Money leaving Malaysia in massive amounts and biza, Verification

cic.lemur
post Jan 15 2010, 05:08 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jan 15 2010, 04:06 PM)
Wonder what is our foreign debts compare to foreign reserves?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Malaysia (Look at the side table)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Current_account

Remember somewhat that foreign debt used to be much lower, could be wrong, memory hazy.

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jan 15 2010, 04:06 PM)
Also wonder why local corporation going out while we are having less and less FDI coming in? When talk to local corporation guess we also refer to GLC eg Maybank etc. If GLC losing money or not performing as what it suppose to in own country what's the point of venturing out?
If market saturated then you go out to find new market what.

Added on January 15, 2010, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 15 2010, 12:17 AM)

I don't understand how the article say "Malaysia reserves is collapsing",  as BNM statistics on foreign currency reserves still hold up at around USD90 billion. For those more freely movement countries like HK and Taiwan, I can assure foreign currency reserves surely will ramp up because due to equities recovery, there are lot of hot money move around the region, aka a lot of money inflow to invest/speculate or whatever, while Malaysia no longer a major target since after the 1998 capital control in place + RM is not a freely traded currency as compared prior 1997.
Maybe I don't really understand economics and what was stated in the article, but I also feel suspicious with intent of article. They talk about Malaysia's Forex being the worst in Asia... almost collapsing... bizarre... but fail to mention the restrictions Malaysia had placed on Forex trading, obviously that's gonna play a role.

This post has been edited by cic.lemur: Jan 15 2010, 05:22 PM
cic.lemur
post Jan 15 2010, 11:18 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jan 15 2010, 07:15 PM)
Market saturation? What is market saturation if u monopoly the market but still cant perform? Like proton / maybank?  tongue.gif
Proton I know lah, how does Maybank monopoly?

Just to say, I have no idea if Maybank's domestic market is saturated or not, if it is: even with monopoly it's not gonna grow anymore... how to, market already saturated. Only option is to grow somewhere else or become high dividend yielding stock.

As to your earlier question why going out while less FDI coming in... because different market. You can't ask Maybank, Tenaga or TM to become hardisk manufactures, and the FDIs the government trying to woo are not directly in the banking, power or telecommunication provider industry.

Added on January 15, 2010, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 15 2010, 05:39 PM)
Here is the figure
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=111

Again, the focus point has been put on the wrong place, current accout balance is ok, foreign currency reserves is ok, it is the gov budget deficit that is not ok currently, which lead to gov debt become more and more.
Thanks for the link, realized I know next to nothing about economics, some people throw a bit of jargon and I get suspense. So I went out and bought a book, Economic Literacy bu Jacob De Rooy. Written for noobs and an enjoyable read. Now I know what GDP is all about, I find the BNM list you provided very interesting. Government Debt topic is on page 325 tho, so it's gonna take a while before I figure that out.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 15 2010, 05:39 PM)
Positive about the debt is that gov is seeking domestic fund to fund the deficit instead external or foreigner through foreign currency.
Oh no, so there's where all my dividend from my PNB funds will be going. doh.gif

This post has been edited by cic.lemur: Jan 15 2010, 11:29 PM

0.0157sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:17 PM