Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available

idoblu
post Mar 2 2010, 10:06 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i noticed that the HBO HD, the people like taller a bit compare to HBO SD. either one is wrong i suppose
idoblu
post Mar 12 2010, 05:36 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

problem still not solve! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 12 2010, 05:41 PM
idoblu
post Mar 12 2010, 09:17 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

this dont look good guys -

A ‘black pillar’ surprise hits Astro B.yond customers
By Lee Wei Lian

KUALA LUMPUR, March 12 — Customers of satellite TV provider Astro’s high definition (HD) package, Astro Beyond, woke up today to an unwanted surprise when they found that the visuals in the non-HD or standard definition channels (SD) were squeezed between two “black pillars.”

The problem is due to an overnight software update downloaded into Astro set top boxes that does not take into consideration the different aspect ratios used by HD and SD.

“They did not inform customers ahead of time,” said KC Lau, an irate Astro B.yond customer who initially thought it was a problem with his LCD TV. “I am amazed they are so arrogant not to be prepared for the inundation of complaints. Typical of our country.”

To compound problems, Astro’s B.yond subscribers will also have to manually reset the aspect ratios every time they change channels.

When contacted, Astro said that the issue is due to a software update that was performed for the service to be in line with international broadcast and content standards.

It said that customers can opt to use the “Zoom” button on the decoder if they want to view the SD channels in full screen.

The company did not, however, point out that when subscribers view SD channels in full-screen mode, the top and bottom part of the picture is cut off.

Astro also explained that all flat panel/high definition televisions and HD content are transmitted on 16:9 aspect ratio while SD channels are transmitted on 4:3 aspect ratio which results in the SD channels images viewed on a flat panel television/ high definition television in the correct native ratio to be “pillar-boxed”.

Ahmad Mustaza Ismail, Director of Customer Service said that in the meantime, Astro will look into the feasibility of providing more options for its customers. “The process will take time as we have to work with our programme guide software suppliers while ensuring that we comply to international broadcast standards,” he said in an e-mail response to The Malaysian Insider.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 12 2010, 09:18 PM
idoblu
post Mar 12 2010, 10:41 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 12 2010, 10:21 PM)
i think this is not about watching in correct aspect ratio or not. its about zoom vs stretch.
piilar box should be there as an option but not zoom. why in the world do people want to watch something with top and bottom chopped off. its not right, even the logos now cant be seen. how can this be right?

there should be pillarbox and stretch option
not pillar box and zoom
idoblu
post Mar 12 2010, 11:25 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

even when i put to Full 1080 (setting on my plasma) which is zoom mode for astro - i can see two black bars on both sides. very thin ones unlike the pillar box.
idoblu
post Mar 13 2010, 12:04 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Can someone tell me what's the default password for the installation setting?
I can't seem to enter it anymore
idoblu
post Mar 13 2010, 07:34 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

With suggestion read from here I set my byond to pillarbox and set my plasma to panoramic. This solves the problem. But changing to HD channels the picture is wrong and needs to set again

so this means going from HD to SD and vice versa I need to set something
idoblu
post Mar 15 2010, 04:35 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 15 2010, 02:23 PM)
Just ignore him. He'll shut up eventually. BTW, back to the issue. Any updates from Astro regarding this? Has anybody got contacted by them yet?
I just got off the phone with them after receiving the same email from this Muhammad Jan Rawi guy.
I told them I want to speak to Rawi or your manager.
To make the long story short I did not get to speak to either one (typical lah)
The CS I spoke to - I asked her do you have Byond at home? Do you think its right to watch with heads and tails all chopped off? I said I want to know if this is a problem you guys are fixing or is it something permanent cause if its permanent then I want to cancel my Byond and go back to the normal package. I told her I can understand they want to broadcast in the correct aspect ratio but why do they give an option which is useless to most people. Do you like to watch with heads and subtitles chopped off?

anyway she will get back to me.....biasa la

I think more people should threaten to change back to normal. vmad.gif
idoblu
post Mar 15 2010, 11:36 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:14 PM)
I'm not working for Astro. It's just that a lot of LCD buyer does not know what is ratio aspect. If know, sure
will watch in Pillar box mode. smile.gif Every human the same. I'm sure all human like pillar box because that's how
it was intended to be viewed by the director. Cheers bro!  thumbup.gif

Added on March 15, 2010, 10:16 pm
no la. I'm not working for astro. zoom mode is also not acceptable. The only acceptable mode for SD is 1:1 which is
pillar box mode. Believe me, you guys will be happy to watch in pillar box mode. It's meant to be watch that way.
No other way is acceptable. That's consumer right. Right to correct aspect ratio.  rclxm9.gif
dont talk crap about what the director intended for us to view. If want to follow what the director intended then why dont broadcast in 16:9? Why broadcast 16:9 programs in 4:3? mad.gif

idoblu
post Mar 17 2010, 05:57 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 17 2010, 01:34 PM)
Just wanna ask u guys opinion. I got 3 plasmas at home. Gonna get Byond for the 1080p TV downstairs for sure. 1 is a SD plasma in my children's bedroom so definitely don't need. However, my bedroom got a 720p plasma, thinking whether I should also get Byond for it. Is it gonna be a lot nicer than SD on a 720p TV?
yes the HD channel is a whole lot nicer.
idoblu
post Mar 18 2010, 08:57 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

shabas to astro. actually consider not bad lor, at least they called me back regarding this issue and emailed me. unlike maxis service - bang table also no service

0.0777sec    0.55    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:46 PM