post Sep 9 2012, 02:14 AM

4,697 posts

ISTP

Introverted (I) 68.97% Extroverted (E) 31.03%
Sensing (S) 51.35% Intuitive (N) 48.65%
Thinking (T) 71.43% Feeling (F) 28.57%
Perceiving (P) 62.86% Judging (J) 37.14%

True enough, I'm an introvert. I don't like working in a team. (I)

Quite true too because I'm not sure whether I prefer looking at the big picture or the details. (50/50 S or N)

True enough, I make decisions based on logic. (T)

True enough, I don't like to plan and I schedule my daily tasks inside my head instead of writing it down. (P)
Blofeld
post Mar 23 2013, 12:37 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Mar 23 2013, 02:10 AM)
Hi Blofeld,

So, according to Keirsey Temperament Sorter, you are a Crafter Artisan as Crafters correlate with the ISTP Myers-Briggs type. You like to take time to analyze information and make logical decisions. When presented with a problem or a task, you immediately begin to logically think the situation through by collecting information, asking yourself questions, and looking for the best course of action. You like to relate principles of science, technology, or other areas of expertise to problem solving, and you like to find ways to try your ideas and test your conclusions. As a Crafter, you enjoy playing with things to see what will happen.

Since you have started on the PhD program in Organizational Behavior, what topic in OB do you like the most? Essentially you'll provide consultancy services to firms that apply performance-based rewards to leverage the power of OB practices, which translate into more favorable employee attitudes, decisions, and performance. Who knows the future, ASTRO might call you to host a TV program to confer “the best place to work” awards to companies that earn it.

Thank you Critical_Fallacy for opening up my eyes on this Keirsey Temperament Theory.

After reading more on Artisan Crafter, I realised I'm not an ISTP afterall laugh.gif although some of the descriptions may fit me. But....

* I'm definitely not an Artisan Crafter because I do not like to play with tools and engines.

* I do not like to expose myself to dirt and danger.

Since I'm on the verge between sensing and intuition and after reading more on Rational Architect, I would say I'm more of an INTP (Rational Architect). rclxms.gif Why?

* I like designing theoretical systems or to conjure theoretical analysis.

* I prefer working alone and I work best alone.

* I may be a quiet person but when comes to public speaking/debate, I may be a fiery speaker blush.gif

* And I would say the entire description fits me well.

* And coincidentally, I like drawing/painting and architect was one of my childhood ambition but somehow I didn't end up as an architect laugh.gif

I like to work more with creative pragmatic ideas and analysis rather than to delve myself into practical stuff dealing with tools and engines. And perhaps that's why I decided to quit the corporate world because I find corporate "practical" administrative work boring and meaningless.

I like any topics on Organisational Behaviour or Organisational Psychology but fairness in the workplace is something that strikes me. Workplace fairness interests me maybe because I experienced inequity in the workplace in the past. I like any OB topics as long as I can conjure or play around with any theoretical frameworks and to propose an idealistic but pragmatic work place.

And wow.... you could really read my mind because I enjoy and I always look forward to hosting a program one day.

This post has been edited by Blofeld: Mar 23 2013, 12:42 PM
Blofeld
post Mar 24 2013, 11:47 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Mar 23 2013, 11:30 PM)
Talking about organizational justice, fairness is a rather well-established influence on employee loyalty and satisfaction. For example, lower-level employees may feel a greater sense of fairness and open communication when they are able to provide upward feedback about their boss’s performance. Perhaps, this kind of phrase “Inclusive Meritocracy” may hook you.

I have searched and there isn't a thread about OB. Shouldn't you start a fresh topic about OB in PhD School? nod.gif I believe some of us (post-grads & post-docs), having had some working experience, may contribute something meaningful such as Workplace Emotions and Attitudes, Power and Influence in the Workplace, Conflict and Negotiation in the Workplace, etc. to your research.

Wow....u know a lot. You surprised me. notworthy.gif

I thought you are from the science field. Exactly which field are you from?

Inclusive meritocracy is a term I have not heard before. Thank you for the suggestion. I think I had enough of reading OB topics day in day out from the articles. Haha. Instead, I am actually thinking of opening a fresh topic on statistical analysis and at least everyone can ask questions about statistics and anyone can help answering them.

Well, I'm still trying to understand bootstrapping now. blush.gif

The Baron and Kenny's (1986) approach to mediation analysis is said to be outdated, and now, Preacher and Hayes (2004; 2008) introduce a new approach to mediation analysis (bootstrapping).
Blofeld
post Apr 3 2013, 07:13 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Apr 2 2013, 11:09 PM)
Right! Applied Science.

By the way, could you share your insights on "How to deal with Aggressive, Bad & Crazy (ABC) Slave-Driving Bosses ... and survive the ordeal?"
Haha...

I don't think any academic articles have answers for that.

But through experience, I was once taught by a senior colleague on how to deal with such superiors. I was taught to document everything down because she is well-known to steal credit from others and pushing blames to others. She was not in my department but yet she could still bullied me. cry.gif So, I had to learn the school of hard-knocks that documentation is very important to protect myself.

In my opinion, I believe one should approach the HR department if anyone has such supervisors because HR dept are supposed to be the "counselling centre" for every company.

If the HR is ineffective, no choice but to quit the organisation unless you could "tahan" to face such people everyday.

Nevertheless, it is the responsibility of the company to recruit the right supervisors but if such abusive supervisors are already there, top management should have told that person off to learn how to "behave".
Blofeld
post Jan 12 2014, 12:48 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jan 11 2014, 10:00 PM)
Hi Blofeld,

Are you "She-Hulk"? sweat.gif

I am Ka-zar icon_rolleyes.gif
Blofeld
post Jan 15 2014, 08:48 AM

4,697 posts

I'm actually an INTP.

Can I be Reed Richards, please?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-S5fyULOzSac/Uqt2...s-Full_Size.jpg
Blofeld
post Jan 22 2014, 11:11 AM

4,697 posts

Since women are said to be more emotional, I am curious whether are there any females (who have taken the test) who have preference on thinking over feelings?

0.0246sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:13 PM