Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available

anfieldude
post Jan 31 2010, 08:14 PM

3,858 posts

Australian Open final in HD was pretty darned good.

Some notes:
Bitrate starvation apparent in some shorts.
One quick way to check if u settings are clipping whites. Murray's white T-shirt had patterns on the sleeves, collar and back. If ur set contrast is set too high, u will crush whites and lose details. Another is Federer's T-shirt, there were vertical patterns on his T. Again, if u r clipping any of the colour channels u will not see that.
There were some shots were the deinterlacing of my set was not stellar but I believe it was a minimal. The prize giving ceremony is a good check if u r crushing blacks. On the MC's jacket, there are also some stripes. If u did not see it, then ur brightness is too low. He was also wearing a white shirt with stripes as well. This is a torture scene for broadcasters, however, there was details in both. The EVP of Kia's jacket was difficult to notice if there were thin stripes.

All in all, good experience watching tennis in HD!
anfieldude
post Feb 1 2010, 11:41 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:47 AM)
just get my astro beyond last saturday. picture quality one words to describe, SUPERB. but the HDMI cable quite cheapo, can see sometimes the picture stop for a while. saw astro montly magazine advertise abt monster audio cable, that advertisement also list the bad features of current HDMI cable provided free by astro. i think need to upgrade the HDMI cable liao to see whether really got big different. anyway one things i can sure abt the SD picture quality after upgrade to astro beyond, the picture quality bcome bad. actually previously i not directy connect my astro to tv, i connect this way:
1. Astro to my dvd recorder using S video (with upscale 1080p features)
2. DVD recorder to my Denon AVR 2310 (with video upscale featres also) using HDMI
3. Denon AVR 2310 to my Sony X series LCD (HDMI)

picture quality not bad. but after upgrade to astro beyond, really bad the picture quality. anybody know why?? coz if transfer using HDMI, shd be picture quality much more nicer. i think must be the source problem???

anyway since upgrade to HD, i think i will avoid watching SD channel liao. coz i watch the liverpool vs bolton match in SD channel, really cannot acceptable liao. hope in near future, all the SD channel picture quality must upgrade lah...
1 things to mention, Dolby Digital can be transfer thru HDMI, no need coaxial cable. anyone here know what the new 10 HD channel that will be launch starting April?? Channel that display at the poll above?
The provided HDMI cable actually is capable of transmitting 12bit colour. So I really don't believe it is the cable.

0.0689sec    0.63    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:10 AM