★★★ PROTON WAJA Club - LYN V7 ★★★

zaidi
post Mar 2 2010, 02:25 AM

1,738 posts

Absorber bush x2 = RM70
Absorber mounting x2 = RM240

do we really need to change the mounting? I understand the bush but the mounting?
zaidi
post Mar 11 2010, 01:50 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(kelvin3900 @ Mar 11 2010, 12:24 AM)
u MUST install the thermostat. cos if no your fuel comsumption will high
no nid to diy. go to standard a bit workshop can liao.
termostat buy better one cos nid to use long time. ur car nid to know the water temperature if not it will keeping boiling it made ur fuel takes more
thermostat sprungs open when hot! faulty one, which is always close will cause the engine to heat up. if there is no thermostat, it's hard to heat up the engine in the morning. unless your fan is faulty, i don't think the water will boil if you remove the thermostat.

actually thermostat is so that the water temperature is at optimal temperature to run the engine. if you remove it the engine might be running at lower temperature compare to normal, hence more fuel burned. don't mind what mech said, the engineers who design the car knows best!
zaidi
post Mar 15 2010, 10:07 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 15 2010, 08:53 PM)
mao2@
r3 piping is more than enough. stock ecu will need more time to adapt to the engine head changes, so, you may not be able to experience the benefit for a couple of days.  4g18 to dohc require at least a proper diagnostic after run in to ensure smooth running.

killer8550@
any modification on the intake manifold? which engine oil were used?

sphiroth@
am using yokohama c.drive with 85% thread, same wheel spin happened.
swap to s.drive, same thing, tested with semi slick r888 and no problem  sweat.gif

roxx@
the easiest was resetting the ecu and let it adapt to your driving style by itself. it will only takes a couple of days.

WhitE LighteR@
it was definitely legal because the engine capacity remained. but to be on the safe side,  you need a letter of approval from puspakom(cost about 50 bucks with fast inspection through runner); just in case jpj / traffic police stopped you at the roadblock. they will try to frightened you by telling you it was an illegal modding due to the different head and you end up paying! been in that situation a couple of times  sweat.gif
i think to really understand the benefit of the dohc conversion, we need to see the dyno chart. so depending on the driving style and condition, one can judge if the conversion is beneficial.

0.0391sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:41 AM