I just called up Astro and ask if my existing concealed cable can be used for the new b.yond dish and she said cannot. Must use the newest RG6 cable, is that really true?
Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available
Feb 24 2010, 01:19 PM
3,294 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
I just called up Astro and ask if my existing concealed cable can be used for the new b.yond dish and she said cannot. Must use the newest RG6 cable, is that really true?
Feb 24 2010, 06:01 PM
My existing cable is white color and if not mistaken it is a RG6 cable
Feb 25 2010, 09:59 PM
normally how long do you guys need to wait for the installer to come once it is confirmed by the telemarketer?
Feb 25 2010, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Feb 25 2010, 10:11 PM) for me, 9 days from last telemarketing person called me... OMG, I thought many reviews say that SD channels have improved on the b.yond? Currently only a few channels in HD, SD is still dominant.... if that the case I think I'll need to think twice about it....Added on February 25, 2010, 10:15 pm Actually, they're only small different for SD channels when viewed with Byond decoder... If u use HDMI, and set the output to 720p or 1080i, the SD channel will become only a bit ok and the colour tone more softer than viewed on normal decoder.. but if u use component output, the PQ was same.., but it become more sharper and a bit pixelite... but, I think, if U just wanna upgrade to byond for more 'clearer' SD channels, you just waste your hard earned money... |
Feb 28 2010, 10:26 PM
Just got my Astro B.yond installed today, Nat Geo HD is cool, btw what is the audio of the HD channels ? Is it HD sound or just regular 5.1 DD or DTS ? I do not have a home theater currently but I wish to buy one soon, so just wanna make sure do I need a TrueHD or DTS-MA amp later on.
This post has been edited by echoesian: Feb 28 2010, 10:27 PM |
Mar 1 2010, 10:28 PM
So which is better for Astro HD? 1080i or 720p ??
Mar 2 2010, 05:10 PM
No worries, everyone is getting 1080i from Astro B.yond.
Wonder when will Astro release the USB recording function? If yes, what will be the "extra" charges like... |
Mar 3 2010, 01:17 AM
Mar 3 2010, 11:08 AM
Mar 3 2010, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Mar 3 2010, 11:24 AM) ya la...in hd, its oledi in 16:9...sd channel are 4:3....when u want to watch hd channel, ur setting must be in 16:9 and this setting oso use for sd channel which is 4:3.....so, sd channel that u r watching are in 16:9........so, sd signal have been transfer to 16:9.so, the picture of sd channel will look fatter....hd channel will look original coz its broadcast in 16:9....it real size...if u want to watch sd channel in real size...set your byond to pillarbox...then it will show real size....get wut i mean? Oh... maybe we get to used to watch the "stretch" 4:3 mode, so after watching the original 16:9, feel unused to it. Maybe those guai lou is really tall leh... hehe |
Mar 3 2010, 12:02 PM
PVR function need to pay how much ar?
Mar 3 2010, 12:10 PM
Mar 3 2010, 09:00 PM
Astro B.yond CS very effective, it just takes 2 days from the day the telemarketer called and the installer will come even on Sunday to install.
Mar 3 2010, 11:07 PM
count me in also from Jinjang Utara
Mar 8 2010, 10:25 PM
I feel that 1080i is better than 720p on my TV
Mar 15 2010, 11:23 AM
When are they going to give back that stretch option???
Mar 17 2010, 11:03 AM
The firmware is still v1.1
Mar 17 2010, 12:07 PM
What is the version that we are going to expect tonight ?
Mar 17 2010, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(victorwan @ Mar 17 2010, 02:00 PM) Hi Low Yat Netors again, How did you get that signal strength? I'm only able to get 217, which satellite transponder are you using?My Astro Byonder give me signal strength of 244 and sometimes 241. Is this signal good enough? You know, the first day after installed the Byond last Saturday, I have already experienced rain no signal problem. Is that ok? Also, I have set the Byond Remote Control to control my Plasma TV Panasonic TH-P42X10K. However, when I switched off the TV using the Byond remote control and then wait for a while to swith it on again using the Byond remote control, the TV will go to normal TV channel instead of HDMI or AV1, AV2 etc. I have to use the AV button on the Byond remote control to change the AV to AV1 or HDMI to watch Astro. The normal TV channel I mentioned here are referring to those normal RTM1, RTM2, TV3, NTV7 channel using the normal old conventional antenna at the roof of the house. Anyone having the same problem? Looking forward to all your reply. Thanks. VW |
Mar 17 2010, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(victorwan @ Mar 17 2010, 02:57 PM) Well, everything was done by the Installer. Actually I saw I got signal around 230++ on the transponder 15 or 16 but I thought we only can use the first transponder so I din dare to change. But now I know that we can change to other, so I'll try others and seeThey change the dish and put the new cable. They asked me if I wanted to use the existing cable or not from dish to decoder but I insisted them to use the new cable and they have to drill a hole to let the new cable into my house. No choice. They also then asked me if I wanted to take away the old cable from dish to decoder but I insisted them to leave it alone. Then, when they were configuring the Byond decoder, I saw them select the transponder no. 18, the last one before User Defined. So, it showed me the signal strength is around 241 to 244. Once in a while, I checked the signal strength and it still showed me around 241 to 244. |
| Change to: | 0.0754sec
8 queries
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:27 AM |