Medical Conditions Anti-depression medicine, How to get one?

TScherieaplepie
post Jan 17 2010, 03:51 AM, updated 16y ago

55 posts

I am sure there's anti-depression pills right? But how to get one? Do we have to see doctor, then he'll write the prescription and then we go buy at pharmacy?
Those with experience or have the knowledge, please share.

Thanx!
kumanosuke
post Jan 17 2010, 04:00 AM

717 posts

u depress kah ?

better ask prescription from the Doc first
FenomX
post Jan 17 2010, 04:19 AM

177 posts

you need to seek for the doctor as most of the pill you mentioned contains drug to make yourself calm down or become "more happy".
CarroTT
post Jan 17 2010, 04:30 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

aduii, pity lar if so depress until have to resort to pills

navilink
post Jan 17 2010, 07:36 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

u can make appointment with doctor at hospitals (preferably those general hospital but need to wait long).. he'll give u depends on what condition u're having..
SUSb3ta
post Jan 17 2010, 12:31 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

try zoloft. i think u need a prescription for it in malaysia
illiumiskum
post Jan 17 2010, 12:44 PM

36 posts

there are few anti-depressant drug available in msia
and most of them is A list drug (prescribed by psychiatrist only)
but,there is one brand , luvox iianm that can be prescribed by medical officer

go and check ur mental status at nearby health centre,dont self-diagnose yourself
Zeliard
post Jan 17 2010, 01:08 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Jan 17 2010, 04:30 AM)
aduii, pity lar if so depress until have to resort to pills
depression is the most under diagnosed disease. there's no harm in taking treatment for it.
jagged
post Jan 17 2010, 01:10 PM

757 posts

Define depression?
illiumiskum
post Jan 17 2010, 01:27 PM

36 posts

depression is also known as major depressive disorder
it's a syndrome and can't be defined by one symptom only

diagnosing mental illness is based on icd system
(international statistical classification of disease)

and in this case,we need to consider a set of symptoms and its duration

so TS,u might be having one,or maybe u just don't

dont be presumptive and dont medicate urself
basSist
post Jan 17 2010, 02:54 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jan 17 2010, 01:08 PM)
depression is the most under diagnosed disease. there's no harm in taking treatment for it.
what is the adverse side effect of having the anti-depression drugs? if there is, there is a possibility to harm.
yeezai
post Jan 17 2010, 03:55 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 17 2010, 02:54 PM)
what is the adverse side effect of having the anti-depression drugs? if there is, there is a possibility to harm.
prozac ok oso but need to see doc first....btw the side effect differs some may have withdrawal symptom such as suicidal tendency...
leongal
post Jan 17 2010, 06:40 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

some irresponsible pharmacy will sell it to you...i know of one in petaling street that does that
alcatrez
post Jan 17 2010, 06:52 PM

543 posts

The drugs will not help in the long term.

Better find some other way of handling yr stress. Eg holiday. exercise etc.....
zedstat
post Jan 17 2010, 07:02 PM

is in the Manic Phase
1,114 posts

u need a prescription of that and not all doctor can prescribe it. i think only psychiatrist
SUSb3ta
post Jan 17 2010, 07:13 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

drugs can provide temporary solace but to get away from depression a change of lifestyle is needed
Zeliard
post Jan 17 2010, 08:01 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 17 2010, 02:54 PM)
if you weigh the pros and cons, taking anti-depression is certainly better. most of the time it has some sedative effect, giving you a good maintenance of sleep, nowadays we are giving ssri - selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors with little side effects only.
SUSgarytong
post Jan 17 2010, 08:02 PM

203 posts

It's called

Sunlight and Exercise.

basSist
post Jan 18 2010, 12:40 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jan 17 2010, 08:01 PM)
if you weigh the pros and cons, taking anti-depression is certainly better. most of the time it has some sedative effect, giving you a good maintenance of sleep, nowadays we are giving ssri - selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors with little side effects only.
before prescribing the drugs, why wouldn't pharmacists and doctors advise patients on lifestyle changes and nutritional? Are they assuming patients couldn't get well with these methods and straight away giving the last resorts - drugs to them? If drugs is prescribed, have the patients been notified about the side effects? Hope to get optimistic respond.

i am not sure SSRI is the 5-HT drug - the active compound in Prozac,
but Prozac has also been known to affect nearly every system of the body, including the nervous, digestive, respiratory, cardiovascular, musculoskeletal, and urogenital systems, and the skin and appendages. These side effect include, most commonly, visual disturbances, palpitations, mania/hypomania, tremors, symptoms of flu, cardiac arrhythmia, back pain, rashes, sweating, nausea, diarrhea, abdominal pain, and loss of sex drive.
Less Common effects include antisocial behavior, double vision, memory loss, cataracts or glaucoma, asthma, arthritis, osteoporosis, stomach bleeding, kidney inflammation, and impotence.

*quoted from <<What Doctors Don't Tell You The Truth about the Dangers of Modern Medicine>>
Jenny de Jam
post Jan 18 2010, 09:11 AM

91 posts

hi, i have tried anti-depressant before due to over stress... and then i blackout for a numerous of time...

i went to see a doctor and he gave me the medicine to say let my brain to chill and relax... tongue.gif

erm, i think is better you go and consult a doctor and then see what he says about you...

see whether you need it or not.. if you aint that serious, i dont think he will advice you to take it...

sometimes after eating it, you will feel super sleepy....

0.0183sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:44 AM