Timezone problems, i'm getting mad

TSsoggie
post Feb 21 2005, 05:48 PM, updated 21y ago

Braindead
3,872 posts

Ok i'm using debian. in /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/ there're a lot of GMT values. I did this:

rm /etc/localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/GMT+8 /etc/localtime

but then, when i typed date, it shows 1.07 AM when it should show 5.07PM! Then when i changed GMT+8 to GMT-8, I get the correct time. Why is this? Last time I checked, malaysia's timezone is GMT+8 and not GMT-8... can anybody enlighten me on this?
LiteSpeed
post Feb 21 2005, 06:17 PM

505 posts

i think after you change the time zone you need to synchronize with a time server .

$ntpdate pool.ntp.org

or you need to manually set the time. As i reckon after you change time zoen the original time add and chane to that time zone.
wKkaY
post Feb 21 2005, 10:46 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

are you dual-booting this machine with windows?

if you are, then the system (CMOS) clock will be set to local time. you'll need to configure hwclock such that it compensates for this. edit /etcdefault/rcS , and change UTC to = yes . example:
CODE
# Set UTC=yes if your system clock is set to UTC (GMT), and UTC=no if not.
UTC=yes

(at install time you were given an opportunity to set this, at (iinm) the dialog 'Is system clock set to UTC?')

if you aren't, then run ntpdate (or equivalent) to reset your clock to the correct time.

in any case, you should only need to do this once wink.gif

This post has been edited by wKkaY: Feb 21 2005, 10:47 PM
jlchannel
post Feb 25 2005, 02:04 PM

290 posts

I run this for my crontab

8 0 * * * /usr/sbin/netdate ntp3.uni-erlangen.de > /dev/null; /sbin/hwclock -w -u

strider
post Feb 26 2005, 04:05 PM

164 posts

do u change the default time liao o not....?????
like date xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
huzt
post Mar 2 2005, 07:15 PM

96 posts

last time i using mandrake also encounter the same problem, I not so remember how do i correct it, but what i do is not using the GMT but stick to the BIOS(CMOS) localtime.

if u want to know more detail i suggest u refer to wKkaY.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

0.0143sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:04 AM