Philosophy Feng SHui

Awakened_Angel
post Sep 4 2010, 10:03 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Sep 4 2010, 11:00 PM)
why do we in this day of age still want to believe some primitive ancient believe?
500 years from now... do you think what edison invented known as light bulb as primitive and useless? and say what he use in his design is useless?
robertngo
post Sep 4 2010, 11:58 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 4 2010, 10:03 PM)
500 years from now... do you think what edison invented known as light bulb as primitive and useless? and say what he use in his design is useless?
yes, but the ligh bulb actually work and will still work in the future, I ching however have never been proven to work.
befitozi
post Sep 5 2010, 01:40 AM

1,468 posts

Mathematics from ancient greece, over 3000 years ago are still valid and used now. These are the real stuff. Not nonsense like feng shui whistling.gif
TheDoer
post Sep 8 2010, 02:57 PM

1,853 posts

hum... I think there's a confusion, that everything that can be furnish with an explanation must be true, and applicable in all cases.

A boy comes late to school again, and he give the teacher the same excuse, "stomach ache".
Without verifying, the teacher accepts his excuse.

Why not?

Stomach ache = come late to school, makes perfect sense what?

Same goes to all the explanations given. Sure, over heat no good. wind make u cold. cold not good.

But do we actually put these ideas to perspective and how do they actually play in real life?

Have we considered that some stuff are just symbolic? Water is symbolic of wealth. Collecting wealth is good.
How does that make having lots of water infront of your house being good? You could breed mosquitoes or drown in your own wealth.

Flying is dangerous, a single plane crash can end your life in an instant. Sure, but have you looked at the statistics? You would sooner die from a car crash than a plane crash.

Wind, water, fire, earth, wood. Sure all these exist. You can call them elements if you like, but a "Law"?? Laws need to be proven.

example: numbers exist. (elements)

Does that mean that 1+1=3? (Feng Xui)
Is there a law to prove that this is correct?
I can explain it, no prob. Everything in this world, when united creates something new (Explanations in feng xui). There, does that mean I have invented a "Law" that supercedes addition?

With regards to Car crashing into your house at a junction, I use to believe that that is the best and most logical aspect of feng xui. But then again, are we just accomodating/finding explanation to something which is a make belief?

Living at a junction maybe bad despite the Feng Xui formulae, this does not prove that other parts of feng xui is true.
Lightning is dangerous. Lightning is caused by Thor's hammer. Lightning is indeed dangerous, does that make Thor and his hammer real?

And think about it, how common is it that a car actually rams into your house facing a junction? Is it as common as burglary? how about burglary of houses with pak koas and other feng xui counter measures?

It's not just lilian too. Don't forget Joey Yap. Anybody who claims to know, and are the authority of this trait but draw answers from thin air, are definately con men, how does no one see that?

abubin
post Sep 8 2010, 03:30 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 8 2010, 02:57 PM)
It's not just lilian too. Don't forget Joey Yap. Anybody who claims to know, and are the authority of this trait but draw answers from thin air, are definately con men, how does no one see that?
Cause everyone is too desperate that they will believe anything anyone tell them.

Try only....you got nothing to lose....that is always the saying. Only buy some charm or statue that cost RM100 only. RM100 more important than you love, health and wealth (get more money)? This is the kind of mentality these fengshui masters are using which does make sense but does it work? That is another story.
TheDoer
post Sep 9 2010, 12:27 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 8 2010, 03:30 PM)
Cause everyone is too desperate that they will believe anything anyone tell them.

Try only....you got nothing to lose....that is always the saying. Only buy some charm or statue that cost RM100 only. RM100 more important than you love, health and wealth (get more money)? This is the kind of mentality these fengshui masters are using which does make sense but does it work? That is another story.
What you said got me thinking...

Whenever we decide whether we should believe/do something, we always weigh

lost+gain
----------- X plausibility
effort

Sometimes people, look at how great the lost and how great the gain, and completely forgotten to add the plausibility into the equation.

No matter how good it seems, if it is unlikely, you will still get 0.

Technically, "unlikely" as in 0.~00001 still produces a value, but you get what I mean.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Sep 9 2010, 02:04 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 12 2010, 08:21 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Sep 5 2010, 12:58 AM)
yes, but the ligh bulb actually work and will still work in the future, I ching however have never been proven to work.
yes, FYI I am from physic background and I am as skeptical as you regarding this sort of things ; I totally reject feng shui and lilian too

but on the same time, I find sense in I Ching.... you should read it.. it is about chances(propability), about chaos pattern.... it is alternative science.. just give you another glimpse of hwo to see the natural world from other angles beside science

this clashes when the west ask proof before I should believe while east ask us to come, see, understand and experience before believe

P/S during my final year of study, which is design emotions.... on how to put emotions on product... and guess what? I find my guides from buddhism... buddhism teaches us where does our desire, hate, lust came about and how it affect us... and it is analogue to what I read from a Dr or Prof books.... instead of using accurate terms, technical english, buddha use metaphor, stories and ask us to experience... which I find it both clicks....

and of course I do not put buddhism`s tipitaka on the reference part tongue.gif

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 8 2010, 03:57 PM)

I hate it when old peoples tend to drag me into fortune telling kind of things.... one of my realtive is a fortune teller... and she/he(cant disclose laa) is a con... with sweet mouth.. she/he claim to "keep" anak hantu to help her to see the future... besides that, she/he is performing fake or useless rituals.... sad to say though she/he is my relative, is a disgrace to buddhism as the name of buddha is used as well for their act

P/S she/he earns a lot too.. up to 20 k per month.. not on fortune tellings... but performing rituals e.g. help the wife gets their husband back from other affairs, save a sinking business etc

my parents are chinamen minded and not that educated, despite hundreds of time I told them about this, they insist on visit taoist temple for blessing... though I can see the blessing from my mortal senses, but I can see that she is relief and calm.. which I see they provide a hope... at a cost of course doh.gif

when people are despair and hopeless, they tend to look for other help or solutions, many rejected buddhism as it tell its followers to let go, some resort to islam/christian for afterlife sanction as comfort, or bomoh for malays, taoist priest for chinese etc

the only reason that I step into a taoist temple is that I see it as a gathering place for chinese and I do what they do as part of culture rather than belief... e.g. salam in hari raya

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 9 2010, 01:27 PM)

Technically, "unlikely" as in 0.~00001  still produces a value, but you get what I mean.
hey, that`s how we come about... unlikely.... according to hawkings, the unlikely is like this in english rather than numbers

"a group of monkeys went on rampage, rush to a typewritter and randomly hit it, and the output is shakespear`s poem"

that is the possibility of us today... from big bangs, the number of stars died and survive, the number of organism on earth that went extinct and evolve into homo sapiens and how inventions were invented by random genius around the world on random time frame...

how 6+billion of populations on earth and I replying to you on this LYN while there are tonnes of forum out there.........

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Sep 12 2010, 08:42 PM
TheDoer
post Sep 13 2010, 08:38 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 12 2010, 08:21 PM)
"a group of monkeys went on rampage, rush to a typewritter and randomly hit it, and the output is shakespear`s poem"
humm... I stand corrected

lost+gain
----------- X plausibility X Time (it takes to come into being)
effort

Well, you're right, if enough time has passed, even the seemingly complex and impossible, may still become possible.

But then again, if something is completely Impossible, then any amount of time, will still yield 0 (0X100 billion =0). Such as bending the laws of existence.

of course, we can't dismiss something as having 0 possibility since we can't grasp the infinite laws of existence.

So I'd say that the possibility that something like this that appears to be false based on present logic, must have a very miniscule possibility rating, that any significant amount of time, will still not make it plausible. tongue.gif

When all else fails, we just have to fall back on, sticking to knowledge we do know, and that is to round up the figure. Since there is no way imaginably that it could be plausible, it is safe to say, that something is in fact, impossible.

Lol. tongue.gif

Added on September 13, 2010, 10:23 amWhile we are on the subject of chinese superstitions, and probability, I'd like to share this phenomenon I witness.
People are so blinded by greed sometimes that they fail to see what's real and what's not.

There is this temple, which owns a tortoise that is said to enable those who molest it to strike 4D.

Seriously, they even have chinese newspaper articles of it, pasted on the wall. It must be true right? It's even in the papers?

The way to do it, is to take your lucky numbers, and show it to the tortoise, then swipe your lucky numbers from it's head to it's tail.

Yes, the tortoise, seems to know numbers, and has connections with Toto, and Magnum.

He gets abalone when the number strikes, they(Toto & Magnum ppl) in turn are bless by the tortoise, and makes a kill at all the other numbers that did not win.

Let's think about it.

Is it possible that people who showed the tortoise their number striked?

Yes Highly likely, assuming there are 100 molesters a day and each of them has a number (which by chance are unique)
There are 10000 possible combinations for a 4 digit numbering system, and out of it, say 10 numbers are the winning numbers. X 3 different companies (assuming the winning numbers are unique).

(100 X 10 X 3)/10000 = 0.3 which means that roughly, 30% of the draws will result in someone winning.

Therefore roughly, out of 3~4 draws someone should be winning something. about 1 Success story a month.

Any wonder?

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Sep 13 2010, 03:43 PM
abubin
post Sep 13 2010, 03:46 PM

10,429 posts

time does not play a role here because there are not known how long a fengshui application will work. Some says few days and some say few months. Therefore, you cannot add time into the equation for "pre-fengshui" application. Only post-fengshui application that you can count the time factor. But if time is so unstable, what is the point? Might as well put that into the death calculation.

We know everyone will die. It's just a matter of TIME. And you know only AFTER it happened...just like fengshui....
TheDoer
post Sep 13 2010, 04:13 PM

1,853 posts

hum... that's not exactly what I meant by time here.

effects of time here does not refer to individual cases of those who apply feng xui, but, of feng xui actually being applicable, and logical.......

For example, after sometime, some alien beings descend on earth, and with the help of nano bots, reogranized the way our world works, that so happen, you will either suffer, or reap the rewards, by observing feng xui.

Lol... and that is highly unlikely tongue.gif

There's never a 100% certainty in anything. There's always a possibility, that some how, something can happen... just the likelihood that defers, that's what awakened angel meant.

but now, we are moving away from the topic of Feng Xui tongue.gif

In the case of monkeys bashing on the keyboard, we know that it is only a matter of time, that the combination, required for Shakespear will come into being. It is however hard to fathom, under what effect of time, will Feng Xui, drift from being unreal to becoming real, I agree with you on that Abubin. Therefore the likelihood is definately less than that of monkeys punching out shakespear.

Hey, where are all the feng xui masters? Why suddenly silent. lol.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 13 2010, 10:26 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 13 2010, 09:38 AM)

Added on September 13, 2010, 10:23 amWhile we are on the subject of chinese superstitions, and probability, I'd like to share this phenomenon I witness.
People are so blinded by greed sometimes that they fail to see what's real and what's not.

There is this temple, which owns a tortoise that is said to enable those who molest it to strike 4D.

Seriously, they even have chinese newspaper articles of it, pasted on the wall. It must be true right? It's even in the papers?

The way to do it, is to take your lucky numbers, and show it to the tortoise, then swipe your lucky numbers from it's head to it's tail.

Yes, the tortoise, seems to know numbers, and has connections with Toto, and Magnum.

He gets abalone when the number strikes, they(Toto & Magnum ppl) in turn are bless by the tortoise, and makes a kill at all the other numbers that did not win.

Let's think about it.

Is it possible that people who showed the tortoise their number striked? 

Yes Highly likely, assuming there are 100 molesters a day and each of them has a number (which by chance are unique)
There are 10000 possible combinations for a 4 digit numbering system, and out of it, say 10 numbers are the winning numbers. X 3 different companies (assuming the winning numbers are unique).

(100 X 10 X 3)/10000 = 0.3  which means that roughly, 30% of the draws will result in someone winning.

Therefore roughly, out of 3~4 draws someone should be winning something.  about 1 Success story a month.

Any wonder?
this reminded me of singaporean movie "xia dao siao" surprise till laugh

about an along, ask his followers to call all the phone number in yellow pages in SG, give them a number each from 0000 to 9999 and ask to pay redemption of 30% back...

sure 1 out of 10,000 will win right?

Added on September 13, 2010, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 13 2010, 05:13 PM)

Hey, where are all the feng xui masters? Why suddenly silent. lol.
I went to MPH jsut now to and spend some time to browse through FengShui World... on an ads, on a gem that is craved with buddhism scriptures that is said to be able to attract wealth

the most ridiculous piece of things being sold on the mag EVER which I say was a silver plated amulet, the front is a polished surface while the back is image of buddha(not the typical one, but the tibetan one with black skin) which said to capable of
1) the polished side, to let dirty siprits see their ugly face and ward of evil if they dare to danger the bearer
2) the back which is image of buddha which touch the middle chest of the bearer is said to protect the bearer with buddhahood power...

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

and those who buy those are mostly ang mos, the typical rich, not religious, but high class wanabe(the chinese) doh.gif

P/S the ONLY concept in feng shui that I 100% agree on is this

"wealth does not imply how much money you have, the true wealth mean that you have all the elements balanced out... money, family, career, friendship, etc... all is balanced out... not one is over the other"

Doer,

what do you think of "the power of BELIEVE"?

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Sep 13 2010, 10:39 PM
TheDoer
post Sep 14 2010, 09:25 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 13 2010, 10:26 PM)
about an along, ask his followers to call all the phone number in yellow pages in SG, give them a number each from 0000 to 9999 and ask to pay redemption of 30% back...

sure 1 out of 10,000 will win right?
rclxms.gif

the most ridiculous piece of things being sold on the mag EVER which I say was a silver plated amulet, the front is a polished surface while the back is image of buddha(not the typical one, but the tibetan one with black skin) which said to capable of
1) the polished side, to let dirty siprits see their ugly face and ward of evil if they dare to danger the bearer
2) the back which is image of buddha which touch the middle chest of the bearer is said to protect the bearer with buddhahood power...
My Ignorance is appalling I didn't know Feng Xui masters sell such crap. I thought it was only as far as calling the moon a planet. doh.gif

Doer,

what do you think of "the power of BELIEVE"?
Oh the placebo effect... Works darn well.... until the guy tries to actually fly.

I wanted to rant on this earlier. I guess this is the best time for it. Is it worth a peace of mind, over actually harming your life?

In my taman, there is a corner house at a "+" junction, which has tall hedges for reasons other than aesthetic. I've been cursing those hedges for ages, because it obstructs the view of traffic, you can't tell if there's a pedestrian or an on coming vehicle on the other side of the junction.

Recently I saw some glass on the road next to the hedges, yea, obviously an accident took place recently.

It's not just other ppl that are affected, the owner himself is always at risk when he exits his house.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 14 2010, 01:56 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 14 2010, 10:25 AM)
My Ignorance is appalling I didn't know Feng Xui masters sell such crap.  I thought it was only as far as calling the moon a planet. doh.gif
Oh the placebo effect... Works darn well....   until the guy tries to actually fly.

the worst is onlysurfacing when I visited Taiwan.. the tour escort bring us to this jade shop as it is an obligation for tourist to visit to boost taiwan`s economy...

the "sifu" there then gave each of us a crash course on fortune telling and gave all of us 5 minute FREE fortune telling which worth RM 100 each minute as the sifu is international standard.... wink.gif

their true agenda came into vision when they only see catastrophic, doom, etc in our palms... and by using scare tactics, they said:
"ok.. nevermind... luckily you came here early and it is your "fook" to met me(the sifu).. Ohh... you came just in time... you need this "emerald/jade/precious stone" amulets taking the shape of chinese myth beast.... "

doh.gif

and many old people buy it...

I bought one, due to its aestheticity instead of the craps..for decoration.... (rather cheap one) the sifu aint that happy as he wanted me to buy the exp one

Added on September 14, 2010, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 14 2010, 10:25 AM)
Oh the placebo effect... Works darn well.... until the guy tries to actually fly.

I wanted to rant on this earlier. I guess this is the best time for it. Is it worth a peace of mind, over actually harming your life?

In my taman, there is a corner house at a "+" junction, which has tall hedges for reasons other than aesthetic. I've been cursing those hedges for ages, because it obstructs the view of traffic, you can't tell if there's a pedestrian or an on coming vehicle on the other side of the junction.

Recently I saw some glass on the road next to the hedges, yea, obviously an accident took place recently.

It's not just other ppl that are affected, the owner himself is always at risk when he exits his house.

for me, I think the power of believe was fully utilised by sportsman, soldier etc rather than typical people

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Sep 14 2010, 01:57 PM
TheDoer
post Sep 14 2010, 03:09 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 14 2010, 01:56 PM)

Added on September 14, 2010, 1:57 pm
for me, I think the power of believe was fully utilised by sportsman, soldier etc rather than typical people
Well, you're right, in the case of providing motivation to achieve a goal, belief is a good form of motivation. Whether that belief is founded or not doesn't matter as long as the goal is healthy.

For example, a sportsman who psyche himself to imagine himself winning, so that he will give his 101% in the race. Or a soldier who believes that his sacrifice, will enable his family to be safe from harm.

In these case, without belief, their goals would Never come to fruitation.

But one should not derive their goal's from belief. Such as blowing themselves up, because they believe that their unproven god, with an unproven requests, require them to do something like that.

Or making your house into a health hazard, because some strange belief makes you feel uncomfortable living in any other way.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 16 2010, 03:04 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 14 2010, 04:09 PM)
Well, you're right, in the case of providing motivation to achieve a goal, belief is a good form of motivation.  Whether that belief is founded or not doesn't matter as long as the goal is healthy.

For example, a sportsman who psyche himself to imagine himself winning, so that he will give his 101% in the race.  Or a soldier who believes that his sacrifice, will enable his family to be safe from harm.

In these case, without belief, their goals would Never come to fruitation.
But one should not derive their goal's from belief. Such as blowing themselves up, because they believe that their unproven god, with an unproven requests, require them to do something like that.

Or making your house into a health hazard, because some strange belief makes you feel uncomfortable living in any other way.
ahaha... well, forget to add this point here.... there`s this guy in my place who was an architect

during late 1990`s economy crisis, his business went down the hill and force him to end it...

then he helped his dad(who was a feng shui master) as during down time, feng shui business blossoms..... biggrin.gif

guess what? after few years, the economy start to gets well again, he incorporate fengshui with architecture design... and he created a blue ocean notworthy.gif
wongpeter
post Sep 19 2010, 02:26 AM

973 posts

@Awakened_Angel: regarding Taoism I urge you to read : Taoist Master Chuang

Awakened_Angel
post Sep 19 2010, 09:15 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 19 2010, 03:26 AM)
@Awakened_Angel: regarding Taoism I urge you to read : Taoist Master Chuang

Bro, I find senses in Tao(the Way) on how lao tzu describe pattern, chaos, randomness... but just rejected Lilian Too`s FS BS
wongpeter
post Sep 19 2010, 08:06 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 19 2010, 09:15 AM)
Bro, I find senses in Tao(the Way) on how lao tzu describe pattern, chaos, randomness... but just rejected Lilian Too`s FS BS
I agree that probably 50% of Lillian Too's FS is BS..... don't forget she studied the classical FS principles under her teacher CH Yap.

but FS jewellery?!! ....jeezus give me a break!
but its a money machine for her......

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 19 2010, 08:14 PM
TheDoer
post Sep 20 2010, 01:38 PM

1,853 posts

"The Way" as in the philosophical discussion on ethics? Sure.

But to say that if I were to draw a symmetrical sign in the sand, something magical will happen...? come on now.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 20 2010, 03:55 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Sep 20 2010, 02:38 PM)
"The Way" as in the philosophical discussion on ethics?  Sure.

that is confusicous

typical traditional chinese religion is a fusion of 4 religion(culture + religion, just a thin line set them apart)

1) buddhism
2) taoism(it is the study of nature`s balance)
3) confuscious(it is the teaching of moral conduct that leads to ancestral worshipping)
4) folk lore religion (jade emperor, sun goku etc)

ethics is relative

But to say that if I were to draw a symmetrical sign in the sand, something magical will happen...?  come on now.
you watch too many TVB drama doh.gif

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:25 AM