Know your Brands, Product origins

TSxingixn
post Jan 26 2010, 04:14 AM, updated 16y ago

Just thought it would be interesting to discuss origins of products. Spreading the knowledge. At least you know what you are paying for! Here are just a list of stuff that is in my mind right now, feel free to expand it and clarify with each other what you think about certain brands. ( I think this thread is gonna make some corporate company angry as it will probably violate some of their marketing strategy )

Padini & Seed - Do you know this is a local brand? Note the advertising using ONLY "white" models. Really hate the quality of their items. Well that is my personal opinion.

Bonia - Yep this is also a local brand. Never really owned any item by them can't comment.

Raoul - Singaporean brand. Quite expensive stuff considering its a Singaporean brand. Never really owned any item by them can't comment on whether the price is worth its money.

Braun Buffel - Anybody did a search of this brand on google yet? I notice that their target market is only in Aus and Malaysia. Why? I mean isn't it suppose to be a german brand, why nothing in the European market? I am quite skeptical about the brand. This being said, the workmanship and quality of their wallets and bag is parallel to some of the elite brands. I'm actually very curious about the origins of this brand.

Please try to post stuff here when you have the actual knowledge of brands. And please don't be immature and change your thinking into "oh my god its a china/local brand sure suck wan!". This is not my purpose in creating this topic.
jind86
post Jan 26 2010, 01:05 PM

1,507 posts

Moved from Trends + Fashion to Men's Style & Fashion..

Looked like it could create some interesting discussions here..
jonny4
post Jan 26 2010, 01:13 PM

1,974 posts

Good piece of info xingixn. I am already aware of the origins of Padini & Seed, Bonia and Raoul. But I am very curious about Braun Buffel too...I tried searching online for their history and origins but there's very little info. I am actually an owner of a BB wallet hehe. Good quality I must admit and decent designs. I had mine for 2 years already and it still looks new even though I keep my wallet in the back pocket most of the time.

I can't seem to think of any brands to add to the discussion atm...but when I do I'll post it here smile.gif

Edit: I just browsed through the BB website and they actually do have a section about the history, heritage and etc. Not very detailed and can be easily cooked up by someone haha. But it would be interesting to know the true story and who actually owns BB.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jan 26 2010, 01:19 PM
Daymon
post Jan 26 2010, 05:19 PM

399 posts

Hi, i would like to command about the SEED pants i got here.
i would rate it 7/10 for comfort. forgot about the price though.
i discovered that it has a lot of excessive threads all over the pants.
btw i prefer a non-brand pants which cost RM60 to the SEED one as it has nice cutting and comfy.
chuakz
post Jan 26 2010, 08:44 PM

1,192 posts

yeap padini and seed clothes....in fact stuff from the padini family most of the time have very bad quality.....threads here and there mostly....and sometimes the colour will bleed when washing....
jonny4
post Jan 26 2010, 09:32 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 26 2010, 08:44 PM)
yeap padini and seed clothes....in fact stuff from the padini family most of the time have very bad quality.....threads here and there mostly....and sometimes the colour will bleed when washing....
I had a first hand experience on my first day of work on why never to wear white underwear when wearing Padini pants for the first time. I had on a brand new pair of white CK boxer briefs that cost more than the padini pants LOL. After lunch I went to the toilet to tuck my shirt in...then I noticed some black stains on my boxers near the thighs. Luckily for me some bleach and a lot of soaking and I managed to get the dye out.
ShinAsakura
post Jan 26 2010, 09:43 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

Aware of the brands origin but still buying them anyway.

Regret for buying a Seed messenger faux leather bag, cannot last even half a year.

Pedro shoes, from Singapore, not bad. But the fact of it being made in China shown when the threads of the suede part came out.

Padini shirt wear once only after bought so no comment. Till now stayed in the closet.

G2000 from HK, the shirts and pants quality not bad. But the colour didn't stay long.

Abotu Braun Buffel, seriously it only market around SEA. Why huh?
Salience
post Jan 27 2010, 12:14 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

we should just one day convert to hand tailor made rather than mass production products to ensure top quality and best looking/fit
celion
post Jan 27 2010, 05:17 PM

232 posts

the only thing i ever bought from padini/seed is a black sweater. not too shabby in term of quality..
ShinAsakura
post Jan 27 2010, 11:51 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

@Salience: Indeed. I'm thinking of having a trousers tailored to perfect fit. But don't really trust the tailors around my area sweat.gif
hedonkop
post Jan 27 2010, 11:55 PM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Jan 27 2010, 11:51 PM)
@Salience: Indeed. I'm thinking of having a trousers tailored to perfect fit. But don't really trust the tailors around my area  sweat.gif
you don't need to trust them rather try them first.... who knows maybe their work is great
dr3w
post Jan 28 2010, 06:55 AM

180 posts

I didn't know that RAOUL is singapore brand, I have one shirt and cufflinks from RAOUL, the quality, cutting and design is very nice IMO
Salience
post Jan 28 2010, 08:43 AM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

all my work pants are tailored

i cannot find suitable cuttings for me smile.gif

maybe my legs are funny LOL but yea tailor made pants are always best although super expensive

TSxingixn
post Jan 28 2010, 06:36 PM

Valentino Rudy seems to be like a Jap brand instead of Italian (I might be wrong). Any thoughts on this? I think their stuff showcased in Metrojaya is excellent at times. Once in a while I can find really good stuff.
U+FFFD
post Jan 28 2010, 11:00 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(xingixn @ Jan 28 2010, 06:36 PM)
Valentino Rudy seems to be like a Jap brand instead of Italian (I might be wrong). Any thoughts on this? I think their stuff showcased in Metrojaya is excellent at times. Once in a while I can find really good stuff.
Yeap. Valentino Rudy is a Japanese brand (http://www.valentinorudy.com) and their license holders in Malaysia are VR Directions Sdn. Bhd. (marketing and distribution of men's apparel and accessories, and ladies' apparels) and Eclat World Sdn. Bhd. (designing, promoting and marketing of fashionable men's footwear), both of which are subsidiary companies under the Bonia Group (http://www.bonia.com). As of 2008, Bonia has 100% shares in Eclat World and 70% shares in VR Directions and if I'm not mistaken, annually the Bonia group pays for Valentino Rudy's trademark royalty to market things under their brand (according to their annual report).

It also seems that certain (or all of) Valentino Rudy's shoes sold here are actually made in Malaysia under the Valentino Rudy name but this I cannot confirm.

As far as I know, the Bonia group also owns licenses under subsidiary companies for other brands in Malaysia like Sembonia, Carlo Rino, Santa Barbara, Savile Row Co., Austin Reed, etc. Now you know why most of the time most of the brands have their sales together.
sasuke123
post Jan 29 2010, 01:14 PM

620 posts

jaspal is from thailand
peppermilk
post Jan 29 2010, 11:55 PM

29 posts

Now I'm curious about Braun Buffel too, thought it was a German brand.

Also, if I'm not mistaken Young Hearts is a local brand? A friend of mine who used to work at Voir told me that they're a local brand too.
U+FFFD
post Jan 30 2010, 03:04 AM

2,356 posts

Braun Buffel IS a German brand under the company Braun GmbH & Co. KG (not to be mistaken with another household and medical manufacturing company with similar name founded by inventor Max Braun) mainly ran by Johann Braun's descendants with Christiane Brunk at its helm currently. I think most of you are in doubt because you can't find much information about the brand or rather found it difficult to reach their official international site since the spelling of their web address is different (included below). Anyway, as most of you might know, Braun Buffel is currently mainly marketed at the European, Australian and Asian market currently with Lianbee-Jeco Sdn. Bhd. (since 1993) as the exclusive distributor of this brand for our small segment of the market (Malaysia). I wonder when will they start playing in the US market.

Below are the the regional websites for Braun Buffel:
International / Germany: http://www.braun-bueffel.com/en/home.html (note the different spelling)
Asia: http://www.braunbuffel-asiapac.com
Australia: http://www.braunbuffel.com.au
exkay
post Jan 30 2010, 03:17 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(peppermilk @ Jan 29 2010, 11:55 PM)
Now I'm curious about Braun Buffel too, thought it was a German brand.

Also, if I'm not mistaken Young Hearts is a local brand? A friend of mine who used to work at Voir told me that they're a local brand too.
Young Hearts = Singapore.
jind86
post Jan 30 2010, 11:05 PM

1,507 posts

someone told me before that BritishIndia is a malaysian brand..

http://www.britishindia.asia/aboutbritishindia.html

i guess its true?
U+FFFD
post Jan 30 2010, 11:51 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:05 PM)

i guess its true?
Yeap. Here's an ad Yasmin Ahmad did for Pat Yeoh back in the early 90's
ShinYi
post Jan 31 2010, 05:14 AM

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 26 2010, 08:44 PM)
Well, I've never had any problem with Padini stuffs. They seem pretty okay so far with a pretty decent 'lifespan'. But I know ALL my shoes from Vincci (subsidiary of Padini Holdings) NEVER lasted long! Either that, or it'll get veryyyyyy uncomfortable after a few wears - totally unlike other better brands which the shoes feels more comfortably snug as it gets seasoned. Vincci is overrated! vmad.gif
U+FFFD
post Jan 31 2010, 09:55 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(ShinYi @ Jan 31 2010, 05:14 AM)
Well, I've never had any problem with Padini stuffs. They seem pretty okay so far with a pretty decent 'lifespan'. But I know ALL my shoes from Vincci (subsidiary of Padini Holdings) NEVER lasted long! Either that, or it'll get veryyyyyy uncomfortable after a few wears - totally unlike other better brands which the shoes feels more comfortably snug as it gets seasoned. Vincci is overrated!  vmad.gif
That's the comment I usually hear from girls, that Vincci's shoes don't last long. How about those from their more luxurious line Vincci+ ?

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Jan 31 2010, 09:55 AM
TSxingixn
post Jan 31 2010, 07:42 PM

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jan 30 2010, 03:04 AM)
Braun Buffel IS a German brand under the company Braun GmbH & Co. KG  (not to be mistaken with another household and medical manufacturing company with similar name founded by inventor Max Braun) mainly ran by Johann Braun's descendants with Christiane Brunk at its helm currently. I think most of you are in doubt because you can't find much information about the brand or rather found it difficult to reach their official international site since the spelling of their web address is different (included below). Anyway, as most of you might know, Braun Buffel is currently mainly marketed at the European, Australian and Asian market currently with Lianbee-Jeco Sdn. Bhd. (since 1993) as the exclusive distributor of this brand for our small segment of the market (Malaysia). I wonder when will they start playing in the US market.

International / Germany: http://www.braun-bueffel.com/en/home.html (note the different spelling)
Perfect biggrin.gif thats the reply i needed. I knew it was not a local brand lol, their workmenship and quality is just too good to be local.
U+FFFD
post Feb 1 2010, 01:47 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(xingixn @ Jan 31 2010, 07:42 PM)
Perfect biggrin.gif thats the reply i needed. I knew it was not a local brand lol, their workmenship and quality is just too good to be local.
Glad it helped. Besides the exquisite quality of Braun Buffel's accessories, their storefronts in highstreet shopping complexes says everything.
On second thought, ignore my latter point as looks can be deceiving: like the example of our local brand Polo Haus with their premier store in Sunway Pyramid which appears to the uninformed shoppers as a foreign brand related to Ralph Lauren Polo.

Speaking of look-alike brands, there's also our neighbouring country's Crocodile which I think was inspired by the world renowned Lacoste.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Feb 1 2010, 02:26 AM
kotmj
post Feb 1 2010, 01:53 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

You know, I spent many years in what is supposed to be the originating country for Braun Bueffel and I never once saw it nor heard of it. People there are more into Goldpfeil, Joop!, Porsche Design and such.
jind86
post Feb 1 2010, 02:03 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Feb 1 2010, 01:47 AM)
Glad it helped. Besides the exquisite quality of Braun Buffel's accessories, their storefronts in highstreet shopping complexes says everything.
On second thought, ignore my latter point as looks can be deceiving: like the example of our local brand Polo Haus with their premier store in Sunway Pyramid which appears to the uninformed shoppers as a foreign brand related to Ralph Lauren Polo.

Speaking of look-alike brands, there's also our local Crocodile which I think was inspired by the world renowned Lacoste.
wow that shop looks amazing..

hmmm i thought crocodile was from hong kong, or is it singapore?

http://www.crocodilehouse.com/

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 1 2010, 02:06 AM
U+FFFD
post Feb 1 2010, 02:24 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 1 2010, 02:03 AM)
wow that shop looks amazing..

hmmm i thought crocodile was from hong kong, or is it singapore?

http://www.crocodilehouse.com/
Ah, memory served me wrongly with regards to Crocodile. The brand that we know so well is actually a Singaporean brand established by Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian Tsin in 1947. And there's also another brand called Crocodile Garments established in Hong Kong by Dr. Chan Shun in 1952.

Do you know that Lacoste and the other two croc companies have been in constant court battle for years over the use of their very similar logos?

Battle of the Crocs
Lacoste vs. Crocodile Garments: http://edition.cnn.com/2003/BUSINESS/10/31/crocodile.logo/

Lacoste vs. Crocodile Pte. Ltd. :
Lacoste to pay $1 in Chinese trade mark ruling
31/03/2004

A Chinese court last week considered the case of two crocodiles – the trade marks of French clothing manufacturer Lacoste and Singapore-based Crocodile International – and ruled that the Lacoste brand could not be used in China.

Lacoste and Crocodile International have been disputing their respective rights in the crocodile logo for almost 40 years, ever since Lacoste moved into the Asian markets. Lacoste has now been ordered to apologise and pay its rival the nominal sum of $1 in compensation.

Both logos use a similar looking crocodile, except that they face in opposite directions. The question for the court was to decide which one was registered in China first.

Lacoste first registered the logo in France, in 1933, when founder and tennis star Rene Lacoste incorporated the emblem onto his range of clothes.

jayxunned
post Feb 1 2010, 02:46 AM

478 posts

Anyone had any idea about Ben Sherman this brand ? Was it originated from UK? I found none of this brand appearing in Malaysia Market at the moment. I have one of their signature polo which is white red blue stripes.
U+FFFD
post Feb 1 2010, 02:49 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Feb 1 2010, 02:46 AM)
Anyone had any idea about Ben Sherman this brand ? Was it originated from UK? I found none of this brand appearing in Malaysia Market at the moment. I have one of their signature polo which is white red blue stripes.
Ben Sherman is a UK brand catered to british mod styles. The only thing I have from them is a pair of cufflinks.
SUShappyjoey
post Feb 3 2010, 05:03 PM

Bonia stuff for me are untrustable
I just feel that
crapoccur
post Feb 3 2010, 06:53 PM

489 posts

Untrustable in what sense? Quality?
Daymon
post Feb 3 2010, 08:33 PM

399 posts

So many ppl using Bonia some more, probably because of its low prices.

This post has been edited by Daymon: Feb 27 2010, 06:20 PM
OhNooy
post Apr 6 2010, 10:59 AM

1,133 posts

Hush Puppies is origin from where actually? I mean the apparel section. I googled and found Hush Puppies website for shoes only.
netmatrix
post Apr 7 2010, 01:57 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

QUOTE(Daymon @ Feb 3 2010, 08:33 PM)
So many ppl using Bonia some more, probably because of its low prices.
Bonia isn't low priced. Really. You compare them to many other brands on sale and you can see the pricing is 2-5% more.

East India Company is Metrojaya's answer to British India. EIC cost less than BI, and EIC does not have a stand alone boutique but is housed in Metrojaya's dept store. The styles offered by both these brands are almost similar. Linen & cotton is used heavily. So if earthy color tones. But BI sells furnishings where EIC doesn't.

Other brands that are in the low to mid range is

- D'urban
- Emmer Zegna
- John Master
- Smalto
- Rudynacci
- Renoma
- GQ
- John Langford

Their dress shirts range from RM20 (on sale) to RM239. The dress pants from RM49(on sale) - RM259.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Apr 7 2010, 02:10 AM
irmond
post Apr 7 2010, 05:53 AM

629 posts

I wouldn't recommend SEED...preferred PADINI instead..
but I think we should be proud of M'sia brand..
what's wrong with their design or quality?it feels like westernize..
u just over react because it's a M'sian brand?? doh.gif
IluvProton
post Aug 26 2010, 12:27 AM

143 posts

SUB is a Malaysian-based international fashion group and one of the country's most successful, fastest growing retailers.
With more than 200 stores in the major shopping areas of 20 countries, we pride ourselves in providing an unique brand of clothing most appealing to the fashion-conscious movers and groovers of the clubbing community.

http://www.sub.com.my/

this also. someone telling me before was Hongkong Brand. But I find 1 of their 'factories' was locate in ipoh, off jalan kampar.

Hope this are suitable in this topic. Thanks you
ianisnoob
post Aug 26 2010, 12:42 AM

100 posts

knew Bonia was local ^^ they are doing great! i love their specs! Very durable got kicked in the face but specs intact bt face not intact! XD well done Bonia!
eugenechiuu
post Aug 26 2010, 12:53 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ianisnoob @ Aug 26 2010, 12:42 AM)
knew Bonia was local ^^ they are doing great! i love their specs! Very durable got kicked in the face but specs intact bt face not intact! XD well done Bonia!
Some extra info for Bonia is that they have a much higher line in Japan which they dun sell in Malaysia, in terms of business they're doing extremely well and some describe it as Louis Vuitton of Malaysia
rap_music_love
post Mar 22 2011, 02:55 PM

14 posts

bata is a french brand... tadah.. many people thought is MY brand
Zephyr_Mage
post Mar 22 2011, 04:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Bata is Czech no?

I saw a 7-storey Bata store in Prague. hahah
sankai80
post Mar 22 2011, 05:06 PM

freakish chicken
2,019 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Mar 22 2011, 04:37 PM)
Bata is Czech no?

I saw a 7-storey Bata store in Prague. hahah
The company was founded in 1894 Zlín (then Austro-Hungarian Empire, today the Czech Republic) by Tomáš Baťa (Czech pronunciation: [ˈtomaːʃ ˈbaca]), whose family had been cobblers for generations. A large order from the army, military shoes and rising demand for them, during World War I started rapid growth and small manufacture turned into modern industrial concern, one of the first mass producers of shoes.
Tomáš Baťa was recognised for his social conscience, establishing housing, cinemas and advancement programmes for his employees. The phrase "work collectively, live individually" is one of his sayings. Baťa recognised the potential of large-scale production, and was often called the "Henry Ford of Eastern Europe". He saw technology as a means of progress, and wanted to make the shoes as cheaply as possible so that the greatest number of people could access them
In 1932 Tomáš died in a plane crash at the Zlín airport (attempting to take-off under bad weather conditions) and his half-brother Jan Antonín Baťa became head of the company.
At the time of Tomáš's death, the Baťa company employed 16,560 people, maintained 1,645 shops and 25 enterprises. Most of what Tomáš had built was centralized in Bohemia-Moravia (15,770 employees, 1,500 shops, 25 enterprises) and Slovakia (250 employees and 2 enterprises). The total international contribution to the Baťa organization at the time of Tomas's death consisted of 20 international enterprises, 132 shops, and 790 employees.

Wahlauehh....really have much much longer history if not, legacy compared to so many brands out there.
Denmark
post Mar 22 2011, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(jind86 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:05 PM)

i guess its true?
Yupe .. they are some soft of JV thingy! No doubt, they producing quality items !!!
tjwn
post Mar 22 2011, 06:15 PM

255 posts

Voir, Soda also Malaysia brand
and Lewré .. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tjwn: Mar 22 2011, 06:21 PM
Albigo.blogspot
post Mar 22 2011, 06:29 PM

For girls, KITSCHEN from Malaysia. smile.gif Affordable price and average designs! smile.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 6:30 pm
QUOTE(rap_music_love @ Mar 22 2011, 02:55 PM)
shocking.gif HAha! Ya! Thought it is Buatan Malaysia. laugh.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(tjwn @ Mar 22 2011, 06:15 PM)
Voir, Soda also Malaysia brand
and Lewré .. tongue.gif
Lewré also from Malaysia? shocking.gif
thought UK brand.

This post has been edited by Albigo.blogspot: Mar 22 2011, 06:32 PM
SUSd3m0n
post Apr 13 2011, 04:48 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

Wait, Raoul is from Singapore? Jaspal is from Thailand? Crap! Didn't know that! But their stuff is awesome.
ryan18
post Apr 13 2011, 10:49 PM

2,406 posts

SUB is malaysia, philosophy is malaysia, yishion is china (cheaper version of esprit)
many people think some of the Malaysian brands are international brands
People of Asia - singapore
anyone ever heard of POA/People of Asia? how is the clothing quality.from the pictures that i had seen online seems to be formal wear

Added on April 13, 2011, 10:53 pmand bonia also do contract manufacturing for some of the world famous brand like Valentino, etc

This post has been edited by ryan18: Apr 13 2011, 10:53 PM
darkprince1781
post Nov 1 2011, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jan 30 2010, 11:51 PM)
Yeap. Here's an ad Yasmin Ahmad did for Pat Yeoh back in the early 90's
Her surname is Liew, not Yeoh..and Yes British India is a local brand with HQ/ warehouse at Kota Damansara, and note their name is actually spelled "BritishIndia", not separated. The company's established in 1994 to rival East India Co., a Metrojaya brand and both of their shirts are manufactured in India, with some in China.

Added on November 1, 2011, 4:01 pm

I've been working in the mid/ high end fashion industry for many years and it seems to me that a lot of people in the country are easily conned by spending good money buying some cheap local products/ brands.

I mean, a lot of the local brands try to sell their stuffs nearly as much as imported brands, with only a fraction of their quality, and that seems ridiculous to me. All the company needs to do is hire a few merchandiser and get their supplier from any factory in Guangzhou and then hire a few agencies/ in house designer to design the branding and a few visual merchandiser to design the store's outlook and with some nice marketing and PR strategies, they can easily give you the impression that this is a very serious brand from overseas and thus selling their stuffs at 10 times the price they deserve.

Of course there're local brands that still care about quality, but not much, really.

In a lot of cases, the local distributor gains the right to sell certain overseas brand in the local market and as time goes on they gain more and more control over the brand and whatever they do (design, quality, strategies, etc) is entirely up to them and the oversea HQ normally don't even care. A few such example is B.U.M Equipment and the female lingerie brand Wacoal. Sometimes you spend a lot of money thinking you're buying a high end branded imported shirt, but truth is, a lot of those brands are now 100% M'sian control, M'sian development and M'sian quality.

There are also a few local brands trying to imitate an already successful overs brand and register the brands locally with similar name, logo and image. One perfect example is Diesel shirts M'sia has nothing to do with the successful Diesel brand in Europe (originally founded in Italy).

And of course, these local brands don't even need a single fashion designer under their belt (they don't even design their own products, duh!). Their so called "design and development" process only involve a few merchandiser (usually of fashion design background) flying to china and select a few items and comment on minor changes (i want this design in purple and black, i want the sleeves to be a little bit shorter, etc) and ask the OEM factories to produce a certain amount of the items and put on their brands. And of course, coming from a family doing one of such businesses, I was already well aware of this since 10 yrs old, and i assume most of you guys already know this is how it works.

I totally don't mean to spread any hates here but the whole point of sharing this is so that the next time when you spend your hard earned money on any products, it's good for you to know the brand stories, and whether they deserve your money. This is important as most of the local business don't even seem to care about improving their qualities.

This post has been edited by darkprince1781: Nov 1 2011, 04:30 PM
juststayreal
post Nov 1 2011, 11:44 PM

255 posts

anyone heard of Pony before?
tjwn
post Nov 2 2011, 12:19 AM

255 posts

brands outlet is also under padini...
Mihawk7
post Nov 2 2011, 09:49 AM

943 posts

I've heard that Padini and Seed are under Bata company. And Bata is actually a UK brand. So, what makes Padini and Seed the? malaysian or Uk's?n
sin2010
post Nov 2 2011, 09:57 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(darkprince1781 @ Nov 1 2011, 03:52 PM)

Of course there're local brands that still care about quality, but not much, really.

Mind to share which company are there?
Chartry
post Nov 2 2011, 08:46 PM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Nov 2 2011, 09:57 AM)
Agree. I think we can compile a list of apparels brand that offers good quality at affordable price
netmatrix
post Nov 2 2011, 09:05 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

One really needs to go around the shops and dept stores to know what is happening. But in the end everyone is out to make money. I used to like snails, Bum and such. But u know why i don't but them anymore? Because they cut corners. I mean really cut corners! Have u seen any of their shirts lately? Its like they think human have grown 20cm shorter!!! All the t-shirt can reveal belly button when you raise your arms. WTF?!?!?!? And one still have to pay RM30 for those crap! I might as well pay RM7 for a tshirt which still looks like a t-shirt than a tank top in Carrefour than them! I have worked in Metrojaya before so i do know a thing or 2 about how things are run. U are definitely right about most things. Unless you are still in the clothing line, u will know that everyone is being hit hard and almost all stuff comes from china. Everyone is out to make money. Its not like the old Globe silk Store, Mun Loong days.
darkprince1781
post Nov 5 2011, 12:47 AM

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Nov 2 2011, 09:49 AM)
I've heard that Padini and Seed are under Bata company. And Bata is actually a UK brand. So, what makes Padini and Seed the? malaysian or Uk's?n
Padini Holdings (Padini, SEED, Vincci, Brands Outlet, MIKI, PDI, P&Co.) is a Malaysian brand with HQ at Glenmarie, Shah Alam.

Bata is from Czech.
SUSLiLFreaK
post Nov 5 2011, 03:19 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Nov 2 2011, 09:57 AM)
bonia perhaps
calodin
post Dec 12 2011, 11:48 AM

263 posts

Tried out a Braun Buffel wallet 5-6 years ago...the wallet lasted for 12 month before the outer layer disintegrated..so that was the only time i buy wallet from them....now wallet I only use Head Porter from Japan, very nice and spacious wallets, as I do a lot of travelling, i normally have long wallets and a bit bigger to fit in currency notes like Yen and HKD, Euro which is a bit larger than the size of our money.
Jason
post Dec 12 2011, 05:09 PM

6,354 posts

its fine when you get what you pay for..but a lot of cheap shit and local brands are selling at exorbitant prices and you still get shit in the end. case in point Polo Haus, Crocodile etc.

Lacoste vs Crocodile? srsly.. no fight, Lacoste uses MOP buttons, the fabric is light and breathable.. colours are awesome.

And Polo Haus.. whats with the curved mallet? How the hell you play polo with a curved mallet.. and people pay a hefty sum for what they get believing its PRL.

thanks for the heads up on Jaspal.

How about Hush Puppies? I believe they bought the rights to the brand here and they seem pretty successful.

Obermain.. I never seen this brand at all while I was in Frankfurt.. German my @ss.
chazychaz
post Dec 12 2011, 11:13 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Dec 12 2011, 11:48 AM)
Tried out a Braun Buffel wallet 5-6 years ago...the wallet lasted for 12 month before the outer layer disintegrated..so that was the only time i buy wallet from them....now wallet I only use Head Porter from Japan, very nice and spacious wallets, as I do a lot of travelling, i normally have long wallets and a bit bigger to fit in currency notes like Yen and HKD, Euro which is a bit larger than the size of our money.
Agreed..braun buffel is overrated..quality wise so so but malaysian loves it..
abyone
post Dec 12 2011, 11:38 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(rap_music_love @ Mar 22 2011, 03:55 PM)
wow, i've been fooled by my friends for so many years, thinking bata was a malaysian brand!
Salience
post Dec 13 2011, 08:11 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

you guys must beef up your knowledge on brands then you will know where to hunt for good stuff and segment your shopping wisely.

bata, if none of u know is actually a very expensive brand. when i was in paris, their shoes are approx 100 euros or higher. leather pair of shoes which is approx RM100 here because the market hasn't picked it up.

last time FCUK was at FOS for RM50 per pc around 10 years ago.

xuzen
post Dec 15 2011, 06:44 AM

4,436 posts

I love Padini too but I only buy their share from the KLSE.

Xuzen

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:53 am
QUOTE(chazychaz @ Dec 12 2011, 11:13 PM)
Agreed..braun buffel is overrated..quality wise so so but malaysian loves it..
I completely agree. Braun Buffel started out quite promising, I used two of their wallets before. The earlier one is of decent quality, but my perception is that their quality has dropped. The second one lasted only about 12 mths before the outer leather layer start flaking.

Lousy brand.

Recently, my missus started to look at Anya Hindmarch and their products look really decent, but pricey.

As for me, I started using Kaufmann, an in-house brand by House of Leather. Really solid products and at affordable price. Best bang for the buck. It is a no frills brand, i.e., no expensive celebrity endorsement nor highly paid models to jack up the price.

Quickly buy it before House of Leather start those marketing bull-shit.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 15 2011, 06:54 AM
SUSashcrimson
post Dec 26 2011, 04:29 PM

146 posts

hm... i thought BATA is from the czech republic

tomas bata anyone?
EricLow
post Jul 11 2012, 06:42 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jan 30 2010, 03:04 AM)
Braun Buffel IS a German brand under the company Braun GmbH & Co. KG  (not to be mistaken with another household and medical manufacturing company with similar name founded by inventor Max Braun) mainly ran by Johann Braun's descendants with Christiane Brunk at its helm currently. I think most of you are in doubt because you can't find much information about the brand or rather found it difficult to reach their official international site since the spelling of their web address is different (included below). Anyway, as most of you might know, Braun Buffel is currently mainly marketed at the European, Australian and Asian market currently with Lianbee-Jeco Sdn. Bhd. (since 1993) as the exclusive distributor of this brand for our small segment of the market (Malaysia). I wonder when will they start playing in the US market.

Bonia now owns 50% of Lianbee-Jeco so we can pretty much assume BF = Bonia now...........

Added on July 11, 2012, 6:43 pm
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 7 2010, 01:57 AM)
Bonia isn't low priced. Really. You compare them to many other brands on sale and you can see the pricing is 2-5% more.

East India Company is Metrojaya's answer to British India. EIC cost less than BI, and EIC does not have a stand alone boutique but is housed in Metrojaya's dept store. The styles offered by both these brands are almost similar. Linen & cotton is used heavily. So if earthy color tones. But BI sells furnishings where EIC doesn't.

Other brands that are in the low to mid range is

- D'urban
- Emmer Zegna
- John Master
- Smalto
- Rudynacci
- Renoma
- GQ
- John Langford

Their dress shirts range from RM20 (on sale) to RM239. The dress pants from RM49(on sale) - RM259.
BritishIndia's founder previously was from the East India Company..

This post has been edited by EricLow: Jul 11 2012, 06:43 PM
teongpeng
post Jul 14 2012, 12:12 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

British India is local i think
Eterna
post Oct 24 2012, 01:16 PM

34 posts

Does anyone know the brand Thomas London? I only wear these to work. But can't seem to find any info on them on the web.

Thought I'd revive this thread. Heheh

This post has been edited by Eterna: Oct 24 2012, 01:17 PM
TechnoG
post Oct 24 2012, 06:01 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(Eterna @ Oct 24 2012, 01:16 PM)
Does anyone know the brand Thomas London? I only wear these to work. But can't seem to find any info on them on the web.

Thought I'd revive this thread. Heheh
if you cant find it in the interweb then it must be from bolehland. biggrin.gif
Imsilly
post Oct 26 2012, 01:35 PM

583 posts

Polo Haus- seriously poor quality, and TONS of Malaysians still think it's under Ralph Lauren.

Giordano- I only bought a couple of their clothing few years back including a plain t shirt. The quality is just average-ish and the fitting is terrible. Bought a size XS or S t shirt but it feels like a size L.

Larrie- Only thing I know about this brand is that they have a cheap knock offs of the Birkenstock Gizeh. Looks very similar to it but at 1/3 of the Birkenstocks price.
bosco1314
post Oct 27 2012, 07:19 PM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(Imsilly @ Oct 26 2012, 01:35 PM)
Polo Haus- seriously poor quality, and TONS of Malaysians still think it's under Ralph Lauren.

Giordano- I only bought a couple of their clothing few years back including a plain t shirt. The quality is just average-ish and the fitting is terrible. Bought a size XS or S t shirt but it feels like a size L.

Larrie- Only thing I know about this brand is that they have a cheap knock offs of the Birkenstock Gizeh. Looks very similar to it but at 1/3 of the Birkenstocks price.
POLO HAUS-mislead the buyers,seriously

razuryza
post Oct 27 2012, 11:35 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Oct 27 2012, 07:19 PM)
POLO HAUS-mislead the buyers,seriously
why so? they never said they are siblings with ralph lauren right?
bosco1314
post Oct 27 2012, 11:57 PM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 27 2012, 11:35 PM)
why so? they never said they are siblings with ralph lauren right?
the logo, design, almost 90% alike ralph lauren..
just my thought
Imsilly
post Oct 28 2012, 12:27 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Oct 27 2012, 11:57 PM)
the logo, design, almost 90% alike ralph lauren..
just my thought
Agreed, they market it in such a way it looks like Polo RL but it actually isn't.
Some of their designs really look like Polo RL,seriously.
bosco1314
post Oct 28 2012, 12:31 AM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(Imsilly @ Oct 28 2012, 12:27 AM)
Agreed, they market it in such a way it looks like Polo RL but it actually isn't.
Some of their designs really look like Polo RL,seriously.
especially signature big pony on classic plain color.reli difficult to tell the different.
n small as well..so tiny

This post has been edited by bosco1314: Oct 28 2012, 12:31 AM
kae7
post Oct 28 2012, 04:01 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

when I was in UK, I'm trying to be a cheapskate...
I always like George
EricLow
post Dec 5 2012, 12:07 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Imsilly @ Oct 26 2012, 01:35 PM)

Polo Haus is M'sian brand, i have friends working there. Right now they own the right to distribute Fila in M'sia.

Larrie is a M'sia brand, they produce shoes for Crocodie, Alain Delon, Camel Active, GEOX, etc.

This post has been edited by EricLow: Dec 5 2012, 12:09 AM
bosco1314
post Dec 5 2012, 12:27 AM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(EricLow @ Dec 5 2012, 12:07 AM)
Polo Haus is M'sian brand, i have friends working there. Right now they own the right to distribute Fila in M'sia.

Larrie is a M'sia brand, they produce shoes for Crocodie, Alain Delon, Camel Active, GEOX, etc.
Fila, still exist in Malaysia?last time got a lot of outlets , nowadays like no more,
TechnoG
post Dec 5 2012, 02:56 AM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(EricLow @ Dec 5 2012, 12:07 AM)

Geox and CA shoes is made by a malaysia company? wow, just wow. laugh.gif
EricLow
post Dec 5 2012, 03:33 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Dec 5 2012, 02:56 AM)
Geox and CA shoes is made by a malaysia company? wow, just wow. laugh.gif
GEOX is not M'sian, I'm guessing Larrie is distributing for them in M'sia.

Added on December 5, 2012, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Dec 5 2012, 12:27 AM)
Fila, still exist in Malaysia?last time got a lot of outlets , nowadays like no more,
Not sure about outlets but for sure the company has just obtained the right to distribute their products here in Msia not too long ago, I'm sure they're planning sth at the moment.

This post has been edited by EricLow: Dec 5 2012, 03:34 PM
bosco1314
post Dec 5 2012, 07:07 PM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(EricLow @ Dec 5 2012, 03:33 PM)
GEOX is not M'sian, I'm guessing Larrie is distributing for them in M'sia.

Added on December 5, 2012, 3:34 pm
Not sure about outlets but for sure the company has just obtained the right to distribute their products here in Msia not too long ago, I'm sure they're planning sth at the moment.
oh I c , but Fila still hot in other country?
EricLow
post Dec 6 2012, 01:49 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Dec 5 2012, 07:07 PM)
oh I c , but Fila still hot in other country?
Not really, Fila International has been sold to many parties and its most current owner is from Korea. They're based in Korea now.
bosco1314
post Dec 6 2012, 02:33 AM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

QUOTE(EricLow @ Dec 6 2012, 01:49 AM)
Not really, Fila International has been sold to many parties and its most current owner is from Korea. They're based in Korea now.
mean FILA aint so successfully i think, look at Nike Adidas, just for comparison
twins9
post Jan 29 2014, 09:54 PM

1,371 posts

Anyone know where are Massimo Dutti leather products made? Quite expensive here but belong to same group as Zara and Berskha. I know it is a spanish brand but wondering if the leather bags are made in China.

patryn33
post Jan 30 2014, 12:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(EricLow @ Dec 6 2012, 01:49 AM)
I thought its a internal buyout?
Axel95
post Jan 30 2014, 01:22 AM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

Padini- Hit and miss for me. Bought a shirt that cnt be ironed, a shirt which its button came off after a month. but some of the shirts are okay for the price. Can't complain.

Obermain- shit brand. bought a shoe to bring to NZ hoping that its gonna keep my feet warm and comfy. Ended up replacing it with a hush puppy shoe at the same price that is much more comfy and warm

Bonia- got my first expensive wallet as a gift. really love the feel and quality of the leather. oh, and the smell wink.gif

Polo Haus- We don't have RL in sabah, so we always thought RL=PH. So much that i made a fool outta myself complaining about the RL prices -.-

Gagaloo
post Jan 1 2016, 03:11 PM

38 posts

Anyone knows what is up with Elle?

I know that the magazine is from Paris, but what about its clothing and boutique?
loritanah
post Jan 2 2016, 11:50 PM

162 posts

Padini is okay for me but I am avoiding polo haus like hell...

Wish to get pedro shoe but i am stick DMs right now.

Did went to mitsui outlet and stumble upon Tomasz brand..quite nice ...price is good too..made in malaysia ,right?
Yato
post Jan 5 2016, 03:04 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Jan 2 2016, 11:50 PM)

Did went to mitsui outlet and stumble upon Tomasz brand..quite nice ...price is good too..made in malaysia ,right?
Pedro is by Charles & Keith whose owners are from singapore btw.
Just want to stay related to the topic nod.gif
dertwert
post Jan 28 2016, 11:12 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(twins9 @ Jan 29 2014, 09:54 PM)
Anyone know where are Massimo Dutti leather products made?  Quite expensive here but belong to same group as Zara and Berskha. I know it is a spanish brand but wondering if the leather bags are made in China.
Most likely yes. Even Bally or HB or RL sneakers are made in China, or to put it subtly, PRC.
Yato
post Jan 28 2016, 11:42 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Jan 2 2016, 11:50 PM)

btw, padini originated from which country ? anybody knows ? blush.gif
skeleton202
post Jan 31 2016, 03:02 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

Padini, pdi,giordano,brand outlet, hi style, they are all from malaysia
GreenWhite
post Jan 31 2016, 03:53 PM

153 posts

Never owned a pedro before. what's it like in terms of quality. From the feel of it, pretty much like local shoes ex. santa barbara, polo, aka. shopping mall shoes category.

Any opinion on the quality is welcome.
dertwert
post Feb 1 2016, 11:02 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(GreenWhite @ Jan 31 2016, 03:53 PM)
Never owned a pedro before. what's it like in terms of quality. From the feel of it, pretty much like local shoes ex. santa barbara, polo, aka. shopping mall shoes category.

Any opinion on the quality is welcome.
Quality is rather acceptable for its affordable price. Made in China after all, can't expect much. Better than paying more with Aldo & still Made in China with comparable quality.
tjwn
post Feb 1 2016, 01:07 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Jan 31 2016, 03:02 PM)
Padini, pdi,giordano,brand outlet, hi style, they are all from malaysia
Giordano is from Hong Kong smile.gif
skeleton202
post Feb 2 2016, 06:49 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

QUOTE(tjwn @ Feb 1 2016, 01:07 PM)
Giordano is from Hong Kong  smile.gif
lol really.. tot is from malaysia
seems quality look identical sweat.gif
ftf87
post Feb 4 2016, 02:07 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(dertwert @ Feb 1 2016, 11:02 AM)
Quality is rather acceptable for its affordable price. Made in China after all, can't expect much. Better than paying more with Aldo & still Made in China with comparable quality.
Pedro shoes are not comfortable and the linings come off easily.
GreenWhite
post Feb 4 2016, 09:15 PM

153 posts

Thanks for input guys, regarding pedro. Usually when I walk into any shop, I like to touch and feel the shoes. And Pedro, in particular feels very weird to the touch. Hard to bend as well.

Oh, and the price not cheap. Around 300-400 nowadays.

This post has been edited by GreenWhite: Feb 4 2016, 09:17 PM
arashikage
post Jul 19 2016, 01:34 AM

Obermain is Singaporean as welll...
The same company distribute Hush Puppies, Renoma and Dockers branded shoes...

This post has been edited by arashikage: Jul 19 2016, 01:38 AM
Thiru2224
post Oct 13 2016, 08:15 AM

Valentino rudy is just a piece of shit brand. The shoes that I used lightly for 8 months has a huge tear on the side of it now. The Japanese (valentino rudy) tried to rip off from the original Valentino (Italian) brand, and from the looks of it, failed miserably.
GreenWhite
post Oct 13 2016, 03:21 PM

153 posts

Not only that, they're ugly as hell.

skeleton202
post Oct 16 2016, 08:26 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

Nowadays most brand found in parkson like rudy,obermain,croc etc are all soso quality.. 1year of usage and bad things happened
Anderson/Darling
post Oct 17 2016, 09:22 PM

22 posts

Looking for affordable dress shirt for work, any recommendation guys?
niakulah
post Oct 18 2016, 10:20 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Anderson/Darling @ Oct 17 2016, 09:22 PM)
Looking for affordable dress shirt for work, any recommendation guys?
Once upon a time my answer would have been reject Charles Tyrwitt/Brooks Brothers/Jos A Bank at FOS...but they seem to have run out and haven't seen any new stock for a long time.
SkyHermit
post Nov 2 2016, 10:17 PM

1,799 posts

Anyone heard of Solace? They have a store in lot 10 bukit bintang. The staff claims it is from SG but when I googled it i found out that they are featured on the star newspaper before and I think it is a Malaysian brand with branch in SG. To be honest, their leather and quality looks good. Anyone know anything bout this Brand?
skystrike
post Nov 3 2016, 11:26 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

is arnold palmer is international brand related to recently passed away golfer...or it is just malaysian brand using his name??
spacelion
post Nov 3 2016, 03:41 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 18 2016, 10:20 AM)
Once upon a time my answer would have been reject Charles Tyrwitt/Brooks Brothers/Jos A Bank at FOS...but they seem to have run out and haven't seen any new stock for a long time.
I resold a lot of Brooks Brothers rejects on ebay brows.gif
karsna8
post Dec 8 2016, 01:24 PM

I own a Valentino Rudy lace up shoe bought from Parkson. Used rarely probably less than 5 times and about 1 1/2 year old. Today the upper sole is cracking and peeling. So disappointed with the quality. sad.gif
Twins10
post May 21 2017, 01:06 PM

919 posts

Do not buy Valentino Rudy. Fake leather. It says genuine Italian leather but it is cheap leather bits joined back with a layer of resin. It just dsintegrates!

I want to know if Kaufman is worth buying from house of leather. I have a kayfmann canvas bag with leather edging. Quite lasting but have not bought full leather from them. La padego whatever is also fake leather.
Wonder_Me
post Aug 21 2018, 01:02 PM

137 posts

Well to me as long as it last and good quality I don't mind local brand.
Just they always disappoints me when I trust the brand too much.
I use to love Padini clothing but yea it won't last as long as I wanted it to be.
My old Padini clothing lasted really long but the newer stocks just don't last that long anymore. sad.gif
tomyamcurry P
post Oct 30 2020, 10:10 PM

Probation

Guys Guys after having come across this post, I did a little research on Obermain and found that Obermain really is from Germany. And for some of you who couldn't find the brand while you were in Germany, that because the brand had closed its factories in 1990.

It'll be a shock to the rest of you here but Obermain isn't as big as it is here in Southeast Asia as it is in Germany. In fact, Obermain probably only ever operated their stores in the little town of Burgkunstadt. To my research, I found that this town it was founded in was well known to many as a shoe-making town back in its heyday. Obermain didn't start off as "Obermain" when it was established in 1888. In fact, Obermain was originally called "Kordigast", before it got renamed to the present name we're all familiar of, albeit a bit different ("Obermain-Schuhfabrik").

You may all read more about Obermain's history in the following links, and i've uploaded some photos I've found of Obermain online too, which accurately matches the description as described on Obermain Malaysia and Southeast Asia websites.

Links:
1. https://www.obermain.de/lokal/altenkunstadt...t=1603996638167

2. https://www.infranken.de/lk/lichtenfels/in-...auf-art-5085469

3. https://www.obermain.de/lokal/bad-staffelst...t=1603996865687

So apparently our local Obermain stores must have been localised many many years ago, since its original factories had closed down way back in the year 1990. However, I personally have come across German-made Obermain shoes here in local stores. Heck, my dad used to own two of them, made in Germany. I wouldn't be surprised if there are still people from the town it originated from, commissioned by the Obermain franchise here, to produce some shoes by commission. A lot of industries do that now. Even Jimmy Choo occassionally does designs for his namesake brands, by appointment and commission, to which he himself had already left the company back in 2001.
tomyamcurry P
post Oct 30 2020, 10:11 PM

Probation

tomyamcurry P
post Oct 30 2020, 10:23 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 12 2011, 05:09 PM)
its fine when you get what you pay for..but a lot of cheap shit and local brands are selling at exorbitant prices and you still get shit in the end. case in point Polo Haus, Crocodile etc.

Lacoste vs Crocodile? srsly.. no fight, Lacoste uses MOP buttons, the fabric is light and breathable.. colours are awesome.

And Polo Haus.. whats with the curved mallet? How the hell you play polo with a curved mallet.. and people pay a hefty sum for what they get believing its PRL.

thanks for the heads up on Jaspal.

How about Hush Puppies? I believe they bought the rights to the brand here and they seem pretty successful.

Obermain.. I never seen this brand at all while I was in Frankfurt.. German my @ss.
That's because it originated from a little town called Burgkunstadt and probably only ever operated stores there. You can read more about Obermain's history here:

https://www.obermain.de/lokal/altenkunstadt...t=1603996638167

I also just posted my detailed comment of Obermain to this topic, after having done some research (to which also, after having read your comment).

It felt odd after having read your comments, cuz my dad himself used to own actual Made-In-Germany Obermain shoes (it's been so many years, my dad already threw them away), which you may be surprised that they were bought from our local department stores.

I believe that for many brands out there no longer have their products made in their country of origin. Heck even Levis jeans are made in China and Indonesia. So I wouldn't be surprised if Obermain no longer has their shoes made in Germany.

I hope this comment helps in enlightening you about this subject matter.
Jason
post Oct 30 2020, 11:10 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(tomyamcurry @ Oct 30 2020, 10:23 PM)
That's because it originated from a little town called Burgkunstadt and probably only ever operated stores there. You can read more about Obermain's history here:

https://www.obermain.de/lokal/altenkunstadt...t=1603996638167

I also just posted my detailed comment of Obermain to this topic, after having done some research (to which also, after having read your comment).

It felt odd after having read your comments, cuz my dad himself used to own actual Made-In-Germany Obermain shoes (it's been so many years, my dad already threw them away), which you may be surprised that they were bought from our local department stores.

I believe that for many brands out there no longer have their products made in their country of origin. Heck even Levis jeans are made in China and Indonesia. So I wouldn't be surprised if Obermain no longer has their shoes made in Germany.

I hope this comment helps in enlightening you about this subject matter.
You can get made in Japan and made in US Levi's. It's just a higher range.

As for Obermain
Are you sure that Obermain in Malaysia is related to that Obermain? lol.
Let me ask you a simpler question. Do you think Polo Ralph Lauren outlets you see in Bali is related to Polo Ralph Lauren in the United States?

I can tell you my German friends from Munich and Frankfurt has never seen this Obermain in Germany. Why would an authentic German brand, not exist in Germany, not made in Germany, not sold in Germany, be sold only in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore? lol.

And just because you put a German word with the word Germany next to it doesn't mean it originates from Germany lol.

Do you think they are from Japan? And do you think TWG Teas is founded in 1837?

This post has been edited by Jason: Oct 30 2020, 11:10 PM
Jason
post Oct 30 2020, 11:16 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(tomyamcurry @ Oct 30 2020, 10:11 PM)

Why you so keen to prove Obermain in Malaysia is from Germany? Obermain is your father's company? Anyway, Jason is right, as usual. Cause All your base are belong to us. It's a dead (real) German brand, that the one in Malaysia just use. 1 has not relationship to the other.

https://de.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geschichte_...dt_Burgkunstadt

tomyamcurry P
post Oct 31 2020, 11:52 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 30 2020, 11:16 PM)
Why you so keen to prove Obermain in Malaysia is from Germany? Obermain is your father's company? Anyway, Jason is right, as usual. Cause All your base are belong to us. It's a dead (real) German brand, that the one in Malaysia just use. 1 has not relationship to the other.

Wow thanks for your not-so-kind reply. I guess you must be one of those kids who grew up in an environment where your parents are always praising you that you're always right. Well then if you're right then right lo. I won't wanna argue with someone who's rude. Have a good day 💪💪
tomyamcurry P
post Oct 31 2020, 11:57 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 30 2020, 11:16 PM)

And wow such assumptions, Obermain's my dad's company! Since you said that you're always right, then yes, Obermain is my dad's company. 👏👏👏👏👏 The amount of assumptions you have is astounding. Your friends in Germany must have good geography knowledge and know every little inch of Germany. Then let me ask you a question: do you know every little part of Malaysia, and their small kedai runcit store? Your friends in Munich and Frankfurt never heard of it, doesn't mean it never existed boy. And oh yes, I know that US and Indonesia Polo Ralph Laurens may not be related. For someone like you who has been to Germany, you sound surprisingly "educated" with your statements. You didn't even read the article I shared properly that it closed down its factories in 1990 to move to the FAR EAST. 🙄 Read carefully next time. Kay bye.
Jason
post Nov 1 2020, 02:33 AM

6,354 posts

As for Obermain
Are you sure that Obermain in Malaysia is related to that Obermain? lol.

Why would an authentic German brand, not exist in Germany, not made in Germany, not sold in Germany, be sold only in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore? lol.
Deflecting and not answering the question?

A new account, registered here with a few post and eagerly defending Obermain.

I’ve been here long enough to see cyber troopers of your kind come and go. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

calodin
post Dec 21 2020, 08:12 AM

263 posts

Miniso is a Chinese company, the owner went to Japan and registered Miniso, then export it back to China. TWG was established in 2007, their Jams are made in Malaysia by a small OEM manufacturer in JB...the OEM also make the same Jam to sell by their own for a fraction of the price.
niakulah
post Dec 21 2020, 02:33 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Dec 21 2020, 08:12 AM)
Miniso is a Chinese company, the owner went to Japan and registered Miniso, then export it back to China. TWG was established in 2007, their Jams are made in Malaysia by a small OEM manufacturer in JB...the OEM also make the same Jam to sell by their own for a fraction of the price.
Mind sharing the brand name of the OEM jam? TIA.

0.0697sec    0.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:51 AM