WTA about ram OC'ing, corsair xms2 ddr2 800

TShaf 932
post Jan 24 2010, 06:52 PM, updated 16y ago

102 posts

for the past few days ive been running all 4 sticks at 533mhz(1066) speed with 5.7.7.24 timings.since these rams are actually ddr2 800(5.5.5.18 timings), is it safe to use this speed?voltage used now is 2.0v.i touched the ram,the heat is tolerable.its warm but not too hot though.passed occt with nil error too.i know that the performance gain is not much or none at all but if the ram is capable of running such speed then why not.

also what's the sweetest timings to go with ddr2 1066 ram?coz i think i might be able to lower the timing a bit more.so give me ur opinion k thx.

This post has been edited by haf 932: Jan 25 2010, 06:29 PM

bryanyeo87
post Jan 25 2010, 01:03 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

voltage is fine, speeds are fine.

sweetest possible known ddr 1066 timings are 4-4-4-10 for daily runs.

unfortunately, those timings are only existent on the extinct D9GMH/GKX chipped rams.

//Moved to Q&A
kuntawakaw
post Jan 25 2010, 07:45 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

okeh..now im dare/able to reply once it been moved to HW QA

2.0vdimm is very2 ok bro... u set the limit ur self...consider the air flow + heat.

the sweet timing, u pick it urself..no one can tell u..
like bryan said... 1066 cl4..

i will saying 950 cl5
because different ram used..and different ramchip involved..( + the skill gap between me and bryan ofkos biggrin.gif )
tighten and try urself. be heppi
uzer85
post Jan 25 2010, 09:32 AM

love............love......
3,812 posts

tighten ur timing more, try 5-5-5-18 or 5-6-6-6-18.

faster but larger timings doesnt give a performance boost than 800 at -5-4-4-11.

This post has been edited by uzer85: Jan 25 2010, 09:34 AM
TShaf 932
post Jan 25 2010, 10:24 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 25 2010, 09:32 AM)
tighten ur timing more, try 5-5-5-18 or 5-6-6-6-18.

faster but larger timings doesnt give a performance boost than 800 at -5-4-4-11.
tried 5.5.5.18 timing last nite but failed.get d5 error from mobo.maybe i need to up the vdimm more.what the vdimm limit for corsair ddr2 eh?

i dun hv ram cooler installed but i dun worry bout heat much coz my killerwhale is blowing air to the ram slot.
kuntawakaw
post Jan 25 2010, 10:27 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

ts
digest this
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=627600&hl=timing

or just take a look at the graph...
TShaf 932
post Jan 25 2010, 06:36 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 25 2010, 10:27 AM)
ts
digest this
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=627600&hl=timing

or just take a look at the graph...
thx..i'll have a look at it.

Added on January 26, 2010, 7:41 pmfinally settled down with 5.6.6.18 timings at 1066 speed.not bad for a cheap ddr2 800 eh

This post has been edited by haf 932: Jan 26 2010, 07:41 PM

0.0144sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:07 PM