Concerts In BluRay
dirtrun
Jan 26 2010, 04:52 PM
I hv a few concert bds .. namely Shakira, Hall n Oates, Barry Manilow, Kenny G, Chris Botti , David Foster n Celine Dion( oso a ttl called Corteo but tats not a concert per se..) n as a pckgd product CD is one fine production.. VDO is excellent n u hv to to be in awe of its sets/props.. All de rest is fine but no comparison to CD..
I do believe tat u mus be a fan to want to buy a live concert on media.. its definitely not sumtin tat u can learn to love, after multiple viewings or sumtin like tat..
Jus my 2 cts D
dirtrun
Feb 10 2010, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 10 2010, 04:05 PM) A word of thanks and gratitude to all who contributed to this thread. Based on the recommendations, I ordered Celine Dion in Las Vegas, Il Divo in Barcelona and Andrea Bocelli in Tuscany. The BD arrived yesterday afternoon ( lag time 9 days). Watched Il Divo and Celine Dion at one strectch last night and my wife and I were both more than pleased.... May I ask, do you all watch in stereo or use the 5.1 option? I switched to stereo for the Celine Dion concert as the side surround was 'leaking' some high freq music that was rather distracting. Glad u enjoyed de recommendations.. I personally watchd Celine Dion - Vegas Concert in lossless odo.. didnt detect any obtrusive sound frm de surrnds .. mostly surr worked during de ambience parts of audience participation at end/beginnin of songs.. Cheers D
dirtrun
Mar 10 2010, 10:56 AM
MJ's This Is It now tops my list for audio in a concert bd, thou; officially 'this is it' isnt really a concert..
D
dirtrun
Mar 10 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Mar 10 2010, 10:57 AM) ????  u sure?? david foster & celine dion still the best for me now for AQ, PQ & entertainment factor as well  Hi.. Yes .. but for odo.. I didnt say de vdo is briliiant.. try it n get back to me on tis.. [ for vdo - its so so only - sligtly above avrg] Odo is solid wif full use of surrounds n sub.. I dunno if its technical gimmickry at work but de odo is sublime wif none of dat bleedin ambience sound associated wif a wide open space concert - tis one sounds like its in a closed hall.. Like I said previously, its not really a concert.. My 2 cts D
dirtrun
Mar 10 2010, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Mar 10 2010, 03:27 PM)  i have the BD.... audio ok la but because it's rehearsal only, MJ's voice & performance kinda teruk wor...  YMMV..
dirtrun
Mar 12 2010, 10:14 AM
Listened to MJ's This Is It again last nite.. Didnt on de pj, jus listened thru de spkrs.. on de song The way u make me feel - the drums were everywhere ie one beat per spkr n it went all round 5 channels.. On most songs the mixing is surr heaven utilising full range sound frm all spkrs
D
dirtrun
Mar 12 2010, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 12 2010, 11:00 AM) The surr mix is indeed very good. I cranked at loud vol (-12dB)  Darn syiok..... Waiting for another 13-Ultra to plonk into the room. I was on -15 on my 7002's dial .. wat is remarkable is tat de sound can literally pop out .. its prbbly de sound engineers trick but it sounds great.. O ya, a gud sub is a must to enjoy tis bd.. D
dirtrun
Mar 19 2010, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Mar 18 2010, 07:37 PM) Anyone owned Michael Buble concert BD? Is it worth to buy? Hi, I hv de local speedy version : VDO is gud but I seem to hv a bit of a prblm wif its dts hd odo -- there dont seem to be vocals cuming frm de ctr channel.. note pls tat its quite hard to discern this as if u normally sit in d sweet spot, u prbbly would miss tis as vocals still emit thru de LR channels.. De only way I can force vocals thru de ctr is by using de pcm track n force dpl thru my 7002.. Worth notin is tat, at first I tot its a one off prblm wif my disc.. then I got hold of a BDR - china version n its exactly de same.. Other than tat, MB is s must hv if u like his kind of music.. Cheers D
dirtrun
Apr 16 2010, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 16 2010, 11:43 AM) Celine: Through the Eyes of the World (2010) Celine travels to five continents and 25 countries, putting on show-stopping performances of some of her biggest hits. However, this world tour is different as Celine is traveling with her husband, her 8-year-old son, her mother, and her extended family. Starring: Celine Dion, René Angelil, René-Charles Director: Stephane Laporte Priced at USD21.99 [Pre-order]  I read de excerpts of tat n it dont seem veri intrstng.. I guess if u r a Celine fan, than its okla.. I veri much doubt tis can beat her Las Vegas one.. D
dirtrun
Apr 16 2010, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 16 2010, 01:25 PM) that more of documentary....i dont think more of singing.. Yup.. Sounds like heaven for fanboys/gals of Ms Dion.. I knw ppl like tis exist.. watch de sp features disc on d Las Vegas Concert n u wil c sum watch de concert like 20/30 times n mind u, d askin prc per entry is not cheap.. D
dirtrun
Apr 20 2010, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 19 2010, 09:23 PM) This is first concert in 3D that I saw in Amazon: Kenny Chesney: Summer (3-D) [Blu-ray] $13.99 This title will be released on June 8, 2010. Actually.. Theres de Jonas Bros n Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus concerts which are both in 3D.. On another note ,  I chekd out de odo off d Police concert.. namely Wrapped ard ur finger n King of Pain.. n its veri gud .. odo is dlby truhd n its recorded hot..louder than normal.. bass is gud but cant beat MJ's Tis is it.. at least for d 2 songs tat I tried out.. This post has been edited by dirtrun: Apr 20 2010, 12:12 PM