stimix
post Jan 26 2010, 09:59 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For new subscribver as per their Q&A:

New customers:
If you are new to Astro and would like to get the new Astro B.yond Box and subsequently view the high definition channels, you will have to sign up to the current Astro standard definition packages while we process your application for the new Astro B.yond Box.

You will be given the standard definition Astro box, complete with the free standard installation, while waiting for the new Astro B.yond Box. Once the Astro B.yond Box is available, we will call you to arrange for an exchange.

You will receive the Astro B.yond Box, a new smartcard, a new outdoor dish unit (ODU), a new remote control, and HDMI cables free of charge on the condition that you return the other Astro box, remote control, smartcard, ODU and commit to take up the high definition channels at RM20.00 per month for a minimum of 12 months, which will allow you to enjoy the high definition channels of the standard definition channels available on your current subscription.
http://www.astro.com.my/byond/faq.asp

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 26 2010, 09:46 AM)
for new subscribers.. how do we go about it? What's the process like?
stimix
post Jan 27 2010, 12:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well cover wth coke bottle wan is to avoid rain water interferences... probably if we add the bottle at the KNB, signal will increase further from 100% to 200% biggrin.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 27 2010, 12:05 PM)
Well, i see many people imprison their astro LNBs with plastic bag or bottom of coke bottle... maybe i can upload a pic to show...
Another satellite myth maybe??
stimix
post Jan 28 2010, 10:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Whatever delays, It's still free viewing HD channels till Apr...why worry..haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 28 2010, 10:16 AM
stimix
post Jan 28 2010, 08:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I want Discovery HD..When-lah Discovery HD
stimix
post Jan 29 2010, 11:11 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The RM20 is the subscription fee for those HD channels. BTW, it is still free till Apr for those wanna experience HDTV...Berbaloi hor...much better quality than scale downed .mkv blue ray movies
stimix
post Jan 29 2010, 11:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No use to Nokia phone..The usb connection can't charge wan unless using USB to charger converter..haha
stimix
post Jan 29 2010, 03:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmmnn U are the 1st & only one experiencing this. All of us so far happy wth the new box reception...Try to check your signal strenght ..Should be ! 225 or higher. If u switch to Measat 3a #18, u should be able to get 100% strenght or 255

QUOTE(mohdadham @ Jan 29 2010, 03:18 PM)
I just installed a few week ago but the rain issue MORE WORST than before and plan to call CS.
stimix
post Jan 29 2010, 04:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I was refering to the other guy statement that new box worst than old box during raining-lah..For sure thuderstorm also no signal lah as I posted numerous times dy but atleast signal is much more stable during moderate rain. smile.gif
QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 29 2010, 03:51 PM)
maybe u never experience heavy rain like ribut.. hahah.. i had once.. and yes... NO SIGNAL
stimix
post Jan 29 2010, 06:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I dun liek football..me wan Discovery HD..haizzz...
stimix
post Jan 30 2010, 04:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

eeeee yeerrrrr
stimix
post Feb 1 2010, 06:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Old dish, LNB & cable can be used lah but as u know, the older one is only 60cm & cable not so good liao...

So expecting reading of less than 200 instead of normal 220-255..
stimix
post Feb 1 2010, 06:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Can try during CNY balik Kampung..bring back the whole set & check at Hometown.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zonan4 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:33 PM)
wohoooo maybe  neb is right all the way huhuhu maybe I'm right I never test it... cyberkoh how about you try it at your family house and tell us the result... btw I try using the smartcard on the old decoder and it never work.... If It's working using old dish and lnb then neb is right.... no harm trying it out i guess....
stimix
post Feb 2 2010, 09:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Astinst (Astro installer?),

Wow. U do really have a profound knowledge in Satelite Tech.. Do post more & correct us on this thingy...BTW do u know when Astro gonna lauch Discovery HD?
stimix
post Mar 12 2010, 06:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

P_heww..lucky I dun put on standby mode still using old version 1.01
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 07:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I normally dun and accidentally I put on standby mode when i went out on Sat & came back later & found out the SD channels suddenly cannot see networks logo anymore & pictures all so big & part of the head/hair always kena chop off!

Thereafter go to the setting pg & found out my version updated liao & no more stcretch option..only the default Zoom or pillar box

Haizzzz.....But one thing on the default zoom mode although certain part kena chopped off..but hv to agree better PQ than previous setting...
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 09:03 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Better because you no loger seeing funny fat & stretch faces. The only problem since its zoom, you can't see the top left/right logo & also the far bottom info & the last para of the subtitle. So that's abit of irritating things!

Just like Yesterday RTM1 match between Lee Chon Wei & Kenny Chitago (hehe intended pun)...You can see part of the result but not the opponent result. On other channels, the top part of a facial head alway can't see hair wan!
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 10:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Pillar box I kenot liao..bcos using Plasma..sked kena IR/burnt screen. So current option will be the head kena cut liao.. well atleast the PQ better. Anyway...for SD channel, the best still conventional CRT TV. nothing beat that. Only stupiak ppl like you & me go & buy HDTV for ASTRO years back biggrin.gif

This is pillarbox image for those haven't seen b4:

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Mar 15 2010, 09:49 AM)
may ask... which is more irritating for you...

1. thinner but accurate relatively higher quality picture with complete information but include 2 lump of black rectangle on each side, or , 2. wider, yet still accurate average quality picture with incomplete information although it is in full screen.

i just want to understand other poeple's taste and perception..

i leave the '3. wider, full screen, non accurate poor quality picture with complete information ' option out as it yet to be available...
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 15 2010, 10:22 AM
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 10:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

They still have't use byond..Dunno why but feeling the old DTU having better PQ than the Byond set although using HDMI

Probably Astro realised it & trying hard to rectify the problem...& came out wth the stupiak idea of taking out the blur-blur stretch option bcos kenot be rectified anymore kua...
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 10:44 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

aiyah...just choose the one we like-lah, no matter pillar kah, no head kah or tarik long-long kah...all depending on personal liking...Just gave users the options can dy...& the best if can bring back the quality of SD channels similar to the old DTU can liao
stimix
post Mar 15 2010, 10:58 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

They better do it fast to rectify the PQ...damn...We are expecting atleast the same or better SD quality pic since using HDMI instead of s cable...but the otherwise..

0.0782sec    0.69    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:41 PM