Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available

silbii
post Feb 9 2010, 11:44 PM

963 posts

must change cables?? aiyo...

during installation - i saw my old cables - and i had a feeling that my older cable seems to be of better quality than the newer one given with beyond...the old one is kinda sturdy and the copper inside is thicker...also the centre copper doesnt go bengkok easily like the newer one...

not sure if i did the right thing, i opted to use the old cable instead of the new cheap-ish cable...the installer also agreed with me and said my older cable really looks better and of higher quality than the newer one (not sure he agrees coz it's an easier job fir him to install using older cables...hehe)

so we stick to the old cable...after installation, my reception seems to be quite good (nearly full bar - forgot the figures)...or maybe i'm just lucky? tongue.gif

and i even had to do some 'splitting' of cables since i have to decoders...dont think i suffer any loss of signal quality there

still the newer cable - a thick bundle of it - is still given to me by the installer...not sure what i'm gonna do with it...

it's been a month + with beyond now and so far so good...although a bit bored with all the limited programmes in HD channels tongue.gif

just hope i've made the right choice by not changing cables...janji boleh tengok...but dunno about the effect on heavy rain yet...

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 9 2010, 11:47 PM
silbii
post Feb 10 2010, 02:21 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(AstInst @ Feb 10 2010, 12:51 AM)
The thickness of the cable has nothing to do with the quality, what is important is the frequency range of the cable which you cannot tell by looking at it. The cable may be UHF cable (for terrestrial TV) in which case it will simply "bleed" the satellite signal, especially that on the higher frequency Measat 3a (HD!). The fact that it is so thick would say to me that it is very old UHF cable, good L-Band (satellite) cable is newer and therefore smaller.

Any splitters will give you problems. Try this, watch a HD channel on your B.yond box and try to watch ANYTHING on your other boxes, they will have a "no signal" message. This is because the B.yond box has instructed the LNB to switch to the high frequency band for Measat 3a and all your other boxes expect the LNB to be permanently tuned to the low frequency band. This type of splitting is STRICTLY AGAINST ASTRO GUIDELINES as it simply doesnt work!

The second problem you will now have is that every splitter halves the signal strength this will give you more rain fade!

What you have to remember is that you asked the installer to keep the old cable so any visit to fix it will be at your cost and any rain fade is your responsibility!

I have seen these kind of installs before, the installer takes the "easy route" and the installation is wrong!

Also, any external cable should be replaced every 5 to 10 years due to general damage and more importantly moisture in the cable, this almost kills the signal!

Sorry  cry.gif
the coaxial cable is diameter is not thick, but the middle copper inside that sticks out at the f-connector is kinda thick and hard to bend...i work in a tv station too, so i (think) i'm kinda familiar with good broadcasting cables used for live broadcasts usage of OB vans etc...my old cables seem like some good quality rg 6 / rg 59 cables...but maybe i'm wrong...gotta check this with the tv engineering guys

still, i feel those new ones given by Astro seems so soft...and there's just a very thin copper inside which makes me feel like Astro's just been cost-savings by giving us average quality cables...coz it just look a tad better than an UHF / RF cable...hope not... tongue.gif

btw - about splitting...it's been a month++ and i've been using both decoders simultaneously everyday without any problems (touvh wood)...only one deoder is HD, the other one in another room, is still the old normal decoder ...so maybe this 'split' is ok?

well, just hope all these things do lasts... and i thought i was lucky huh? oh well...can't win 'em all

Added on February 10, 2010, 3:05 amoops...got it wrong about the splitter...there's no splitter actually now, last time there was...that splitter is already removed...

now there's two independent cables from the sat dish to the decoders...one go to Beyond...one go to the normal one...so i guess i'm ok in this area now ...phew....glad! smile.gif

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 10 2010, 03:05 AM
silbii
post Feb 12 2010, 10:24 AM

963 posts

Saw 'Valentine' on HBO HD just now...why is the aspect ratio is not on 16:9...coz pic look stretched as if it's transmitted in 4:3? all the doom-to-die chicks in it look kinda fugly and stretched tongue.gif

And i thought most things under the new HD channel would be in 16:9 already?

silbii
post Feb 23 2010, 10:35 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(NEAL @ Feb 23 2010, 06:33 AM)
Please has anyone got the same problem and how to rectify this.
i think most HBO movies are mixed properly in Dolby Digital studio to get the certified DD sound where there are 5 independent channel + 1 LFE channels, while other channel although in HD, are not mixed properly in DD - hence you get only virtual surround sound but not true 'DD' ...

a programme will only carry 'true; DD if there's a DD logo associated with it, normally u can see at the ending credit...i don't think stuff like the history hd or most sports have been mixed in DD...coz DD certification of any programme wud be quite expensive...

ive been thru a few DD studios in my work across KL and Thailand - and seriously, to get a film/programme to be mixed in DD is not a simple feat...u have to really separate all tracks and pan the sound across all the five channels...and then some Dolby certifier will check the sound and only those that pass the DD certification can get it...and the licensing is expensive too....about GBP3k for a film title...

but this is just my 2 cents...maybe there's better explanation from other audio experts out there...

silbii
post Feb 24 2010, 12:04 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Feb 23 2010, 11:55 PM)
Is it necessary to change the current cables to accommodate the b.yond? I am getting conflicting views especially from the dumb*ss at Astro who says need to change cables.
I have 2 decoders currently one max and other normal and I surely do not want to hack the walls just to get this thing.
Any of you using existing cabling?
i'm using existing cables...connected one to Beyond decoder and the other to existing old decoder...got nearly full bar on my Beyond...it was a quick install, no fuss at all, and no wall hacking needed, just have to drill a new hole i guess...also i really feel that my existing cable feels of a better quality than the newer ones supplied by Astro

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 24 2010, 12:23 AM
silbii
post Feb 24 2010, 12:38 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Feb 24 2010, 12:12 AM)
Thanks for clearing it up.
You had to drill a new hole? for?
i've forgotten - but if i'm not mistaken, i think if we have two decoders for the new dish...there's two output from the dish to the decoders - one for Beyond, one d for the existing decoders...

i think a new hole is needed to get these two new wires in...the existing hole from the old dish can only fit one cable, hence the need for another hole, or to make the existing hole bigger...

i remember having to pay rm10 for a f-connector female adapter on both ends to combine the existing cable to the new cable from the new dish...quick job this one. Not sure if this the ideal way but it works and i'm happy... smile.gif

Added on February 24, 2010, 12:43 am
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Feb 24 2010, 12:26 AM)
I doubt the cables they give are as good as the Beldens I installed throughout my house. And 20m bare cables does not agree with my decor and surely does not cover all 3 floors. To me they are trying to make extra dosh on behalf of the installers
agree!...the new coaxial cables supplied just look too thin and the inner copper in it is not as thick and robust as the older existing cables...what i know, any rg-6 / rg 59 with thicker middle copper and thicker insulation should have better quality...my existing ones are quite thick

but maybe the newer cables are just some new technology and perhaps better?...i dunno...

This post has been edited by silbii: Feb 24 2010, 12:43 AM
silbii
post Feb 24 2010, 01:22 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Feb 24 2010, 01:11 AM)
Good point. You need to have 2 cable to the dish. They use new LNB with two output, so cannot use splitter.
If you only have 1 cable, you need to install 1 more cable from decoder to the dish.

Added on February 24, 2010, 1:17 am

If u don't want to install the new cable, just take it from your installer, it's FOC for 20m.
yupp...even if u dont install the new cables - u can still get them for free...i took it...just in case if u wanna use it for something...it's free anyway with the installation smile.gif
silbii
post Feb 24 2010, 11:02 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 24 2010, 10:53 PM)
it would make a superb av/component video cable, if you know how to solder RCA plugs to it
yupp...true...go find some f-connectors and f-connector to rca plus...and you'll get a splendid av cable for audio/video/sub...

f-connectors and the adapters are freakin cheap in jalan pasar...google on DIY ways to do this...easy...or get the shps in jalan pasar to terminate the ends for you
silbii
post Feb 26 2010, 10:27 PM

963 posts

astro SD will only look the best on plain old CRT..sad but true tongue.gif
silbii
post Mar 24 2010, 10:59 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Mar 24 2010, 09:34 PM)
anyone watching True Blood on HBO HD? lots of cuts though  shakehead.gif
i love True Blood!!...of course the series' censored...it's freakin psychotic...haha...and didn't know that it's in HBO HD alrady coz i followed it from the SD versions...awesome awesome...so what days/time is it on HBO HD??

lucky i could watch the 'other' versions... awaiting season 3 now...

0.0714sec    0.30    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:48 AM