Recommendations for 5.1/7.1 Speakers?, advise pls....

TSronn77
post Jan 17 2010, 11:54 PM, updated 16y ago

2,508 posts

To sifus and pros,

I will be setting up my htpc and also getting home system speaker to compliment my htpc.
What is your recommendations for the package speakers that comes with subwoofer?
My budget is around $2.5k.
azbro
post Jan 18 2010, 08:29 AM

4,403 posts

Creative Z5500...wish I can get one of those
Intrigue
post Jan 18 2010, 01:25 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

get the Logitech Z5500... if i not wrong Megaworks 5500 still need additional decoder to decode DTS and Logitech has built-in decoder which is enough to rock the whole house
Skylinestar
post Jan 18 2010, 07:34 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

are you looking for dedicated home theatre speaker set (AVR or amp required) or pc speakers (decoding done by pc)?
moomoos
post Jan 18 2010, 07:46 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Jan 17 2010, 11:54 PM)
To sifus and pros,

I will be setting up my htpc and also getting home system speaker to compliment my htpc.
What is your recommendations for the package speakers that comes with subwoofer?
R u using it in hall or just to yourself in room???

just go for matching speakers series and evade from Mix & Match smile.gif
TSronn77
post Jan 18 2010, 10:34 PM

2,508 posts

guys, im looking for a complete home entertainment speakers.
currently looking at few brands like Pioneer and Onkyo but hope can find more advise from pros here before putting my money in.
gilbertlhl
post Jan 28 2010, 10:35 AM

386 posts

U might look for HTIB.... smile.gif
dirtrun
post Jan 28 2010, 10:42 AM

3,136 posts

Home Theater In a Box..

The name says it all..
Convenient but its neither quality or upgradeable..

I d suggest jus gettin a used front set wif a decent budget avr for tat price n than add when u hv de budget.. its loads better than de HTiB's

IMO..
D
iphoneguy08
post Feb 5 2010, 08:42 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 28 2010, 11:42 AM)
Home Theater In a Box..

The name says it all..
Convenient but its neither quality or upgradeable..

I d suggest jus gettin a used front set wif a decent budget avr for tat price n than add when u hv de budget.. its loads better than de HTiB's

IMO..
D
Thats true... smile.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Feb 5 2010, 07:11 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

I saw at Courts the other a Pioneer Wood Speakers, but dont remember the model, the price was around 2k++, but its without HTIB, just speakers..anyone knows the model?
paskal
post Feb 5 2010, 08:01 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Feb 5 2010, 07:11 PM)
I saw at Courts the other a Pioneer Wood Speakers, but dont remember the model, the price was around 2k++, but its without HTIB, just speakers..anyone knows the model?
most probably the HTP-519SW at RM2499
consisting of S-MS800 (the wood speaker that you saw), S-RS3SW active sub and VSX-519 AVR

at RM2.5k, it's selling at RRP. you could get lower at normal shops
SiriuslyCold
post Mar 26 2010, 10:23 AM

1,976 posts

check out this download from AVGuide
klimal
post Mar 26 2010, 12:02 PM

1,136 posts

To sifus and pros,

Have you considered speakers from Infinity Primus series?
I think they are really fairly priced, but a bit difficult to source locally.
For 2K, you should be able to get a a pair of floor standers Primus 252, a centre C25, a pair 152 for surrounds
Make sure you haggle with the boss.
This will blow away any HTiB system.
http://www.infinitysystems.com/home/produc...=USA&Country=US

That leaves you about RM500 for a sub. Try looking for a used one.
Sometimes, a good one comes along for less than RM500.
http://hifi4sale.fullboards.com/
http://hifi4salesmalaysia.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by klimal: Mar 26 2010, 12:03 PM
gilbertlhl
post Mar 26 2010, 03:51 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Mar 26 2010, 12:02 PM)
For 2K, you should be able to get a a pair of floor standers Primus 252, a centre C25, a pair 152 for surrounds

infinity center speaker is very outstanding when come to center speaker.. tongue.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 26 2010, 09:02 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 5 2010, 08:01 PM)
most probably the HTP-519SW at RM2499
consisting of S-MS800 (the wood speaker that you saw), S-RS3SW active sub and VSX-519 AVR

at RM2.5k, it's selling at RRP. you could get lower at normal shops
I've tried looking for it at normal shops. They aint selling the model nor the stock is avail..
paskal
post Mar 26 2010, 09:11 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Mar 26 2010, 12:02 PM)

by the time a decent AVR is added, it's gonna be above the budget.

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 26 2010, 09:02 PM)
I've tried looking for it at normal shops. They aint selling the model nor the stock is avail..
quite hard to find i have to agree.
i waited with deposit paid for one shop to order, only to get a phone call a week later saying he can't get a hold of them and asking me to go todoroki instead.

found some selling in penang. should be easier to source in kl, no?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 26 2010, 09:16 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 26 2010, 09:11 PM)
by the time a decent AVR is added, it's gonna be above the budget.
quite hard to find i have to agree.
i waited with deposit paid for one shop to order, only to get a phone call a week later saying he can't get a hold of them and asking me to go todoroki instead.

found some selling in penang. should be easier to source in kl, no?
Not at all, i think i've been to many around KL , shops dont seem to have a contact for the stock..
klimal
post Mar 27 2010, 10:27 AM

1,136 posts

My bad, I thot he was just looking for a HT speaker/sub combo.
If with avr, then definitely out of budget.
ac970818
post Mar 27 2010, 10:36 AM

49 posts

To sifus and pros,

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Jan 28 2010, 10:35 AM)
U might look for HTIB....  smile.gif
If you are planning for HTIB, you must be looking for the one that have optical input.

But be careful, not all htib can accept DTS signal even tho it can decode internally (from DVD source).

This is from my own experience. My HTIB 5.1 can only decode DD for optical in signal. For DTS, I've to resort to Dolby Pro Logic II :-(

gilbertlhl
post Mar 27 2010, 06:06 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(ac970818 @ Mar 27 2010, 10:36 AM)
If you are planning for HTIB, you must be looking for the one that have optical input.

But be careful, not all htib can accept DTS signal even tho it can decode internally (from DVD source).

This is from my own experience. My HTIB 5.1 can only decode DD for optical in signal. For DTS, I've to resort to Dolby Pro Logic II :-(
What happen..?
Skylinestar
post Mar 27 2010, 06:50 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Mar 27 2010, 06:06 PM)
What happen..?
i think he's referring to the panasonic HTiB.
ac970818
post Mar 27 2010, 07:16 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 27 2010, 06:50 PM)
i think he's referring to the panasonic HTiB.
yes. It also cannot play divx movie on e usb, only mp3.

Only panny htib have this issues?

Shud've buy the pioneer as planned :-|
matyeo
post Mar 27 2010, 07:59 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(ac970818 @ Mar 27 2010, 07:16 PM)
yes. It also cannot play divx movie on e usb, only mp3.

Only panny htib have this issues?

Shud've buy the pioneer as planned :-|
i think for dvd player, bd player or htib panasonic is not the right chioce...
last time i bought panny micro hifi, during warantty period it got problem
with playing disk some can some cannot ok la...
after 1 year langsung cannot play, send for repair ok...
but after 1 month got problem during turnning volume...
0db ok start 1db...pom cut off...until now never send for repair... rclxub.gif

panny... doh.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 28 2010, 12:30 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 27 2010, 07:59 PM)
i think for dvd player, bd player or htib panasonic is not the right chioce...
last time i bought panny micro hifi, during warantty period it got problem
with playing disk some can some cannot ok la...
after 1 year langsung cannot play, send for repair ok...
but after 1 month got problem during turnning volume...
0db ok start 1db...pom cut off...until now never send for repair... rclxub.gif

panny... doh.gif
I think you bought that micro HIFI at Seng Heng sweat.gif sweat.gif
gilbertlhl
post Mar 28 2010, 08:48 AM

386 posts

Howabout Philip HTIB? The player not so sensitive..
Boy96
post Mar 31 2010, 07:33 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

I am looking for HTIB 2.1/7.1 that have Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio. that's a must. any recommendation? cheapest one if possible
gilbertlhl
post Mar 31 2010, 10:45 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 31 2010, 07:33 PM)
I am looking for HTIB 2.1/7.1 that have Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio. that's a must. any recommendation? cheapest one if possible
what is ur budget? hmm.gif

0.0272sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:24 PM