[quote=buylowsellhigh,Oct 18 2010, 04:29 PM]
if like tat...how can we switch a equity fund to bond fund that we dont hv account b4 this...after switch to bond fund....we also need to leave 1000 units in the bond fund to make it active for the next round ? then only we can switch back the $$?
if like that....we need to hv at least 2000 unit or more to do switch from equity to bond then back to equity?.....
if invest around rm2000 or rm3000 1st at equity fund....switching actually can't be done in term of we want to gain value from switching between equity and bond/ money market fund.....

please correct me if i am wrong...tq
[/quote]
first of all, just in case there is any confusion, 1000 units is not rm 1000. if the NAV per unit, let's say pcif, is 0.25, 1000 units is rm 250.
so it is possible to gain from switching if your capital is rm 3000.
and to make the switch possible, when it comes time for you to switch, you can move out rm 1000 from your equity fund to open up a bond fund. The minimum required to open account is rm 1000. Then you can switch mostly to your new bond fund, leaving behind only a few hundred ringgit. As time goes on and your fund size grows, the amount you have to leave behind is comparably small.
i hope that answer your questions.
[/quote]
hi...thanks for ur information...
very thing had been clear after i called the PM customer service center..
they say i choose either to switch the unit partially or fully...
if switch partially...need to leave at least 1000unit as u said....
if switch fully....the account will still be active for 7 years...i can switch back to tat account at anytime that i like...