Photography Guide - How to take good care of your DSLR, General care, storage, battery care, etc

goldfries
post Feb 2 2010, 03:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Feb 2 2010, 12:12 AM)
the reduce speed is in term of shutter-speed, example
on a situation, you can take nominal exposure (EV+0) with setting 1/60 F4 with UV filter off..
but if with UV filter, you maybe need to use 1/30 to form a same exposure.. (this depend on uv filter reduce how many stop)
since when does UV reduce so much light la?

Added on February 2, 2010, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Jan 25 2010, 06:01 PM)
seems like there're lots for me to learn b4 taking up a dslr plan...
thx 4 this thread btw =D It helps alot.
not necessarily. you can just buy DSLR and learn it along the way. smile.gif

what is stated here are guides.

Added on February 2, 2010, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 2 2010, 03:36 PM)
Oh I see..... Thx for the explanation.  smile.gif

I still need to read up on the f-stop and how it is affected by various factors in addition to how it affects your picture....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F-number

basically "Depth of field" increases with f-number. higher f-number means narrower aperture meaning less light go through so slower shutter speed.

lower f-number = wider aperture, more light come in, faster shutter speed can be used, less DOF, more bokeh. biggrin.gif

lenses are commonly not at their sharpest when at widest available aperture.
goldfries
post Mar 13 2010, 10:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 23 2010, 07:34 PM)
kmarc, a question here...

When i'm in a car, will those vibration n shocks from irregular road surfaces cause any damage to my camera?
FYI the camera is not as weak as what we think it is. in fact it's tough!

you think about it, which part of the car you put? cushion? in a bag? smile.gif or you put it in a hard metal case?

it's not uncommon for camera bodies to knock the human body, and other cameras and even walls and tables during events. they can withstand knocks and such.

in car? just put in a bag with some decent padding and you're all set to go. after all you put on the cushion anyway.
goldfries
post Mar 13 2010, 11:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you think too much liao la.

no point go so far leh. smile.gif for me the camera is always in a bag, with padding. sometimes i just put on the seat only, no seat belt. sometimes kena before brake the fella tumble, small matter.

damn difficult to kill any SLR la. at most something not working, can still fix. so that's not exactly KILL isn't it?

you worry too much.

Added on March 13, 2010, 11:49 pmif want to worry, i lagi worry last year cover event and standing near helicopter.

gila my sling bag also become sail already, some more i didn't close my bag. faster fasten it before all my glasses drop out. haha.
goldfries
post Mar 14 2010, 02:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 14 2010, 08:18 AM)
Here's what is stated in the my DSLR manual:

PRECAUTION

Do not use/store the camera in the following places:
- In an extremely hot, dry or humid place. In places such as in a car parked in the sun, the camera body may become deformed  sweat.gif  and this may cause a malfunction.
this applies to anything la. remember that your camera's LCD are also ......well, LIQUID!

many things around can melt as well since many part of it is plastic.

there are internal components to consider as well. i've placed in car parked in hot sun before but it's in a bag so before the heat reaches the camera internals, it has to heat up the car first, then the air, then through the back, then the air inside the bag.

left it there for few hours, was quite warm when i took it out of the car. i wouldn't do it on a a daily basis though, not for long run.

nowadays i just bring my stuff along. too heavy a risk, unless the place is secure.

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Mar 14 2010, 02:10 PM)
lol, thats a relieve =D
juz asking to see how tough can a dslr be, and it sounds pretty tough to me  biggrin.gif

never been close to a started copter b4 lol. So i don't know how strong the wind can be  blush.gif
mine shooting when heli landing. biggrin.gif imaging fighting the wind + handling the bag.

so far i face those heli on a yearly basis la, just that last year i don't recall the heli landing that near. this year if the organizer do the same thing, well heli time again! hopefully by then I'll have my belt units ready.

goldfries
post Feb 4 2017, 11:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Nov 23 2016, 04:17 AM)
is that dlsr screen protector is a must?
i just bought eos80d..  gonna use it for 4-5years
Not a need, unless you're that careless.

0.0227sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:04 PM