Timezone problems, i'm getting mad
TSsoggie
Feb 21 2005, 05:48 PM, updated 21y ago
Ok i'm using debian. in /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/ there're a lot of GMT values. I did this:
rm /etc/localtime ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/GMT+8 /etc/localtime
but then, when i typed date, it shows 1.07 AM when it should show 5.07PM! Then when i changed GMT+8 to GMT-8, I get the correct time. Why is this? Last time I checked, malaysia's timezone is GMT+8 and not GMT-8... can anybody enlighten me on this?
LiteSpeed
Feb 21 2005, 06:17 PM
i think after you change the time zone you need to synchronize with a time server .
$ntpdate pool.ntp.org
or you need to manually set the time. As i reckon after you change time zoen the original time add and chane to that time zone.
wKkaY
Feb 21 2005, 10:46 PM
misutā supākoru
are you dual-booting this machine with windows? if you are, then the system (CMOS) clock will be set to local time. you'll need to configure hwclock such that it compensates for this. edit /etcdefault/rcS , and change UTC to = yes . example: CODE # Set UTC=yes if your system clock is set to UTC (GMT), and UTC=no if not. UTC=yes (at install time you were given an opportunity to set this, at (iinm) the dialog 'Is system clock set to UTC?') if you aren't, then run ntpdate (or equivalent) to reset your clock to the correct time. in any case, you should only need to do this once This post has been edited by wKkaY: Feb 21 2005, 10:47 PM
jlchannel
Feb 25 2005, 02:04 PM

I run this for my crontab
8 0 * * * /usr/sbin/netdate ntp3.uni-erlangen.de > /dev/null; /sbin/hwclock -w -u
strider
Feb 26 2005, 04:05 PM

do u change the default time liao o not....????? like date xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
huzt
Mar 2 2005, 07:15 PM

last time i using mandrake also encounter the same problem, I not so remember how do i correct it, but what i do is not using the GMT but stick to the BIOS(CMOS) localtime. if u want to know more detail i suggest u refer to wKkaY.