Technical PSP Community & Tech Talk | V6, PSP Community & Technical Discussion

Vampyr3
post Feb 19 2010, 04:43 PM

Nobody's A Virgin Coz Life Screws Everybody!
1,121 posts

Hi guys,I'm kinda new to the psp scene and i have a noob question after going through all the pages. Am I safe to assume that with the psp3k, I cannot mod it to play ahem ahem if the ofw is higher than 5.03?
Vampyr3
post Feb 19 2010, 07:02 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Feb 19 2010, 04:49 PM)
yup. psp 3k with 5.50 firmware is a major no no
Ok, thanks for the response......psp 2k is the way to go then! rclxms.gif
Vampyr3
post Feb 19 2010, 07:49 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(azamen87 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:20 PM)
try garage sales~ depending on where u live 2~

Added on February 19, 2010, 7:23 pm
psp2k wif a v3 motherboard is oso a no go. safest bet, psp1k; for a psp2k, look for a non-v3 psp2k.
Hmmm, referring to the FAQ from King83, the ofw for the psp2k that I have my eyes on is 4.01 so I guess the motherboard's a v2? Just wondering if there are other ways to determine this other than using pandora's battery which I don't have biggrin.gif Probably can determine it from the serial number or something? blink.gif
Vampyr3
post Feb 21 2010, 09:57 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(azamen87 @ Feb 20 2010, 08:23 AM)
normally, psp2k wif 4.01 comes wif a v3 mobo~ since that is when 4.01 firmware launched wif v3 mobo psp2k.
Ouch, i probably have a v3 mobo then......but either way, i'll have to update the official firmware from 4.01 to 5.03 before i can even install the custom firmware(v5.03 gen xx) right?
Vampyr3
post Feb 21 2010, 10:39 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(azamen87 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:24 PM)
update to 5.03, then load chickhen R2, then use pspident 4 to see ur psp model~
Ok, will do that...thanks a bunch and also thanks to all the forummers! notworthy.gif
Vampyr3
post Feb 27 2010, 09:30 AM

1,121 posts

Hi guys, am wondering if anybody can help me with a question please? I have a new psp and am trying to update the 4.01 firmware to 5.03 before i install chickhen and pspident.

So after I update the firmware and use pspident, can I delete the files and remove the memory card(with the ofw 5.03 file and chickhen)? Coz i wan to use a new blank memory card with the psp. Wondering if the psp needs those files to run or they are installed into the psp system already. This won't brick the psp, will it??
Vampyr3
post Feb 27 2010, 02:38 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Feb 27 2010, 12:05 PM)
you can delete the files, BUT, psp3k and psp2k mobo v3, cant have permanent cfw. the cfw will disapear after you shutdown after you turn off your psp.  you need to do the activating again after turning on the psp (chickHEN -> gen-c).so if you dont have the file then how to activate it again. unless you want to play official games. then its all right.

i can see that you didnt mention about cfw in your post. you know that pspident is just to check the mother board, it is not custom firmware. and chickHEN is a software that you need to activate before activating custom firmware. you can try to search about 5.03Gen-C. that is custom firmware for psp3k and psp2k mobo v3. dont install other than that, 5.50gen-d3 is not for psp3k and psp2k mobo v3.
Thanks for explaining! Yeah, i haven't the slightest idea what mobo i'm on yet so am trying to identify it. The reason i want to delete the files is because i'm using a friend's memory card to update my psp as i haven't got one for myself yet so when i return it to him, wanna return it as it is smile.gif After installing the firmware, it is run from the psp system itself and not from the memory card, right? So it's safe to change memory cards?

0.0192sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:25 AM