Public Mutual v2, PB/Public series

cheahcw2003
post Oct 31 2010, 10:26 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 31 2010, 12:49 AM)
PBFI is not too bad, last year it manage to get about 9+% and on average it been getting me around 6% p.a. for the last five years.

No objection, that is why i also have both PBFI and PB Islamic Bond in my basket for the sake of diversification, i have more on PB Islamic Bond with the ratio of 5:1 because the later has better performance for the last 3 years.....

Added on October 31, 2010, 10:34 am
QUOTE(gark @ Oct 31 2010, 12:49 AM)
PIBF - About RM 13,000 - Std Deviation 1.41%
PIB - About 16,200 - Std Deviation  3.26%

PBIB - New fund.

The above is the reason which I do not favor PIBF over other PB funds, because i see no point in taking less earnings for ~1% lower standard deviation. So far I am still very satisfied with PBFI risk/performance. Well that's just my opinion. Feel free to add.  laugh.gif
PIBF = Public Islamic Balance Fund? Balance Fund and Fixed income fund is different catagory anyway, Balance Fund with the sales charge of 5.5%, PM's balance fund is overcharge, i never touch any Balance fund, i rather "balance" it myself in myway with the mixture of my own formula.

PBIB is not that new, it has 3 years history already, with good performance.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Oct 31 2010, 10:34 AM
cheahcw2003
post Oct 31 2010, 09:41 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 31 2010, 09:28 PM)
PIBOND is closed right but PBOND is still open for new subscription right?
U r right
cheahcw2003
post Nov 3 2010, 03:57 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Nov 3 2010, 03:37 PM)
Smallcap is open now? most of the time i heard it is full
it was at one time only open for existing account holder for additional investment, but now seems temporary closed.
cheahcw2003
post Nov 13 2010, 04:34 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 13 2010, 02:47 PM)
i don't think now thr right time to enter.
too high edy.

i now collect bullet to enter when the market go down
can temporary park in the bond fund 1st, when correction occur only switch to equity
cheahcw2003
post Nov 16 2010, 09:36 PM

5,379 posts

i usually dont invest in new funds with no track record. The only reason that i invest is to park the fund in 5% commission, lower compared to investing in the existing fund, once the fund r in, then switch to the fund that i desire to top up.
cheahcw2003
post Nov 16 2010, 10:24 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 16 2010, 10:19 PM)
Interesting idea, how to save 0.5%, never occurred to me. smile.gif As long as you have a target fund in mind, don't have to pay 25 bucks or at least the 0.5% is reasonably more than 25.

My cousin is PM agent, so she will refund me her commission of 2.75%, with the new fund of 5%, my investment cost for PM will be 2.25%.
I would suggest u to do the same, try to look for any friends and relatives help that can bring down your investment cost.
Many investors always overlook the "cost of investment" which is very crutial...
cheahcw2003
post Dec 9 2010, 12:44 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Dec 8 2010, 05:19 PM)
UT with no dividend means no tax. If you sell the units in the UT, the money you gained is considered capital gain and not taxable.  rolleyes.gif
overseas mutual fund such as Franklin Templeton, Fidelity and soo forth, some of the fund never declare distribution, so the initial launching price say USD10, can be go as high as USD60-70 for a period of time, the investment profit will be accumulated and push up the unit price, as long as no dividend is declared, then it is not taxable, so whenever investor wanna sell their unit, will sell at NAV and it is tax free. This thiingy will never happend in Msia
cheahcw2003
post Dec 11 2010, 10:02 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 11 2010, 07:25 AM)
guys i wanna ask about elite gold member. It says that we need at least 500k in order to become an Elite gold member. 500k means total money we have in PM or just pure capital? thinking to top up another 3k to become one though.
the 500K must be invest only in equity/balance funds, excluding the Bond/fixed income fund.

cheahcw2003
post Dec 14 2010, 08:24 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Dec 14 2010, 03:18 PM)
urm ... im new to pm ... can anyone suggest me a source to get an insight on this ...
with your statement, i think there will be a number of UT Agent will PM u.
cheahcw2003
post Dec 30 2010, 09:41 PM

5,379 posts

Public Mutual just launched 2 new bond funds today namely:-

i) Public Strategic Bond Fund
ii) Public Islamic Strategic Bond Fund

cheahcw2003
post Jan 13 2011, 11:16 AM

5,379 posts

Just found out the following from a website:-

Public Mutual: The 5 Star Funds rated by Morningstar Rating™
These days, rating has become so important to the extent that rating can seriously affect the sales of a certain product. So now I will like to list out the funds rated 5 Star (which is the maximum) rated by Morningstar Rating™, and their fund managers for the excellent jobs in making these funds profitable to the extent of 5 Star.

Public Aggressive Growth Fund (PAGF)
Designated Fund Managers:
Tan Yan Heong
Lum Peck Woon

Public Equity Fund (PEF)
Tan Yan Heong
Lum Peck Woon

Public Growth Fund (PGF)
Tan Yan Heong
Lum Peck Woon

Public Regular Savings Fund (PRSF)
Tan Yan Heong
Chen Yuet Fong

Public Smallcap Fund (P SmallCap)
Lum Ming Jang
Tan Yan Heong

Public Enhanced Bond (PEBF)
Chan Kam Khoon
Chiang Kang Pey

cheahcw2003
post Feb 12 2011, 08:44 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(buylowsellhigh @ Feb 12 2011, 01:51 AM)

2008 is an example of a year where it is good to switch.
What will happen for the rest of 2011? It can continue to decline or suddenly come back up again, key is to just follow the trend.
Many expert says that 2011 is the year for equities, will easily outshines the bond funds....
cheahcw2003
post Feb 18 2011, 10:58 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 17 2011, 08:15 PM)
@Aurora Boreali
PBOND is closed for investment, including AI but DDI.
QUite a number of Public Mutual Bond series are fully subscribed, those who still want to invest in Bond funds, may try their PB Series.
Both PB Islamic Bond and PB Fixed Income has constantly deliver good and stable return too.
cheahcw2003
post Feb 19 2011, 12:45 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 18 2011, 06:01 PM)
The next best bond fund in terms after the closure of PIBOND & PBOND is PSBF. I am saying this from the Sharpe Ratio point of view.

Xuzen.
can u also analyse the sharp ratio for PB Islamic Bond and share your findings as comparison of these 4 funds?

PB Islamic Bond ==> Mean Return 0.57% Standard Deviation* 2.68% Sharpe Ratio = 1.49
Public Islamic Bond ===> Mean Return 0.44% Standard Deviation* 3.79% Sharpe Ratio = 0.64
Public Select Bond ===>Mean Return 0.34% Standard Deviation* 1.52% Sharpe Ratio =0.85
Public Bond fund===>Mean Return 0.42% Standard Deviation* 2.77% Sharpe Ratio = 0.81

i got the above info/ data from morningstar.com

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Feb 19 2011, 12:52 AM
cheahcw2003
post Feb 19 2011, 09:25 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 19 2011, 01:14 PM)
Sharpe ratio for past 3 year period for 
i) PB Islamic Bond (PBIBF) = (7.24 - 2.86)/2.70 = 1.62
ii) Public Islamic Select Bond Fund (PISBF) = (4.67 - 2.86)/1.80 = 1.01

The higher the ratio the more risk adjusted better performing the fund.

So PBIBF is a good one that is still open for subscription. Kindly take a number and queue up at your nearest Public Bank to subscribe.

Xuzen
xuzen, thanks for your explaination, now i know i bot the right fund
cheahcw2003
post Mar 2 2011, 10:36 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 2 2011, 08:44 AM)
The nine awards won by Public Mutual are:

No | Fund / Company | Category
1 | Public Mutual Berhad | Best Overall Fund Group
2 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 3 years
3 | PB Asia Equity Fund | Equity Asia Pacific | 3 years
4 | Public Far-East Select Fund | Equity Asia Pacific Ex Japan | 5 years
5 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 5 years
6 | Public Islamic Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit – Islamic | 5 years
7 | Public Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit | 10 years
8 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 10 years
9 | Public Ittikal Fund | Equity Malaysia – Islamic | 10 years

i read this one also, but then if u notice, P M loose out on the shorter term catagory, like the 1-3 years prizes. Is that because some other mutual funds already overtook P M?
cheahcw2003
post Mar 7 2011, 08:41 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 19 2011, 01:14 PM)
Sharpe ratio for past 3 year period for 
i) PB Islamic Bond (PBIBF) = (7.24 - 2.86)/2.70 = 1.62
ii) Public Islamic Select Bond Fund (PISBF) = (4.67 - 2.86)/1.80 = 1.01

The higher the ratio the more risk adjusted better performing the fund.

So PBIBF is a good one that is still open for subscription. Kindly take a number and queue up at your nearest Public Bank to subscribe.

Xuzen
SO Xuzen, hv u invested in PBIBF?
cheahcw2003
post Mar 30 2011, 11:20 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(daniellehu @ Mar 30 2011, 02:50 AM)
If one has invested in Public Savings Fund, PSF (Public Mutual Oldest Fund) from 31st December, 2001 till 31st December, 2010, one would have made a Total Return of 214.45% and an Annualised Return of 12.12% pa. This result is obtained without clients making any switches in the past 10 years despite major disasterous events such as 9-11 (2001), War against Terror in Afganistan (2002), SARS (2003), War Against Terror in Iraq (2003), Tsunami (2004), US -Subprimed Mortgaged Crisis (2008), Pandemic H1N1 (2009) and Euro Crisis (2010)[/b][/color]

Do u know that if u invest direct in Public Bank share in 31 dec 2001, and how much is the return? i guess at least 3x more than the Public Savings Fund. Can anyone justify it?

Added on March 30, 2011, 11:21 am
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Mar 30 2011, 11:20 AM)
Do u know that if u invest direct in Public Bank share in 31 dec 2001, and how much is the return by now? i guess at least 3x more than the Public Savings Fund. Can anyone justify it?
This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Mar 30 2011, 11:21 AM
cheahcw2003
post Mar 30 2011, 04:00 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(daniellehu @ Mar 30 2011, 12:04 PM)
First of all, I have no idea when it comes to Public Bank Berhad direct equity investment return rate in the past 10 years.

The risk and return relationship depends on clients risk appetite. There is no doubt that by having to invest directly in the equity market will have the potential of making larger gain, provided if investors would have done proper research, have sufficient capital to invest in certain companies that have larger trading price per unit of share and understand the risks that come along with it.
Unit Trust is designed for those who has money, but time & knowledge in the investment industry and at the same time, would like to enjoy adequate returns that is able to combat the ever increasing inflation rate with diluted risks through diversification.
FYI, Public Savings Fund invested in Public Bank Berhad as well and at a cap of nothing more than 12% of the total Nett Asset Value (NAV) of the fund. This is part of the practice of any unit trust fund as to promote "diversification".
For more information pertaining to "Diversification" and "Asset Allocation" in Unit Trust Fund, you are welcome to email me at danielle.hu@hotmail.com 

Thank you & kind regards,

Danielle Hu
Unit Trust Consultant
Public Mutual Berhad
Million Dollar Producer, 2010
22nd NSC Trip Qualifier, 2010

Added on March 30, 2011, 1:20 pm
usually big cap's share price will split to 200 units instead of 1 lot (1000units), so retail investor can also invest in small amount like few thousands in shares. The reason i quoted public bank is because public bank make profit from selling unit trusts as public mutual is wholly owned by PBB, so when u buy into PBB, u will be able to "shared" the profit of the 5.5% sales charge commission. Invest in PBB share do not required much time, knowledge just use the buy and hold strategy and it can easily outperform the Public Saving fund that u quote. For me, invest in PBB is a good diversification already because PBB has all type of biz, Mutual fund, conventional banking, islamic banking, insurance, trustee service, investment banking, and etc.

On top of the 5.5% surchage, the yearly 1.5% admin fee is also a killing factors that reduce the fund performance. That is why i say PBB is always better choice than P Saving Fund.
cheahcw2003
post Mar 31 2011, 04:13 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 31 2011, 12:03 AM)

Added on March 31, 2011, 12:14 amNo, it's not.

Investing in a single share is definitely not "always" better than investing in a diversified fund. Far too many reasons to list why, here.
If u read my post carefully I was talking abt the 10 years horizon. Comparing investing in P saving fund and pbb as a single counter. And historical result return comparing these 2 has proven that I am right. Again we are talking about Pbb, the best managed bank in SEA. I know what u meant abt diversification, but the text book theory is not always right, at least at this example.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:53 PM