
I'm not sure whether those netbooks have or not. I think the Toshiba NB305 has it but still it is 10 inch only rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 11 2010, 07:23 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 12 2010, 02:17 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Apr 11 2010, 10:32 PM)
1. Brand. : Dell (Alienware) @ Acer
2. Budget. : 3.5k - 4.2k
3. Specs : Photoshop, gaming, internet
4. Size. : not too big, 11-15in should do

Used as primary workstation on photo editting & gaming.
Heard from sifus here in lowyat forum that photo editing depends more on the CPU and RAM rather than the GPU. Gaming though, depends on GPU. The Alienware will not be that good for Photoshoping rclxub.gif
Not particularly sure how many Acer laptops are there within your budget range, but you can take a look at Acer Aspire 5741G-524G50 (i5-520M, 4GB DDR3 RAM,15.6', GT320M) RM2,999

Or you can consider ASUS N82Jv (i5-520M, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 14.1', GT335), or perhaps, even an XPS Studio 16 icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 12, 2010, 2:21 am
QUOTE(James_yka @ Apr 12 2010, 12:14 AM)
Hi all.

Thanks for your valuable recommendation...

1. Brand - Any good quality brand that can Surf and Watch Video...
2. Budget - Within 2k
3. Specs - Light Weight , Small , Wifi , Long Battery, Pleasant temp after long use if possible
4. Size - 11-14"
Im deciding between Dell New Mini 10z or Asus EEE PC 1005pe Seashell...

Is there any other comparable model that i can look at ?
Your watch video = play DVD? rclxub.gif
Can take a look at these: (No optical drives though)

Acer 1810TZ ~RM1849
2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
Intel GMA4500

2GB DDR2 RAM
W7 home premium
320GB
Intel GMA4500

The remaining money can be used to get warranty (recommended) hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 12 2010, 02:21 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 12 2010, 02:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Apr 12 2010, 04:15 AM)
Helo there,I wanna get a laptop which can play games.
Budget around 3k+.
Any recommendation?
Better on Asus or Dell.
But other brands with good rep aso welcomed.
ASUS A52Jr
Intel Core i5-430 (2.26-2.53Ghz)
W7 HP
ATI HD5470
2GB DDR3 RAM
500GB (5,400rpm)

DELL Studio 15 (RM3,199 before 15th April 2010)
Intel Core i5-430 (2.26-2.53Ghz)
W7HP
ATI4570
4GB DDR3 RAM
320GB (7,200rpm)

Acer Aspire 5741G-524G50 (RM,2999)
Intel Core i5-520M (2.4-2.93Ghz)
W7HP
Nvidia GT320M
4GB DDR3 RAM
500GB

The Acer offers the best specs and is a rather good choice but still, it depends on whether you are Acer-phobic or not hehe laugh.gif
The ASUS A52Jr has a better GC compared to DELL Studio 15. However, you have the option of customizing the Studio 15 to meet your requirements and budget
Do remember to extend warranty, if possible 3 years, regardless of Acer or DELL! DELL's after services are superb and thus can be very convenient icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 12 2010, 03:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(uncleJ @ Apr 12 2010, 02:39 PM)
Hi guys, looking for a laptop as well. Some interesting posts here but my requirements differ a bit.

- Battery: it's gonna be a desktop replacement @ plugged in all the time, so I don't care if it's got crap battery life.
- Screen size: i'm not young, and I love my eyesight... must be at least 15"
- Weight: don't care, it's going to be sitting on a desk
- Budget: no ceiling, but let's just throw out a random figure of RM5,000.
- Brand: no preference; I've owned a Dell Inspiron (good experience); a little wary of HP due to some friends' advice (but tell me if you know otherwise)

- CPU: must be core i7, but if you can point me at a good i5 machine go ahead
- Graphics card: okay this is a sore point with me; all the pcs I've owned were always several generations of gfx cards behind, so I've never been able to play "modern" games. I want something that isn't from the stone age. Actually I'd like a real new model if possible. I'm sick of getting 10fps in the few games I borrowed from my friends.
Anything else you guys need to know?
So bro, basically you are using your desktop replacement for gaming? (Do note that according to sifus here, i7 is not particularly good for gaming; its good for multitasking instead)
With your unlimited budget, there are loads of gaming laptops you can choose from laugh.gif

Let's see:
Alienware M17x (17')- (ranging from RM 6,999 to RM8,999 depending on configurations)
You can refer DELL website here: http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/p...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1

Alienware M15x (15') (ranging from 5,999 to RM 6,599 depending on configurations)
You can refer to the specs here: http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/p...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1

ASUS G51Jx 3D (16')
i7-720QM, W7 Ultimate, Nvidia GeForce GTS260M, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 640GB

ASUS G60Jx (16')
i7-720QM, W7 HP, Nvidia GeForce GTS360M, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 640GB

Toshiba Qosmio X500-D830 (18') RM 7,199
i7-720QM, W7 HP, Nvidia GeForce GTS 250M, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 640GB

Acer 5942G-724G64 (15.6') (RM4,799)
i7-720QM, W7 HP, ATI 5650, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 640GB

DELL Studio XPS 16 (15.6') (RM4,899)
i7-720QM, W7 P, ATI 4670, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB (7,200rpm)

Lenovo Ideapad Y550P (15.6') (RM 4,799)
i7-720QM, W7 HP, Nvidia GT240M, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB

Graphic card performance: ATI 4870> Nvidia GTX260> ATI 5650> ATI 4670> ATI GT330M> ATI GT240M
All are good for playing modern games but not all can be played using max. settings ^^
I'm sure there are alot of other laptops with almost similar configurations out there but these are the more common ones. I apologize if I miss something out hehe Oh, for the i5 variant, you can take a look at DELL XPS Studio 16 too, also you can refer to Toshiba Qosmio F60 (described in my signature below) icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 12 2010, 03:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Belouvre @ Apr 12 2010, 03:01 PM)
Hello.
Want to ask if you guys have any comments on Toshiba Qosmio?
I was thinking of buying a new laptop and Qosmio is on top of my list.
And it's the only one in my list. tongue.gif
But I'm still doubting whether should I buy it or not.
Any other preference?

Thank you! <3
I assume you are referring to the 15.6' Qosmio F60?
Basically there are 2 variants, 1 with i3 (~RM3,799) and the other 1 with i5 (~RM4,799).
It depends on what you need it for... If its for University/College then its not particularly good because its quite heavy and bulky and the battery life is short, just like all the other 15.6' laptops.
However, if you don't really mind the extra weight and size, and you want a multimedia/ gaming laptop, it will serve you well, especially the i5 one.

Some of the pros:
1. Very very nice- looking design and solid built
2. Glossy- never old looking
3. Very impressive speakers
4. No heat problems at all, many heat sinks laugh.gif
5. Blu- Ray rewritable
Cons:
1. Glossy looks attract a lot of fingerprints on the palm rest and keyboard
2. The Blu- Ray drive bends under high pressure
3. Expensive
- Planning to write a review soon on the F60 with Eguy1314, if you are not buying in a rush, you can wait for the review haha sweat.gif

There are better and newer alternatives (especially from ASUS, Acer, DELL) out there with similar or even better specs at a lower price (Because Qosmio F60 was one of the 1st laptops to have i5 and GT330M laugh.gif ) And do take note that local warranty extension to 3 years for Qosmio is RM639 rclxub.gif

A very good laptop if you have the money to spare nod.gif

Added on April 12, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(Belouvre @ Apr 12 2010, 03:21 PM)
Um..
How much is it for Toshiba Qosmio F60?
The price was RM4,799 (I bought at RM4690) about 1 month ago. Heard that they are going to sell a lot cheaper during PC Fair period. Some more will give free External Harddisk T_____________T

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 12 2010, 03:28 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 13 2010, 11:14 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Belouvre @ Apr 12 2010, 03:37 PM)
Yep, was thinking of buying the i5 ones, but the weight is something that I don't like.
Um..
I'm a anti-Acer person (sorry to Acer's fan), so your recommendation for other brand especially for Asus and Dell is what you've recommended for Uncle J?
Err... It depends on your usage bro laugh.gif
The ones I've listed out for Uncle J are super expensive, high performance gaming machines and are thus very large and heavy.
If you want to save weight and don't mind a smaller screen size but at the same time don't want to compromise on performance, then perhaps can take a look at the ASUS N82Jv. Its around RM3,799. i5-520M, GT335M, 14.1' icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 13, 2010, 11:15 am
QUOTE(noobfc @ Apr 13 2010, 11:08 AM)
hey guys, i'll be needing a laptop soon so i drop by and ask you all for recommendation

i'll be using it for gaming, and programming

budget around 4k

any suggestion? thx
Hihi laugh.gif
Any preferred brands? Size? Weight?

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 13 2010, 11:15 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 13 2010, 11:29 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_ckl @ Apr 12 2010, 04:13 PM)
Hey. Could use sum word of the wise. Firstly, my knowledge on laptops are like scoody doo on rocket science so please excuse me if i say something stupid. haha.

Anyway......
Im  into djing & I need a laptop to support my software, song stash & other small functions.

Budget : 2.5k n below

Processor: Dual core

Ram: Minimum 3G

Hard disk space: Minimum 250G

size : 15 & above

specs: wifi, able to handle photoshop n illustrator
Any constructive feedback or recommendation is appreciated
There aren't much 15.6' laptops within that budget range. I may miss out some models but perhaps you can take a look at DELL Inspiron 15 (RM2,199)?
Specs can be referred to here: http://www1.ap.dell.com/my/en/home/noteboo...cs=mydhs1&s=dhs
You can customize the specs (GC can be upgraded to ATI 4330) if you want and don't forget to extend warranty (if possible 3 years) for your laptop. DELL's service is only good when you still have your warranty haha laugh.gif

Other available 15.6' laptops which you can consider:
ASUS A52Jr (~RM2,700)
i5-430 (2.26ghz- 2.53ghz, L2 3MB Cache)
2GB DDR3 RAM
ATI 5470
500GB

Sifus said that photoshop requires more CPU & RAM power than GC, so its best to get a better processor and upgrade RAM if possible nod.gif

There's also the Acer Aspire 5741G priced at RM2,999 icon_rolleyes.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 13 2010, 11:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Apr 13 2010, 11:20 AM)
hmmm, brand wise dun care... performance come first over everything XD

size...hmmm prefer widescreen if possible

weight, my backbone very tough, dun worry XD
Generally if performance is the main priority, Acer would be the best choice. But it seems Acer doesn't have a laptop around your budget range rclxub.gif Closest is the Aspire 5741G (15.6') @ RM2,999.
For 4k, you can take a look at ASUS N82Jv, i5-520M, 14.1', GT335M at approximately RM3,799. Not much rivals for this particular monster at the moment haha, refer to this laptop here:http://www.bloggerisme.com/asus-n82-specs-feature-and-review.html
You can use the remaining money for accessories icon_rolleyes.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 13 2010, 11:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Apr 13 2010, 11:38 AM)
orite, thx for the suggestion biggrin.gif

im still open to more suggestion if anyone willing to give

Added on April 13, 2010, 11:40 amyo tj, found this at your siggy

Toshiba Qosmio F60- BD531

around how much? thx XD
The Qosmio F60 has 2 variants:
the one with i3 costs around RM3,799 while the i5 costs around RM4,799 rclxub.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0406sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:00 PM