AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 12:11 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(JOR23N @ Feb 1 2010, 08:15 PM)
I bet your LNB must be 2003/04 onwards.
Anyone using LNB ealier than 2003 ?
Still can work?
For the last 13 years Astro has used a real mixture of LNB's and Dishes, some will work for HD (Measat 3a) and some won't.

More importantly the new dish and LNB IN COMBINATION will give a massive signal strength increase, up to 6db from my measurements. In addition, the dual band installation means no splitters or internal wiring should ever be used, this once again may give x4 signal strength.

Measuring signal strength gives a good indication of how much rain drop out you will get, but the carrier to noise reading (which the box does not do) is the real indicator. Anyone using amplifiers will increase signal strength but not carrier to noise ratio, hence your signal is in reality no better!

If anyone on this forum has kept their old dish, old LNB or even worse made the installer use their concealed cable then they have really lost out. If you have not had the full new installation then there will be many time that you will loose picture due to rain and you can't complain to Astro, this is your own doing!

Many of us here are reporting that Astro has "fixed the rain problem", but that is only if you have the new dish, new LNB, new wiring direct to the box! Otherwise you have either been ripped off or you have literally ripped yourself off!

So, please please, no more celebrating that you have "kept your old dish" or "used concealed wiring" or "fitted an amplifier" or "set your entry point". The first three are you losing out because of your own reluctance to get a new install and the second is simply making the box tune to a stronger transponder for the signal strength testing. If you use entry point 18 etc, then entry point 1 is still the same!

Sorry, but I had to clear this up! I really don't want people here losing out and then even worse complaining when it rains!

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:14 am
QUOTE(putih @ Feb 1 2010, 10:14 AM)
thumbup.gif

I think the HD quality brought by astro is superb on all channels ...  thumbup.gif

It's too details that when you watch football, you can see the footprints on the grass so clearly that sometimes look awkward. Oh yeah, those close up brits players and coaches look pretty disgusting haha...
British players, which ONE was that! laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:18 am
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 30 2010, 11:34 PM)
According to Lyngsat, MEASAT-3 carry History HD and NAT GEO HD.. so it can support HD as long as they enough bandwidth...
Lyngsat is showing the Measat "Contribution Feed" this is not the DTH (Direct to home) signal.

Measat run a business broadcasting channels to other broadcasters in the region, e.g. StarHub, what you are seeing here is those transmissions. The "Contribution Feed" is C-Band and uses totally separate transponders and transmission frequencies.

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 2 2010, 12:18 AM
AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 12:30 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 30 2010, 05:17 PM)
Nice receiver. Not many receivers can show DD/DTS metadata.

The History HD channel use the UK feed, at least for Cities Of The Underworld. In the SD version, the host that goes underground always narrates the VO (two different guy hosts). For the HD version, a woman with a British accent narrates the VO. It makes the series feel cheap and lack credibility, since the woman didn't go through the trouble of going underground.

Two things about HDTVs:
1) if your HDTV have a picture mode that can show the full 1080 pixel, use that. Or at least use it to compare how many pixels you are losing out.
2) Calibrate your HDTV to the best of your ability. None of the presets give you the best that your TV can do.
fuad
The best way to set up a HDTV is like this:-

1: Make sure the box is 1080i
2: Set all the picture settings to about 60%, contrast, brightness etc.
3: Switch off all picture enhancement, e.g. Motion compensation, pixel plus etc.
4: If you are using anything such as 100Hz or 200Hz, then switch them off.
5: Set all modes to off, e.g. Cool, Warm etc.

Basically you want your TV to do as little to the picture as possible.

6: If you have "overscan" switch it ON, basically this will give you more visible SD picture but you may see the timecode lines at the top (switch overscan off if this annoys you)
7: If you are going to use your remote to control the TV then firstly set the volume of the box to 90%
8: If you are watching in a dark room, reduce the brightness, this makes the black blacker, 40% should do.

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:33 am
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 30 2010, 04:16 PM)
I manage to boost my signal from 207 to 217-220.
You HAVE NOT boosted your signal, you are simply measuring a stronger transponder! It's like saying, if you measure the top speed of a Porsche then your Myvi will be faster!

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:33 am
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 30 2010, 04:16 PM)
I manage to boost my signal from 207 to 217-220.
You HAVE NOT boosted your signal, you are simply measuring a stronger transponder! It's like saying, if you measure the top speed of a Porsche then your Myvi will be faster!

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:39 am
QUOTE(neb @ Jan 30 2010, 06:26 PM)
not as sharp as it should for a HD feed, but it is watchable whistling.gif
With all sports channels like ASSHD and ESPNHD the events are received from all round the world, all it takes is for one "hop" to be lower in bandwidth and the viewer will see it. Astro look like they have set up the channel at their end to be of very good quality, the problem starts if a feed coming in to Astro is bad, then we will see it!

From my measurements Astro are broadcasting at 8Mbits/s, this is very good. If one of their feeds is only 6Mbits/s then we will see a picture quality of only 6! This is not Astro's fault, more the quality control of the broadcaster(s) that get the feed to Astro.

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 2 2010, 12:39 AM
AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 08:51 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Feb 2 2010, 02:35 PM)
ok regarding whether can use new astro decoder to plug it to old dish and cable to watch SD dan HD channel, will let all you know in 3 weeks time (after CNY).

yesterday i change my setting to use #18 satellite...signal strength only 244, too bad. anyway still better that original setting, only manage 217..better picture??? i dun think so..whether can watch astro at bad weather, dunno yet coz JB town nowadays shinning all the way
Sorry to the other contributors for repeating myself, but setting the entry point makes ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE to your signal strength. All you are doing by setting it to #18 is measuring a different and stronger transponder. By measuring #18 does not mean #1 is any stronger, it will be the same it's just that you are measuring something else.

Changing to #18 and believing that you have a stronger signal is like measuring the top speed of a Toyota and then saying your Myvi is faster as a result! The two are totally unrelated!

I hope this clears this up. I don't want anyone with a bad (<200) installation thinking it is better by setting the entry point to #18!

The reason for these settings is to control the "default transponder", the one the satellite tries to pick up first. On most Satellite Receivers I have seen these are normally typed manually, not as a selection list on the B.yond box. If a box does not pickup a signal on the default transponder then it usually scans all frequencies for a signal, perhaps this is a scan list. This kind of configuration is used in case of a transponder or even worse a satellite failure.

I really hope this helps to clear this up.... I'll keep a copy of this post to hand just in case biggrin.gif
AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 08:57 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(csng @ Feb 2 2010, 08:49 PM)
29th Jan 2010 : Apply Astro B.yond through Astro website
30th Jan 2010 : Astro called to confirm my subscription
2nd Feb 2010 : Installer arrived, replaced the dish, replaced the old cable with new ones with proper wiring in 30 minutes. Asked us to wait for 1 hour for the proper account information to be updated at their HQ.

Gau Tim! rclxms.gif

By that time, it was like 7:15 pm.....first channel to look at is HBO HD, showing the movie Twins. Not convinced at all as they are using SD contents to show it in HD channel vmad.gif , I even have to set the aspect ratio to 4:3 to have a proper viewing condition....Other than that, everything else is fine, Sports Channel looks brilliant. rclxm9.gif
Personally I really dislike the stretched and upscaled content on HBO HD, the question is what do we all prefer, broadcasters have 3 choices.

1. Show any old SD content on a HD channel, this includes stretched 4:3 and really does HD no favours
2. Show pillar boxed SD (black lines either side) (Astro Super Sports HD does this for Ice Hockey I think with channel branded pillars)
3. Show only HD and use HD promos when there is no SD content

You have to bear in mind many broadcasters dont have 24x7 HD content, so what should they do 1,2 or 3?

Hey, moderators how about a poll? It might give Astro some feedback!

AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 09:05 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(csng @ Feb 2 2010, 08:52 PM)
Oh ya, I asked the installer, they said Astro will be converting all the channels to HD by end of the year...of cos, its not guaranteed..
This will never happen, many channel cannot justify the HD transmission cost as their audience is too low! One HD channel = 4 SD channels in terms of the space on the transponder! From what I have read, measured and assumed Astro have 10 transponders on Measat 3 and an assumed 6 on Measat 3a this is space of 80 HD channels, less than they broadcast now!

Many channels around the world continue to be SD only.

If I remember correctly Astro committed to having the main shows in HD by the end of the year, even that is a tall order.

Sky in the UK have had HD for 3 years and have 37 channels in HD and 800 in SD. For Astro to have all channels in HD by the end of the year would be almost impossible, even if they could afford it there is not enough HD content, see previous post on HBO HD!

AstInst
post Feb 2 2010, 09:08 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(AstInst @ Feb 2 2010, 08:57 PM)
Personally I really dislike the stretched and upscaled content on HBO HD, the question is what do we all prefer, broadcasters have 3 choices.

1. Show any old SD content on a HD channel, this includes stretched 4:3 and really does HD no favours
2. Show pillar boxed SD (black lines either side) (Astro Super Sports HD does this for Ice Hockey I think with channel branded pillars)
3. Show only HD and use HD promos when there is no SD content

You have to bear in mind many broadcasters dont have 24x7 HD content, so what should they do 1,2 or 3?

Hey, moderators how about a poll? It might give Astro some feedback!
Forgot to add, yes 2 is best but I have seen 3 done really well. In the UK Sky broadcast a HD test card with instructions on setting up your TV correctly. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yatMoXGPm5o its really good! Astro take note!
AstInst
post Feb 9 2010, 12:19 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Feb 8 2010, 10:07 PM)
that's bad news. but i thought it's the device that is locked (as in the case of phones) and not the sim ... anyway, maybe I just don't understand the technology at work here.
The technical term for this is "Card Pairing" and is used by most broadcasters worldwide, Astro are one of the few broadcasters that allow swapping of cards and I think that this was mostly due to limitations of the old (and hacked) Nagra encryption.

Card Pairing is introduced for many reasons, first tracking, security and profit, it helps prevent "gold cards" becoming available.

The second reason, and most important to us, is that pairing is required for set top boxes that record on to hard drive. Astro intend to introduce recording later this year and, as I see it (I do not work for Astro), the pairing is the first step. Imagine you want to record a program and you remove the card and put it in your bedroom set top box, it would then be really annoying if the recording failed!

All modern "recording" boxes have their ability to record controlled by the card (usually at a monthly charge), this means you need to keep the card in the box and to not let the card "go to Penang on holiday" with you!

Added on February 9, 2010, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(netken @ Feb 8 2010, 05:33 PM)
i dun think so ... but i stand corrected as i haven't try it that way before.
Analogue stereo (using the red and white RCA connectors) is only stereo. If you want 5.1 you must use either the digital audio RCA or pass the HDMI through a 5.1 amplifier. Some surround sound systems can take a stereo signal and create a fake surround sound effect, but it is no way as good!

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 9 2010, 12:27 PM
AstInst
post Feb 9 2010, 11:11 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(SQL INJECTION @ Feb 9 2010, 10:29 PM)
Heavy Rain at my home now...no signal...die die die...dem astro  vmad.gif
There is some rain that the signal will just not get through, but the B.yond Dish is definitely better.

I did some testing on my own dish and there is really no reason that I can see why we all should not be getting a signal strength of at least 200 on the box. If your clear sky signal is less than 200 then you have a problem, more than 200 and its just too much rain! The thing that may affect your signal the most are:

1. Poorly aligned dish - Call your installer back!
2. You forced your installer to use old or concealed cable - Your fault!
3. You did not get a new dish (dark grey) or new LNB - Call your installed back
4. You did not get a new dish or LNB because you insisted that you kept your old one - Your fault!
5. Your cable run is more than 10m - In some instances this is unavoidable but in some instances it could be nearer, the nearer the better!
6. Your cable is a mix of old and new with joins at your request - Your cable should run from the LNB to the box with no breaks - Your fault
7. Your cable is a mix of old and new with joins - Your cable should run from the LNB to the box with no breaks - Call your installer back

I have done hundreds of pro installs, if not thousands, and the signal from a satellite is far more sensitive than you think. Your dish must be aligned correctly, the cable must be as short as possible and one continuous cable. ANY breaks, however they are joined, can cause you to loose 3db (which is almost half of the signal!).

I think that Astro have done as much as possible to fix the rain problem, as some of the forum members are seeing. What they really seem to struggle with is the quality of some of the installers, the sensitivity of the alignment and some of us insisting that they use old cable, concealed cable, old dish, old LNB or even worse old everything!

Using my "eye test" I have seen many dishes here in Ipoh that are obviously not aligned correctly, if my eye can see it then the signal strength must be terrible. As Astro are only using Vertical polarity then the horizontal alignment only needs to be good, the vertical can be a long way out but the signal strength will be bad!

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 9 2010, 11:13 PM
AstInst
post Feb 10 2010, 12:51 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Feb 9 2010, 11:44 PM)
must change cables?? aiyo...

during installation - i saw my old cables - and i had a feeling that my older cable seems to be of better quality than the newer one given with beyond...the old one is kinda sturdy and the copper inside is thicker...also the centre copper doesnt go bengkok easily like the newer one...

not sure if i did the right thing, i opted to use the old cable instead of the new cheap-ish cable...the installer also agreed with me and said my older cable really looks better and of higher quality than the newer one (not sure he agrees coz it's an easier job fir him to install using older cables...hehe)

so we stick to the old cable...after installation, my reception seems to be  quite good (nearly full bar - forgot the figures)...or maybe i'm just lucky? tongue.gif

and i even had to do some 'splitting' of cables since i have to decoders...dont think i suffer any loss of signal quality there

still the newer cable - a thick bundle of it - is still given to me by the installer...not sure what i'm gonna do with it...

it's been a month + with beyond now and so far so good...although a bit bored with all the limited programmes in HD channels tongue.gif

just hope i've made the right choice by not changing cables...janji boleh tengok...but dunno about the effect on heavy rain yet...

The thickness of the cable has nothing to do with the quality, what is important is the frequency range of the cable which you cannot tell by looking at it. The cable may be UHF cable (for terrestrial TV) in which case it will simply "bleed" the satellite signal, especially that on the higher frequency Measat 3a (HD!). The fact that it is so thick would say to me that it is very old UHF cable, good L-Band (satellite) cable is newer and therefore smaller.

Any splitters will give you problems. Try this, watch a HD channel on your B.yond box and try to watch ANYTHING on your other boxes, they will have a "no signal" message. This is because the B.yond box has instructed the LNB to switch to the high frequency band for Measat 3a and all your other boxes expect the LNB to be permanently tuned to the low frequency band. This type of splitting is STRICTLY AGAINST ASTRO GUIDELINES as it simply doesnt work!

The second problem you will now have is that every splitter halves the signal strength this will give you more rain fade!

What you have to remember is that you asked the installer to keep the old cable so any visit to fix it will be at your cost and any rain fade is your responsibility!

I have seen these kind of installs before, the installer takes the "easy route" and the installation is wrong!

Also, any external cable should be replaced every 5 to 10 years due to general damage and more importantly moisture in the cable, this almost kills the signal!

Sorry cry.gif

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 10 2010, 12:52 AM
AstInst
post Feb 10 2010, 09:40 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Feb 10 2010, 02:21 AM)
the coaxial cable is diameter is not thick, but the middle copper inside that sticks out at the f-connector is kinda thick and hard to bend...i work in a tv station too, so i (think) i'm kinda familiar with good broadcasting cables used for live broadcasts usage of OB vans etc...my old cables seem like some good quality rg 6 / rg 59 cables...but maybe i'm wrong...gotta check this with the tv engineering guys

still, i feel those new ones given by Astro seems so soft...and there's just a very thin copper inside which makes me feel like Astro's just been cost-savings by giving us average quality cables...coz it just look a tad better than an UHF / RF cable...hope not... tongue.gif

btw - about splitting...it's been a month++ and i've been using both decoders simultaneously everyday without any problems (touvh wood)...only one deoder is HD, the other one in another room, is still the old normal decoder ...so maybe this 'split' is ok?

well, just hope all these things do lasts... and i thought i was lucky huh? oh well...can't win 'em all

Added on February 10, 2010, 3:05 amoops...got it wrong about the splitter...there's no splitter actually now, last time there was...that splitter is already removed...

now there's two independent cables from the sat dish to the decoders...one go to Beyond...one go to the normal one...so i guess i'm ok in this area now ...phew....glad! smile.gif
There is no such thing as a "good" or "ok" split or splitter!

Try setting your B.yond decoder to a HD channel and then try watching ANY channel on your old decoder. Your old decoder will simply have no signal!

The reason for this is situation is DiSEqC switching ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DiSEqC ) that requires each Set Top Box to have its own dedicated feed. All major broadcasters in the world use DiSEqC to increase their capacity by switching between polarities, frequency bands and even satellite positions. Up until the launch of Astro B.yond all of Astro's broadcasts were single polarity and single frequency band, this totally removed the need for DiSEqC.

Now that Astro has HD and needs four times the capacity per channel they have had to use many new technologies including DiSEqC, MPEG4 and DVB-S2.

When your Astro B.yond box needs to tune to a high frequency signal on Measat 3a to receive HD it sends a 20Khz "tone" to the LNB, this switches a circuit in the LNB called the "Local Oscillator". At this point the LNB is only capable of receiving high frequency signals so any low frequency signals such as all the SD channels on Measat 3 are no longer there or "on the wire". The same is also true when switching between Horizontal and Vertical polarities, currently Astro only uses Vertical if ever they use Horizontal I am sure that a whole load of us will find new dish alignment problems.

Even if you only have SD Astro and not a B.yond Box then you should still not use splitters, each splitter halves the signal. Thus increasing rain fade significantly.

Astro have always supplied one dish with every box and that is what they expect to be installed, for every splitter installed the installer gets to keep a free dish to sell to someone else! All the Astro VIP's have one dish per box, no splitters and each dish is well aligned, so the VIPs get almost zero rain fade and that is what you could of had!

Thickness of or how bendy the cable is not an indication of quality, the quality of a cable for satellite is measured on its impact on the signal. A good cable is double screened, has a uniform capacitance along its length, a frequency response up to 2Khz and is protected by a coating that is 100% waterproof.

Try my test of trying of watching HD on B.yond and SD on your old box see what happens! As a professional in this industry for 20 years it shocks me that installers still do not understand DiSEqC and use splitters.

Splitters should only be used for one thing, throwing at the installer who tried to fit it! mad.gif

Added on February 10, 2010, 9:41 am
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Feb 10 2010, 08:10 AM)
AstInst...u r installer right?
Not quite! I work on the professional side of the industry but not for Astro.

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 10 2010, 09:45 AM
AstInst
post Feb 10 2010, 12:50 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 10 2010, 12:08 PM)
astro decoder actually  uses 22KHz switch inside LNB, never uses any DiSEqC switch
Ah, yes... sorry momentarily got my DiSEqC tone and Audio Frequency Response Test tones confused!

The Astro B.yond LNB has a DiSEqC switching in the LNB for switching between Horizontal, Vertical, Low Band and High Band, this is in line with the DiSEqC 1.0 standard.

DirectTV in the USA uses DiSEqC 1.1 to switch between 3 (up to 4) orbital positions, they are one of the few in the world doing this. There is a good image and article at http://www.ehow.com/how_4778123_align-direct-tv-dish.html

The other DiSEqC standards are more aimed at the enthusiast with a motorized dish (in countries where they are legal).

Some of the early (Astro) LNB's had no DiSEqC switching and are positioned to Vertical only and receiving in the low band only.

AstInst
post Feb 13 2010, 04:09 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Feb 13 2010, 11:59 AM)
Yes, it has been asked. The answer is same as cabling question, depends on how old the dish is. If dish is from last year, can (although you won't get the improved reception quality from the bigger dish). If dish is from Astro first launch around 1996, then cannot. Somewhere in between, maybe can maybe cannot.
Why would you want to do this? The new dish and LNB (along with new cabling and no splitters) give you about 4 times the signal strength, which means less rain fade. If you do not get a new dish then you are crazy!

If you have an old dish, old LNB, concealed cable or splitters, then you cannot complain about rain fade as it is your own fault for not getting the entire system that Astro are trying to give you!

In my many years of doing professional installations the biggest cause of rain fade is dish alignment and time! Over time cable gets worse, LNB's become desensitised and technology improves. The new Astro B.yond dish is far superior (based on my personal measurements using industry equipment) than the dish that was being installed 4 months ago!

I think this must be my 5th post stating all this!

Please please please stop forcing the installed to use old dishes, LNB's and concealed cable, let them do what Astro is rightly paying them to do which is install a new bigger dish, superior LNB and ensure the connection to the box is the best it can be.

For those with a new system and a signal strength of less than 200, I suggest that you call your installer back!

Added on February 13, 2010, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(dxjb @ Feb 12 2010, 10:57 PM)
i'm using #18 sattelite transponder
my signal strength is 222..
but yesterday just light rain got no signal..
b4 this using old SD decoder, heavy rain also can watch..
what should i do?
Signal strength is only an indicator of how good your signal is, 222 should be reasonable providing you are not using an amplifier of any kind. An amplifier will boost the signal but also the noise on the wire. If you are using an amplifier then my suggestion would be to call back the installer, get it removed and get the dish installed correctly. A correct installation should not need an amplifier.

It sounds like you may not have your dish aligned correctly, the B.yond dish, LNB, wire and box should give you better than before.

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 13 2010, 04:13 PM
AstInst
post Feb 13 2010, 04:44 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Feb 10 2010, 10:54 PM)
This problem you need to blame them for choosing Ku Band, which is totally not suitable for tropical climate. Anyway, the problem is supposed to be minimized using 65cm dish.
To answer this correctly you need some industry perspective. Astro did not choose Ku Band, it was the license awarded to Astro by the Malaysian Government that dictated the use of Ku Band. The alternative is Ka band which has significantly worse rainfade. C-Band, although it has better rain fade resistance was not proposed by the government as it is easy to use C-Band to receive content from outside Malaysia. Ku Band was not Astro's choice!

Geographical regions are put in to rainfall categories by the International Telecommunications Union, Malaysia is in Category H, the highest.

The impact of rainfall intensity and Ku Band is clearly understood and has many formula attached, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rain_fade.

If you google ITU-R and Rainfall you will see many papers published on this and Malaysia is almost always used as a key example. Click here to do the search, there are some good MSc papers written on this.

The new B.yond dish and LNB certainly improve on the old dish from four months ago but can never get rid of it.

From my measurements Astro seem to be using a far superior LNB compared to those in Europe. In Europe a basic LNB costs as little as 30RM but wouldn't last a day here! The Astro LNB appears to be a low noise high gain version which can cost up to 50USD.

It is all too easy to "blame them" without understanding the science or industry. By all means keep on highlighting rainfade, if it wasn't for complaints I am sure Astro would give us a cheaper dish and LNB but don't blame them!

Added on February 13, 2010, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(are_joy @ Feb 13 2010, 04:43 PM)
Today my byond just totally blank ... damn ...

tried to do power on/off still cant resolve. damn ... 2morrow CNY .. i dont how bout the Astro engineer .. CS said 48 hours .. last report also didnt come and now ... ???

AstInst : can u come to my house ??? .... hehehe
Sorry, with my family in Ipoh!

Try this, power off TV and B.yond at the wall switch and leave for 10 minutes.

Pull Astro smart card out and push back in firmly

Power on TV and set to the correct input for B.yond (HDMI)

Power on B.yond box

If you get a picture let the box sit on the channel for 10 minutes to get all the SI, PSI and CA information.

Hope!

Good luck!

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 13 2010, 04:50 PM
AstInst
post Feb 25 2010, 04:10 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Feb 24 2010, 05:07 PM)
Not entirely true. It's just that it's easier for the installers to put in new cable than to have to make a judgement call on the condition/quality of your existing cable, to avoid having complaints later about the PQ.
Hi, sorry been away for a while, currently in the USA doing a VIP install for Direct TV.

Anyway, Astro are one of the few satellite TV companies that even allows you to use concealed wiring, nearly all satellite broadcasters insist on connecting "direct to box" as they call it. The reason for this is that if they cannot guarantee the quality of the cable then they cannot guarantee the install and it generates more support and issues for them to deal with.

To be blunt, satellite operators in developing countries, such as India, China, Indonesia etc., typically allow concealed cable. Satellite broadcasters in developed countries never allow concealed cable, for quality reasons and the fact that their set top box requires more than one cable from dish to box (no shared cable due to DiSEqC switching. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DiSEqC )

The install I am doing at the moment is a 10 room system, using one dish with 8 feeds, 3 multiswitches fed from 2 satellites with 2 wires going to each room per set top box.

If Astro bring out a dual tuner personal video recorder (PVR) then you will need two cables from dish "direct to box" and the concealed cable will be impossible. (Direct TV used to have a four tuner PVR that needed 4 wires "direct to box", but the install was expensive and complex and from what I have heard the boxes overheated and the hard drives crashed due to too much data being processed!)

If you are happy to have a "developing country" install that has more rain fade then enjoy your concealed cable, as a pro installer I NEVER do an install with concealed existing cable!

Added on February 25, 2010, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(kayly @ Feb 24 2010, 11:07 PM)
just installed beyond 3 days ago, superb picture quality on hd channel, i did discovered that the sound quality also improved on non-hd channel...btw, the installer is using my old cable which is not used before together with new cable due to longer distance from dish to hd decoder....
see my previous post, you should call your installer back and insist on new cable!

Added on February 25, 2010, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Feb 24 2010, 10:57 AM)
Past few threads has more conflicting views.
My scenario:
1 normal decoder
1 MAX decoder.
Cabling in wall and splitter done in ceiling.

Intend to change the normal decoder to b.yond decoder.
Which means the dish and normal decoder needs to be changed.

I am trying NOT to run anymore cables if possible and use the existing cabling.

Question:

Where is the split done for the new dish? Is it at the dish or can I retain my existing splitter and just take the single source from the new dish?

Has anyone else experience the same?
Your input is highly appreciated.
You cannot use splitters due to DiSEqC switching between Measat 3 and Measat 3a. The B.yond Box needs to have its own dedicated feed. This could be from a separate dish or from a dual feed LNB, either way no splitters.

Added on February 25, 2010, 4:25 pm
QUOTE(silbii @ Feb 24 2010, 12:38 AM)
i've forgotten - but if i'm not mistaken, i think if we have two decoders for the new dish...there's two output from the dish to the decoders - one for Beyond, one d for the existing decoders...

i think a new hole is needed to get these two new wires in...the existing hole from the old dish can only fit one cable, hence the need for another hole, or to make the existing hole bigger...

i remember having to pay rm10 for a f-connector female adapter on both ends to combine the existing cable to the new cable from the new dish...quick job this one. Not sure if this the ideal way but it works and i'm happy... smile.gif

Added on February 24, 2010, 12:43 am

agree!...the new coaxial cables supplied just look too thin and the inner copper in it is not as thick and robust as the older existing cables...what i know, any rg-6 / rg 59 with thicker middle copper and thicker insulation should have better quality...my existing ones are quite thick

but maybe the newer cables are just some new technology and perhaps better?...i dunno...
It is all about the capacitance and frequency response of the cable, not the thickness. The Astro cable is probably frequency tuned for their specific transmission and LNB / Local Oscillator frequencies. You can not tell this by looking at the cable, you have to go in to a lab to measure. Most concealed cable is 1Ghz specification. Astro will need at least 2Ghz cable to guarantee the high frequency signals from Measat 3a.

This post has been edited by AstInst: Feb 25 2010, 04:25 PM
AstInst
post Feb 25 2010, 06:14 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 25 2010, 04:25 PM)
For HD channel, which bitrate is used on the feed? icon_question.gif Constant Bit Rate or Variable bitrate?
From my measurements the HD transmission is at a fixed bitrate (or at least every time I sample it). This would make sense as there is not enough variation in the channels, variable bitrate is used when the channels are a mix, doc, movies, music, etc. The fact that 2 from the 5 are sport would for me say that fixed bitrate would be best.

Perhaps when they get more channels with more different content they will switch, I just hope they keep the current video quality (it is better than here in the USA, working there for the month!).
AstInst
post Mar 16 2010, 01:48 PM

69 posts

All,

My apologies for absence over the last week or two, I am currently in Japan working on an Ultra HD trial project!

From what I have seen here and on TallJustin blog there seems to be some real confusion here and the problem really seems to be that we have been getting TV 20 years behind the rest of the world (up until now!).

Pillarbox display is the world standard for putting 4:3 aspect ratio programs on a 16:9 TV screen. Every other PayTV broadcaster in the world forces you to watch 4:3 in pillarbox without any option to do anything else, it surprises me that Astro gives us any option at all.

Malaysia is a nation of people whom have watched stretched TV for years, mostly because we have no 16:9 broadcasts (SD or HD).

We also have a problem here in Malaysia, we have not switched to 16:9 SD or to closed caption subtitles, in fact our TV is almost identical to the color TV launched back in 1978 (I remember my father buyng a set for launch), fundamentally it has not changed. This is a real problem for us now we have HD!

As we channel surf on Astro we have a mix of SD/HD, native 4:3/Letter box 16:9, Open Caption/Closed Caption, to be honest its a real mess.

If the B.yond box outputs a stretched TV picture then it is totally out of the HDMI specification, I can't understand why Astro would do stretching or why anyone here would request it, it really is a step backwards.

From the post on TallJustins blog it looks like Astro attempted to implement an aspect ratio mode that removes the letterbox on 4:3 broadcasts. This is fairly standard practice on TVs in countries that introduced 16:9 SD when they had a mix of SD4:3 and SD16:9.

I will need to see it myself when i get back next week, but what they are doing looks correct to my eyes and based on my experience elsewhere. The zoom also looks like it is correct to the HDMI standard as there is no distortion of aspect ratio.

If Astro does bring back stretch then I will be very cross as that would mean there is no way to view 4:3 letterbox without making everyone short and fat, this really strains my "professional eyes".

Before I left to Japan I had my box set to pillar box, this is correct, but the "postage stamp" on the 4:3 letterbox channels really annoyed me as I had to zoom on my Sony TV. The aspect ratio button looks as though this was fixed, are we really all asking Astro to unfix this?

My thoughts, I am sure many will want stretch brought back, personally, stretch is a second rate answer for people who just want the screen filled and do not care about the quality, distortion or aspect ratio.

I was trained in the USA and aspect ratio was the basic rule that must never be broken.

Will attempt to get online more this week, should be easier as the Ultra HD trial is up and running here in Japan I am only needed if it goes wrong!
AstInst
post Mar 16 2010, 03:23 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 16 2010, 02:52 PM)
zoom mode will no pass any broadcasting standard, good thing astro is going to take it off permanently
I kind of agree with Astro on this one, there are no broadcasters I know of that allow out of aspect ratio video come out of the set top box. I actually think stretch mode will be in breach of their HDMI certification (if they have it?).

The HDMI standard is very long and strict, see http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/specification.aspx, for example it clearly states that Audio must be of a fixed RMS in terms of volume so the Astro decoder must output a fixed audio on the HDMI connector. It also clearly states that all video must adhere to the native aspect ratio of the display and not distort.

Astro may return the stretch option but could equally come under pressure from the HDMI certification to remove it! The TV manufacturers and the actual producers of the tv shows may also put pressure on Astro to remove stretch.

Perhaps, Astros renaming of "stretch" to "fit to screen" is them attempting to hide the fact that they are deliberately distorting the video output of the box?

From what I have seen on TallJustins blog, the zoom looks like it fills the screen yet is technically compliant with the HDMI standard.

Unfortunately I cant see for myself as I am in Japan until next week and it looks like Astro will have done the new software on the b.yond box.

My personal opinion, if the zoom is what I think it is, is that the new download will break the box in terms of HDMI standards and my personal 4:3 viewing as I dont want "postage stamping" of 16:9 programs that are letterboxed down to 4:3.

They can never please all of us I suppose!
AstInst
post Mar 17 2010, 02:44 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(edbravo @ Mar 16 2010, 02:25 PM)
Thank you for the clarifications, but the issues here are as following and I hope you can enlighten us.

1) If we have to watch SD channels on pillar box 4:3, why do we have to frequently change the settings each time we change channels (its set to zoom for all SD channels and I believe it should be 4:3)? Moreover, I was told to switch the cables each time I wish to watch the normal SD channels and switch it back again if I change to the HD channels or I will not get the full screen HD, isn’t these a nuisance? I think we are not moving forward in technology because technology serves to ease the burden and not to make it harder. I believe the older folks are going crazy with this new system.

2) Why can’t we have the options to watch starched SD channels like before? Would it be a legal issue here in Malaysia or international if we go back to the old ways? Please explain the matters of law regarding this issue, if there in fact any legal issues?

3) Are you aware if we watch on the zoom option, the top and bottom of the full picture are chopped off? Do you consider this as better quality? Do you think we should also chop off our monthly subscription based on our views and the sevice and quality we getting now without notice?

4) When will we have the options to view all the channels under HD because since there is no specific dates given? Do you think that Astro should had transferred all SD channels to HD before taking this steps and making any changes to the viewing pleasure of the public? I believe this is one of the major issue because no prior resonable notice or warning were given when Astro promoted the beyond system. Do you believe the public will now change to beyond since we are facing this issues?

5) Do you think that those people with big LCD TVs are now very frustrated viewing pillar box or zoom after spending thousands to upgrade their system mainly because of the new Astro Beyond? Do you think that with the present changes, LCD TV market will reduce and others will not be happy since their business will be affected?

6) I believe internationally the other countries have better options compared to what we have now? Do you agree? Please explain those options.

As for now, we are not FREE to pick our viewing options accoding to our desire pleasure. I am still paying the same amount to Astro, but truthfully as a customer I feel the quality of the SD channels have reduced. The principle of good services and business as a whole is that at all times you should listen to your customers needs and hopefully you believe in this principle. Do you?

Thank you. smile.gif
edbravo, to answer your questions from my personal perspective and experience.

1. From the screen shots I have seen (I am out of the country at the moment) it looks like zoom was intended to make 4:3 letterbox broadcasts go full screen. This is a feature of some TVs (my Sony at home). You should not have to switch inputs between channels. When I am at home I watch TV in the correct way, 4:3 pillarbox, if a program is letterbox then I have to pick up my Sony remote control and zoom it. My problem is that when I zoom the TV I loose the subtitles, even when they are closed caption. If the b.yond box did the zoom then my picture would be bigger, fill the screen, not distort and I will see all the subtitles. In the rest of the world (except India), 4:3 letterbox with open captions is an all but dead format!

2. There is no "law" on stretching. But Astro will have to have their HDMI output approved by the standards body, the stretch is most certainly out of the standard guidelines. If Astro has the certification on HDMI (it may not) the stretching may make them loose it! That would be a tough call, annoy the stretchers again or comply with certified standards. Astro also license channels and programs from the big studios such as fox and disney, the stretching could easily breach their license and the channel could withdraw or force Astro to remove stretch, a tough decision should it happen!

3. I think the zoom was intended to make letterbox 4:3 go full screen, like my sony TV at home. Yes this is better (in my opinion) stretching almost makes me ill (as a professional).

4. You will never have the option for all channels in HD, look around the world. Sky in the UK, 400+ SD channels, 32 HD, they have had HD for 4 years! Direct TV in the USA has also 400+ channels and about 80 in HD. These HD channels cost the customer about RM60 a month! The decision for HD or SD depends on the number of subscribers for that channel, HD cost 4 times more to transmit and double to buy or produce the content, if the channel is a minority one then it stays in SD. If we start talking about 16:9 SD then this is possible as almost zero cost, often they just change settings in the studio or production!

5. Do you think I am happy having to view letterbox content as a postage stamp on the screen? This is a personal thing, I hate stretching and I can not see why someone who has paid a fortune for an LED TV would want distorted video? The CNET article here explains it very well, see the 16:9 (widescreen) page.

6. All other HD boxes that I have seen do not offer anything other than Pillarbox for the reasons detailed in answer 1. Astro is the only operator that allows stretch. Many BluRay and HDMI devices do breach the aspect ratio but their model is different to a broadcaster. A broadcaster continually updates the software in the box, requires ongoing certification and has to keep the program owners happy, like Disney. I actually applaud Astro for at least trying to do something other than forcing everyone to pillar box with no choice, but if they actually sorted themselves out and did 16:9SD then we would not have this problem in the first place!

The SD has not got worse (I actually look at their broadcast on a PC card analyser), your personal standards have got higher now you have HD, this happens in nearly every country that launches HD! Your mind and eyes change to the better quality, at some point you will see stretching as I do! ;-) All business have to listen to customers but also move forward, did Apple or Sony listen to the "backwards compatibility" argument for Mac OS or PS3, no... sometimes the customer does not alway want what is right and sometimes they do. Sometimes businesses have to make tough decisions, stretch and continue bad viewing habits and put your license and approval at risk or zoom and force people to change an old habit. Its a tough call, I am please I only install them and do not have to make decisions like this!

shakehead.gif

BTW I am doing some massive installs in Japan for a Ultra HD demo, amazing. What makes me laugh is when I see a 100 inch Ultra HD TV and think of Astros 4:3 Letterbox with open captioning, it would just look terrible. Like playing a VHS in a cinema!
AstInst
post Mar 17 2010, 03:22 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 17 2010, 03:01 PM)
How bad? hmm.gif
The SD has not changed, your standards have gone up by seeing HD!

0.0829sec    0.60    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:00 AM