Investment Neo Damansara Perdana, New Service Apartments

TSmercury8400
post Jan 24 2010, 09:21 PM, updated 16y ago

2,703 posts

Went to Neo damansara soft launched for their studio service apartments. Starting price from RM 270K onwards with 2% early bird discount and a further 5% discount on bulk buying. Location is just beside Ritze Perdana 2 and opposite MQS facing Mutiara Damansara. Details as follows:

Unit size - 421sqft - 522sqft
Price - RM 270K onwards
Downpayment- 5%
Expected rental yield - RM 1500
Maintenance Fee- RM0.35 (Damn expensive)

Do you guys think its a good investment for the 421sqft studio unit based on the below:-

5% down payment - RM13,500
RM 250k 30 year loan - repayment should be around RM 900-1000.
Added RM 150 maintenance fee per month
Total - RM 1150 v.s. rental yield of RM 1500.

What do you guys think??
eugene jk
post Jan 24 2010, 09:24 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 24 2010, 09:21 PM)
Went to Neo damansara soft launched for their studio service apartments. Starting price from RM 270K onwards with 2% early bird discount and a further 5% discount on bulk buying. Location is just beside Ritze Perdana 2 and opposite MQS facing Mutiara Damansara. Details as follows:

Unit size - 421sqft - 522sqft
Price - RM 270K onwards
Downpayment- 5%
Expected rental yield - RM 1500
Maintenance Fee- RM0.35 (Damn expensive)

Do you guys think its a good investment for the 421sqft studio unit based on the below:-

5% down payment - RM13,500
RM 250k 30 year loan - repayment should be around RM 900-1000.
Added RM 150 maintenance fee per month
Total - RM 1150 v.s. rental yield of RM 1500. 

What do you guys think??
Haven't count in quit rent and assessment leh.. commercial title should be more expensive... parking buy or rent?
TSmercury8400
post Jan 24 2010, 09:29 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(eugene jk @ Jan 24 2010, 09:24 PM)
Haven't count in quit rent and assessment leh.. commercial title should be more expensive... parking buy or rent?
Yep. Haven't got a clue how much the quit rent and assesment. 1 Parking lot is included.
eugene jk
post Jan 24 2010, 09:38 PM

1,479 posts

Price is very steep... RM640 psqft...

Empire Damansara was going around RM350 psqft.. no wonder Empire was selling like Hot Cake..

With the same amount of rental.. Empire stand better chance of getting better ROI.. my 2 cents..
leongal
post Jan 24 2010, 09:40 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i think there will be alot of competition in that area.....will you be able to get people to rent that place? - will be another question
eugene jk
post Jan 24 2010, 09:48 PM

1,479 posts

The one with better "value for $$" will win..

I can see Empire have better advantage.. if asking rental at RM1000 permonth, adi getting ROI of 6%

For NEO, asking rental price at RM1500 permonth generate ROI less than 6%

Rental price already look attractive ...
cutealex
post Jan 24 2010, 11:19 PM

Buy Lands,Properties& Precious Metals..
4,790 posts

studio service apartments - who going to rent that high .. got such huge market demand ?
eugene jk
post Jan 24 2010, 11:56 PM

1,479 posts

Yea... huge market i dun dare to say la... i would say niche market... there is always a demand for it... whether they wan to rent from you or not is a matter of "value for $$"... so have to choose wisely, not watever studio unit also hantam... tenants also very good in calculating biggrin.gif

not only aiming for rich expat, Msian also getting along the trend of renting studio unit.. know a fren who rent studio apartment... she is a M'sian~
leongal
post Jan 24 2010, 11:58 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

btw...tis is the place where domino's is located rite?
TSmercury8400
post Jan 25 2010, 11:33 AM

2,703 posts

I was told empire does not have parking lot..... and all sold out already
eugene jk
post Jan 25 2010, 12:15 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 25 2010, 11:33 AM)
I was told empire does not have parking lot..... and all sold out already
Because its value for $$ .. even need to rent carpark thumbup.gif

TSmercury8400
post Jan 26 2010, 11:05 PM

2,703 posts

judging by the location, Neo is nearer to Curve(walking distance) and the units facing curve will have better demand. Meanwhile i think empire is cheaper but further away.
madman.com
post Jan 27 2010, 03:59 PM

351 posts

empire studio is selling unit itself only, without any carpark attached, and without any facilities. That place with no car park lot will b a problem.
TSmercury8400
post Jan 30 2010, 06:05 PM

2,703 posts

Latest update neo is 55% sold. People still lapping up despite the steep prices.
ronaldoo
post Jan 31 2010, 06:15 PM

526 posts

Is it located at sungai buloh
TSmercury8400
post Feb 12 2010, 11:09 PM

2,703 posts

One more point is that ED is not a condo and more like an apartment coz no facilities(i.e. swimming pool, gym,etc) and carpark hence cheaper
airline
post Feb 13 2010, 10:15 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

are u sure ED look like apartment. more like hotel is it
uglytwinkle
post Mar 25 2010, 07:53 PM

188 posts

I think it's good to grab it but you still need to pay another 5% of that amount because normally bank only approve 90% as a loan.

airline
post Mar 25 2010, 11:50 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

this is commercial 20/80 margin.

lucky ones get 85%.
yewkhuay
post Mar 26 2010, 09:17 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

250k loan u will be expected to be paying 1200/m dy.
TSmercury8400
post Mar 27 2010, 05:24 PM

2,703 posts

yewkhuay, how did you come up with 1200/m?
Yes BLR has increased from 5.55% to 5.80% but that only an increase of 0.25%. Simple cal would be RM 250,000 *0.25% = 625 p.a. = 52.00 pm
Currently bank's are still offering BLR -1.65% which would be around 1000++.
Bearing in mid rental for f/f studio (345 sqft) NOW is RM 1200-1400.
Further with the imminent implemetation of GST in 2011,2012 prices of apartments will go up....... whether rental or cap gains

0.0149sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:53 AM