Public Mutual v2, PB/Public series

Bonescythe
post Jun 8 2011, 11:00 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 8 2011, 10:36 PM)
It reopens last month 18th april. Previously holding the other funds like PRSF, PEF, PGF, PSF, Pittikal. My mum one actually. Just that she ask me to study those investments thing. Those 5 funds, some of them doesnt really perform well especially Pittikal in the recent years. We invest in PM since 10years ago, some 5-6 years. PRSF return is good for past 10 years.

So last month, smallcap reopens. We cash out around 480k and buy smallcap. This is because we are not allowed to switch in to this fund. Only can switch out. Then we got no choice except to sell and buy back with 4% charge instead of 5.5%. But we didnt sell PEF. Since the fund reopen, the performance is -4.xx% something. No choice except to close one eye and hoping it will rebound properly from now on  tongue.gif
Wah, that is painful. But also to be honest, losing 20k consider still ok already if compared to those directly in stock market.

In May - April this year, market lau sai so hard. KLCI falling like nobody business at these period, until reaching low of 1474 resistance support. Well, this support touched 2 times during this downturn market.

I myself is in share market as well. Those days are basically everyday having "periods". 800-900 counter down in 1 day. Counters going up only less than 50.

So when PSmallCap reopen, it already took a heavy burn in the pocket from all the panic selling in the stock market. That is why the performance went so terrible down, since SmallCap is investing on those counter will small market capitalization. Which means, this type of counter with small market capital will not be very liquid, and will come down like torrential rain fall during downturn season.

But recently, investor should be coming back and bringing back the bulls to the share market. HwangDBS maintained an overweight for Malaysia investment prospectus. KLCI back on track at above 1550, and it should be a good time to invest now. Forecasted KLCI go on to 1620 this year, which will definitely give a good pulling effect on overall good growth stocks.

Maybe I can advise you that in the future, don't dump 480k at one time. You would not know what kind of market is it at that moment. People say diversify, it is not on diversifying on products only, but you can diversify through different entry timing.

If you enter later a bit, i guess you should be able to see some good profits now.
Bonescythe
post Jun 8 2011, 11:13 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 8 2011, 10:44 PM)
That's what my agent told me, he asked me how much i can save every month, I say RM1500, then he asked me to invest RM1500 every month, asked me to invest 1 big lump sum of RM30K. He is agency manager some more...

How come i find so hard also can't get one to be honest to me??? I want an honest one, HONEST...why is it so hard?  cry.gif
Seriously, this type of people, dunno how he become agency manager. Totally want to squeeze the customer inside out, and did not consider about the customer feeling at all. Phail la this kind of manager.

Should had help u access your risk tolerance level, and your objectives. Therefore, only choosing the correct vehicle, and plan out a good monthly saving habit.
Bonescythe
post Jun 8 2011, 11:29 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 8 2011, 11:13 PM)
I know you are in stock market  tongue.gif . I read the thread everyday too, just that im being a silent reader. Actually the 480k wasnt my decision to make. About the different entry timing, it means we need to prepare some cash to invest/top up just in case market crash right?
Yea... Completely correct. Since you are following stock market, the averaging techniques can be applied here too. Average it to get a better price. In market, everything that goes down, will come up, vice versa.
So for Mutual Fund, since it is managed by professional full time fund managers, investing regularly will able to maximize the ringgit cost averaging through different entry time (different prices at different entry time). So in a long run, definitely will be a good return.

Bonescythe
post Jun 8 2011, 11:46 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 8 2011, 11:20 PM)
Maybe i'm not suitable in investment, all consultant i met only know how to make me invest more, brokers also like that, client ask to sell but never know the price can go higher, the broker never consult also, just sell for the client.

Now i want to get an honest UT consultant, also like that... I treat you honest, you also treat me honest mar...

Sick lah...
Consultant will ask you to invest more, probably they are too into it, and believe it, and very confident with it. So consultant want you to invest more, so that you can see the compounding effect from a bigger sum of amount, and let you have the feeling of it.

But one thing that "old" consultant do not know is that the customer might not be thinking the same, or in the same channel. So when they open big, customer will definitely think the consultant is a tiger opening a big mouth.

If that manager did otherwise, from understanding your future plan and goals through sharing, and selecting fund based on your goals, that would be a better experience for you i would suppose.

As for broker wise. You cannot blame that broker. I would say this is a professional broker as well, because professional broker should not "comment" on the client action and orders. What if that time, when you call for a sell, and broker tell you the share will go up, but in fact, the share plunge. Will you take the blame on your own, or blame the broker?
The broker did no wrong at all, as it is fully 100% your order, and they are like your slave, listening completely to your order.

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Jun 8 2011, 11:58 PM
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 12:20 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Jun 8 2011, 11:51 PM)
I am currently learning about investments....I thought you can dump some of your monthly salary into your investment?
But according to debbie, the consultant is like "Kam sau", want her to put all her leftovers for the month in mutual fund. Like this is "kam sau" style already, and not putting some of the monthly salary.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 12:44 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Jun 9 2011, 12:32 AM)
Ic....yalor RM 1500 every month is too much
RM150 per month then still ok. Because the very good thing about Mutual Fund, compared to Insurance Saving Plan is the superb liquidity.
Saving plan, once commit, example RM150, not only cannot withdraw out full, or near full, need to continue servicing it to prevent it from lapse. Maybe RM150 will not see an effect so big. RM300-400 might be able to feel the pinch during rainy days.

Mutual Fund is definitely more flexibility, and suit most of the people who wants to have a liquid investment. Especially business people who needs to have cash flow for business. Therefore, their investment definitely need to be as liquid as possible.

Saving plan can be good for under employed people. Business owners and bosses, definitely will prefer to opt for Mutual Fund, as they are most afraid when cash flow is low, and need to get source of emergency $$$ during downside of market.

Different people.. Different needs.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 09:23 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 9 2011, 09:02 AM)
He said no need to switch. After market down, it will eventually rise up, it won't forever down. Just as when market down, you buy more units; market up, you buy less units. This is the theory he told me.
This i had to agree. This is where you apply the ringgit cost averaging techniques in investing, through investing in different entry timing.
When a market down, unit becomes cheaper, and you can acquire more units at an amount. Example, rm100 can get you 100 units, when 1 unit is priced at rm1. But it can get you 200 unit when it is priced at rm0.50.

And it is true that market will not be forever down. Look at KLCI as a benchmark. Our KLCI (Consist of 30 heavyweight companies in malaysia) index is going up, if you are looking at the long long run. 10 years ago, used to be at 800 points, now it is at 1500+ point.
Market will head down for correction, which leads to a golden opportunity to grab golden eggs.

Usually, when market recover and return back to its bullishness, mutual fund will perform greatly, and returns will be like falling durians, no joke in this.

Remember, investment is not speculation. You must treat it as a medium - long term tools in helping you to achieve your financial goals. Just to inform, in mutual fund, short terms means a period of 3 years. Long terms can be 7-10 years and above. I had seen people becoming millionaire through habitual investment in mutual fund.

But what is important here is the product as well. To be frank, PEF is very good for long term, wise. PIF will be nice to head for a real good lumpsum once the KLCI had plunge very deep into a hole. These are just a few examples.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 09:52 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 9 2011, 09:31 AM)
Whoa.. IMHO, that "Agency manager" is a Sales Agent in disguise leh.
Kinda agreed.. Like "kam sau" already.. Hahaha

Bond fund is good. If investor appetite is no balls made of steel, Bond Fund is good as it is conservative, and focus on good sovereign bonds.

Which Agency Manager is that? Need to dig out and see see first. Hahaha. So "kam sau" one.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 10:37 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 9 2011, 10:06 AM)
This agency manager got his own Public Mutual office in Cheras one... He is CFA cirtified.

Mr. Lee XX.

Ok lah. That's all I can disclose, spare his life for future. Forumers can take note of this agency manager.
Darn.. The world is so small!!

And i think he is not CFA certified la.. Is CFP only..
If CFA, he will not work as agent already. Already go investment banking..

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Jun 9 2011, 10:38 AM
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 10:40 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 9 2011, 10:38 AM)
Well, for a fun idea, think of him helping his rich customers get poorer - he's THE equalizer  tongue.gif
Hahaha.
No lar.. If he recommend properly, and equipped the customer with knowledge, will not happen another way.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 10:59 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 9 2011, 10:40 AM)
Ya.. sorry. It's CFP.. His namecard stated CFP... sorry my mistake.

Meaning you know him also? tongue.gif
When you say Agency Manager, I already got a few in my mind.
When you say Cheras (Anyway, Cheras only 1 branch, then even more convinced)
When you say CFP (Die.. So close)
When I see is Lee XXX XXX (Hahaha.. I think no need to reconfirmed, I know already)

Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 11:03 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 9 2011, 11:01 AM)
Hehehe.. So he is "kam sau" style.. I want to try try a few times and see customer reaction smile.gif Lolz. Haha
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 11:10 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Jun 9 2011, 11:09 AM)
So guys PEF would be good for long term investment? Coz I have just started working, I wanna allocate some of my savings into Public Mutual...I plan to invest in PBFI (bond) as well as another PB Mutual which is more towards equity type
PEF will be a good choice..
PSF also not bad either smile.gif

Long terms means 7 years and above.. That is long term smile.gif Not sekejap 1-2year..

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Jun 9 2011, 11:10 AM
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 11:22 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jun 9 2011, 11:17 AM)
then how about EPF mutual fund ?
Is it advisable to invest ?
Using EPF to invest in mutual fund?
Well. This depends. It is alright to diversify your money inside EPF, and also a good choice. Since EPF money cannot be touched until you reach retirement (exception for buy house, study loan and bla bla bla as u guys know about it)..

One thing good in unit trust is the capital appreciation, which will see good real $$$ coming in. Money in EPF, if the interest is not able to beat inflation, will not be so good. Last year, declared about 5+ % for EPF.

In unit trust, when unit price goes higher, you return will be amplified, and also got interest / dividend. Of course, what you need to bear in mind is, unit trust unit price can appreciate and depreciate. But as a long term, it will be a good upward line.

EPF, 1 year can invest 4 times only. Once every 3 months. And there is a calculation on the allocation for investment on EPF. You cannot just dump in everything into it..

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Jun 9 2011, 11:23 AM
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 11:36 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 9 2011, 11:33 AM)
Yes, for EPF investment, you can only touch 20% of the minimum saving in account 1.

This is the chart of minimum saving in account for each age category.
http://imdavidlee.com/my_images/public_mutual_fund.gif

After deducted the minimum saving of your age, you can use 20% of the remaining to invest only. See the table below:
http://imdavidlee.com/my_images/epf_withdraw_ability.gif
Yea. Good chart to be refer to.
Application will be a bit more complex. Need thumbprint from the customer as well.
Bonescythe
post Jun 9 2011, 12:24 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Jun 9 2011, 12:22 PM)
Another thing on EPF investment, the service charge is lower than cash investment.
To be exact, only 3% service charge.

Bonescythe
post Jun 10 2011, 12:15 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Is better to sell local unit trust fund, for a safe play.
China fund, a lot of risk. You cannot know what company there are investing, FM does not understand the market as good as the local chinese people.

For me, i will sell back UT that is covering malaysia. Regional also ok ok abit la. But focuses on china alone, very scary.
Bonescythe
post Jun 10 2011, 05:03 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 10 2011, 03:26 PM)
If you want to invest in China funds, you will need to go offshore, and find fund managers with years of experience in the HK/China market. Local funds are still beginning to learn.....  tongue.gif
Kinda agree. The local fund manager cannot understand the behavioral style of investment in the foreign country, how to people play with it.

So, definitely will be in the lower hand.
Bonescythe
post Jun 10 2011, 06:20 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 10 2011, 05:43 PM)
Nah, i'm one of the "watchers" - like i shared earlier (dunno this thread/topic or some others in LYN),  i saw the mass exodus of these Sales Agents, from PM to ING and found out the reasons why  tongue.gif. BTW, i dont touch "new funds" without any statistical data i can crunch - unless i'm "punting" with a very small amount of $, chicken lar  blush.gif

Hey, i've no qualms checking out other fund houses' invitation to "see see" their funds & Agents' benefits mar  brows.gif
Some times, be a chicken is good..
Bonescythe
post Jun 10 2011, 08:21 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 10 2011, 06:44 PM)
Good with feathers all over the floor?!  laugh.gif
I hope eating KFC will helps..
Hahaha..

Anyhow.. Back to Mutual Fund.
Recently launch singapore fund. Anyone interested? Will it be like China Select?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:12 AM