HTC HD2 Official Discussion Thread V2 !, Tips, Tricks and Links on First Page !

rkwan67
post Mar 20 2010, 06:13 PM

2,455 posts

guys, anyone running their hd2 on custom rom? which rom are u guys on..?

btw hor, i heard swype 3.9 only works on hd2. anyone using it as their primary input here?
rkwan67
post Mar 20 2010, 09:30 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Mar 20 2010, 09:18 PM)
dude...this question has been asked a lot already...

if you dont mind, i suggest you type in "ROM" in the thread search....should be able to find smile.gif
dude, let me get myself clear on this.

u mean there is no rom development going on? o even yes, different version of rom still poses the same prob / error / bug?
rkwan67
post Mar 21 2010, 02:20 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 21 2010, 02:11 PM)
I'm on custom ROM in a matter of hours owning it. I'll recommend the Duttys HD2 v2.4 ROM available in HTCpedia.com (or Miri HD2 or Topix depending on your preference). Its based on WM6.5 (latest build) and comes with Radio ROM (one of the best performance and kind to the battery). It also has Duttys standard tweaks and optimizations. Most important of all, its completely stock with all the programs updated (90% of HTC's standard programs including Sense are updated) complete with Net Compact Framework 3.5. Its a standard WWE 448MB RAM ROM. You can use Ricky's chinese fonts (available as a cab in xda-developers) to display Asian characters.

If you want to unlock the hidden 128MB to achieve 576MB RAM, you can try Duttys ROM too (he has another variant for this). But I'll advise against it for now. Its because you need the specific version of Radio ROM to enable this extra 128MB and from what I have researched call quality performance is not good. Until a similar radio ROM is released, I'll wait and see. After all, it doesn't make your device any faster.

BUT FIRST, you need to flash the Hard SPL by Bepe (available at xda-developers.com) before doing anything. With this HSPL, you can even flash any official ROM available. Remember to do a hard reset after flashing. If you run into problems, read about Task 29 and MTTYs over at xda-developers.com.
thank for all those info bro. notworthy.gif

previously using dutty's rom on touch hd as well. running pretty well. but i think i will get started on dutty first then only move on.
and 448mb ram compared to my current 256mb, is so much more already. demand on 576mb soon after then.

btw, any comment on valkyrie rom? im using it on xperia, runs pretty well. dun noe what to say, xperia rom development pretty weak. only a few rom is fine-tuned to usable level. others is so so. but as popular as dutty's, i think his rom shud be stable enuf since touch diamond model.
rkwan67
post Mar 22 2010, 05:04 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(bangsar @ Mar 22 2010, 04:55 PM)
bro, how to check whether my is opera 10 build 50433?? blush.gif
at the address bar. type 'about:opera'

Added on March 22, 2010, 5:05 pmooh yeah. im using opera 10 final.

version : 10.00
build : WMD-50430

This post has been edited by rkwan67: Mar 22 2010, 05:05 PM
rkwan67
post Mar 23 2010, 09:31 AM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Mar 23 2010, 09:28 AM)
where's its WiFi receiver located? i dont want my hand block the signal reception....
craps. i might juz nid some prac to attach youtube video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGSsk2mMq84

mayb u can watch this video and know where it is.

This post has been edited by rkwan67: Mar 23 2010, 09:32 AM
rkwan67
post Mar 23 2010, 07:44 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 23 2010, 06:18 PM)
Flashing Season! I just did a multi flash trying to get rid of gremlins.

Backup>Flash Stock 1.66>Hard Reset>Flash Dutty 1.8a>Hard Reset>Flash Radio 2.08.50.08_2>Hard Reset>Restore

All in about 40 mins. Hope the gremlins will disappear.
what is meant by gremlins?

QUOTE(KakiGamer69 @ Mar 23 2010, 07:10 PM)
So afraid to flash....might go wrong then brick my HD2. Is it real safe for newb wm user like me?
i think flashing is pretty safe now. if u using microsd method, so long the power and microsd never cut off while flashing, then u r safe.

just to be careful while flashing SPL. cable cut off in SPL could really kill our beloved device then.. hehe..
rkwan67
post Mar 23 2010, 09:50 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Mar 23 2010, 09:31 PM)
Hey guys,

anyone has any idea how to solve the sms timestamp error issue?

I sent out at 9 but reply was around 8.50 or so.

The replied messages were on top and thats really disturbing.

Please help
hmm, do timezone correctly set?

well, what is the time u received the replied sms actually? like u 9pm sent out the message, but u received it actually at 9.50pm, but it shows 8.50pm. then this is definitely ur timezone error.

but if it is only 10mins sway from correct time. hmm, then probably rom problem.
rkwan67
post Mar 23 2010, 10:35 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(sciguy @ Mar 23 2010, 10:27 PM)
i just got the waterset, key in the s/n in htc website to download the latest ROM, but it shows that my hp is not suitable in this region. So can i just get a local hd2 s/n, dl the ROM n update my hd2 waterset?
juz head over to xda site. since it is waterset, so i think u dun even nid to worry about warranty isnt it?

get ur device hard-spl, flash suitable custom rom. that is so much better than u upgrade to any official rom posted in htc website.
rkwan67
post Mar 24 2010, 12:16 AM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Mar 24 2010, 12:03 AM)
I don think it's the time zone error. I double checked and it's actually set to gmt +8 Malaysia Singapore.

By the way, to be exact the message I received were always 7 minutes behind my phone's time.

I tried installing the cab and registry from xda and still no luck.

Rmb I saw a member posted he set his phone to Internet time and the problem was solved. Anyone mind to share how to synchroniZe the time with Internet server?
hmm, if thats the trick, then u could try this.

scroll to 'settings' tab. 'data services'. -> 'internet time sync'.
altho i feel sometime it works, but most of the time it wont. i prefer to use timesync.

This post has been edited by rkwan67: Mar 24 2010, 12:17 AM
rkwan67
post Mar 24 2010, 12:23 AM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 24 2010, 12:21 AM)
Couldn't resit, I reflashed with Task 29 and hope my problem will go away. Task 29 will remove auto Hard Reset caused by many flashes. smile.gif
hehe.. shud be. tongue.gif

before mtty or task29 comes out. ppl said random hard-reset is caused by bad hard-spl, but not bad flash. hmm, so i hard-spl mine again. it works, after that it doesnt hav random hard-reset already.

then now task29 comes out. lol, like u, hand itchy go test oso.. haha.. biggrin.gif
rkwan67
post Mar 25 2010, 10:05 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Mar 25 2010, 09:30 PM)
and 1 more, the video recording is superb. no skip at all very smooth , once snap can also upload to FB.
video can upload to FB now? i tot only youtube?

i hope HD2 able to record at 30fps. lols
rkwan67
post Mar 25 2010, 10:23 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(sciguy @ Mar 25 2010, 10:17 PM)
i really fade up using my waterset hd2, it's in chinese and cannot change to english, n won't even update to my sabah weather list. ROM is 1.48.706.0 CHS, what MANILA version 2.5.19201130.0

So can i change to english n how to add sabah in weather list? Or should i just update my ROM? really hope pro here help me out, as i donno what is hard SPL n which ROM is the best for me to love this hd2. thx
first options is sell it to me... haha...

or else, u must really follow xda guide and flash ur device. u can easily change from chinese rom to english rom by juz flashing.
rkwan67
post Mar 29 2010, 02:35 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(Cahill @ Mar 29 2010, 11:13 AM)
is there anyway to turn off the gps?
and also any flash player that enable to watch youtube on the opera browser?
skyfire browser can view youtbue
rkwan67
post Mar 29 2010, 09:42 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Mar 29 2010, 09:32 PM)
i need a favour...somewhere in this thread, someone posted a link to xda forums for a cab that :

a) 16 quicklinks
b) minimize quicklinks
c) 3 pages of 16 quicklinks

and more....

Ive been trying to find it but cant....if anyone remembers it, can please repost ?

Then ill also put it on the main page..

Thanks smile.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=625483
rkwan67
post Mar 31 2010, 08:09 PM

2,455 posts

or use 'Wi-Fi Router' to share it via Wi-Fi.. nice

Added on March 31, 2010, 8:09 pmP/S, kill your phone and battery faster if overuse it. it is going to be very hot to run both data and wifi together.

This post has been edited by rkwan67: Mar 31 2010, 08:09 PM
rkwan67
post Mar 31 2010, 08:39 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(Cahill @ Mar 31 2010, 08:36 PM)
but the computer said need some sort of driver etc...need have active sync on the computer?
One important question.........how long can one charge last for the hd2? mine barely last 8-9 hours. The brightness only set 20%, but i think the 3G & GPS is always on.
How to turn off the 3G and only connect when i log on opera or fb? Also how to turn off the GPS as well?

Beside the bsb tweak power saving mode, how do i make the phone battery last longer? the phone is great except the battery.....ant suggestion guys???
nope. the cable internet sharing doesnt nid any driver on wnidows at all. well, winxp im not sure. i plugged mine into win7 o vista.works instantly after the driver installation, installed itself from the windows package.

even my uni pc oso works well without driver.

for the battery, mostly bcaz is data connected. my xperia case, altho got 1500mah battery. my battery last me 6hours with hsdpa connected 24/7. while my friend x1 can last 2 days.
rkwan67
post Apr 2 2010, 06:27 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 2 2010, 03:08 PM)
Guys, anyone of you already running Papago! X5 Mobile Version? I have it installed together with Malfreemaps (3D junction views, etc). Pretty good stuff thumbup.gif
hehehe.. PaPago M6 already out!
rkwan67
post Apr 2 2010, 11:13 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Apr 2 2010, 10:59 PM)
I don think u will be able to find a phone-keypad-alike input option in the HD2. sad.gif

By the way, you should try the qwerty keyboard, its greater than phone keypad style.  thumbup.gif
there is alphanumeric keypad for hd2 larh. juz download a tweak n enable it. doh.gif
rkwan67
post Apr 8 2010, 06:24 PM

2,455 posts

dun u all feel papago X5 most of the time bring you to not recommended route? i mean this routing problem. suppose a highway with 1.60 toll is much faster, but then it brings u go through other route.

garmin dun have such problem tho.

after this line, it is all rumor.

papago m6 said to fixed the routing problem already.
papago x5 got 3 satellite lock while garmin got 8 satellite lock, but papago m6 got 12 satellite lock. so papago m6 is the most accurate software up to today.

well, everything yet to see user's preference.

rkwan67
post Apr 15 2010, 10:59 PM

2,455 posts

QUOTE(keeplwk @ Apr 15 2010, 10:58 PM)
u need a file for voice... the file extension is xxxx.vpm
just install the support files from Garmin Official website.

0.0504sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:46 AM