HTC HD2 Official Discussion Thread V2 !, Tips, Tricks and Links on First Page !

redrum77
post Jan 16 2010, 02:02 AM

376 posts

d/led latest sms update from htc, but cant seem to execute it ?? getting error
'Not a valid win32 application' . Any one else getting same error

doh.gif Silly me suppose install from device doh.gif

This post has been edited by redrum77: Jan 16 2010, 02:13 AM
redrum77
post Jan 17 2010, 01:42 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Jan 17 2010, 12:40 AM)
you should test the unit thoroughly before purchasing. I have no sms problem since day 1 having this baby.
hey there ... mine too have no problem in sms but have you tried sending vcard ? mine stuck in the outbox.

Added on January 17, 2010, 1:51 amThose hotfixes from htc site can use those d/led from US / europe ? Are those files same with Asia ?

This post has been edited by redrum77: Jan 17 2010, 01:51 AM
redrum77
post Feb 23 2010, 10:08 AM

376 posts

guys

what is the market price for original HD2 battery and desktop charger ?
redrum77
post Mar 12 2010, 11:46 PM

376 posts

Anyway to upgrade rom without losing my Garmin, i dont have the setup and cant seem to locate the autorun.exe in sd card as mention in earlier post.
redrum77
post Mar 13 2010, 07:01 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 13 2010, 09:00 AM)
This is the easiest way to backup/reinstall Garmin.

1. At My Device/ copy the Garmin folder
2. At Storage Card/ copy the Garmin folder
3. At Windows/Start Menu/Programs/  copy the Garmin.lnk file
4. Flash new ROM and paste the folders and file back to their original locations

Thanks!

Added on March 13, 2010, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Mar 13 2010, 08:55 AM)
as far as i know, garmin only allows 2 img files running at the same time. you may have more than 2 maps installed into your device. but the others filename cannot have gmapsupp.img and gmapsup2.img filename. what i'd do is just renaming the maps whenever i wanna use them.

Added on March 13, 2010, 8:58 am
It's in folder "2257". if it's not there, just reinstall garmin.
Cant seem to locate that folder ... .Oh well will just copy those folders as stated by DrWHo.

This post has been edited by redrum77: Mar 13 2010, 07:03 PM
redrum77
post Mar 13 2010, 10:31 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 13 2010, 09:00 AM)
This is the easiest way to backup/reinstall Garmin.

1. At My Device/ copy the Garmin folder
2. At Storage Card/ copy the Garmin folder
3. At Windows/Start Menu/Programs/  copy the Garmin.lnk file
4. Flash new ROM and paste the folders and file back to their original locations

hey there .... after copying those files back to original location now when i tap on garmin icon .. nothing happens.... anything else that i need to do ?

redrum77
post Mar 14 2010, 02:56 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 14 2010, 12:41 AM)
Try soft reset. Did you tap the Garmin icon at Start?
Should work.

Alternatively, try this. Goto Storage Card>Garmin>Apps>WM>Tap on QuePPC.exe
hi there ..... i did soft reset still didnt work ..didnt try the second step though! Will keep that in mind. Anyhow found the setup file, reinstalled it . Copied those maps from my previous folder and GOT IT Working again. Is all good now. Thanks!

Added on March 14, 2010, 3:09 pmGuys for ROM 1.66 does this tip works on your set

37. Boost Performance:
Navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\StorageManager\FATFS
Change - CacheSize to 4096

I need to hard reset after i did the above... sad.gif

This post has been edited by redrum77: Mar 14 2010, 03:09 PM
redrum77
post Mar 15 2010, 10:27 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 14 2010, 05:28 PM)
Are you also using BsB Tweak? Boosting Performance after you tweak with BsB is known to have caused this problem. I had to Hard Reset because I did the same sad.gif
Yup i did install BsBTweak but i only enable those Camera , video settings and also disable the Data Connections. Does it auto enable in BsB 1.6 or sumething ? I dont see the option in Bsb 1.6 ? On my previous rom 1.48 and using BsbTweak 1.5 no problem .

Added on March 15, 2010, 10:30 am
QUOTE(DAAK @ Mar 14 2010, 06:10 PM)
yes i might seem an idiot as it happened a few times to me and i just could not accept it was adjusting the
recommended performance settings suggested by BsB Tweak .

So i hard reset twice and third time i just started in safe mode and went to BsB Tweak and reset the settings to default as befor .
And all okay then > now no more adjusting performance settings in my HD2
Holly crap ... there is a safe mode ???###@@@@@?????? May i know the name of the program ?.... Sorry me new to winmo.

This post has been edited by redrum77: Mar 15 2010, 10:30 AM
redrum77
post Mar 16 2010, 11:55 AM

376 posts

guys .. in 1.66 rom the does the 'Lock to GSM' mode works on your set ? Doesnt seem to work on mine , i can still see 3G MY MAXIS on the operator previously in 1.48 with Lock to GSM enabled am always on MY MAXIS only.

THe radio rom version in 1.66 rom still weak in my area .. (Shah Alam) . Out fr there then is fine. Wonder if i flashed to anther radio rom would help?
redrum77
post Mar 16 2010, 12:28 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 16 2010, 12:19 PM)
Try this cab. Touch X add 3G commmanager.cab -adds 3g on/off to your commmanager. It don't replace anything, just adds it. You can turn off 3G.

Just rename the file from Touch X add 3G commmanager.txt to Touch X add 3G commmanager.cab
yeah already installed that ... When i turn it off , it still goes to 3G My Maxis .....
redrum77
post Mar 16 2010, 11:50 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 16 2010, 01:29 PM)
For Maxis G=GPRS , E=Edge and H=3G/HSDPA.  Is there a 3G symbol for Maxis? I am using third party icons, so can't tell.
Most of the time is E but what i meant is ref to attached screen capture (highlight in RED). I still see '3G MY MAXIS' instead 'MY MAXIS'

Click Here : operator name
redrum77
post Mar 17 2010, 10:24 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Mar 17 2010, 09:30 AM)
I believe the top icon ( G,E,3G,H) is the actual indicator of the type of service you are getting from the Telco.
Do you know that you can customize MY MAXIS/3G MY MAXIS to any words you want?
ah so the bottom one is not the real indication . As for customize yeah .. Thanks!
redrum77
post Mar 18 2010, 09:00 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Mar 18 2010, 08:16 AM)
after i upgraded the rom the battery use up pretty quick leh, why ar?
which rom 1.66 ?
redrum77
post Mar 18 2010, 10:14 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Mar 18 2010, 09:45 AM)
yup
On mine is the same as 1.48. Not too bad la, but my signal strength (MAXIS) in my area sucks so i lock mine to GSM only or else it will search every now and then
redrum77
post Mar 23 2010, 11:13 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 23 2010, 08:33 AM)
For those of you who are having call quality issues like background hissing noise, echos when running custom ROMs there is a new recent release for the Radio ROM. Its version 2.09.51.03_2. This version works great for me and the power consumption is good. Call quality is now clear and bright without the background noise issue.

Please note that you cannot just upgrade the Radio ROM over your stock official ROM. This is custom ROM territory and you will need to do HSPL before proceeding. You can get the Radio ROM from xda-developers.

Update:

By the way, has anyone found a nice combo (Custom ROM with 576MB RAM configuration and Radio ROM that does not have call quality issues)?
hey there, did you test the radio with 1.66 rom ?
redrum77
post Mar 24 2010, 01:01 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 23 2010, 01:15 PM)
Nope, I went straight to 1.72 based ROM when I got mine. I have a feeling the 1.66 official ROM is pretty good including the 2.06 radio. Does it crack when on the call?
No cracking ... but @ my area (Bukit Jelutong) my signal strength sucks (MAXIS). The culprit could be MAXIS itself. On my old nokia and motorola also showing same problem. At times it does get warm, on 1.48 is fine though. sad.gif
redrum77
post Mar 24 2010, 12:29 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 24 2010, 08:25 AM)
Not to mention the Radio ROM compatible with this hack gives very bad call quality. Background noise and cracking is all over the place. Its like talking to a two way radio. Hahaha!
According to Duttys himself (yes I communicated with him), he recommends a Task 29 every 2 flashes.
Yes it has been reported that ROM based on v1.72 causes warming while v1.48 is fine. I would recommend the official Asian ROM v1.66. Maybe that'll help. Also HK just released an official v1.72 ROM with a Radio that is more suited for Asian telcos. Maybe you should try that.
hey there i am on v1.66 d/l from HTC.. hmm maybe might try HK version.
redrum77
post Mar 24 2010, 11:21 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Mar 24 2010, 02:49 PM)
2.08.50.08_2 + 2.10 ROM = OK
2.08.50.08_2 + 1.66 ROM = noise

Now using 2.09 + 1.66 ROM = delightful
hey is your 1.66rom official version ?
redrum77
post Mar 25 2010, 09:59 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Mar 25 2010, 04:18 AM)
Nope. I'm testing LeoLite v3.0. No rubbish like other tweaked ROMs. It's like the official ROM, just a lite version (after Mr. Vandalay removed unnecessary apps)
Ah ok .......

redrum77
post Mar 26 2010, 10:10 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 25 2010, 11:00 PM)
There are risks involved. The highest is during Hard SPL flashing. If for some reasons it went wrong, there goes. You will  have to send it in. To reduce the risks, make sure your antivirus program is disabled, your phone is fully charged and you have a good USB connection to the PC. Do a sync before starting anything just to be sure.
If we send back, will they know we tried to HSPL ?? Can we just tell them that all of a sudden it didnt wake up ???

0.0399sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:46 PM