Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" v.24, Lifetime Free GPS Navigation + v40.0.005

hestia
post Feb 4 2010, 12:11 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Feb 4 2010, 12:02 AM)
my tube always appear like this..when unlock my tube and sometimes when receive a call-in..im using my key lock, tried off the app,but the problem still occur, why meh?

[attachmentid=1433322]
i have exactly the same problem! started a month ago...
before, when it happens, i just lock it again then press the power button on top of the phone and screen becomes ok...
now, i cannot even do that trick anymore... i just wait until my 5800 feels like cooperating with me...
haiz... i love my 5800 but this screen problem is getting frustrating

oh btw, my first time again in many months to visit LYN 5800 thread... bought my tube in jan2009
hestia
post Feb 4 2010, 12:28 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:19 AM)
did u bring dis matter up to ncc?
not yet, but planning to go this weekend. just got back from long trip overseas.
unfortunately, this fuzzy screen started happening when my warranty has just ended!
ack, need to shell out money again if ever ncc guys say that need to change lcd...

i've been googling, and a lot of people are experiencing the same kind of problem.
funny thing is that they said it usually happens when the phone is exposed to cold weather...

hestia
post Feb 4 2010, 12:43 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Feb 4 2010, 12:33 AM)
but mine never exposed to cold wheather, i tried the method posted in previous page (youtube video), it works, turn on the camera by pressing the shutter button, lock the phone, then unlock, but..to do this and that everytime when using the phone is a no-no for me..updating to v40, hoping the prob solve, but sadly its still occur until now..
sadly, that doesnt work on my phone anymore. i think it became immune already to all the techniques available. cry.gif

update to v40 didnt help either. sheeeesh, it is becoming such a hassle especially when need to reply to an sms or answer a call, cannot see anything. all blur blur.

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:34 AM)
lcd change needs around rm200. must be the cold weather effect from the country u had visited. u went Antarctic is it?hahah
that's why, burning a hole in my pocket again! doh.gif

did not go to antartica hahaha! wish i could

weather wasn't really that cold... it was probably around 13-15degCelsius when it started happening to my phone. some say online that i need to warm up the phone first but then it is still not working. now, i'm back in hot hot hot malaysia and i still have the problem.

hestia
post Feb 4 2010, 10:47 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:54 AM)
13-15 celcius? let me guess...erm aussie?

13-15 is cold dude.(wish m'sia has winter season  smile.gif ) u should warm it up first.
our resistive touchscreen panel has this electrically conductive layers which anti the cold effect.
hmmm...
my advise, get a quotation from both ncc and local shop e.g lowyat.
go for the cheapest and definitely take good care of it in future (make sure lock ur touch screen all the time when it is idle)
it's warmed up already, more than ever, but the screen won't go back to normal. since the phone is not covered by the warranty anymore, i guess i have no choice but shell out some cash to have it fixed.

i'm just afraid that when LCD gets changed and i go back again to that cold place, then it starts happening again. unsure.gif

0.0463sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:13 PM