HTC EVO 4G - 1st Wimax/4G android phone, aka HTC SUPERSONIC

Cynox
post May 25 2010, 09:48 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 22 2010, 11:13 PM)
ya,it is CDMA phone which only WORKS in US...dont think there is GSM version for Evo 4g in future
what make you think there will not be a GSM version for the EVO 4G in the future?
Cynox
post May 25 2010, 01:36 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 25 2010, 12:43 PM)
just my own opinion..what i mean was there could be no evo 4g for GSM..
but mayb htc will build up another GSM model that have large screen or same hardware with evo but dun think included 4g...

evo 4g is like purposely built for use with Sprint and utilized their 4g coverage..
thats what i think only...

EDIT: if there is a gsm version for evo 4g, expect to get it in next few months or end of the year...US only release it on early of june
oic... i thought you have insider info. laugh.gif

I dun care about 4G, just port the phone to GSM 3G with the rest of the killer specs and I will get one definately. I also expect it to be out end of year or early next year IF it really be converted into GSM.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 25 2010, 01:36 PM
Cynox
post May 26 2010, 10:49 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 25 2010, 04:04 PM)
by that time it out end of the year,i belive htc already released a similar phone which may perform better than evo brows.gif
I am contented with the current specs of EVO 4G - WiFi, tethering and HDMI output and the slick black design. The first 3 features will not have significant chnages/improvement in the near future. So I dun think any future release will bother me.

Other festures like phone camera/video recorder might be upgraded in the next model but imho they are just marketing gimmick, they can't even replace the mid-end point and shoot. I think in another year, PnS camera will have decent 720p recording for sure.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 26 2010, 11:10 AM
Cynox
post Jun 4 2010, 10:58 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Android Central review - IRRESISTABLE!!! drool.gif

http://www.androidcentral.com/review-sprin...roid-smartphone

Cynox
post Jun 6 2010, 11:04 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

i would prefer the EVO over a 10" netbook anytime. Average notebook computer is not for gaming anyway.
Cynox
post Jun 7 2010, 10:29 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Just read about something new about Scorpio. It has been rumour to be available in GSM soon and come with EVO form factor. We might get it as the GSM version of EVO maybe. brows.gif

Different ppl will have different need for a mobile device. For me, I just need to check email and maybe reading news on my mobile device when I am in a transit at airport. Or while waiting for food to be served when I am with my family in the restaurant with Wi-Fi. Or share videos with my friend during a gathering (good time to show off your phone tongue.gif ) A large screen mobile phone is better than a small netbook in this case.

A smart phone is almost a part of my daily life now. My Treo 680 has all my contacts, notes, passwords, bank details, and not forgetting games that kill time while waiting in a bank/office or anywhere else.

Speaking of games - I dun think mobile phone's games is less addictive and fun than games that you can play on the netbook/notebook. And it is far more convenient too - you just take out your phone and start playing, rather than starting up your computer and wait for few minutes for it to boot. When it is your turn at the bank or anywhere else, just slip the phone into your pocket. Can you imagine you need to shut down your notebook.... so troublesome. rclxub.gif Moreover, no one will know what you are doing with your phone? laugh.gif
Cynox
post Jun 7 2010, 11:42 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

currently the Desire does not have a killer feature that can make it irresistable to me. My Treo 680 is having some minor problem lately but all can be resolved with a soft reboot. So I hope it can tahan until the EVO or similar phone reach here or Spore. The HDMI output and 720p playback of the EVO is the feature I hope to have in my next smartphone. And if wait until year end, I believe the phone will come with Froyo as default, which will boost the performance further.

But if my Treo really dies before year end (touch wood), then no choice I will have to settle for a Desire. Buying Desire now and change it later will cost money which i dun want. sweat.gif
Cynox
post Jun 7 2010, 12:04 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 7 2010, 11:44 AM)
lol
then u should have a try with samsung galaxy s which is better than evo in term of spec
I thought Samsung Galaxy S is very plasticky and build quality not that good? I heard their customer service also bad. Most importantly, the design not that appealing to me.

I need a device that can last for years - 2 years at least and do not require service if possible during that 2 years. But if really do need service, I want the customer service to be good. My current Treo 680 has been with me for slightly more than 3 years. My previous Treo 600 also lasted for 2 years plus before the battery problem started.
Cynox
post Jun 7 2010, 03:48 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Iphone is like a trend. During a weekend gathering with my former colleagues yesterday, many have upgraded to Iphone and all of them are ladies. That's why I am going for Android, the latest trend in mobile phone with promising future. Iphone is just too common. laugh.gif

0.0204sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:37 AM