QUOTE(felisa0529 @ Jan 17 2010, 12:31 AM)
emmm i guess it depends on the bank,is ibra' standard between banks?
if you see the term
to follow strictly to shariah (islamic law)
they need to do
1 - ABBA al-bai' bithaman al-ajil (buy and then sell)
which is what you refering to bank buy the house (it is lump sum if completed, progressively if under construction)
that way, the rate should be fixed (bank profited from you). it varies accross bank. What i know public islamic bank have profit rate of 9.55% pa
2 - BFR which is normally same as BLR
if BFR minus (-) X.XX is higher than ceiling rate, than the ceiling rate will be followed
but if lower, the rebate (ibra') will make conventional and islamic calculation exactly same
i recommend you to use home loan calculator that you can feed bfr info according to monthly & number of day which is different between months
simply said, theres a limit of repayment each month (which is calculated 9.55% pa)
however high bfr goes, it should not greater than 9.55% pa because it is in the aqad (shakehand agreement) already - same like in islamic marriage
but if bfr is lower than the 9.55% (fluctuating bfr) will be used instead as repayment rate
3 - compunding interest is not allowed
you lose your property because of two reason, compunding (cumulative) interest & blr shoot too high
there is no compunding interest, but they have interest still in the rate of unpaid x mudharabah such as 2.5% pa (or fd / saving acc pa rate)
a - i do think there something not yet shariah in some aspect
such as locking period, still too high which is 3% also
i am not quite sure for other aspect / banks
it should be around 1% only. but if bank applies this then nobody wants to go for conventional anymore, i guess
b - islamic bank institution who really follows all the shariah ruling, then they will tend to be selective to their customer (such as hsbc amanah) or having very bad rate (bank islam)
one of the reason the only thing not yet islam can be applied is legal tender (fiat money/paper money) which is deteriorate in value because of inflation rather than zahab (gold) which is dinar 4.25gram 916 gold wal fiddhoh (silver) which is dirham 2.275gram 999 silver
you cannot be too low on your fixed profit rate because say in 30 years repayment, the value of money is not the same anymore, your money lose it value it once had
1400 years ago, in rasulullah and sahabah (sahabat/companion) time - 1 dinar you can buy a goat, today the value of 1 dinar is around 530 ringgit per dinar. imagine that much money, can u still but a goat today?
1400 years ago, in rasulullah and sahabah (sahabat/companion) time - 1 dirham you can buy a chicken, today the value of 1 dinar is around 15 ringgit per dirham. imagine that much money, can u still but a chicken today?
so gold and silver have the protection / shield against fluctuation of inflation rate (aka bfr)
in p ramlee movie which i cannot recall what film, 7.5 cent at that time we can buy a pair of uniform cloth, trouses and shirt. but if you multiply by 100, you maybe able to buy only the shirt now, or maybe both i am not quite sure, but enough said our money lose it value it once had
it is glaring example, in malaysian history/old film
the conclusion is, the rate on conventional and islamic, how to calculated is exactly the same except some of the clauses such as compunding interest, exit fee in some banks (i think standard chartered saadiq), ceiling rate
the shariah advisory board have a very big power, if not follow shariah, you cannot claim yourself islamic system
same goes to halal concept - thus theres a difference
i am a muslim, and proud to be one
we as a muslim waajib (obligatory) to use interest free system, not putting ourself into the danger of capitalism
that is why i am writing this...
This post has been edited by AbangCorp: Jan 17 2010, 11:47 AM