Sociology Ethnoreligionism

~lynn~
post Feb 9 2010, 10:01 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 15 2010, 07:07 AM)
As per title, this thread discusses the pros, cons, criticisms, successes and downfalls of Ethnoreligionism

Ethnoreligionism is where the ethnic descent of a population is closely related to their religious beliefs.

An example of this would be the Jewish people where their default religion would be Judaism. One can be born into it, has related bloodline or be converted into Judaism to be a Jew.

The same trend can be seen in Malaysia where ethnic Malays are by default Muslims and cannot part with their religion without persecution.

While Ethnoreligionism can have its advantages where it is easier to 'communicate' (i.e control?) a population through a common ground, it can also impede on human rights to freedom of beliefs.

discuss..
QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 20 2010, 09:02 PM)
maybe i should remove the malay part of it. meh.
Nah I don't think you should remove the malay part, because the current status quo is exactly how you said it. Plus, I'm sure the people here can handle issues like this in a better manner smile.gif

The biggest issue about this is the freedom of choice of an individual to practice religion. By face value judgment, it does infringes the freedom of choice of that individual as he/she did not choose to be in the religion.

Sometimes, those of stronger faith are actually those who converted to the religion.

0.0126sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:46 AM