129 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Nexus One LYN Official Review & Testing, Our very own testing playground on N1 :)

h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 11:17 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Feb 19 2010, 10:49 AM)
ermm i dunno if there is any other better way.. but if i'm in ur position most probably i restart doing everything all over again, starting with superboot..
i tried to reflash superboot but at the cmd prompt it says flash "boot ... ok" when i boot into the phone my kernel still the same. supposedly the kernel is changed after i do the superboot. so im confused. my kernel version is still 2.6.29-01117-g4bc62c2 android-build@apa26#1
bahathir
post Feb 19 2010, 12:22 PM

1,200 posts

Unvervolt N1 kernel smile.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=634228

One of the thing that I wanted to do...
1) Highmem
2) Undervolt
3) 2.6.32

irenic
post Feb 19 2010, 12:30 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 19 2010, 12:22 PM)
Unvervolt N1 kernel smile.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=634228

One of the thing that I wanted to do...
1) Highmem
2) Undervolt
3) 2.6.32
i guess u mean three of the things u wanted to do.. tongue.gif

haha j/k mate.. great find out there.. thx for the link! thumbup.gif .. well i cant wait to see how it goes..

now i am fully mully have no regret migrating to android from the iPhone!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tctan899
post Feb 19 2010, 12:40 PM

20 posts

very hot topic in the market now, flash 10.1 and sense UI , FM Radio ...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=634378
bahathir
post Feb 19 2010, 12:45 PM

1,200 posts

Yes... I already mentioned that, I only interst in kernel hacking. smile.gif the android software are more than what I need. smile.gif I heard that in few months, the next android release, the Froyo will implement kernel 2.6.32. So, to those who don't want to root/unlock bootloader... just wait for it... (like me) smile.gif

Those kernel hacking make the device runs much cooler and efficient. This also mean better battery life.

iPhone also not a bad platform, if you like to install lot's of sw in your iphone. Also, there are many HW for iphones. To me, iphone is more like 'Phone' or applliance.where we need to buy to get it what we want.

In contrast, Android is an open platform. You can compile your own apps, modules and kernel to make thing better. You can tweak as much as you want, but, you need to learn howto do it first. Yeah, learning new thing is quite difficult for some peoples.. and for those peoples, iPhone is a better solution for them.

Thank you.

Added on February 19, 2010, 12:48 pmYesterday, I 'irc chat' with Paul@modaco, and he said, the FM radio can be sucessfully implemented in N1, IF, he got the Desire in his hand.

So, just the Desire firmware image is not sufficient to port the FM radio to N1.

TQ. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 19 2010, 12:48 PM
TSshahz
post Feb 19 2010, 01:29 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

h11g, did you get your issue resolved already? I came online just for you today. If you're still having problem, please state the latest standing of yours.

Bahathir, great finding..Looks like I have some new toys coming up to play with..haha
cwhong13
post Feb 19 2010, 01:35 PM

My N1 already rooted but ME still can not be installed. Anyone face the same problem?

Kernel version is now root@vmware-karmic-x64 #2.

Problem solved. Everything ran smoothly and also able to purchase all the paid apps!!! Woohoo!!
Thanks alot for Shahz's threads!!!

This post has been edited by cwhong13: Feb 19 2010, 02:04 PM
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 01:37 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Feb 19 2010, 01:29 PM)
h11g, did you get your issue resolved already? I came online just for you today. If you're still having problem, please state the latest standing of yours.

Bahathir, great finding..Looks like I have some new toys coming up to play with..haha
Hey shahz, thank man~! I cant thank you enough. The answer is no, i havent solve my wifi problem yet. According to some research i did on modaco and xda, quite a few ppl have this problem. their n1 is like mine, it came stock with ere79 and after we did the update 1 to ere27 and flash superboot the wifi stopped working. Their suggesting is to flash to cynogen rom and it will solved the problem. i wonder since i dun tink my phone is rooted yet. the kernel is still showing the original name. i've unlock the bootloader and flash the recovery to amon_ra. Am trying to flash the cynogen and see how it works. Any ideas or guide?

Added on February 19, 2010, 1:54 pmHey Shahz, I did it~!~! miraculously after i flashed to cynogen's rom everything worked out of the box. now my about phone shows.
firmware version : 2.1-update1
baseband version: 32.24.00.22U_4.03.00.21_2
Kernel Version : 2.6.29.6- cynogenmod shade@toxygene #1
build number : ERE36B

Everything is working thus far. I am really confused but i am glad that it worked. Eager need to find out the root of the problem though. Anyway its a great learning experience for me.

Added on February 19, 2010, 2:03 pmMy only qualms is the cynogen rom doesnt have android market preinstalled. How do i installed it manually on my n1?

Added on February 19, 2010, 2:33 pmguys, figured it out. i flashed the google addons zip from cynogen to my phone. Now i have everything back~! yahoooo! Thanks for all the help and suggestions guys.

This post has been edited by h11g: Feb 19 2010, 02:33 PM
TSshahz
post Feb 19 2010, 02:34 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

h11g,
Try reflashing the cyanogen rom once again. It should have the market built in. You're almost there already. I'm also using ERE36B build now and my market runs handsomely biggrin.gif

One hint for you: I suggest you wipe your SD card, rebuild the partition (no swap, 512MB ext and remainder for storage - use recovery, and you will know what I mean) and then finally reflash the cyanogen ROM. Supposedly that will fix the problem.

Warning: Backup all your contacts and data beforehand smile.gif I always believe wiping is necessary at least once when you root your phone. Cheers for your success so far. I respect those of you who dare to research before asking questions smile.gif
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 02:44 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Feb 19 2010, 02:34 PM)
h11g,
Try reflashing the cyanogen rom once again. It should have the market built in. You're almost there already. I'm also using ERE36B build now and my market runs handsomely biggrin.gif

One hint for you: I suggest you wipe your SD card, rebuild the partition (no swap, 512MB ext and remainder for storage - use recovery, and you will know what I mean) and then finally reflash the cyanogen ROM. Supposedly that will fix the problem.

Warning: Backup all your contacts and data beforehand smile.gif I always believe wiping is necessary at least once when you root your phone. Cheers for your success so far. I respect those of you who dare to research before asking questions smile.gif
Hey bro Shahz really appreciate your help~! My device is working handsomely now. And if i have time ill do as you say and wipe me sd card. But i think im gonna go out and get a Class 6 SD since the sd card that came with my N1 is only class 2 =.= I solved the market place missing my flashing the googles_addon. I think the cooker seperate the addons out for those who doesnt want all the google apps. I still have tonnes of things to learn from you gurus man~! Anyways am happy with my device now. I think it flys with cynogen on it~! Cheers...

It's cool to note that before flashing, my available memory is 98M after killing all the tasks, now im running up to 15 apps and my available is still 192M. Killing all the tasks now gave me a handsome 258M of memory~! woot

This post has been edited by h11g: Feb 19 2010, 02:46 PM
ivanlmh
post Feb 19 2010, 02:52 PM

Dark Knight
829 posts

makes me wanna root...too many poision here..!!
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 03:11 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ivanlmh @ Feb 19 2010, 02:52 PM)
makes me wanna root...too many poision here..!!
Do ur research first bro if not ull end up like me. disabling my wifi conectivity. but the fruits of labor will be there when uve done it. After rooting my phone i have to say it's the best smartphone i had ever lay my hands on!!! come to think of it its already the best pda phone i had ever own before rooting. but after rooting it its like giving it a big rocket propulsion~! haha its hard to explain and uve gotta experienced it urself. Gd luck~!
ivanlmh
post Feb 19 2010, 03:18 PM

Dark Knight
829 posts

What about those normal bugs? Are all of those solved?

I mean besides having own kernel and stuffs..does that custom kernel bug free? or just enhance stuffs
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 03:40 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ivanlmh @ Feb 19 2010, 03:18 PM)
What about those normal bugs? Are all of those solved?

I mean besides having own kernel and stuffs..does that custom kernel bug free? or just enhance stuffs
So far i've not discovered any, or maybe i am too noob. And the cynogen rom auto sets the apn too. quite smart rite?
musz78
post Feb 19 2010, 04:49 PM

182 posts

waaa..good for u, as im not settle yet with my fastboot problem, damn busy today
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 05:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(musz78 @ Feb 19 2010, 04:49 PM)
waaa..good for u, as im not settle yet with my fastboot problem, damn busy today
wat fastboot problem u have... ? took me 12 hours to get everything...
bahathir
post Feb 19 2010, 05:17 PM

1,200 posts

In, computer system, kernel is the MOST bug free software. It is the infrastructure for whole system, and it MUST be very robust. Yes, there are bugs, but not as annoying as app's bugs.

Yes, you can get the kernel source, change the parameters/values, compile it and load/flash it to your device. So, it is up to you, how deep you want to explore the Android.

Oya, I already tried the Desire's HTC_IME or HTC sense virtual keyboard, by installing HTC_IME.apk, which can be done on stock N1, without rooting/unlocking. Mmmm...several features are not working, but basically, it looks nice, with several layouts. But, the standard keyboard is still not bad either.

Happy hacking. !! smile.gif
musz78
post Feb 19 2010, 05:27 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Feb 19 2010, 05:12 PM)
wat fastboot problem u have... ? took me 12 hours to get everything...
i cant run fastboot, it doesnt detect my device, later try to fix iy, really damn bz today until now..but still manage to reply at this forum..lol..by the way bro.. u using CM rom or modaco rom..
h11g
post Feb 19 2010, 08:13 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(musz78 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:27 PM)
i cant run fastboot, it doesnt detect my device, later try to fix iy, really damn bz today until now..but still manage to reply at this forum..lol..by the way bro.. u using CM rom or modaco rom..
I think I'm using cm rom... are u using windows? Maybe u need to install USB drivers

shenmui
post Feb 19 2010, 11:38 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(musz78 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:27 PM)
try to follow this link http://theunlockr.com/2010/01/02/how-to-root-the-nexus-one/

129 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:36 PM