Expert Opinion to Purchase LCD TV, RM2.5K 32-40" 1080p/780p gaming/sports

TSaressandro10
post Jan 12 2010, 05:21 PM, updated 16y ago

121 posts

ok i need your expert opinion regarding this matter ...

my astro decoder goes out of use last week (power problem or something) and after careful deliberation the most low cost option is to upgrade to Astro b.yond to get new decoder. (planning to do it for the world cup anyway)

now, for that to happen, there is this small matter of buying a new LCD tv..... sweat.gif

again, i was planning to do it anyway but due to my decoder problem, its becoming a lil ad hoc..

so need all your expert opinion for me to decide which tv to buy icon icon_question.gif
here is my requirement :-

1. SIZE : 37/40" would be nice but due to low budget would rather pick the best 32"
2. PICTURE : ideally should be 1080p FHD. but for 32" 780p would be fine.
3. HDMI : min 3 port (astro, ps3, ht)
4. USE : sports viewing (Astro SUPERSPORT HD and ps3 WE2010)
5. FREQUENCY : would be nice to get 100hz.
6. BUDGET : RM2.5k (would jump to 2.8 if there are good offer for relevant jump of quality).

now i really2 need your help to discuss regarding below :-

1. MODEL? : which brand/model to buy
2. WHERE? : where the best place with offer to buy it ?
3. COST? : how much does it cost there ?
4. WHEN ? : this weekend? before/during/after CNY? one day before world cup?

now i would like to notworthy.gif in advance for your help. please excuse my spoon feeding requirement due to the ad hocness of the situation..
my hard earned i month salary and little-details-pleasure of my life for the next 5 years depends on this decision

icon_question.gif
kevinboey86
post Jan 12 2010, 05:45 PM

463 posts

U can check out sellers like sky heart and kevin(jintex) for pricing...much more cheaper compare to retail store...for tv i would recommand u to stay away from Sharp 32A37M as the motion blur on it is really bad when u play games like WE2010...u can go for other 32 Full HD that comes with 100hz or maybe even 37"........the best thing is to bring ur PS3 console to the shop and test WE2010 on it or some blue ray before deciding on your purchase smile.gif hope it helps
TSaressandro10
post Jan 12 2010, 06:06 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jan 12 2010, 05:45 PM)
U can check out sellers like sky heart and kevin(jintex) for pricing...much more cheaper compare to retail store...for tv i would recommand u to stay away from Sharp 32A37M as the motion blur on it is really bad when u play games like WE2010...u can go for other 32 Full HD that comes with 100hz or maybe even 37"........the best thing is to bring ur PS3 console to the shop and test WE2010 on it or some blue ray before deciding on your purchase smile.gif hope it helps
thanks bro. any kinda help..helps smile.gif would you mind telling me how i can check sky and kevin's quotation? do i need to pm them or there are already a dedicated thread.

i guess Sharp is out of the question now huh... 32 Full HD 100hz is the best case scenario but i got a hunch that they will cost me RM3k++ sweat.gif

my bulky ps3 has no business to go into any electric shop with all those hot ps3 slim around so i just have to depend on you guys on this one biggrin.gif
one question though. i know astro b.yond would go until 780p only. but are there any significant effect for WE2010 and blu ray played on between 32'' 780p and 1080p ?
kevinboey86
post Jan 12 2010, 06:28 PM

463 posts

kevin's thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1163512&hl=
and sky heart thread is http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1082455&hl=

u can get 42" full HD for ard 2.5 to 2.6k but then im not sure they will suffer from ghosting or not.....erm...no need malu malu wan just bring ps3 and test...later buy d then regret too late d smile.gif
soya_sejuk
post Jan 13 2010, 06:29 PM

30 posts

if u dedicated buy a tv for astro byond and PS3, just buy a 32" HD Ready TV only. Most definition for PS3 games n Astro Byond are 720p.
U cant see any different between Full HD with HD ready on 32" TV, bcoz Full HD are for tv 37" n above.
It will be useless if u buy 32" Full HD for wathcing Astro Byond n play PS3 game. Nothind different except contrast n more bright.
munky
post Jan 13 2010, 07:27 PM

1,971 posts

i bought the panasonic g10 lcd 37inch (full HD, 100hz, 24p film mode, etc) from kevin for 2999. Try ask him if he still has it. Im sure u'll be satisfied with it with that price
TSaressandro10
post Jan 13 2010, 11:04 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(soya_sejuk @ Jan 13 2010, 06:29 PM)
if u dedicated buy a tv for astro byond and PS3, just buy a 32" HD Ready TV only. Most definition for PS3 games n Astro Byond are 720p.
U cant see any different between Full HD with HD ready on 32" TV, bcoz Full HD are for tv 37" n above.
It will be useless if u buy 32" Full HD for wathcing Astro Byond n play PS3 game. Nothind different except contrast n more bright.
yes. pretty aware of resolution difference between FHD and HD ready for 32" (basically none) and limitation of astro b.yond.

my concern is as my main usage is sports viewing, i would like my lcd to be fully capable to handle fast image movement (motion blur scenario) rather than focus on higher resolution. as each brand has their own technology to cater to this problem i would like to hear from experienced users what their take on in. especially those who are very sensitive with this motion blur.

Added on January 13, 2010, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(munky @ Jan 13 2010, 07:27 PM)
i bought the panasonic g10 lcd 37inch (full HD, 100hz, 24p film mode, etc) from kevin for 2999. Try ask him if he still has it. Im sure u'll be satisfied with it with that price
thats pretty tempting. 37" is very ideal for me as 42" is too overwhelming for my minimalist lifestyle while 32" would be behind the technology.

panasonic g10 is of higher class than s10k right?

i a pmming kevin right now. when did you order and received your set?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 13 2010, 11:35 PM
azxel
post Jan 14 2010, 10:11 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

if you're really that worried about this so-called motion blur scenario then get yourself a Plasma TV that comes with with 600hz refresh rate... honestly though.. notice on the demos... how you can only see the 'blurness' when you pause the playback and when the player is kicking the ball around, it travels so fast that.. well... I can't see the blurness...
dannyw
post Jan 14 2010, 11:57 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jan 13 2010, 07:27 PM)
Ya, but now we can get the LCD 42' Full HD below this price, of course without the 100hz-lah. Just wonder should we invest on the 100hz? paying the same, you can get 42' without 100hz or 37' with 100hz. both full hd...
wackojacko
post Jan 14 2010, 04:47 PM

207 posts

are there actually cameras that can record and transmit pics at 600Hz????

Most transmissions are only 50 or 60Hz, anything more than that is just overkill
azxel
post Jan 14 2010, 05:45 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I've watched 3D-Blu Ray (with those colored glasses) on my Panny and it looks fantastic.. so I don't really know if 600hz (or even 100hz) is a big deal or not. Compared to a PC lcd monitor that's constantly on 60hz, I really think its a marketing hype...
csng
post Jan 14 2010, 09:37 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 13 2010, 11:04 PM)

my concern is as my main usage is sports viewing, i would like my lcd to be fully capable to handle fast image movement (motion blur scenario) rather than focus on higher resolution. as each brand has their own technology to cater to this problem i would like to hear from experienced users what their take on in. especially those who are very sensitive with this motion blur.
I suggest u go to mid valley Jusco, electronics section where they are showing all their TV.
The Panasonic section was showing their plasma tv with ice hockey sports demo.

Then you can go Harvey Norman(also in mid valley), where they are showing soccer demos for the samsung LCD/LED TV.

Take a look and you'll know what it looks like. You're the best person in judging what u like. smile.gif
TSaressandro10
post Jan 15 2010, 09:53 AM

121 posts

below is the spech difference comparison between L42S10 and L37G10. everything else is the same.

the blue font is the reason why i would go with the 37G10. The actual effect of all of 100hz, motion focus and V surround sound is very subjective in some way. But if they subconsciously make me appreciate the experience, i wouldnt mind paying the extra RM200.

the reason i would go with 37" is because to adapt to current 29" use, i need to view 42" from further away to enjoy the wider view. Thats make my already small apartment, smaller. there are cases when we have relatives come over and due to space constraints need to sit/sleep/lay much closer to the tv. for the 42" everyone may need to pressed closer to the wall to maximise the vieW

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 15 2010, 10:05 AM

satiash04
post Jan 15 2010, 06:38 PM

50 posts

im planning to replace my LCD tv with a better one. i tink i will be going for more than 42''. what is the best make in the market now. just for normal astro viewing and DVD's. can anyone advise?
munky
post Jan 15 2010, 07:01 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 13 2010, 11:04 PM)
yes. pretty aware of resolution difference between FHD and HD ready for 32" (basically none) and limitation of astro b.yond.

Added on January 13, 2010, 11:09 pm

thats pretty tempting. 37" is very ideal for me as 42" is too overwhelming for my minimalist lifestyle while 32" would be behind the technology.

panasonic g10 is of higher class than s10k right?

i a pmming kevin right now. when did you order and received your set?
Yes G10 is the higher class. I got it on the same day coz his shop is nearby my house biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 14 2010, 11:57 AM)
Ya, but now we can get the LCD 42' Full HD below this price, of course without the 100hz-lah. Just wonder should we invest on the 100hz? paying the same, you can get 42' without 100hz or 37' with 100hz. both full hd...
It depends on the person viewing it. My friend doesnt like it, but i like it. Especially when im playing Modern Warfare 2 on the xbox thumbup.gif

p/s: one more thing, the 100hz is good to have when viewing sports like football or F1 or anything with fast paced action. That's what everyone says. For me, i like to be future proof. I dont want to regret later if i bought a tv with no 100hz function

This post has been edited by munky: Jan 15 2010, 07:04 PM
TSaressandro10
post Jan 16 2010, 07:53 AM

121 posts

took everybody's advice and went to DHT kepong to confirm some info. Asked the selesman there for effect of 100hz. he then asked his boss's permission to play a 100hz demo cd connected to all the tv's in the store. i was SHOCKED to see how obvious the motion blur in all the tv's. the ones that survived are the 200hz LG and the Toshiba LED's ( also come with 100hz)

one couple bough there and then one LG 37LH50 200Hz for 3299. me myself would have consider buying it if i not already ordered Panny 37G10 from Kevin.

i myself think i have decided the spec most suitable for me. Big is not nacessarily more.

dannyw
post Jan 16 2010, 08:28 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jan 15 2010, 07:01 PM)
Yes G10 is the higher class. I got it on the same day coz his shop is nearby my house biggrin.gif
It depends on the person viewing it. My friend doesnt like it, but i like it. Especially when im playing Modern Warfare 2 on the xbox thumbup.gif

p/s: one more thing, the 100hz is good to have when viewing sports like football or F1 or anything with fast paced action. That's what everyone says. For me, i like to be future proof. I dont want to regret later if i bought a tv with no 100hz function
Ya, do agree. 100hz is good to have. Just like what I have for old Panasonic 29' CRT 100hz & Progressive Scan. Is Panasonic 42' LCD have 100hz range? What is the price will be? I only know the L37X15K, and G10k.

Some Salesman told me, if you get FullHD like L42S10k, the 100hz is not important and not noticable. But well, I got no chance to compare side by side with the same content, don't know how true is this statement.

Any other choice 40' & above LCD with 100hz and lower than 3k? I know Samsung & Sharp have it, but the price is a bit out...of budget sad.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 16 2010, 09:39 AM

1,976 posts

these guys are at CES, how come nobody talks about them?

ar188
post Jan 16 2010, 09:42 AM

9,206 posts

brand issue? if they are like 40% cheaper than panny/sammy, maybe can consider lor.. tongue.gif
tenchi0205
post Jan 17 2010, 09:20 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

Wanna pinjam TS thread to ask something:

SONY
KLV32S55A RM1499
2 HDMI inputs
KLV32EX300A RM1899
4 HDMI inputs
USB Application(s) : Photo Viewer (jpeg), Music Player (mp3), Video Player (mpeg1), Video Player (mpeg2 TS)

SHARP
LC32A37M RM1549
1500:1 (native)
100000:1 (dynamic)
LC32D30M RM1850
1500:1 (native)
7500:1 (dynamic)
low reflex sub

Which one more better?
budget <2k
HD Ready is ok...
luminescence69
post Jan 18 2010, 02:29 PM

66 posts

hi guys,

I'm planning to get a 42" or 46" LCD tv for myself. Basically, I'm more concerned about the screen size and the inputs rather than the actual quality of the image. So, based on your experiences, what would be the model that suits my preferences?

P.s. my budget is within RM3800.

Thanks biggrin.gif
darenlks
post Jan 18 2010, 03:21 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Jan 18 2010, 02:29 PM)
hi guys,

I'm planning to get a 42" or 46" LCD tv for myself. Basically, I'm more concerned about the screen size and the inputs rather than the actual quality of the image. So, based on your experiences, what would be the model that suits my preferences?

P.s. my budget is within RM3800.

Thanks  biggrin.gif
With this budget, mostly likely will land you the 42" I guess. Your requirement is so vague (screen size ?) that there are plenty of models that suit your preference sweat.gif
Dark NT
post Jan 18 2010, 03:41 PM

1,006 posts

If you go for the earlier models from Samsung or LG, you can get 46/47" for your budget. But I think not bigger than that.
jimmydotnet
post Jan 18 2010, 04:01 PM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

go buy panny LCD TV rather than overprice sony...
panny reliable samsung ok-ok
luminescence69
post Jan 18 2010, 06:15 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 18 2010, 03:21 PM)
With this budget, mostly likely will land you the 42" I guess. Your requirement is so vague (screen size ?) that there are plenty of models that suit your preference  sweat.gif
sorry about that. sweat.gif let me clarify what i actually need.
- at least 2 HDMI inputs.
- PC input.
- 1080p (1920x1080)

and basically all those other basic stuff that comes with a LCD tv. laugh.gif

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Jan 18 2010, 04:01 PM)
go buy panny LCD TV rather than overprice sony...
panny reliable samsung ok-ok
by panny, do u mean panasonic? sorry, quite a noob in TV's and stuff sweat.gif
darenlks
post Jan 18 2010, 07:02 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Jan 18 2010, 06:15 PM)
sorry about that.  sweat.gif  let me clarify what i actually need.
- PC input.
- 1080p (1920x1080)

and basically all those other basic stuff that comes with a LCD tv.  laugh.gif
Then go for Toshiba 42ZV600E which is 1080p, 4 HDMI inputs, PC input (HDMI also available for PC connection), SD card slot and USB port (mainly for JPEG photos) and nice PQ thumbup.gif
luminescence69
post Jan 18 2010, 07:19 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 18 2010, 07:02 PM)
Then go for Toshiba 42ZV600E which is 1080p, 4 HDMI inputs, PC input (HDMI also available for PC connection), SD card slot and USB port (mainly for JPEG photos) and nice PQ  thumbup.gif
thanks bro. thumbup.gif
any idea what is the current market price? icon_question.gif
darenlks
post Jan 18 2010, 10:26 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Jan 18 2010, 07:19 PM)
thanks bro.  thumbup.gif
any idea what is the current market price?  icon_question.gif
I believe the selling price is within your budget.
jimmydotnet
post Jan 25 2010, 08:37 AM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Jan 18 2010, 06:15 PM)
sorry about that.  sweat.gif  let me clarify what i actually need.
- PC input.
- 1080p (1920x1080)

and basically all those other basic stuff that comes with a LCD tv.  laugh.gif
by panny, do u mean panasonic? sorry, quite a noob in TV's and stuff  sweat.gif
panny = panasonic
victor87
post Feb 1 2010, 06:30 PM

431 posts

Looking for a 32" Full HD LCD TV... Any recommendation??

Budget below 2k.. No more than that wink.gif

Full HD is a must...
100Hz if possible wink.gif

Any recommendation?

0.0273sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:43 AM